New rules for vehicle window tinting soon – Loke

The government is set to introduce new regulations for vehicle window tinting. While no details were revealed about the new rules, transport minister Anthony Loke said that the changes would come into effect soon, The Star reports.

“I will announce the new policy after bringing the road transport department (JPJ) amendments to parliament later this month,” he said.

Vehicle tinting guidelines were last revised in February 2016, when updated regulations, filed under Motor Vehicles (Prohibition of Certain Types of Glass) (Amendment) Rules 2016 replaced the previous 1991 rules. The current regulations stipulate that the minimum visible light transmission (VLT) percentages are 70% for the front windscreen, 50% for the front side windows, and 30% for the rear windows and the rear windscreen.

In October last year, JPJ refuted claims made on social media that new regulations would be implemented in 2018. It was also reported then that there were plans to introduce a new Malaysia Standard (MS) 2669 standard in January this year.

The standard, set by the Department of Standards Malaysia, was to have tint films identifiable by QR code labels, enabling enforcement officers with the compatible mobile app to obtain the film’s full specification by scanning the code.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Sohai (not ori) on Nov 23, 2018 at 4:55 pm

Wastig time only, every few months few years keep changing rules but no enforement, maybe to show us they doing their jobs or sheer publicity

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 5
    • Musang King(ori) on Nov 23, 2018 at 5:32 pm

Spot on Soh. He need to take it slower & enjoy life more. The past Transport minister alwiz drop by my durian farm, yet perform better… i mean the Jimny pikap workhorse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 20
      • Ghani on Nov 23, 2018 at 6:49 pm

Previous Transport Minister knows how to work effectively and no need to show off that he is doing something, then weekends can spend time to enjoy life. Not like current Transport Minister, don’t know how to do work but ever few weeks need to make noise so people don’t forget that he existed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 28
        • Amran on Nov 23, 2018 at 11:26 pm

Transport Minister must focus enforcement

• LRT User on Nov 24, 2018 at 3:33 pm

Firstly, he must learn the basics of how to be a Transport Minister. Not just talk here, talk there only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
          • Patinfemes on Nov 24, 2018 at 7:20 pm

Exactly, rakyat wil gips him 3 terms to learn the basics of how to be a Transport Minister. support2 Loki.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
          • John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 26, 2018 at 11:11 am

First of all ask our PDRM and JPJ to have bola first. All of them are like cowards the past 60 years….so scared of single number plates and tinted cars.

I hope PDRM get some bola. See tinted only, they say lalu lalu…..so scared. But see small Saga or Myvi, they go hantam and squeeze money out duit kopi

• Abu Bakar on Nov 26, 2018 at 11:30 am

how to focus on enforcement when all the abang abang are taking money?

• YB Albert Kunta on Nov 23, 2018 at 8:53 pm

Have u seen JPJ officers stopping foreigners at the side of a 3 lane highway,where speeding cars have to avoid them?
        How many totally darkened Vellfires,Alphards or estimas have been stopped? You cant even see anyone inside,and yet these morons travel at supersonic speeds.
        YAB Anthony ,since u have been menteri…I dont see anyone arrested yet for not wearing rear seat belts nor cars with totally dark tint ever summoned.
        Until your enforcement teams wake up from deep slumber,pls stop all these new undang undang.Make the rakyat vomit.
        The secret is ENFORCEMENT BY SURPRISE,NOT MORE UNDANG UNDANG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
        • Jigao on Nov 24, 2018 at 9:38 am

Fully agreed! enforcement teams must wake up , JPJ officers riding their blue JPJ Fortuner only stop 12 wheeler truck n lori …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
        • Spot on. Those dark tinted vehicle owners just laugh at the minister and deputies. Nobody can see whose inside. Talk. Talk.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 26, 2018 at 11:13 am

Political parties may change but same old dedak taking Government servants, JPJ and PDRM that is the problem

• Sigh… I have to agree with you.

