Nissan picks Thailand to build new EV production hub

According to a report by Bangkok Post, Nissan has chosen Thailand to build a new manufacturing hub for electric vehicles. This was revealed by Yutaka Sanada, who is the regional senior vice president and head of Nissan’s Asia & Oceania (A&O) operations.

The EV production hub will be Nissan’s first outside of Japan, and will cater to the local market as well as overseas shipments. “Nissan will accelerate our EV output from here,” said Sanada.

Nissan’s decision is spurred by the approval gained from Thailand’s Board of Investment (BOI) for its hybrid electric vehicle production project on July 25, 2018. Under the project, the Japanese carmaker will invest 10.96 billion baht to produce hybrid electric vehicles and batteries at a facility located in Bang Saothong in the Samut Prakarn province.

The plant will produce e-Power vehicles using local content worth over 15.92 billion baht a year. Following this, Antoine Barthes, president of Nissan Motor Thailand, said the carmaker would work with the BoI on an application for full EVs to be assembled at the facility.

However, he pointed out that while Thailand’s policies support local EV manufacturing, demand incentives are also necessary. “EV buyers should receive both financial and non-financial privileges such as cash subsidies, free parking lots or the ability to drive in bus lanes, similar to Norway, one developed country that has seen success in pushing EV demand,” said Barthes.

Nissan Motor Thailand also recently celebrated a milestone for its manufacturing operations in Thailand after exporting its one-millionth unit since it began in 1999. To date, it exports to over 115 countries, including six models: the Nissan Almera, March, Navara, Sylphy, Teana and Terra.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jan 25, 2019 at 3:11 pm

Maju lah Thailand.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 25, 2019 at 5:02 pm

Another blow to Malaysia. 20 years ago, we were the Detroit of Asia. But because of corruption, all car companies went to Thailand to make Thailand the Detroit of Asia.

Since 20 years ago, Thailand has got few hundred billion USD in investments. This is about few TRILLION ringgit.

Thailand also has benefitted from few hundred thousand jobs which could have gone to Malaysians.

I think MITI, MAA and MARii does not seem to be doing their job well

• transformer on Jan 25, 2019 at 11:40 pm

Previously Malaysia was leading. Thailand had overtook and MY Indon are just level now. Vietnam catching up real fast ,

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 25, 2019 at 5:11 pm

Madani…what happened? You said Malaysia going to become EV and battery hub?

• Tomyam: “Terima kaseh Bapak Perotiga”

• Madani on Jan 25, 2019 at 6:50 pm

Geely gv more beneficial to local auto ecosystem.

• Sick& Tired on Jan 25, 2019 at 3:18 pm

another tight slap for MAI Madani. zero KPI.

• Vincent on Jan 25, 2019 at 3:23 pm

Another one Tun! Before GE14, Mercedes cancel their EV hub in MY, move to Thailand…After GE14, more move to Thai..

This simply explain that MY no longer suitable for Automotive industry!!!
    We do not need National Car Ketiga!!!

• Something wrong with the amount invested – 10.9mil Baht? and 15.92 mil baht? which translate to RM 1.4mil & RM 2.077mil..??

• Excuse, please read the article again.. Figures are stated in billions, not millions

• LordSuave on Jan 25, 2019 at 3:49 pm

Meanwhile madakni job not impacted. Next!

• v-tec fan on Jan 25, 2019 at 4:15 pm

sedih…

• thepolygon on Jan 25, 2019 at 4:27 pm

We lost to Thailand. Have you guys seen the Think Asia, Invest Thailand ads? They are moving forward fast. We as a nation need to buckle up.

• Majulah Malaysia Boleh on Jan 25, 2019 at 4:44 pm

Eh. I thought MARii said Malaysia will be the future world R&D and Mfg hub for L-ion batteries which will power automobiles and gadgets?

Why Nissan so hasty on this investment. Talk to MITI first lah. They will be rewarded with many good incentives coz got this new policy now.

Apa sudah jadi?

• YB Albert on Jan 25, 2019 at 5:35 pm

Nissan diverting attention to Thailand,due to Ghosn saga.After all,they earned respect as the Detroit of Asia for 3 decades already after bypassing Gung ho bolehland.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 25, 2019 at 7:20 pm

The selection has been going on for a long time before they actually pick where to invest. Sad to say Malaysia does not want to go lower than what Thailand is offering hence the lost in FDI.

• Meanwhile TCMH unkers r still sleeping while their greenhorn salespipu only sales strategy is to massively drop price (RV too) for their ancient dinosars and talk bollocks about other brands.

• Thailand is chosen by many car companies . Bolehland can only watch…

• Nizam on Jan 26, 2019 at 1:11 pm

Jangan risau, harga kenderaan di Malaysia tidak mahal, ianya harga MAMPU MILIK/AFFORDABLE. :)

• Dexeric on Jan 26, 2019 at 3:16 pm

Does it means nissan e power will be coming to malaysia too?

• torque on Jan 28, 2019 at 9:04 am

Go ahead with your so-called protective policy MAI. You doing such a GREAT job so far. Losing investors, losing quality cars to be sold here, losing your own nation marque, losing, losing and keep going on losing…news flash MAI…we now live in a age where info at our fingertips. The world as you know it has become global! We have the best logistic, citizen which well verse in English, geographical position is less prone to nature disaster (well, except for flash flood)…wake up and start to play OPEN MARKET will’ya!!!