Malaysian vehicles sales data for Oct 2018 by brand

After a very soft month in September, in which car sales plunged following the end of the tax holiday, things expectedly picked up in October as a result of stocks being replenished. The reintroduction of the sales and services tax (SST) didn’t really blunt vehicle purchasing, especially with CKD prices being lower than – or identical to – that with GST.

Sales in October totalled 47,273 units, an increase of 11,032 units or 35% over the 31,241 units recorded in September. Year-on-year, October’s numbers were a shade ahead of that managed during the corresponding month in 2017, being 232 units or 0.5% higher.

Here’s a quick breakdown of how most brands peformed in October. The swell in sales meant that there were plenty of gainers. Market leader Perodua topped that chart for the month, with a 106.2% increase. Second-placed Honda recorded a 46.0% increase, while third-placed Proton saw a relatively small 12.6% hike in sales for the month, with Toyota (+57.8%) and Nissan (+24.8%) rounding off things positively for the top five for the month.

Other gainers were Mazda (+37.4%) and Volkswagen (+50.8%), while brands that saw a drop included Ford (-15.7%), Peugeot (-12.7%) and Subaru (-34.0%).

In the premium segment, Mercedes saw a steep rise (+72.9%), but it ended just below BMW (-7.9%) for the month, while Volvo also had a positive October with a 26.4% gain. Elsewhere, things were not as rosy for MINI (-23.1%) and Lexus (-45.5%). Audi’s sales figures were not reported.

Click on the chart below to view a larger version.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 04, 2018 at 11:52 am

Proton sales 54,000

Perodua sales 187,000

Does this mean Perodua salesman work 4X harder than Proton salesman?

I go to malls I only see Jepunis promoting their cars. They stand from 10 am to 10pm trying to sell their cars.

But I never seen Proton doing sales in malls

How to increase sales when you don’t want to work hard?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
    • With this waterfall figures, Toyota can kolos shop alredi. Lolz1

• 5yrsold on Dec 04, 2018 at 4:42 pm

Toyota 57,406 > Proton 54,326.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
        • Meaning both close shop

• Tolak 18,027 commercial vehicles, only left 39,279. Double lolz! Toyota can just focus on their Hailutx cuz their passenger car sales is going down the drain.

• I predict :
    Perodua 14755 units; actual: 19528 units
    Honda 7616 units; actual: 7246 units
    Proton 5093 units (confirmed)
    Toyota 4760 units; actual: 4757 units
    Nissan 3332 units; actual 2500 units

• John Minum Teh 8X Fake News on Dec 04, 2018 at 11:55 am

Yup Axxx is right. Just look at Proton vs Toyota

Why people buy Proton than Toyota

2018 Vios RM75k
    2018 Persona RM60k

Two years later you want to sell

2020 Vios RM40k
    2020 Persona RM40k

When the bank ask you to top up the loan by few thousand ringgit, you will ask yourself this, “What have I been paying for the past 48x months?”

In addition to that Proton Persona sells 12000 units vs Toyota Vios sells 500 units only. Two years later, Proton Persona sells 20000 units vs Toyota Vios sells 2000 units. This is the reason why John Minum Teh 8X and Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk are always hiding like caves

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 6
    • To find Toyota RV, one must go down to Ravine Valley and find its hulk for scrap metal to sell.

• John Minum Teh 8X Fake News on Dec 04, 2018 at 6:25 pm

john, but Toyota RV is terrible nowadays. What’s the point if Toyota loses sales. Anyway, Toyota can close shop lor

Aiyooo Such a Poor “John Minum Teh 8X”

• No worries. Can find plenty of Toyotas and their celup P2s down in Ravine Valley. Their scrap value will make it worth ur while.

• Oh My Matematik ! on Dec 05, 2018 at 4:37 pm

You need to get your maths right. 2 years equals to 24 months, not 48 months. Oh my matematik, john….

• Why nobody buy Toyota? Because:-

2018 Vios RM75k
    2018 Persona RM60k

Two years later you want to sell

2020 Vios RM40k
    2020 Persona RM40k

When the bank ask you to top up the loan by few thousand ringgit, you will ask yourself this, “What have I been paying for the past 48x months?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
    • IGP mom on Dec 05, 2018 at 11:04 am

What exaggeration. A simple check with mudah.my and found Persona 2016 selling ~$35k … while Vios 2016 at ~$55k. By the way, I’m not a fan of both Vioas and Persona, but I find it funny that you are spouting nonsense and supported by a group of dumbos.

• My prediction for 2020 is correct, yet become truth so not consider nonsense.

