BMW Motorrad Malaysia prices up after SST kicks in

After the all too brief post Goods and Services Tax (GST) holiday which came into effect after the change of Malaysian government, Sales and Services Tax (SST) has now kicked in, after September 1, and affecting the price of cars and motorcycles. First to come out with an SST adjusted price list is BMW Motorrad Malaysia, showing increases across the board.

Hardest hit after implementation of SST is BMW Motorrad’s R 1200 GS adventure bikes, notably the base GS and the R 1200 GS Adventure. Pricing is now RM110,900 for the base GS, a rise of RM8,000 or 7.77% from the GST price of RM102,900, while the Adventure version is now RM121,900, up RM7,000 or 6.09%.

Only minimal changes for BMW Motorrad’s S series four-cylinder machines, with pricing going up by RM1,000 for the S 1000 RR superbike and S 1000 XR adventure-tourer, to RM107,900 and RM106,900, respectively, while the naked sports S 1000 R now goes for RM88,900, an increase of RM2,000.

Other models in BMW Motorrad’s range in Malaysia see price hikes of between RM1,000 and RM2,000, while the K 1600 GT and K 1600 Bagger retail at RM162,900 each, with RM3,000 added to the showroom price post-SST. There is some good news as some other popular models are still retailing pre-SST pricing.

BMW Motorrad’s G 310 R and G 310 GS are both at 0% increase, holding to the GST price of RM26,900 and RM29,900, respectively, as well as the R nineT Pure at RM83,900 and and Racer at RM89,900. What say you, dear readers?

Has the promise of the new Malaysian government been fulfilled or is it a case of coming from the right hand and going to the left? Leave a comment with your thoughts and opinions, below.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Sep 04, 2018 at 2:33 pm

This is good news. Means less rempit on the street. In Malaysia, rempit is not just kapchai, even high class people with RM100k bikes also do rempit.

Infact, they are worse as they go in a convoy and harrass cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 16
    • OK lah tu, Taklah Naik Banyak Sangat on Sep 04, 2018 at 2:48 pm

Hahaha… don’t be silly lah. There will be more rempit bikes on the road, as bikes below 250cc (99% of rempit bikes) takda SST. Enjoy your drive while you can before the nyamok bikes come swarming all over you. Wakakaka!

• Chavez on Sep 04, 2018 at 4:20 pm

Aik. Weren’t you claiming that SST price went down but this news post here says price go up. Was this news erroneous?

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Sep 05, 2018 at 8:55 am

I was talking about cars. Learn and improve your English understanding.

Cars and bikes are different

• No wait, Chavez has a point there. This doesn’t sound like a fair taxation when the more expensive cars are made cheaper but bikes became more expensive. And according to Kastam, in general, price of things will be more expensive with SST. How often do you buy cars compared to daily groceries?

• It’s because these are CBUs ! Pls everyone be learned before commenting negatively to the brand or other ppl.

• Engineer on Sep 04, 2018 at 11:13 pm

Dumb comment. Most rempits wouldn’t be able to afford for a Motorrad and most of these touring bikers are sensible road users. Perhaps your rempit groupie uses Motorrads but certainly not for the majority of Motorrad users.

• Just say you can’t afford to buy bikes more than 250cc

• Oh Wai! Car prices Gone Down, not UP!!! on Sep 04, 2018 at 2:37 pm

Those who can afford such bikes need to pay more. This is healthy.

So long as 90% of the rakyat get cheaper cars. Let us face facts, 90% of rakyat buy Honda, Toyota, Nissan, BMW, Proton and Perodua.

Nearly all have announced lower car prices with SST

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • bmpwr on Sep 04, 2018 at 3:14 pm

Tax the rich bikers so no problem.

• Buy 100K bike with 10year loan consider rich also ka? Eksyen only many of these bikers.

• Kapcai Rider, Faster Than Felari In Traffic Jam on Sep 17, 2018 at 5:20 am

Wakakaka! You have or not? Can afford these expensive bikes or not? Price increase or decrease for these bikes have any effect on you or not? FYI, many of these Motorrad buyers pay cash, or if they take loan only because of ‘leverage’ lah, keep money in bank or investment to earn money. Oso, never heard of 10-year loan to buy Motorrad bikes. If got means, let me know then I go take loan pay RM500 instalment for the 100k+ bikes, kekekeke!

• Ghani on Sep 04, 2018 at 4:22 pm

Car prices went down but bike prices increased!!! Indeed this is New Malaysia where the rich gets rewarded and the poor gets punished!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • Fedap on Sep 05, 2018 at 9:00 am

So in Bolehland poor people buy 50-100k bikes?

• Ghani Lagi Fedap on Sep 17, 2018 at 5:29 am

Aiyoo, now I got headache to understand how you do magic calculation. How is it that BMW bikes price go up = the rich gets rewarded and poor gets punished? Got poor people buy BMW bikes? The rich people who buy BMW bikes at higher price are rewarded? Like this means we must punish the new gomen!

• kelvin on Dec 26, 2018 at 10:07 am

because Malaysia don’t produce Bike ma~

• Mikey on Sep 04, 2018 at 3:53 pm

I have no qualms/complaints if the Gomen want to tax the Rich on expensive goods. Cheers…

• Engineer on Sep 05, 2018 at 12:25 am

Are you so sure about that? BMW cars went down in price, but Motorrads went up, the funny thing is Motorrads cost way way lesser than their 4wheel counterparts hence more affordable but now this SST is subsidising the rich but taking from those mid-incomes who are looking to get 2wheel BMWs.

• alldisc on Sep 04, 2018 at 4:15 pm

Because of CBU status. Same goes to Honda cars malaysia. All CKD prices down, CBU up

• True Malaysian. on Sep 05, 2018 at 6:19 pm

Why so many noob comments by Malaysian. Sad. U can get other brand bike, why buy bmw? U blame government pulak. Go get a car with that money. Why bike? It’s high end hobbies dude.