Ah Loke, find something better to do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Shafiq on Nov 23, 2018 at 4:57 pm

Aiyo dis Anthony dem rajin. Previous transport minister OK jer. Aftermarket HID skrg Tinted plak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 15
  • Avenger on Nov 23, 2018 at 5:03 pm

Why need to have more rules for tinting? 30% still not dark enough is it? Can we get someone else as Transport Minister, cuz he have been proven to be inefficient except issuing nonsensical press statements.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 12
  • How many times need to change the rules? again n again?!
    Do you know tinting are expensive when changing?
    Or Gov want to earn money from here?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
    • lut you on Nov 24, 2018 at 3:17 pm

New government want cari lubang korek money to settle 1 trillion debt

• Change rules, then straight 90% of cars with tint is against the law. Send out his enforcement teams just to fine people with car tint, then KA-CHING!!!!
      His department will then be replacing the IRB as the Government’s main revenue center.

• Dua Sen on Nov 23, 2018 at 5:06 pm

Personally I think the transport ministry shouldn’t interfere too much on the tinting. The weather in Malaysia is too hot and countries such as Thailand, Indonesia are quite relaxed on the regulation. There are too many other things they should look at like proper enforcement of dangerous and reckless driving.
    As long as the tint is no more than 80% (20% VLT), it shouldn’t pose any danger to law enforcement officers

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 10
  • common sensor on Nov 23, 2018 at 5:08 pm

Please don’t get excited in just to review the rules; please also improve the enforcement, possibly at source. Though there are rules for window tinting now, still accessories shops can sell those not in compliance freely ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
  • Wrong priorities on Nov 23, 2018 at 5:23 pm

Instead of wasting time focusing on tint, focus on real issues that affect safety!

All those poorly maintained lorries, people driving with extremely worn out tyres until they pop and cause accident, no seatbelts, no child seat, etc etc. Dark tint is low priority safety issue.

What a Joke.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
    • Bruno Mars on Nov 23, 2018 at 9:32 pm

They should rebrand his ministry as the Jokes & Laughs Ministry, and all Minister titles should be rebranded as Court Jesters, because that’s what they truly are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Kancil Hybrid on Nov 23, 2018 at 5:43 pm

Bila rilek dipersalahkan kerajaan.
    Bila tangkap cermin gelap kenapa tak puji kerajaan ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
    • Bila tangkap?? Statistics?? Plenty on the road with dark tinted. Esp, vellfire, alphard, myvis, etc, etc, you don’t need sunglass to see them.

• JERRY on Nov 23, 2018 at 5:54 pm

Tint or no tint, as long as you are VVIP, the whole car can be what ever you want. Left us normal driver on the road that always headache with frequent change of rules and regulation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
  • Ben Yap on Nov 23, 2018 at 5:59 pm

this loke just like to keep changing rules as frequent as changing diapers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • Gabriel on Nov 23, 2018 at 6:04 pm

Should concentrate on ways to reduce vehicle prices instead of harping on non issue things.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • Ghani on Nov 23, 2018 at 6:50 pm

If he don’t harp, people will forget what his role is and why is he there in the first place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Turi70 on Nov 23, 2018 at 7:14 pm

Agreed. The minister can start at changing our stupid road tax structure

• Dylan Ch'ng on Nov 23, 2018 at 7:37 pm

Government should discourage private vehicle ownership. They can do this by subjecting Perodua and Proton to the same tax as non Malaysian makes

• LRT User on Nov 23, 2018 at 9:29 pm

How to discourage private vehicle ownership when this Government is only looking to downsize or cancel the previous Governments’ plans on expansion of public transports? That leaves us no viable alternatives.

