JPJ Perlis: Bike workshops forbidden to mod engines

A stern warning against motorcycle engine modifications has been issued to motorcycle workshops in Perlis. In a special operation on 26 November, a total of 15 Yamaha Y15Z kapchais were seized from several workshops where unauthorised engine modification was being performed, reports Sinar Harian.

“In this case, both parties are in the wrong, where the customer has sent his motorcycle for modification and the workshop has accepted the job,” said Shahrul Azhar Mat Dali, JPJ Perlis director. “Should an individual be found to performing illegal engine modifications, he can be charged under Section 114 of the Road Transport Act and the vehicle seized under Section 64(1) of the same Act,” Shahrul said.

Main areas where the workshops performing illegal modifications were located in Beseri, Seriab and Arau, added Shahrul. Illegal modifications to these motorcycles are mainly changes to the exhaust to produce more noise and increase speed.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• donno on Nov 28, 2018 at 1:59 pm

Please define clearly what is legal and what is illegal modification. IMO the JPJ has stepped over its authority by seizing the motorcycles that was not on the road.

Section 114 is just a statement of the power of JPJ officers

Section 64 is a statement of allowing JPJ to confiscate the vehicle.

There is NO mention of anything about illegal modifications. So please dont plead guilty!

http://www.agc.gov.my/agcportal/uploads/files/Publications/LOM/EN/Act%20333%20-%20Road%20Transport%20Act%201987.pdf

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 167 Thumb down 3
    • John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 28, 2018 at 3:00 pm

This problem only focused on one type of people. These people need education. Only education can make them stop rempit.

Lack of education and parental guidance is the No1 cause of rempit in our country. And rempits are the No 1 people who modify their bikes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 44
    • Yes a person cannot plead guilty to a statement of JPJ officers discription of power and plead guilty to the ability of JPJ to confiscate your vehicle. Know your rights!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • Rider on Nov 28, 2018 at 3:09 pm

Modifying bikes is not a crime!
      Riding recklessly is!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 2
    • Hi mat rempit on Nov 28, 2018 at 4:45 pm

I m probably replying to possible rempit kapcai guy. Haha. Confiscate all of it.modify for what? Better fuel consumption? Just a bicycle with engine endangering all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
      • Clearly, u didnt really know motorcycle community. Rempit kapcai only a small portion for a huge community in Malaysia. Better fuel consumption? Yes it can. Better acceleration to escape traffic jams. Just another ignorant ppl.

• LobakMan on Nov 30, 2018 at 12:48 am

KJ panggil orang macam Shahrul Azhhar ni otak lobak

• good move on Nov 28, 2018 at 2:36 pm

please do the across the nation. Support!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 18
  • MengkuduMasam on Nov 28, 2018 at 3:01 pm

this is why our automotif industry doesn’t grow that much.

modification – NO
    Tinted -NO
    Swap to powerfull Engine – NO
    Build own Car – NO

end up still stuck with lousy saga FLX CVT…

wish JPJ to allow 3rd party/OEM engine or tranny provider in the market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 6
    • Atuk2020 on Nov 28, 2018 at 3:48 pm

Still stuck with 3rd world mentality, when 1st world citizens can legally build their own car, bike or even aircrafts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
  • panjang on Nov 28, 2018 at 3:16 pm

Oh thats it…JPJ gives warning, this & that, comes down to the conclusion…mainly loud exhaust to increase speed.
    I am expecting more intelligence word to comes out from high ranking official. I can keep my stock exhaust and rojak my EX5 engine so that 140kmh is soo darn easy….is this legal?

Whats the difference if i swap the engine in my car to Evo engine and for sure i will be using louder than normal exhaust…legal?

I do both the above while not rempiting here and there..am i wrong in both situation?

U want to enforce…good but do it intelligently not blindly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
    • 4G63T DSM on Nov 28, 2018 at 9:47 pm

Well the difference is, if you did swap an Evo engine in your wira and somehow got it registered with JPJ, then yes. It is legal.

