Ministry approves RM20 million in funding for new national car project to attract the private sector

The Ministry of Entrepreneur Development has approved approximately RM20 million in funding for the new national car project (NNCP), which will help to attract the private sector to develop a prototype.

In a report by Bernama, entrepreneur development minister Datuk Seri Mohd Redzuan Yusof said the funds were sourced from existing grants that have already been approved. This will be part of the research and development (R&D) grant used to attract the participation of the private sector in the NNCP.

“The idea is that we become the catalyst for the new national car project. I’m not developing the third national car project, I am facilitating to create an environment for the new national car project,“ he said, adding that the ministry has already shortlisted several vendors that will be part of the endeavor.

As previously stated by finance minister Lim Guan Eng, the project will need the involvement of the private sector as the government will not sink any funds into the project. However, the NNCP can benefit from the government’s allocation for R&D activities, which is what’s happening here.

In October 2018, Mohd Redzuan revealed the timelines for the NNCP, whereby the new national car’s name will be announced by the end of 2018, although nothing was revealed at the time.

Following that, a prototype for the NNCP model is expected to be ready by early 2019, ahead of a 2020 roll out. The car is expected to feature semi-autonomous capabilities and advanced safety features, while remaining affordable.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments expressed mostly skepticism and criticism toward the RM20 million fund for the new national car project, with many arguing it’s a waste of public money, especially given past government failures and alleged cronyism. Several commenters doubt the project's feasibility, citing unrealistic timelines, lack of transparency, and doubts about government involvement, claiming it might lead to another Proton-style bailout. There is widespread disapproval of using taxpayer funds, with calls for prioritizing education and social welfare instead. Some critics suspect the project is a political ploy or a corrupt scheme by cronies, while a few express frustration over inconsistent government promises and policy U-turns. Overall, sentiments are largely negative, emphasizing distrust and concern over misallocation of resources.

• Leafable on Jan 08, 2019 at 10:14 am

All politicians are liars. Don’t matter which party. ALL LIARS.

Remember “No Public Fund for the new National Car Project” headline?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 1
  • rotibakar on Jan 08, 2019 at 10:21 am

DRB got RM1.1 BILLION as part of Proton R&D reimbursement. their car R&D quality… or Lack of it is all to see.. how this tiny 20m can do??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • Vincent on Jan 08, 2019 at 7:35 pm

I wonder which human in this world would buy the idea that Proton, who produce more than 80% of Saga need 1.1 billions of R&D cost! If you divided the MYR 1.1B to 100K piece of car they produce in a year, that would mean 11K a car! Even we put it into 3 years, wooo, still MYR 3.67K a car on R&D!!!

• None. This guy is talking out of his rear hole. That Rm1.1Billion reimbursement grant was to cover for the indigenous development of:
        Arena
        Waja
        Waja (LHD)
        Gen2
        Gen2 (LHD)
        Savvy
        Persona1
        Persona1 (LHD)
        Saga2
        Saga2 (LHD)
        Exora
        Satria Neo
        Preve
        Preve (LHD)
        Suprima
        Iriz
        Persona2
        Saga3
        Perdana2
        X70 RHD conversion
        Campro engine
        Thats a total of 21 developments. At Rm52mil each, that return is actually a bargain to the Gov then.

• newme on Jan 08, 2019 at 10:25 am

Collect derma bayar hutang konon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Ben Yap on Jan 08, 2019 at 10:30 am

the new government uses their power to push through the 3rd national car project even though Malaysians disapprove it.

now it’s Malaysians turn to show our power to put a strong statement to the new government in the next GE that defiance will cost u a lot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
    • Safety First on Jan 08, 2019 at 10:02 pm

Take it from our French cousins. It’s time for yellow vest to rise in Malaysia! Let’s take back our government and our coutry from these con people we call Pakatan!
      Viva le Malaisie!

• john ketawa on Jan 08, 2019 at 10:36 am

Hahaha.. No public fund my a**.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • I seriously do not mind a 3rd national car as long as it is a level playing field for the consumers like us.

Do not penalised us rakyat by the way of imposing excise duty, import tax on imported cars.

