Feb 2019 week two fuel price – diesel same, petrol up

It’s Friday, and as such, time for the weekly fuel price update. Expect plenty of activity later today at petrol stations nationwide, given the festive season and travelling about for many, because the price of both RON 95 and RON 97 will be going up this coming week. Diesel users needn’t be in any hurry, because the pricing of the fuel remains unchanged.

From tomorrow, February 9, RON 95 will be priced at RM1.97 per litre (up four sen from RM1.93 last week), while RON 97 will go for RM2.27 per litre (also up four sen, from RM2.23 last week). As for Euro 2M diesel, it continues to be priced at RM2.18 per litre, while Euro 5 diesel, which is always 10 sen more than standard diesel, remains at RM2.28 per litre.

The government said that the increase in retail price at the pump was unavoidable, due to the global price increase in the refined product – in the case of RON 95, this increased from US$60 (RM244) per barrel to US$62 (RM252).

It added that the pump price of diesel was unchanged despite it being increased from US$72 (RM293) to US$73 (RM297) per barrel, which would have resulted in a one sen increased based on APM calculations.

These prices will be in effect until February 15, when the next set of fuel price adjustments will be announced. This is the sixth week of the weekly fuel price format, which is set to be announced every Friday. The prices will be effective from Saturday until the following Friday.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ong Wei Ping on Feb 08, 2019 at 4:12 pm

Up 4 sen for RON95 instead of 5?

• Still cheaper then brunei… syukuur

• Price of petrol in Brunei today is BD$ 1.64/L as compared to RM 1.97/L. Err nope. Brunei petrol is still cheaper for their rakyat. Kesian Malaysia for paying high prices despite being an oil exporter.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 09, 2019 at 11:23 am

All oil producing countries sell their oil super cheap to their rakyat. Brunei also sells super cheap to their rakyat.

In Malaysia, we follow the style of our previous corrupted Government still. For 60 years, despite being a huge oil producer, the previous corrupted Government perah the rakyat with super high petrol prices

• John Bin Palat on Feb 09, 2019 at 11:44 am

Brunei people earn 5X more than Malaysians. GDP PEr Capita also same like Singapore. In the list of GDP Per Capita, Brunei at par with Singapore. Top 5.

Malaysia is No 50

Brunei Currency also 3X Malaysian currency.

Due to 60 years of corruption our currency and GDP has fallen so much

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 08, 2019 at 4:42 pm

Up 6sen, down 5sen, up 4sen meant PH Govt untung bersih 5sen per liter. Daylight robbery apart from not honouring their promise of cheaper fuel. Taken into account, they are effectively robbing us of 47sen per liter!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
    • yawnz on Feb 08, 2019 at 9:28 pm

I bought brand new Iriz during tax holiday and got instant savings RM6,947. This is real kisah benar. 6sen, down 5sen, up 4sen… yawnzzz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
      • Fordist on Feb 09, 2019 at 9:17 am

RM7k? Big deal! My weekly drives now cost RM50 more than before, not to mentioned other expenses have went up so I have to fork out additional RM200 per week. That RM7k saving would have been eaten up within 35 weeks. Slightly more than half a year later. So now what? We are subsidising Pakatan and their cronies? Spare me the tax holiday sorry excuse because I don’t buy car every year but I still have to fork out additional RM200 EVERY WEEK!

• this is call inflation, and it happens in all economy. malaysia is not immune to it. what is most impirtant is grand theft has been stopped

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 09, 2019 at 11:33 am

Don’t worry, 1 year later when you see your RV, your RM6947 got no more meaning already

• John Bin Palat on Feb 09, 2019 at 11:50 am

I think you are one of the few. Majority bought the new Myvi.

• Fatso on Feb 08, 2019 at 9:44 pm

Don’t drive if you can’t afford.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
      • It’s not about driving. When cost of fuel remains high, cost of essential goods like food likewise remained high. If you say don’t drive sure no problem, but how are you going to tell the people not to eat when essential food becomes unaffordable?

