2018 Honda Vario 150 launched – from RM7,199

Latest entry into the 150 cc scooter segment is the 2018 Honda Vario 150, priced at RM7,199 for the base model while the Repsol Edition goes for RM7,399, with zero-rated GST. Launched in Indonesia earlier this year, the Vario 150 is targeted to the urban rider with its aggressive styling bringing it head-to-head with its primary competition, the Yamaha NMax 155 (RM8,409 with zero-rated GST).

LED lighting now standard on the Vario 150, front and back. Modern conveniences are also included for the Indonesia manufactured and locally assembled Vario scooter, including a full-LCD instrument panel, smart key system with alarm and call-back as well as start/stop engine function.

The Vario 150 is powered by a single-cylinder SOHC power plant with liquid-cooling, and power gets to the ground via a V-Matic automatic gearbox. This is good for 13.1 PS at 8,500 rpm, with 13.4 Nm of torque on tap at 5,000 rpm.

Weighing in at 112 kg with a seat height of 769 mm, the Vario 150 comes standard with an ACG starter and eSP technology in the engine design. Unique to the Vario scooters is Honda’s Combined Braking System (CBS), which activates the front disc and rear drum brake proportionally to aid braking efficiency.

Suspension is with conventional telescopic forks in front and monoshock at the rear suspending the engine/swingarm with braking done by single hydraulic disc in front and drum back at the rear. Fuel is carried in a 5.5-litre tank while under the seat is an 18-litre capacity storage compartment.

There are four colour options for the 2018 Honda Vario 150 – Pearl Magellanic Black, Pearl Nightfall Blue, Force Silver Metallic and the Repsol race livery. Coming with a two-year or 20,000 km manufacturing warranty, the Honda Vario 150 will be available in authorised Boon Siew Honda dealers from tomorrow.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• AkooIm on Aug 29, 2018 at 8:30 pm

Put the Vario head to head with NVX155, and it will get slapped very hard… in typical Honda scooters design, the wheel looks tiny and the design look cheap… only for makcik2…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 28
    • Repsol93 on Aug 29, 2018 at 10:15 pm

Hardcore yamaha fan spotted..
      No harm..
      Nvx otr rm12k+ now…
      This valor otr rm8k max..
      There is a saving of rm4k.. perhaps rm4k can get another pak cik mak cik bike already…

Follow brand blindly will cost u a bomb.. for me i follow durability and of course which better value for money..

2cent

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
      • thank you for logic comment. I’m currently looking for bot so high maintenance cost bike/scooter.

• beben on Feb 09, 2019 at 12:23 pm

Repsol93 dont talk nonsense la, if he is hardcore yamaha fan you are a honda scuker. apart from NVX there is Nmax,and compared to that junk PCX and this retard Vario. N-max will take both out on price and power. btw 2 valves is a crime in 2018. I’m talking out of 5 years nightmare with PCX. Absolute frustration.

• michelin on Aug 30, 2018 at 11:38 am

nvx vs. vario? 2 different horse, bro.. nvx/nmax vs. pcx seems more legit..

• Yeap. Too bad the rims and tyre looks small lah. Need to buy bigger aftermarket rims/tyre.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 30, 2018 at 5:31 pm

Both the NVX and Vario runs on 14inch wheels. (As is the PCX, while the NMax runs even smaller tyres)

So what is the difference?

The NVX/Aerox and Vario/Clicks/upcoming Airblade 150 are all in the the same class and price if same spec.

The only real advantage of the NVX really, is the availability of the front ABS on the more expensive model. Yamaha should have kept the 16inch that were on the Nouvo 135 on the NVX. At least will give the rediculously priced Honda SH150 a run for the money for those that want bigger tyred scooters.

• Yang mahal on Aug 29, 2018 at 9:51 pm

That price for August or after SST?

• Mr. Octopus on Aug 30, 2018 at 11:24 am

“Latest entry into the 150 cc scooter segment is the 2018 Honda Vario 150, priced at RM7,199 for the base model while the Repsol Edition goes for RM7,399, with zero-rated GST.”

• Betwell on Aug 29, 2018 at 10:50 pm

2017 honda air blade 125 facelift much better nicer design but so far still available in Thai n Vietnam.

• BOYRACER on Aug 30, 2018 at 11:11 am

Have to take a look myself..looks good.Intend to get 1 for my other half.I just got a Nmax recently.My other half doesn’t feel comfortable riding it cz of the width and weight.This should be perfect as the nearest is the Ego 125.

• CBR250RR on Aug 30, 2018 at 12:03 pm

We want CBR250RR… Honda plsssss

• aku da beli avantiz . baru nak kelua kan ni . haishhh nasib badan ..

• Yeap. Too bad the rims and tyre looks small lah. Need to buy bigger aftermarket rims/tyre.

• nurha lapantart on Aug 31, 2018 at 12:40 pm

gilerrr totally gileerrr ini macam pun ade. tp aq p d mn tlg smh lmao ok

• Aiman on Sep 04, 2018 at 12:22 pm

Pakai scooter ni best tak? Ramai member2 dok cakap nanti rosak mahal nak repair jadi risau sikit banding dengan kapchai. Pendapat?

• Harga malaysia mahal 10% on Sep 12, 2018 at 1:22 pm

7199 bersamaan 25 juta rp. Indon price otr 22.5 juta

• Add A Comment on Oct 21, 2018 at 10:53 am

NVX vs Vario?? No No No….
    NVX vs PCX!!!!

• saya pengguna vario. saiz rim dan tayar tak ada lah kecik mana pun. just nice. ok saje layan corner. tiada masalah.. mmg pada mulanya saya pun agak skeptikal juga dengan saiz tayar dan rim berbanding cc dan body vario yang besar. tapi bila rasa yang kawan punya, terus saya angkat without hesitation!!!

• benben on Feb 09, 2019 at 12:18 pm

to compare this chickadee motorbike to nmax or nvx is a joke. I used PCX for 5 years and regretted for good. Costed me 12k++ that useless junk. top speed stuck at 108 and the useless cut off calling it 150cc with 2 valves. If I want to run at 108-110kmh max better I get ego or something right? you buy la honda.. later you know how regretful, its not like buying honda cars. accessories were almost none existent. I switched to Nmax after 5 years of horror and very happy now indeed. Nmax has so much power with that 4 valves and standard runs easily at 120kmh using for 1 year now. Fuel consumption is almost same with that lousy PCX. NVX however is an expensive disaster, that I agree. You have 8-9k better get N-Max, no regrets.