SST: Toyota announces new pricing – up to 1.04% less

UMW Toyota (UMWT) has updated the pricing for its models following the implementation of the sales and services tax (SST) on September 1. It’s a mixed bag here, with the new prices of some models now lower than previous prices with 6% goods and services tax (GST), and vice versa.

In terms of price reductions, models like the Vios, Fortuner and Innova are now up to 1.04% less than GST-inclusive prices. Meanwhile, other models such as the Corolla Altis, Harrier, Hilux and C-HR receive a hike of up to 3.7%.

Among all the models, the Alphard 3.5 sees the largest increase in price by RM13,200 compared to the GST-inclusive price. The Vellfire 2.5 comes in second with RM11,200 added on top of its previous GST-inclusive figure. On the other hand, two variants of the Vios are now RM800 cheaper – the largest figure when it comes to reductions.

Interestingly enough, SST-inclusive pricing for the entire Sienta, Avanza and Camry line-ups (including the Camry Hybrid) isn’t on Toyota Malaysia’s website at the time of posting but we will update this space when/should it be made available.

Several car companies have already released prices with SST in place, with more on the way. For now, it’s clear that not all prices are going upwards with the introduction of the SST, as suggested by Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA).

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Cannot believe AAM. No credibility unprofessionals

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
    • Rimau on Sep 06, 2018 at 10:38 am

Toyota 3rd place dis year, behind P2 and H..

• Steven Kwong on Sep 06, 2018 at 11:34 am

In Malaysia, Toyota is still very overpriced. Even our Camry Hyrbrid is RM170k when the same Camry Hybrid in Australia is AUD27k (RM90k)

Somemore the Camry Hybrid supposed to be tax free being a Hybrid CKD tax model. So how RM90k vs RM170k???

Time for UMW to reduce prices. Reducing 1% is not good enough.

• why is the title only mentioned “up to 1.04% less”, but not mentioning “up to 3.7% more”?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • Sense on Sep 06, 2018 at 11:25 am

Increase 3% decrease 1%, overall still more increase then decrease…showroom discounts can more than make up for the few hundreds ringgit. CHR is now 150K LOL…Nice car but under specced in Malaysia. Cars still overpriced mana Harapan? Oh wai the old man started all these…

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Sep 06, 2018 at 11:55 am

I have to agree john, car prices are too high in Malaysia.

Was waiting for the 30% car price reduction promised by the previous Government but pulak, car prices went up and up and up.

• Not Toyota Fan on Sep 06, 2018 at 12:37 pm

MAA is not AAM lah.

• kenot on Sep 05, 2018 at 9:02 pm

bye2 lah altis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 23
  • Conspicuously, missing King Camry… interesting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
  • Where is Camry?

• Lets See on Sep 05, 2018 at 9:33 pm

Sales figure kecik miow… ok lah. They can absorb it.

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Sep 06, 2018 at 11:56 am

I really hope Boyue does well and wipes out Toyota…..oh wai!

• SK, Lim on Sep 05, 2018 at 9:37 pm

Workhorses like Hiace & Hilux gets price increase while soccer mom SUVs Fortuner & Innova gets reduction. SST is proving to be not so business-friendly as predicted by economists.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Elvin W on Sep 05, 2018 at 10:06 pm

Okay… where is the new pricing for Toyota Sienta? Is it no longer sell in Malaysia?

• ex-VGM staff on Sep 06, 2018 at 11:01 am

most probably a facelift is around the corner, or all new model. lets look at toyota indonesia (where our sienta is built)

• Hi, any news about Avanza (G)? Its not in the list.thanks

• garfed on Sep 05, 2018 at 10:53 pm

umw can go dig their own grave….i just hope consumer will be smarter on deciding vehicle brand and bankrupting umw.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 40
    • tabouleh… bankrupting umw. epf money inside

• Nocturnal Animals on Sep 06, 2018 at 11:53 am

Honda Malaysia will go dig their own grave….i just hope consumer will be smarter on deciding vehicle brand and bankrupting Honda Malaysia

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 7
      • Nocturnal Animals on Sep 07, 2018 at 11:22 am

So many brainless toyota fangays support me :D… im just a kid who hates Honda Malaysia

• heyheyman123 on Sep 07, 2018 at 1:43 pm

I suspect this is the fake user as Fake Nocturnal Animals

• halloha560-john SDN BHD on Sep 07, 2018 at 8:06 pm

So many smart people support toyota. most of them hates Honda Malaysia because Honda service quality is very terrible and Honda assembly quality is terrible

• How to compete with Honda?
    Rivals giving most of their cars with 2%-3% discount.
    Toyota increase 2%-3% for most of their cars instead.

• markgoh on Sep 05, 2018 at 11:23 pm

even Yamaha bike get 1k drop…

• Sammy Loo on Sep 05, 2018 at 11:53 pm

Toyota price up is good, because the car will return good RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 15
  • Wasted on Sep 05, 2018 at 11:54 pm

Not worth it to buy chr at 150k. Better opt for crv.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 58
  • This only shows MAA really dont know how to do their job.Waste money only.