• Check properly, 2016 Persona RM32500, 2016 Vios RM34000.
        Furthermore, any dumbos want to buy 2 years old Vios with the price RM55000? You?

• Dylan Ch'ng on Dec 04, 2018 at 12:05 pm

Wow, very surprised that 12 Chevrolet got sold

• Proton sales figure
    Total 2017 : 70,991
    YTD Oct 2018: 54,326
    Nov 2018 : 4,820
    Sales needed in Dec to match last year figure: 11,845

Very unlikely to happen, so another market drop

• Audi’s sales figures were not reported.

that bad?

• First Gen Proton Saga on Dec 04, 2018 at 12:11 pm

That’s good Perodua still at top places in Car Sales. Proton still had a time to become better in car sales for the next time. Hope perodua can make a better body like Proton, no steel can body anymore or a body can be bending with a bare hand.

• audi has nothing to report because they have no sales…all lousy dealer

• Not Toyota Fan on Dec 04, 2018 at 12:19 pm

YTD (passenger cars only) Toyota losing nearly 15,000 to Proton.

How the mighty has fallen.

• sam123 on Dec 04, 2018 at 12:22 pm

Toyota Rush in lektrik blue kaler damn nice!

• John Minum Teh 8X Lingerie on Dec 04, 2018 at 12:44 pm

Wow if Proton boost sales higher than Toyota while Toyota sells none to the customer. Better close Toyota shop

• newme on Dec 04, 2018 at 4:05 pm

It’s funny seeing Proton clowns picking on Toyota for fight instead of P2. P1 should feel a shame. Not only they race neck to neck with Toyota, a foreign brand but loses so badly against Honda which is also a foreign brand. The best part is it’s crying for help from Geely which guess what? A China brand. hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
      • yawnz on Dec 04, 2018 at 5:02 pm

Pipu buy P2 coz it is cheap not because it is good

• Sam 'Ohwai' Loo on Dec 04, 2018 at 9:53 pm

Pipu buy P2 coz it is cheap not because it is good, ya, it’s ultra cheap even a blardy temperature gauge also don’t have (it’s more like 3rd world spec or shall i say 4th world spec)

• IGP mom on Dec 05, 2018 at 11:06 am

And you think people buy Proton because it’s good?? Lololol

• Why yes. And of cuz becoz its safer.

• conti lover on Dec 05, 2018 at 11:13 pm

And you think pipu buy jepunis cars because it is good? Buy conti better

• 2018 TIV
    —————-
    1. PERODUA
    2. Honda
    3. Toyota

• I predict 2018 November Sales:-
    1. Perodua 18902 units
    2. Honda 7561 units
    3. Proton 4820 units
    4. Toyota 4726 units
    5. Nissan 2363 units

• Avatar on Dec 04, 2018 at 12:56 pm

In Japan, saw many CHR and Lexus.. Hardly see any Honda cars on the road.. Opps, Nissan and Madza sales are more than Honda in Japan.. Only in boleh land, Honda is having good sales, but compromised quality and hope not safety features when we need it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Atoque on Dec 04, 2018 at 1:06 pm

Toyota salesmen nothing to do in empty showroom. 57K unit ohwai

• Not getting better on Dec 04, 2018 at 3:40 pm

Toyota only sold 39k passenger cars, less than half of Honda. Only Hilux is selling for UMW, other models are half past dead. Even UMW’s supposed answer to the hot selling BRV, the Rush is not selling as well as anticipated.

• Toyota will follow Ford only selling pickup, no more passenger car because not competitive.

• kolos on Dec 04, 2018 at 1:08 pm

With this Toyota can close shop

• Wow… Audi still takut to report their sales. Mabye because thanks to their Launch of A3 Facelift, New A5 & Audi R8….in 2017 (spoken in 2016 year end) LIED
    So customers has no confident of buying Audi amymore, all has went to buy Mercedes or BMW.

• panjang on Dec 04, 2018 at 2:00 pm

One way to interprate this data it is that the bank will loosen up towards year end in order to close the shortfall from their annual target.

Evrytime there is an auction we can see lots of newer model ‘people’s car’..i mean the perodua, proton, entry nissan, and some entry/cheapest model of any make. I wonder if these vehicle originate from sales toward year end where the loan application is boderline but the bank risk it and approve the loan.

• As I have mentioned this many times years ago, Proton will finished off with 4th place this year with a further dropped in market share compared to 2017. And will continue to have mediocre sales due to its brand and will have a even lower market share and drop to the 5th in 2019

• dr.Ice on Dec 04, 2018 at 3:30 pm

2017 sold 70K protons.
      2018 60k only

• MEIji on Dec 04, 2018 at 5:10 pm

2019… 85K sales figure… additional for X70

• Rush hour on Dec 04, 2018 at 5:55 pm

X70? All bookings. Zero delivery.

