Geely MPV gets teased – is this the next Proton Exora?

Geely is gearing up to unveil its first MPV and has released a few teaser images of the model, which was previewed in concept form at Auto Shanghai 2017. The MPV is known internally as the VF11 and is said to be a replacement for the Emgrand EV8 and possibly the next-gen Proton Exora (still a rumour for now).

Anyway, the cues seen in these shots are almost identical to what we’ve seen in previously leaked photos, starting with the brand’s trademark “expanding cosmos” grille. The headlamps flanking the centrepiece appear to be LED-type units with slender light bars leading towards the middle, while the wide lower intake features recessed sections to house LED light bars.

In profile, the concept’s “floating roof” look has successfully made it onto the production model, although the ultra-slim side mirrors and reverse-hinged rear doors are now more conventional in nature, as you’d expect.

As for the rear, the concept’s signature lighting in the taillights has been carried over, although the clusters themselves have been reshaped. Additionally, they now wrap around a chrome trim piece linking them, with the Geely lettering on it.

Barring official details from Geely, the MPV is said to measure 4,706 mm, width of 1,909 mm, height of 1,664 mm and a wheelbase of 2,805 mm. In comparison, that’s 114 mm longer than the Exora’s 4,592 mm overall length and 436 mm more than the Perodua Alza (4,270 mm).

Reported powertrains include regular petrol-powered, plug-in hybrid, and full electric options. The first two employ a 1.5 litre turbocharged four-cylinder unit making up to 177 hp with/without an electric motor, and will be available at market launch. Meanwhile, the full electric version is said to join the line-up later in the year.

GALLERY: Geely VF11 leaked photos

GALLERY: Geely MPV Concept at Auto Shanghai 2017

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• taknakhonda on Sep 26, 2018 at 1:09 pm

Geely VF11 will steal from Honda BR-V and Honda Odyssey Sales in the future

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • Although the Toyota Alza has been around for over a decade, it is still way way better than this Geely MPV. You can tell by the number of Toyota Alza otr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 62
    • Geely sold 300,000 Boyue last year. How many Alza did your Toyota sell in its lifetime? Such an ancient fossil should be kept inside a museum instead of being on the road endangering people.

• Susukotak on Sep 26, 2018 at 7:48 pm

Nah. Naza Ria & Chery Eastar Mpv way better

• What?? on Sep 26, 2018 at 9:20 pm

Toyota Alza? Lol more like a cikai version of the Passo Sette that’s been cheapened to hell and sold with nowhere near the same level of safety or convenience equipment. And it’s been saddled with the most pathetic powertrain to saddle a 7 seater car ever.

• yawnz on Sep 26, 2018 at 10:52 pm

Pipu buy p2 coz it is cheap not because it is good

• Bryan on Sep 26, 2018 at 11:10 pm

what is a toyota alza?

• P2 only tumpang glamour Toyota, which tumpang glamour Geely. Tak malukah P2 tumpang sekehen glamour?

• Akira on Sep 26, 2018 at 1:25 pm

Who wanna bet this MPV will get tease how long until they are officially launch..?

• anonymous on Sep 26, 2018 at 1:28 pm

I don’t mind platform sharing, but why keep on re-badging? Proton should come out it own design models.
    Perodua is transforming now while Proton steps backward.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • What?? on Sep 26, 2018 at 9:17 pm

Not all of their new cars are rebadged Geelys. 2021 will mark the arrival of a 2nd generation Iriz and 4th generation Saga which will no doubt be locally designed and engineered. Maybe will utilize Geely platforms and tech, but the bulk of work would be handled by Proton.

• p2macai on Sep 26, 2018 at 10:53 pm

Ady done, with latest iriz and persona 2 from which cave you go out again?

• Rightwinger on Sep 26, 2018 at 11:01 pm

The article didn’t mention anything about rebadging.

• Honda Fan on Sep 26, 2018 at 1:38 pm

MPV with no sliding doors? Not for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • Voldemort on Sep 26, 2018 at 8:11 pm

If we get mpv with sliding door. It will not be recoganise as personal car. It will be in van category. Roadtax for van is much higher. Im okay with normal door. This is not vip mpv. We lack of local mpv. All we have is exora and alza. Both are aging already. 8&9 yrs or so since their launch. Time for new exora and new alza.