• Raymond on Nov 23, 2018 at 6:16 pm

VLT should be 70% for front windscreen, all others 50%. Dark tints do not keep the heat out. Just need maximum infra-red and ultra-violet light rejection for the tint.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
  • Kimberly on Nov 23, 2018 at 6:27 pm

Turning out of junctions is a pain where I work. Cars parked have so heavy tints until cannot see incoming traffic through their windshields/windows. Have to stick the engine bonnet dangerously out and bending in front only then can check for cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Hmm.. Much Hmm... on Nov 23, 2018 at 6:42 pm

Thumbs up for full pitch black tints to be legal!! Hope ministry will see this as a consumer vote!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • Red Jacket on Nov 23, 2018 at 9:14 pm

I think Loke is best performing minister in the cabinet. But he needs to slow down a bit. He is like in sport mode all the time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • He is shooting everywhere but all he does is shoot blanks. A lot of noise but no outcome. His portfolio should be retitled as Ministry of Sound, because that’s all they ever do now.

• LOK CHYI YEU on Nov 24, 2018 at 12:18 am

First of all this dude just pump out too many new rules and regulations, have u ensure it department ppl can follow and perfectly enforce them or not. U can said what ever u want but when the thing no carry out then u just waste time, this isnt an efficient way of leading.

As we all know how efficient our government servant are very slow and inefficient, most of the new rules will go on to be undone till the next general election.

• dodgeviper88 on Nov 24, 2018 at 1:57 am

Will reserve comment till the new rules come out. Personally I do hope that they allow darker tint so as to not affect those that are tinted to the darkest allowable limit.

• Surely can make money lol…

• Tinted x dak bahaya apa2 la bodoh..

• Cbkia on Nov 24, 2018 at 5:34 pm

I follow the 70% front CB rule and the car still hot like hell. Stupid rule

• Add A Comment on Nov 26, 2018 at 7:30 am

Dey…hot or not hot is not the color or the % of your VLT. It is how much heat ur tint can block off. Study before comment la…this will make Malaysians look a bit smarter…at least a bit la.

My3M Ultra UV-UHT Shield L5-88Hi-III X1 Carbon with 90% VLT ok jeh….ice cream also will not melt…

• Ah beng Level 2 on Nov 24, 2018 at 9:09 pm

Toyota tinting films (ori) hot like hell after just few minutes in hot sun

• lokeyy boyy on Nov 25, 2018 at 10:08 am

this fella too much edy lh..
    probably all this hype because he is still new
    but give it a couple more months and u see him disappear just like the XD

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 25, 2018 at 1:12 pm

problem is….even if the tint ls “JPJ ” legal, once put on the glass, it instantly becomes illegal…thats the problem with all the tints in malaysia…none are legal actually

• xoxox on Nov 26, 2018 at 11:58 am

70% VLT tint+glass < 70% VLT…
    and 70% is filtering the light like nothing…and yet will fail JPJ rules..

• K Rajagopal on Nov 28, 2018 at 6:12 pm

I dont understand all the fuss about having tinted windows in Malaysia? In our hot climate, isnt it understandable for people to have darker tints to prevent heat and UV rays from entering the car? If first world countries like the UK and Australia allows it, why not Malaysia?
    Harmful UV rays would cause problems such as skin cancer and skin pigmentation. And such problems would take huge amounts of $$$ to treat, with no guaranteed results.
    If having tinted windows are really that bad, surely those first world countries would have banned it ages ago.

• T.T.C on Dec 11, 2018 at 9:22 am

Mr Loke, please wake up. If you allow tinted glass, then your laws on using hand phone and without wearing safety belts must be abolished. Authorities can’t see these two offenders if their windows are tinted. Its very unfair to those drivers with clear glass. Avoid making silly decisions.

• I have agreed and disagreed on all these comments but I’d be happy if someone here can tell me first of all, where can I find out how many % my rear screen is ? Thanks all

• THE BEST comment of all on the universe !!! I was just summoned 150 SG dollars just like that by Mobile TP because I forgot to wear my seatbelt ! I am a delievery driver driving a van and was only driving just below 70 km almost all the time. But yet they simply stopped my car and proceed with the summon. I even beg them to forgive me because even my OT is just roughly 8 dollars per hour only !..But of course they never care one ( Singapore TP )……I can bet that 1000 of other tinted cars they will definitely just ignore just like that !! This I the justice of the world right now. They will only search for EASIER meat to prey on ! But it’s ok. There is God.