The rakyat just want access to better quality and built cars. Patriotism is gained not bought/forced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • Ultimate Rugal on Jan 08, 2019 at 10:50 am

Last time they said only private funding. This time? We don’t need 3rd national car. We just need high quality cars with reasonable price. U turn a lot la this gov. Previously they said RM trillion debt la, no money to do what has been promised in the manifesto la, scandal here and there buy previous gov la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • taboogen on Jan 08, 2019 at 10:51 am

aik prev said no involvement from gov.. now giving our money.. how many roundabout lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Petoron Sagu on Jan 08, 2019 at 10:53 am

Apa bodo la…. Tak guna duit kerajaan….. Cakap je lebih…. RM20 juta tu duit sapa? Malaysia Baru????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • “Govt won’t invest in new national car project”
    “Ministry approves RM20 million in funding”

Either New Gov capati what they say and uturn again, or in PH twisted logic, gov money no longer belongs to the pipu anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • Anonymous on Jan 08, 2019 at 10:54 am

SO… saying that none of rakyat’s money going into 3rd National car project actually means Govt still giving away rakyat’s money to 3rd National car project. Brilliant…!

• There is talk the first Model will be a B-Segment Hatch while later on a SUV for the same platform will be introduced..only the platform is sourced from Japan while design and Powertrain is done locally ……and according to some the the first is 70% completed …hope everything turns out ok…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • common sensor on Jan 08, 2019 at 11:02 am

I understand the intention BUT I doubt the implementation. All the best.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 08, 2019 at 11:12 am

Huh? I thought got no Government funding? Isn’t Ministry of Entrepreneur Development a Government body?

This will be another Proton. It will initially say got private sector funding, then when things fail, it will be like Proton, billion after billion of bailouts.

History just repeats. If Proton after 30 years of technology transfer from Mitsubishi still cannot succeed in a car business, it just shows that Malaysia cannot do car business lah

Look at Proton now, just a China rebadger. 30 yrs down the drain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 08, 2019 at 11:15 am

The Minister does not realise, it is the lazy people of Proton that needs to change.

We failed in the car business because the 10,000 workers in Proton are just lazy and lepak with no innovation at all.

Change the workers of Proton, then you will see Proton do well

For example, CEO Li Chunrong in 6 months could identify that all suppliers and vendors were overcharging Proton, that is why Proton went bust.

This, even local CEOs could not identify in 30 years.

This means, we need new fresh blood in the NNCP too. You get same lazy like Proton workers…..nothing changes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
  • i wish I’m one of the crony :(

• panjang on Jan 08, 2019 at 11:27 am

Please open the plant in Melaka…please…

• Not Toyota Fan on Jan 08, 2019 at 11:36 am

It will be a private initiative. No Government money will be involved.

Yah, right!!!!

• Jacky Yong on Jan 08, 2019 at 11:47 am

I thought no funds will come from the government? What is this?

• Projohn killer incoming on Jan 08, 2019 at 11:56 am

Habisla Proton! When Protiga launch, every proton showrooms will be Protiga showrooms

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • Cash Money on Jan 08, 2019 at 11:58 am

Poor, poor, poor Malaysians.

All the good cars are insanely priced;there’s no good engine options available due to taxes; and the overall tax structure is flawed.

There will be Malaysian auto enthusiasts that will never experience the growl of a Naturally Aspirated V10 in the Audi R8, or the Supercharged V8 of the Cadillac CTS-V, or the Twin-Turbo V6 of a Mercedes C43. All because of ‘’Malaysia Boleh’

So I glad I decide to stay in the U.S. instead of moving back. I pity the Malaysian automotive community but there is nothing we can do to change – the government is adamant in its national car policy. However I was happy to see Najib change that a little.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Dato Ravin on Jan 08, 2019 at 11:59 am

HAHAHAHAHA NNCP prototype by early 2019? What kind of bollocks is this? As car nerds we all know to make a working prototype alone will take at least 9 months. The NNCP car company still not exist yet (now only on paper, led by gov rep) how do they expect to even develop a platform? Even if rebadging, which dumb company will donate the bodyshell in such short span? Surely they dont know a thing about project this scale. RM20 million is not even enough to open a full fledge showroom!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Notmypm on Jan 08, 2019 at 12:12 pm

LOL

• Wan Syaifulaizan on Jan 08, 2019 at 12:29 pm

Daripada buat new co from scratch, kenapa tak tap on existing company yg dah ada capability? Kalau tak silap Geely dah ada platform for electric car. Just encourage them to roll it out to Malaysia la

• lilytan on Jan 08, 2019 at 12:31 pm

Seriously? #NotWhatIVotedFor.