Otherwise it is not. Pretty black and white no?

If you chopped off your muffler and cat and ran straight pipes on the street, well that’s also pretty much illegal as well.

Hell, even putting in wrong “lightbulbs” can be illegal.

• old dog on Nov 28, 2018 at 3:27 pm

oil subsidies benefits mat rampit as well..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
  • C.P. MOHAN on Nov 28, 2018 at 3:32 pm

My issue though, on this serious matter, it should be handled nationally not state as it is handled by JPJ.

• C.P. MOHAN on Nov 28, 2018 at 3:35 pm

My issue considering the seriousness of the matter, it should be best handled nationally not state since it is already handled by JPJ.

• Not Toyota Fan on Nov 28, 2018 at 3:44 pm

Quote “Illegal modifications to these motorcycles are mainly changes to the exhaust to produce more noise and increase speed.”

Buat straight pipe lah tu. You really think bawah pokok moto bengkel in Perlis understands Mandrel bend or exhaust back pressure? Asalkan bunyi preeeeaaaaang sedap, kuat, ok dah. Tak perlu stainless steel pun.

• Mr. Octopus on Nov 29, 2018 at 9:18 am

It is interesting to see how much city folks underestimate people from out of town.

By the way, moped & scooter modders are everywhere in this world including the west & europe. The only difference is the people there do not discriminate them and respect it like any other hobby.

• Do not assume on Nov 29, 2018 at 10:07 am

As much as I hate rempits, this is not the case. Rempits mechanics these days really know their stuffs. And just like car enthusiasts, they use quite a modern method to mod. If you are really a car enthusiast, you would know these types of mod:
      1- Porting – of course they do that.
      2- Cams – Right to lift, duration and spring rate.
      3- Electronic Tuning – ECU/Piggyback and all that stuff. Just like your e-manage or hondata. They even do dyno runs.
      4- Suspension – They tune, spring rate, rebound, oil viscosity etc. Not like some cars who potong spring.
      5- Exhaust – Some uses actual branded exhaust and they have a specialist on this. Mostly their purpose is to reduce weight. Some cars also use asal bising exhaust and dont event tune the engine. You mentioned mandrel bending. Back in my days, we source Apexi direct from Japan. Because mandrel bend especially locally tend to effect pipe diameters.

I hate rempits attitude on roads, but modding is a different story.I think modding is like tinkering. There are science behind it and it is real hobby or culture. That is why there is such thing as Japan Bosozoku.

• Ben Yap on Nov 28, 2018 at 4:49 pm

Not only modifying motorbike is illegal. In January 2018, cops seize modified bicycles in operation Sri Damansara. Bicycle also cannot modify.

• The rakyat r getting more and more restless with every dumb decision by New Gov.

• Anonymous on Nov 29, 2018 at 11:47 am

I think JPJ and Transport Ministry has it all wrong. This day and age we need to nurture creativity and inovation… let them do modification but within clear and standard guidelines.

JPJ cannot just pick on exhaust modification and say ‘to make it louder and more speed’… what about when i changed my bike’s sprocket an extra tooth to make it go faster… is that illegal too…? (I assume when i add on cruise control to my throttle, it is still legal?) JPJ needs to wake up and grow with the industry… endorse certain cetifications, compliance and guidelines.

Does that mean the malay chap who recently won the custom bike build challenge in the US is breaking the law…?

• Pakdee on Nov 29, 2018 at 12:27 pm

Inilah Malaysia, undang2 pelik, negara2 maju siap buat sebiji motor terus, baru teknologi boleh berkembang. Kalau kecil punya hal pun halang, kenapa kes besar buat tak nampak. Lembu beli banglo ok je pun, tak kena tahan pun. Buat malu dengan orang luar.

• vVivi Zurianti on Nov 29, 2018 at 8:38 pm

the jpj very good at making stupid statements, and simple problem, never get fixed despite decades given…