Only 50 people surrender their illegal driving licence

The transport ministry’s call to those in possession of illegal driving licences to surrender them seems to be falling on deaf ears, with only 50 people having turned in their lesen terbang to the road transport department’s (JPJ) integrity unit between September 13 to October 8, Bernama reports. Of these, 25 were Malaysians, while the other half were foreigners, deputy transport minister Datuk Kamarudin Jaffar said.

The number is a mere trickle in the total number of such licences as revealed by the government. In September, transport minister Anthony Loke had said that the ministry had identified 14,000 lesen terbang licences issued by renegade JPJ personnel over the past two years, and had given those in possession of these a month to relinquish them, failing which action will be taken against them.

Loke added that the majority of the illegal driving licence holders were Malaysians, but there were also foreigners who bought their Malaysian driving licences, which had been sold for between RM2,000 and RM3,500 each.

Kamarudin said that apart from his ministry and the JPJ, the Malaysian anti-corruption commission (MACC) was also actively investigating the case. “The MACC’s investigation focuses on the procedures involved in the application to converting a foreign driving license to Malaysian driving licence,” he said in reply to a question at the Dewan Rakyat.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• hairoll on Oct 24, 2018 at 3:12 pm

blacklist all lesen terbang driver on JPJ, PDRM, JPN, CCRIS, Imigresen, PTPTN, CTOS dan KWSP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • sampan 250kmph on Oct 24, 2018 at 4:41 pm

those none legit obtained license driver or rider mindset will always be
      1. come catch me if you can, too many of us out there
      2. i didn’t know my license is illegal
      3. I cannot remember how I got my license
      4. my connection is strong, got protection, untouchable

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 24, 2018 at 7:08 pm

This is not as bad as driving without lesen. According to Government statistics, there are officially 4 million motorists without lesen. these are official figures. Expect real figures to be higher.

Anyway assuming we take 4 million as the figure, in a country where there are 10 million motorists, this means 1 in every 2.5 drivers have no lesen.

Now do you understand why we have so many accidents and deaths per annum? So many unqualified drivers on the road.

How did the figure become 4 million? 20 yrs ago, it was only 20,000 motorists with no lesen.

Answer is very simple. Our corrupted PDRM and JPJ always take duit kopi and release offenders back onto the roads. Over time, this figure grew grew grew and became 4 million

this what happens when corruption is prevalent in society due to it being a way of life before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
      • Albert wanks 8X on Oct 25, 2018 at 8:01 am

As if every single JPJ & police officer is corrupt. corruption is a way of life? Go to Indo to see that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 25, 2018 at 12:21 pm

We have to thank previous administration for the compliance to corruption.

• Susukotak on Oct 24, 2018 at 3:46 pm

what is the procedure for surrender?

• Shaftbury on Oct 24, 2018 at 4:46 pm

This is no joke. We already had one fatal accident in Cyberjaya involving a foreign driver. Probably he had one of those lesen terbang.

• Chandra on Oct 24, 2018 at 8:07 pm

Foreign drivers never bothered about license, what more lesen terbang.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 24, 2018 at 8:05 pm

“…..The MACC’s investigation focuses on the procedures involved in the application to converting a foreign driving license to Malaysian driving licence,” he said in reply to a question at the Dewan Rakyat….”

That’s funny. I converted my licence to MY license 10 years ago without having to pay anything other than the yearly licence fee to JPJ. Only inconveniece is having to go to putrajaya.

Why people have to pay money for it? LOL

• Happy on Oct 24, 2018 at 9:38 pm

People have to pay more money to this gomen, unlike 10 years ago.

• Ninja on Oct 25, 2018 at 10:38 am

50 down, 10 million to go?

• Khairul Izam on Oct 25, 2018 at 4:14 pm

500,000 kereta dgn airbeg rosak pun belum settle, ini orang mau kacau benda lain? Dia ni tau tak buat keje dia?