Borgward BX5 – right-hand drive interior for M’sia seen

Borgward Malaysia has released an interior photo of a right-hand drive Borgward BX5 ahead of an expected launch in late September this year. The BX5 was previewed in left-hand drive guise during an official preview earlier this month, alongside the larger BX7.

Based on the image, the RHD interior (likely for the Malaysian market) looks to be rather similar to the LHD unit seen previously. Visible features include leather seats, keyless start, air-conditioning, a multi-info display, electronic handbrake with auto hold function and a free-standing display on the dashboard.

The last item is linked to an infotainment system that is linked to controls on the centre console. There are also steering-mounted controls for the infotainment system and cruise control function, with the latter being absent on the LHD unit we’ve seen.

On the preview car, the SUV featured a 1.8 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine making 190 PS and 280 Nm, sent to all four wheels via a six-speed automatic transmission and all-wheel drive system. A smaller 1.4 litre turbo option (150 PS and 250 Nm) is offered in China but it remains to be seen what we’ll get here.

In May, Go Bremen Motors signed a deal with Borgward to handle the manufacturing and distribution of Borgward models in Malaysia as well as selected countries in the ASEAN region. At the time, we were told that the BX5 will be tentatively priced under the RM100k mark and that it will be a locally-assembled (CKD) model.

GALLERY: Borgward BX5 (LHD) in Malaysia

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Voice on Aug 29, 2018 at 12:00 pm

China made ? Price is all that matters.. all that Voice activation BS on the Boyue is all but a gimmick when u can just press a button .. which is way faster

• Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 29, 2018 at 8:27 pm

Voice to activate the power windows on Boyue.

• stastasta on Aug 30, 2018 at 10:08 am

to change some options you will need to dig thru several menu layers. if you are not familiar with the infotainment interface, that is when voice control will come in handy.

• Wud be interesting to see how well they do it. Whether the glove box is useful or not and if the fusebox is blocking something.

• Jasmy on Aug 29, 2018 at 12:19 pm

(Like) Proton Boyue 1.8T.
    (Dislike) Borgward BX5

• 12yrsold on Aug 30, 2018 at 8:46 am

If U really want to compare, U should compare the Boyue with the BX7 in term of size :P.

• See how people do work. People work and show result. Unlike some.. preview, sneak peek, invite PM to drive, spy shot… “open window on driver side” with China slang… tapi sampai skrang habuk pun tadak.

• Copy Raja on Aug 29, 2018 at 12:32 pm

Not sure who they trying to mimic.. Audi or VW interior … Well thats CHINA products .. raja CIPLAK

• Sammy Loo on Aug 30, 2018 at 1:19 am

well, most of your electronic products, mobile phones, pc, etc are from China anyway

Huawei is making world class standard product nowadays, Geely own Volvo and highest shareholder in Daimler as well.

• Well, you are talking about car technology, not mobile phone or power bank. Samsung have largest mobile market but how’s Korean cars doing? Same goes to Apple and American cars vs German and Japanese cars. Don’t be so simplistic.

• stastasta on Aug 30, 2018 at 10:08 am

i dont mind copy. give you 90% of the design and quality for 50% of the price , why not ?

• wow..direct competitor to proton boyue…

• Picture taken with phone ah?

• bieight on Aug 29, 2018 at 1:28 pm

byebye proton boyue

• BX5 higher Horse Power and Torque than BoYue

• invasion of the Borg imminent

resistance is futile ^^

• Mikey on Aug 30, 2018 at 8:58 am

The BX5 is going to challenge the mighty HRV not to mention a host of others namely CHR, CX3, Pug 2008 & Capture.

If Borgward is serious in selling its products in MY, they will have to price it cheaper than the cheapest HRV by at least 15% otherwise it is DOA(Dead on Arrival).

Why?! Bcoz as a new player, U have to 1st promote your brand & products B4 U can think of profit not to mention spares & services. Its all about numbers.

Good luck to U bcoz U need all the Luck to succeed in a cutthroat environment that is too small for U to thrive.