• You mean the Rush, no booking at all? Wonder why UMW isn’t releasing booking figures for the Rush like in the past? The so-called BRV killer is dead on arrival, that’s why.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Dec 04, 2018 at 9:28 pm

As I have mentioned this many times years ago, Toyota will finished off with 4th place this year with a further dropped in market share compared to 2017. And will continue to have mediocre sales due to its brand will have even lower market share and drop to the 5th in 2019

• Ultimate Rugal on Dec 04, 2018 at 2:41 pm

Guys. May I know what happened to Audi? Why they are so shy to announce their sales?

• Sharizal on Dec 04, 2018 at 4:48 pm

Can ask ,
      https://paultan.org/2015/04/01/gst-euromobil-audi-prices/

• Danny Ong on Dec 04, 2018 at 2:49 pm

Toyota sales deducted commercial car only 3000, best selling among the brand.

• Why no Projohn in the list? on Dec 04, 2018 at 3:03 pm

Where is Proton? Maybe it doesn’t have any sales so not included here? Btw good job P2! P2 Best!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
    • Get your eyes checked! Or you just like to make a fool out of yourself?

• Where is Toyota? Maybe Rush, Fortuner, C-HR and Harrier doesn’t have any sales so not included here? Btw good job Proton! X70 Best!

• High in the sky on Dec 04, 2018 at 6:00 pm

I see few things here.

1. Hilux is hitting back hard at ford ranger, Nissan navara, Isuzu dmax and Mitsubishi triton.
    2. Hyundai is struggling badly compare to Kia. Which is the reverse in many other countries.
    3. Wonder how jaguar sisma is surviving with only 42 cars sold year to date. Luckily JLR let them sell the range rovers too.
    4. With no new almera, Nissan sales will suffer seriously.
    5. Its possible for honda to hit 100k again, but it will be hard to achieve what they did last year.
    6. For proton. Need some serious thinking.

• M & M on Dec 04, 2018 at 9:23 pm

Salah. It should be:

“I see few things here.

1. Hilux is hitting back hard at ford ranger, Nissan navara, Isuzu dmax and Mitsubishi triton. But Toyota will lose passenger cars sales
      2. Hyundai is struggling badly compare to Kia. Which is the reverse in many other countries.
      3. Wonder how jaguar sisma is surviving with only 42 cars sold year to date. Luckily JLR let them sell the range rovers too.
      4. With no new almera, Nissan sales will suffer seriously.
      5. Its possible for honda to hit 100k again, but it will be hard to achieve what they did last year.
      6. For proton. Proton Will sure having more sales and improve better again.”

Then it is correct

• Lexus sell less than 1000 units for this year.

• old dog on Dec 05, 2018 at 10:43 am

Lexus/Toyota, Audi, Toyota , Volvo all suffered similar price position stupidity…
      Lexus charge more expensive than B&M, thought its more premium, and the Toyota down fall similar as assume more premium over others Japanese. The suppose to rescue Harrier and CHR is classic example of UMWT failure of business positioning.
      Audi, Volvo position against the German rivals with half hearted price and services competition. Volvo said i got more package and sell as expensive as a B&M, so now the figure shows the truth, and all loud voice of supports gown down the drain.
      I think many was so anticipate into the XC 60, but the price is a ridiculous against many logic of getting over B&M with the similar price range..

• Daihatsu sell less than 1000 units for this year.

• 2019 Perodua TIV 172500 units.

• Old horse on Dec 05, 2018 at 5:17 am

Volvo so many hype yet nothing in the sales , the dealer just got greedy in super charge the price to BMW and Merc….That why B & M both laughing

• Katak on Dec 05, 2018 at 3:44 pm

It’s always amuse to look at the comments. The clowns are fighting with words as if the companies are belonged to them. The car companies are not paying even one cent. Wake up.

• camtakpro on Dec 10, 2018 at 3:44 pm

Perodua: MyVi & Bezza
    Honda: HRV
    Proton: surprisingly (guess) Ertiga + Persona
    Toyota: Innova
    Nissan: Serena
    Mazda: CX-5
    Isuzu: wrong arrow on commercial. Failed MU-X pricing vs Fortuner + fed up of waiting 1.9L 6AT.
    Mitsubishi: Outlander?
    Kia: Grand Carnival & Sportage
    VW: Tiguan