Subaru Forester 2.0 STI Performance edition – RM135k

TC Subaru has announced a new variant of the Subaru Forester in Malaysia – the Forester 2.0 STI Performance. The new variant sees the SUV get sporty exterior and interior add-ons, and some STI badges, of course.

The Forester 2.0 STI Performance sports a dark grille with honeycomb mesh and an STI under spoiler in front; the latter is matched at the back with a rear under spoiler, which sits below a cargo step panel. There’s also an “STI Performance” badge below the rear Forester 2.0i-P emblem – that’s the variant this car is based on.

The STI Performance also comes with an STI flexible tower bar under the hood, STI brake pads and an STI air filter; all of which are more high performance than stock items.

Inside, the enhanced Forester gets leather seats with “premium carpet mats,” an STI leather shift knob and side sill plates. TC Subaru doesn’t elaborate, but we can spot red sides, red stitching and a suede-like middle section on the black leather seats. The floor mats have red piping and Forester logos, while the side sill plates read “Subaru”.

That’s as far as the STI enhancements go. The Forester 2.0 STI Performance is powered by the same 2.0 litre naturally aspirated boxer engine as the 2.0i-P, making 150 PS and 198 Nm at 4,200 rpm. The FB20 is paired with a Lineartronic CVT automatic and the brand’s signature symmetrical all-wheel-drive system with X-Mode and hill descent control. Seven airbags are standard.

The locally-assembled Subaru Forester 2.0 STI Performance starts from RM135,288 on-the-road without insurance. The new variant will be at all Subaru showrooms this weekend, September 22-23.

GALERY: Subaru Forester 2.0i-P

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Typist or Driver on Sep 20, 2018 at 12:31 pm

That’s alot of money for those “optional” items. Could’ve thrown in a couple more items like auto-lock and full auto-windows for passengers.

• Allan on Sep 20, 2018 at 12:33 pm

Proton X70 under 80K .

• Makahigh on Sep 20, 2018 at 2:51 pm

Under 80k ? Send me 10… Just make sure specs equal or you buy 1 Subaru for me

• Makah on Sep 20, 2018 at 8:05 pm

dis around RM68k in China + ILP insentif

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Sep 20, 2018 at 9:39 pm

Don’t compare Subaru to China car. Subaru is sold in 200 over countries and is world renowned. Geely is nearly all sold only in China and it has failed all first world country design and safety regulations to be sold there.

• Makalow on Sep 20, 2018 at 5:10 pm

He meant pre-registered model.

• JustSaying on Sep 20, 2018 at 12:38 pm

Asking sifu here, in term of service, parts, value and quality, is Subaru worth to own in msia?

• Honda Fan on Sep 20, 2018 at 12:39 pm

Come on.. who want these cosmetic add on that cost thousands of RM. The 2.0i-P is good enough. Please bring in the new Forester 2019.

• Alamak on Sep 20, 2018 at 1:25 pm

No no !! I just bought my Boyue

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Sep 20, 2018 at 1:33 pm

Wow…wow very cheap…should get 2

• calcutta on Sep 20, 2018 at 2:12 pm

japan had this weird fetishes with cvt box
    no thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • Nocturnal Animals (Real User) on Sep 20, 2018 at 2:32 pm

turbo lah facepalm to the max….subaru sucks

• Autobahn on Sep 20, 2018 at 2:44 pm

150hp cvt…how can these two even related with performance n sti….my god

• it’s not even 150hp bruh..150PS..performance for aunties and uncles maybe lul

• hahaha on Sep 20, 2018 at 3:00 pm

Hahaha , performance variant but no turbo, campro turbo 1.6 140PS/205NM @ 2000RPM much better

• 150hp NA lmao.
    This is like having M3 badges on your 318i except that it comes from the factory.

• Ben Yap on Sep 20, 2018 at 5:12 pm

how can it deserve the performance moniker?

there’s no power increase.

• Much like TRD and Nismo brands here. Only Mugen still remain purely performance.

• Gonggok on Sep 20, 2018 at 6:02 pm

All the pickup truck drivers will tapau this forester STI everyday. All got more hp and far more torque.

• I thought this was the better version of Forester XT. I was wrong. XT deserve the STI touch.

• I own 2 cars. One for fun drive (track racing, weekend twist), another for normal everyday office use (Prius). Unlike you miskin people, I don’t talk about tork, HP, turbo, compression ratio, performance for my Prius coz I don’t care. All those are not important when your arse are stuck in traffic at least 1 hour everyday. Buy 1 for use, 1 for fun. Apply to marriage too :-P. If u just want to “speed 180kph” in NSE n collect saman, even my sister’s myvi can do that without problem. No thrill driving fast like a mindless girl anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
    • myvipower on Sep 21, 2018 at 9:21 am

Myvi 120kmh pun can feel like terbang and going into gaung ady

• Sammy on Sep 21, 2018 at 3:09 pm

I like your comment sir!

• Azman on Sep 22, 2018 at 4:59 am

So what do you drive for fun? Your sister’s myvi?

• Autobahn on Sep 22, 2018 at 9:44 am

Sorry to defer mr m291..i’d like my daily drive to be as powerful as my weekend worrior..only the daily drive must be more practical like suv with big power…while the weekend car would be 2 doors light weigth and high power. If you too miskin to save on fuel usage on daily so that you can spend them on tyres and ron 100 on the weekend …i can still understand

• Narjeep on Sep 21, 2018 at 8:00 am

another con job by TC. A no substance STI version except the cosmetic and STI badge.
    TC used to do this for their Nissan line of cars. Nismo here and there. wonder whether there will be Nismo version of the nissan van or trucks too.

• Joe Berjaya on Sep 21, 2018 at 1:03 pm

Yeap there is Nismo NV350 selling in phillipine. Try google it and you will know.. haha.

• Smith on Sep 21, 2018 at 11:39 am

Nice car, lethargic engine.