SST: Hyundai price list – Ioniq and Elantra cheaper

Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors (HSDM) has announced an updated price list of Hyundai models currently on sale in the country, in line with the implementation of the sales and service tax (SST) on September 1.

UPDATE: Following the initial SST price list update, HSDM has revised the pricing of the Elantra, which was previously unchanged from with GST are now . The story has been edited to reflect the changes.

The SST-based list sees a slight reduction in price for five models compared to when the 6% goods and services tax (GST) was in place.

Click to enlarge.

Both the base Ioniq Hybrid and Ioniq Hybrid Plus variants are now RM500 and RM600 cheaper respectively, and the three Elantra variants see a significant drop, and are priced as they were with zero-rated GST – the 2.0 Executive is RM6,500 cheaper, while the 2.0 Dynamic is RM6,700 less than before. Finally, the Sport costs RM7,400 less than it was before June 1.

Gone from the new SST price list are the four model Tucson line-up and the Starex. As previously mentioned, the Sonata and Santa Fe are nowhere to be found, having been discontinued in anticipation of new models. The old Veloster has also been phased out, but we won’t be seeing its replacement, which has already been revealed for other markets. The company said it will update its price list when other newer models are launched.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Red carpet rolling Hyundai Kona & i30 Fastback.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Sep 28, 2018 at 8:38 am

Car prices have gone down or remained the same with SST. Many have gone down quite a lot. So much for the fake rumour that all car prices will go up 300% with the introduction of SST

We must be careful with fake news.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
      • Who told you it went down? Elantra is still the same price. Zero transparency and zero explanation on the weird pricing. This SST, and by whole this gomen, is not transparent at all.

Just smacks right in the face of their promise to be more transparent and accountable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
        • Even the CKD is priced more than before. While SST is supposed to install to 1st stage, it is weird tht the car pricier thn GST period.

• Ruslan on Sep 28, 2018 at 10:26 am

The Hyundai bisnes was so successful under Berjaya. Sonata, Elantra, Starex, Accent, i10 were everywhere.

And now under HSDM…

• lel. More foot-in-mouth news from this fake guy. Can ignore what he says.

• Lel. And you cared to comment on a fake.

• lel. Just doing a public announcement service to the readers here.

• Norlia on Sep 28, 2018 at 3:10 pm

Thanks m, for highlighting this to us. His shenanigans has gone on long enough.

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Sep 28, 2018 at 9:01 am

I like this Ionic but I refuse to buy this car because I am a patriotic Malaysian. I am waiting for Proton Iriz EV that Proton showcased 5 years ago. 5 years now I still waiting. Proton says they still doing research and development on the Iriz and EV

I think judging by the number of years they are taking, the car must have more technology than the Mercedes Maybach

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • rightwinger on Sep 28, 2018 at 1:44 pm

you know, you could just drop them an email to ask why said EV is till not produced. get your answer straight from them instead of bitchin about it day in and day out.. you sound like a broken record.

unless of course thats exactly what you dont want to do, because you dont want an answer so that you could keep popping up with ridiculously hateful statements and claims targeting fellow malaysians, insinuating theyre below human for being locals. because if one goes back and read your comments, no one cant run away from the stench of your chavinistic being.

• I can see more & more PT visitors now got sick of his copy-pasta idiocy and voicing out their displeasures. Another commenter even managed to deduced that he is a hired agent of current Gov. He and his dupes r losing influence & whatever shred of credibility in this site.

• Ollie on Sep 28, 2018 at 3:28 pm

Do you even know what it means to “target fellow Malaysians”? Ingrate gnome with a testicular virility deficit. You and all those who won’t criticise Proton are the unpatriotic nation-haters.

• Ghani on Sep 28, 2018 at 4:48 pm

Kunta boss comes to defend the useless-ness of his underling? This should be good.

• Rightwinger on Sep 28, 2018 at 7:59 pm

Yes my dear, I know exactly what that phrase means. And don’t worry about my little under muscle, it stands tall n straight and doesn’t shoot blanks either.

• Rightwinger on Sep 28, 2018 at 8:41 pm

And another thing, no one is against fair criticism. Just don’t conflate being hateful with criticism.

when one ascribes P1 shortcomings to certain ethnic groups, because of their ethnicity, and suggests replacing them with another group that is supposedly, superior- that smacks of ethno chauvinism, no matter how anyone tries to sugar coat it.

• Many models gone, will HSDM be gone soon, too? Haha

• Ah beng Level 2 on Sep 28, 2018 at 8:35 am

I always wondered wat were they thinking when pricing the Elantra models…trying to fight the japs head on by matching or even higher price than their Civic etv models is surely harakiri..

• Ben Yap on Sep 28, 2018 at 11:41 am

that’s why the every reigning Honda civic 1.5 turbo always take the top spot.

Hyundai elantra especially the 1.6 turbo cannot sell. even car journalists can sing praises for it, reality still stays. the car cannot command that price and it will struggle to sell. At best, the elantra turbo is worth RM115K. Mind you, that’s already expensive by every means.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 28, 2018 at 9:52 am

so empty…i30N bring it here.

• Ollie on Sep 28, 2018 at 3:29 pm

Better and better cars.. unfortunately design has gone down the drain. Good value but I can’t live with that design.