• Mario and Bros on Sep 06, 2018 at 6:25 am

Even though Honda model is cheaper but Toyota models is expensive for some Toyota models, guys you shouldn’t buy Honda because there are huge problems about my Civic including other Honda models too. I just bought Civic for several months ago. After several months, I have been hearing noises from steering wheel, steering column, driver and passenger doors, underneath 7 inch central console, air con vents, room light, dashboard, rear seat, A pillar, and some areas which I couldn’t identify. Furthermore, EPS (Electonic Power Steering) got problem. Also when I drive at the low speed, I heard that there is a crackling noise from Drive Shaft and also Relay on/off for more than 10 times in 1 second which gives problem which Honda Assembly quality is very terrible and it is most likely same goes to other Honda models. So I went to Honda Service Center to service and fixed my Civic. But after servicing and fixed my Civic, still there is lots of problem, either Honda service people didn’t service and fixed my car properly or Honda service people didn’t bother to fixed my car or service my car. Lastly, if you buy Honda, it will be more dangerous and very risky for you and you will have to face lots of problems. I suggest to buy Toyota, Mazda, Kia, Proton. It will be more reliable, lesser problem for when servicing and also assembly people will use correct parts to install for Toyota models, Mazda models and Kia models and Proton models. Trust me

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 29
    • Civic Civic on Sep 06, 2018 at 10:14 am

Yours must be a lemon unit.. just unlucky. My Civic turbo 1st batch.. until now no problem. Enjoy my drive everyday & have no complain. Even my previous City, don’t give me any problem in the first 6 years of ownership, minor repairs after 7 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 55
      • Mario and Bros on Sep 06, 2018 at 11:03 am

this is fake comment and you dont really understand at all. Look at many customer, they had so many complaints about Honda models after servicing at Honda Malaysia. Just check the website: (https://paultan.org/2018/09/03/sst-honda-releases-new-prices-up-to-rm4-9k-less/#comments). This is the real information and I am not joking at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
        • Civic Civic on Sep 06, 2018 at 1:00 pm

Why need to understand? I’m just giving my comments based on my experience on my Civic and my previous City. U as a owner can complain but i’m as a owner, my comments become fake comments.. lol.. No car is perfect, yes there are ppl complaining about Honda, there are also many who are satisfied with their Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 41
          • Mario and Bros on Sep 06, 2018 at 9:24 pm

But except for service quality which is very terrible and I am not very satisfied with Honda Malaysia and Honda Malaysia is not trusted brand

• Mario and Bros on Sep 06, 2018 at 10:12 pm

No many customer are not satisfied, they thought and feel that they are wasting their time and their money for servicing their Honda Models. They are not very satisfied at all including me. It is not worth Honda Malaysia

• stastasta on Sep 07, 2018 at 10:29 am

this moron “Mario and Bros” is pasting the same comment in every article related to honda. highly suspect he is a salesman from rival company. because the only person complaining loudly about honda in paultan, is him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
    • sohai on Sep 06, 2018 at 10:24 am

Toyota salesman/cybertrooper detected

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 37
    • Every1canTalk on Sep 06, 2018 at 11:10 am

Wow, your hearing is good that can counting noise that more than 10 times in 1 second. lol

• Lolwhut? on Sep 06, 2018 at 11:53 am

“I heard… more than 10 times in 1 second”
      Really ah? Even Superman & Flash will have trouble doing that feat. This story sounds like a wall of fish.

• Not Toyota Fan on Sep 06, 2018 at 12:45 pm

Why didn’t you buy Altis? Bestest RV (some say in Singapore & Batam too), Toyota badge (future father in law sure see you up one), proven reliability of (over 10 year old technology) NA engine & 4AT, UMW after sales service & quality assurance ….

• Honda City 2k cheaper with SST, while Vios a measly 800 only. Don’t tell me this is another one of UMW’s hanky-panky again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Looks like it’s going to be a downward slide for Toyota sales from now till the year end.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 43
    • Mario and Bros on Sep 06, 2018 at 10:59 am

Wrong Honda sales will be most likely to be drop because Honda service center is very terrible as I went to many different location of Honda service center to service my Civic. After servicing at Honda service center, same problem about my Civic after I bought my Civic for several months ago including other Honda models. I really pissed off. And I am not going to buy Honda in Honda Malaysia anymore and I am sick and very upset as I have too much stress. Guys, pls dont ever buy Honda models in Honda Malaysia. If you buy Honda, it will be more dangerous and very risky for you and you will have to face lots of problem. This information is the truth and I am not joking at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
  • CheArm on Sep 06, 2018 at 7:30 am

Harga Sienta tak masuk kaa???

• Even if it’s here, the price most likely went up bcos Sienta is CBU.

• engdau on Sep 06, 2018 at 9:19 am

No more Toyota Camry in the pricing list….

• Elvin on Sep 06, 2018 at 9:33 am

The most ridiculous price compared to other car brand

• Honda on Sep 06, 2018 at 10:06 am

Rest in peace Altis. A base 1.8 Altis cost the same with 120k with Civic Turbo TC?? crazy pricing. Even now hardly can see one latest Altis facelift otr.

CHR 150k without insurance? wow..

• Laughter on Sep 06, 2018 at 10:27 am

RIP, C-HR!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 22
    • CHR OWNER on Sep 07, 2018 at 10:29 am

Managed to get a pre GST CHR at old price. Leganya hatiku. If u wanna be sour, go screw urself.

• Toyota- moving backward

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 30
  • azhar on Sep 06, 2018 at 1:58 pm

MAA did it purposely to encouraged public buy cars

• Wajib on Sep 06, 2018 at 2:00 pm

Toyota sales going to be acara terjun olyimpic

• Like watching waterfall, see the beauty as it cascades down rapidly. Lolz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • This indicate UMW sourced more imported parts for Toyota car than other CKD carmakers. Locally sourced parts can get Industrial Linkage Programme (ILP) excise duty exemptions.

• Haidi on Sep 09, 2018 at 2:08 pm

I sincerely wish that Toyota will wake up again.

• Sayonara Toyota

• Say good better say bad

• Ckcheong on Sep 12, 2018 at 11:05 am

What??? Few hundred cheaper only?