• toyotamacai on Sep 26, 2018 at 10:55 pm

SO if follow your logic stream, odyssey also not for you. Fake honda fan

• Honda Fan on Sep 28, 2018 at 11:39 am

Who said Odyssey got no sliding doors? Oh I know, you referred to the old outdated recond, Yes not interested at all.

• I am still getting used to calling these cars “proton”

• John L on Sep 28, 2018 at 11:15 pm

You’ll get used to it soon enough, just like how most Malaysians happily call the Daihatsu Sirion a Perodua Myvi.

• Kejuteraan tukar lencana on Sep 26, 2018 at 2:19 pm

rebadging engineering…

• fantastic upgrade for Estima/Serena owners to Proton M70 MPV.

• guan eng on Sep 26, 2018 at 3:47 pm

fake car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • Looks Good…. if selling at affordable price will be good… considering Geely B-segment Suv or This…..

• P1, Geely, Mesidis, VolvoCar, VolvoTrucks, Lotus > all

• Ruslan Bahari on Sep 26, 2018 at 4:47 pm

Shut up and take my money!

• There is news that Geely has outlined 2 more latest models for proton ie : this one is codenamed XX11 and a Small crossover codenamed BX02 and iam sorry to say that the rest are all new platform by ProtonGeelyVolvo the first car from this the 2021Saga/Iriz and 2023Preve/Suprima have been previewed by internall board of Geely…..

• Not Toyota Fan on Sep 26, 2018 at 5:06 pm

Won’t be here that fast.

Next to be launched here will be the RHD SX11 Bin Yue (Proton X40/X50/X60).

Running 2 production lines (RHD X70 & RHD SX11) at the new Geely-Proton Tanjung Malim factory will be enough headache for the management team. Imagine getting the Tanjung Malim factory QAQC to match that of Geely China is a big enough headache, add on top of that to ensure QAQC of local vendors meeting Geely standards. If vendors supply sub standard local parts, it’ll be back to those bad old days again.

They gotta get it all right before opening a 3rd line for this RHD VF11.

• Malaysian on Sep 26, 2018 at 7:18 pm

If this is new Exora, is it all Proton car replaced by Geely model in future?

• So Proton are 100% gone now..and i see in comment what tun said about consumer mindset. Sad but too late now , can’t reverse what have been done.

• Izham Sham on Sep 27, 2018 at 6:06 pm

You believing what the hard-wired snake tongued old man Tun says all that we need to know about your mindset i.e. uneducated and gullible. Look around at the big real world, and try to think for yourself if Proton can survive on its own, or if Tun will again use Petronas’s money to bail Proton out again (and again).

• apamau on Sep 27, 2018 at 9:34 pm

Kolos Proton, komplen.
        Jual Proton, komplen..
        Proton buang kelija, komplen.
        Kereta Proton kasi free, pon lagi komplen..

• What proton? Campro engine was bought from lotus. Do you really think there was really anything made by proton?

• Cikinat on Sep 26, 2018 at 11:31 pm

I want to buy this car

• Daniel on Sep 27, 2018 at 6:37 am

Redesign the Logo. A new design Logo will change the mindset and perception to locals and foreign buyers. The new logo will not only represent a national made but also would tell the quality of a product like what you surprised the locals with a new named on a SUV as “X70”.

• Same L0rr on Sep 27, 2018 at 7:46 am

5 years later will launch! I bet!

• Not Toyota Fan on Sep 27, 2018 at 11:31 am

2020/2021 more likely. 2019 is CKD X70 & SX11 (maybe CBU first batch like X70). Then 2020 CKD SX11 & earliest, Q4 2020 this VF11.

• Even if come out at 2525 it will still be more modern than any MPV P2 can come out with in 2525.

• Ppl buy alza cos it is the lowest price available to us. Not because it is cheap or affordable. Cars are not cheap nor affordable because of the NAP. It is a failed policy at the expenses of 30 million malaysians, just to provide machine operator jobs to 150k people? Billions are spent to subsidise p1 and p2 in grants which are collected through taxes when you purchased non p1 p2 cars. After 30 years, we are still no where. Maybe we should learn how to produce bicycle before car?

• azmi_autobahn on Oct 01, 2018 at 4:11 pm

Campro is an outdated engine, true.
    But Campro was bought from Lotus? Isn’t true at all. It was developed by Proton and its technical partner in Brighton. Lotus and Proton as one customer team, whilst the technical partner as the consultant.

• in the future… if proton still exist, proton only a distributor & seller of geely-made vehicles