Hyundai Tucson facelift launched in Malaysia – 2.0L Elegance & 1.6L Turbo, priced at RM124k & RM144k

After teasing the SUV’s arrival early this month, Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors has finally introduced the Hyundai Tucson facelift, and it’s available in two trims – 2.0L Elegance and 1.6L Turbo. Pricing starts from RM123,888 for the entry-level model, whereas the turbocharged variant costs RM143,888. Both are on-the-road prices excluding insurance.

New to the C-segment SUV is the revised front fascia. Besides the new bumper, the 2.0L Elegance gets a metallic silver cascading grille and halogen projector headlights, whereas the 1.6L Turbo gets a chromed grille with dual-projector LED headlights (with positioning and cornering lamps), chrome door handles with LED pocket lighting and LED tail lights. Both variants sit on the same 17-inch wheels.

Inside, the dashboard has been completely redesigned with a seven-inch freestanding infotainment display (supports Android Auto and Apple CarPlay) that’s positioned above the newly-designed central air vents. However, the centre stack below that remains unchanged, so there’s still the dual-zone climate control, USB and auxiliary inputs, as well as a 12-volt socket.

Elsewhere, there’s a new leather seat design, but unique to the 1.6L Turbo are an electronic parking brake, electrochromic rear-view mirror, an eight-way powered driver seat with two-way lumbar support, a 4.2-inch multi-info display and a leather-wrapped dashboard.

As for engines, the 1.6 litre T-GDI unit produces 177 PS and 265 Nm of torque, which is the same as the pre-facelift model we have now. The engine is exclusively mated to a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission. The non-turbo variant retains the existing 2.0 litre naturally-aspirated Nu MPi mill producing 155 PS and 192 Nm, and it gets a six-speed automatic.

Safety-wise, both Tucson models come with the usual gamut of features, starting with ABS with EBD, Electronic Stability Control, Hill-Assist Control, Downhill Brake Control, Brake Assist and Vehicle Stability Management. The 2.0L Elegance has just two airbags and rear parking sensors, whereas the 1.6L Turbo gets upgraded to six airbags and comes with additional front sensors.

Each purchase of the Tucson comes with a 50,000 km free service with three years’ validity, as well as a five-year or 300,000 km (whichever comes first) warranty programme.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Matthew, there’s no mention of the diesel model?

• Habis lah

• CBU Proton X70 vs Hyundai Tucson

• Ben Yap on Oct 31, 2018 at 6:53 pm

X70 a much better choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
  • John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 31, 2018 at 7:07 pm

Greedy Sime Darby. Charging so high. This car in the US is only USD20k. Here, they sell for RM145k

I remember when I bought my CBU Tucson few years back, it came with the import papers from Kastam Di Raja Malaysia. I got a shock of my life when I read the papers. The actual cost of the car was US8k.

I guess Sime Darby gets this car at cost price of US8k from their principal in Korea. That is RM35k. But sell here Rm145k

I wonder why we Malaysians have to live with such high car prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 20
    • kzm (Member) on Nov 01, 2018 at 1:00 pm

Giving useless info give u nothing.

• Wahahaha on Nov 01, 2018 at 3:02 pm

My Mazda2 selling price from Thai Assembly plant was stated at RM25K only FYI.

Hyundai Sime intention is probably to undercut Mazda CX5’s 2.0 and the CRV’s base model market only.

Anyhow car prices are affected by:

1)MITI’s approval.
      2)AP,Excise,Import Tax.
      3)Cost for Manpower at the assembly plant
      4)Cost pengangkutan from assembly to PDI
      5)Cost at PDI
      6)Salesmen commission
      7)Cost for Marketing
      8)etc
      9)etc
      10)etc

Malaysian market is too small. And those companies has alot of employees mouth to feed.

• Safety First on Oct 31, 2018 at 7:28 pm

No AEB, no buy!

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 31, 2018 at 7:44 pm

Two airbags.

• Khairyl on Oct 31, 2018 at 7:46 pm

(Like) Proton X70 1.8 TGDi with 181hp/285 Nm.
    (Unlike) Tucson 1.6 TGDI with 177PS/265Nm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
  • What happened to the 2.0 diesel?

• 2 airbags rm124k. Nice

• Hello john roti on Oct 31, 2018 at 10:38 pm

Rest X70 in peace…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • Engineer on Nov 01, 2018 at 11:01 am

Only 2 airbags on the 124k version? RIP Tucson, RIP the occupants.

• Wahahaha on Nov 01, 2018 at 3:43 pm

That is why you have to buy the 1.6 Turbo spec got 6 airbags!

Or the Subarus. Forester 2.0i or 2.0p. 7 AIRBAGS!

• History Bender on Nov 01, 2018 at 10:14 pm

I rather go straight for X70 @ <Rm100k and get 6 airbags straightaway instead.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Oct 31, 2018 at 11:03 pm

1 down, many to go.

• Maria on Nov 01, 2018 at 7:11 am

Seriously hyundai 2 airbags on elegance spec that cost 124k seriously??? Heck even the competitors are giving 6 airbags as standard across it’s range…

• In this day and age and pricing more than 100k with 2airbag really unacceptable..

• Wahahaha on Nov 01, 2018 at 3:29 pm

Buy the 1.6 Turbo spec instead. Just ignore the base spec Tucson

• An underrated SUV, this. One of the better ones from Korea actually. I wish they had the diesel one, though.

• kenot on Nov 01, 2018 at 10:25 am

come on. 6 airbags should be standard across the variant. other equipment can be compromise.

• Petoron Sagu on Nov 01, 2018 at 11:38 am

With the price…. Good luck…. Tk laku jgn marah aaaa….

• Sohai (not ori) on Nov 01, 2018 at 1:06 pm

And the secretive X70 price still unknown and not launch3d..maybe will announce “due to overwhelming booking we decided to extend the offer before revealing the prices next year”