• Sohai (not ori) on Jan 08, 2019 at 12:41 pm

These jokers have no idea about running and developing a new car model from zero..Rm20 milliion is nothing to car manufacturers…maybe to re-badge, Rm20 million ok

• Ksatria on Jan 08, 2019 at 12:41 pm

Where are the e-bikes?
    Maybe concern depts can look into bringing em in first. There are bunch of companies building e-bikes & readily available to be shipped here..

• here go tax payer money…………

• Greasemonkey on Jan 08, 2019 at 1:56 pm

WTF!! Later sure bail out

• Jokey on Jan 08, 2019 at 2:01 pm

Rebadge Suzuki saja lor. Bring in those swift, ignais, vitara, ertiga, jimny, its enuf to boom up 3rd national car sales oredy.

• Now i have another reason to change my vote.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • YB Albert on Jan 08, 2019 at 3:00 pm

It is a shame.This rm20 juta should have been given to UTar/tar college.Tun…the rakyat do no see the need of protiga.
    I know of single parents who r struggling to manage the new semester fee increases at UTAR.Yet,Pakatan Halangan sees the need to satisfy the intense lobbying of this mega project by cronies.PROTONG is a disaster. U think Geely is doing DRB a favor? Infact DRB is helping clear months of unsold stockpile of Geely cars.
    BERSIH should step up efforts to protest against unwanted and wasteful projects.
    There should be BANTAHAN BANTAHAN BANTAHAN.
    PH is using limited and scarce resources for projects that we can do without.
    Instead of doing firefighting,PH is creating more financial fires.JUST PATHETIC 7 MONTHS after winning GE14.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
    • my england is bad on Jan 08, 2019 at 4:59 pm

But at least it is not as old as rebadged wira , saga at that time or musemum level rebadged P2 cars

• Abg beng on Jan 08, 2019 at 4:08 pm

All the car and economy expert please write you COMMENT..!!!

• Calculator on Jan 08, 2019 at 5:03 pm

I don’t understand why our goverment want to channel funds on R&D towards developing 3rd national car, which are not welcomed by most of the Malaysian. I doubt this project will materialize. Why waste money?

• Becuz what Atuk wants, Atuk gets. Crossing him will risk seeing the inside of a jail cell like his chosen successor to his successor.

• I dunno how Gerard can do a writeup about something so contradictory to what was announced previously, but I gip him credit for trying. Still its like breaking a magnet in half and trying to repair the broken joint again. Most alredi see thru this bollocks and alredi said it, this is just pure Uturn bollocks by PH.

• vVivi Zurianti on Jan 08, 2019 at 7:28 pm

Proton kantoi and sold to Geely. So TDM very upset, and vowed to make himself another Proton. Takkan Proton Hilang Di Dunia.

Rakyat now, will suffer another 30 years. Just wait for it….

• Dong gor on Jan 08, 2019 at 7:51 pm

Oh come on.. At first say no public fund. Apa ni, government got gold fish memory ar? Pui!

• SK, Lim on Jan 09, 2019 at 11:02 am

Nope. But they are hoping the voting citizens have goldfish memory by the time GE15 comes.

• Hancing on Jan 08, 2019 at 9:04 pm

Where’s the Qatari investor…. Hmmm lying again ehhhh

• Sick & Tired on Jan 08, 2019 at 10:29 pm

This is what we get when the rakyat got duped to voting in a government of liars and swindlers.

• Fred Durst on Jan 08, 2019 at 10:25 pm

Idiot project! Dickhead! my paid taxes is not to fund this crazy fantasy of yours..3rd national car project konon..dream on la..

• Leonardo on Jan 09, 2019 at 10:04 am

With 20 mil, it will get you one running prototype or proof of concept car. That’s all.
    For a full fledged development,the amount is anything between 500 mil to 1 bil. At least.

• Amran on Jan 09, 2019 at 2:45 pm

Crony win

• Apek Berjaya Time Square on Jan 09, 2019 at 10:31 pm

Haiya apek baru ingat kalu kerajaan baru bole la apek sama minii tukar itu GLC coupe .. bisnes talak baik maa cuma mampu pakai itu boldvo x70. Janji ada siries bole cakap sindili dlm boleh eksen sikit sama olang… intilegen maa.

• Greasemonkey on Jan 10, 2019 at 12:13 pm

Projet syok sendiri,why all mentris bodoh dun object? All become kaki bodek d ,jaga own mangkuk nasi only MKH!!!