Citroën Grand C4 SpaceTourer now in M’sia – RM150k

Naza Euro Motors has launched the new Citroën Grand C4 SpaceTourer in Malaysia, which is priced at RM149,888 on-the-road without insurance. Previously known with the ‘Picasso’ suffix, the refreshed seven-seater MPV gets a number of updates involving its styling as well as fitted equipment.

Starting with the former, there’s a new front bumper design with two separate air inlets, with the upper one closely resembling what you’ll find on the latest Berlingo. Meanwhile, the lower section features horizontal slats that lead into C-shaped chrome trim pieces that encapsulate the circular fog lamps.

As for the lighting setup, the slim LED daytime running lights are retained and continue to blend in well with the extended ends of the Citroën logo. The main bi-xenon headlamps are positioned below the DRLs, and the clusters themselves have been reshaped. Most of exterior revisions are mainly focused on the front, with barely any changes found in the rear. For the Malaysian market, the French MPV rides on 17-inch ‘Boa’ alloy wheels.

Change to the interior aren’t as comprehensive either, with a familiar dashboard layout as before. You’ll still get a 12-inch digital instrument that sits above a seven-inch touchscreen infotainment system, although the latter now comes with support for Android Auto, Apple CarPlay and MirrorLink.

Other features include a 360-degree surround view system, reverse camera, dual-zone automatic climate control in front and air vents for the second (pillar-mounted dual-zone blower control) and third rows (roof-mounted single-zone blower control), and a powered tailgate with hands-free operation.

There’s more safety and driver assist systems now, with the addition of Active Safety Brake that works at speed of up to 30 km/h to prevent a collision; Speed Limit Recognition; and Driver Attention Alert. You’ll still get six airbags, ESC with traction control, ABS with EBD and BA, Hill Start Assist, and three Isofix child seat mounting points in the second row.

Under the bonnet, a 1.6 litre THP petrol engine continues to be of service, providing 167 PS and 240 Nm of torque. The mill drives the front wheels with a six-speed automatic transmission, and the MPV has a claimed fuel consumption of 5.8 l/100 km.

Customers will get to choose from four colours – Ruby Red, Lazuli Blue, Onyx Black, and Polar White – with each purchase being accompanied by a five-year/120,000-km warranty, three years free service, 24-hour roadside assistance and access to the Sky Lounge at Subang Skypark.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Road Killer Machine on Nov 01, 2018 at 4:29 pm

Anyone have experience owning this C4/Picasso before? How reliable is this car in Malaysia? I’ve seen a few around my neigbourhood. Thinking of getting one for my wife. I don’t mind the low RV whatsoever as long as this car is reliable.

• Freddy on Nov 01, 2018 at 4:30 pm

Space Tourer or Picasso?

• Kakijalan78 on Nov 01, 2018 at 6:11 pm

I need to go back to the dealer for warranty parts replacements at least once a year. Comparatively, reliability is better than old C4 Picasso. Vehicle service fee will be on the high side as well, min 600. And very small glove box due to lazy left-hand to right-hand drive conversion. I don’t know why paultan never highlight it for this model. One definitely love the cabin space though. It’s BIG.

• This small glove box is common for all French cars whether its Citroen, Pijot, or Renault. All lazy tido LHD to RHD reengineering.

• Augustine Chen on Nov 01, 2018 at 10:12 pm

specs quite good considering it’s only 150k. if i’m not wrong, it’s the only mpv in its class and price range to have autonomous emergency braking? nevertheless, a great alternative to the typical estima/serena/innova.

• Euromoda on Nov 02, 2018 at 9:27 am

Cit’s never compromised in the design. And malaysia should appreciate more of this comparable to the boring honda n toyota. Reliability I’d say better compare to last 5 yrs. Gearbox is aisin 6 speed which very reliable and mated it with improved ep6 twin scroll turbo. I own ds5 and if I have a budget definitely I’ll go for this for a family car

• TheDean on Nov 02, 2018 at 2:15 pm

It’d be a dream pairing if Citroen design teams up with VW engineering.

• contiSpirit on Nov 02, 2018 at 3:43 pm

i only saw the 5 seater once before…do that version still selling?

• No more it seems. I bought one of the last high spec units in Dec 2017.

• eeeriz on Nov 04, 2018 at 9:10 am

My friend have 2 C4 Picasso and when i asked him why on earth he bought 2, he said it was the best MPV he had ever owned and not so much trouble. My father also owned (and still) a 22 year old manual Citroen ZX and it is reliable as ever. I guess Citroen cars are quite reliable if you know how to take care of them.

• firdaus on Nov 28, 2019 at 9:33 am

may i know after sales service. is it okay? is there any problems with this car?