• Darren on Feb 09, 2019 at 4:30 am

Since 2013, cost of essential goods like food likewise remained high. Past govt caused ringgit to freefall in 2015 , maluapo8055kur?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
          • Vader on Feb 09, 2019 at 9:00 am

Yeah sure. As if we didn’t knew that global oil prices dropped like hell back in 2015 causing the ringgit to drop. Now that ringgit is freefalling since mid-2018 in tandem with falling oil prices, are you saying this is current government’s fault too? Who is the current government again?

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 09, 2019 at 11:26 am

Our ringgit collapsed about 10 years ago because globally we were termed as a kleptocratic country

• John Bin Palat on Feb 09, 2019 at 11:45 am

Food prices have gone down since May 9th 2018.

Even broadband now 300Mbps for RM130

If follow old style, 300MBPS would be RM500 per month

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 09, 2019 at 11:32 am

I wonder where is the fake person who for years came here and told us Malaysia had the cheapest petrol prices in the world and cheapest car prices in the world

• Amran on Feb 08, 2019 at 4:48 pm

Harga turun pentaksub membodek kerajaan. Harga dah naik, kenapa tak marah kerajaan? Dulu harga turun, skrng dah naik. Dulu harga kereta dan motor turun, skrng harga dah naik mendadak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
    • Ghani on Feb 09, 2019 at 3:15 pm

Dulu harga turun, skrg dah naik. Untung Petronas

• Hafiz Hisham on Feb 11, 2019 at 10:31 am

Harga minyak mentah dah menurun, Petronas tak untung apa pun. Yg untung hanya Petron.

• gigikuning on Feb 08, 2019 at 5:23 pm

Civic turbo aq baru isi full tank Ron97. TQ kerajaan

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 08, 2019 at 5:25 pm

I am happy to pay that extra 4 sen per litre. My full tank would mean an extra RM1.60 only

At least I know, the extra money I am paying is going to rebuild the country for the better and not like before where money goes into people’s pocket or become dedak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 44
    • UTurn M on Feb 08, 2019 at 9:14 pm

That’s good to hear! Let’s all petition that PH followers pay the extra prices so that your government can fulfill their promises of reducing petrol prices down to Rm1.50 per liter for the rest of us rakyat. How about getting things right for once?

• Abdul Rahman Bin Kassim on Feb 08, 2019 at 10:03 pm

Many Malaysians tak tahu bersyukur. Sekarang kerajaan baru ni bersih dan prihatin, nak selamatkan negara, tapi orang nak dedak je.

And before anyone starts, no I am NOT kunta kinte.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
      • Vader on Feb 09, 2019 at 8:56 am

This is an autoblog. This blog has nothing to do with syukur or selamat. If you want to talk about syukur or selamat please leave and troll at those sites.

Yeah, we believed you’re not him, just one more of his dupe trolls.

• john’s masters and cronies are going to jail soon…. That and lack of dedak from kerajaan makes him frustrated.. lolz

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 09, 2019 at 11:34 am

This is quite accurate. Lack of dedak has made many people frustrated here.

• YB Albert Kunci Kunta on Feb 09, 2019 at 12:52 pm

Kinte
      Lets not fool ourselves.The only difference between this gomen and former bandit gomen is…FIREFIGHTING AND DAMAGE CONTROL.
      To rebuild country…yes to a certain degree but dont u know Tun is adamant in launching Protiga…which is a mega project due to cronies intense lobbying?
      The goodwill rakyat has shown to overthrow the rogue regime thro GE14 has been conveniently forgotten.
      Now we have black shoes,fake cambridge degrees,6 pack sports minister showing off his muscles,etc…all distracting us from newer forms of corruption,which MAY be camourflaged.
      ph…STANDS FOR pakatan halangan,for now,until GE 15.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 08, 2019 at 5:29 pm

I hope the same fake troll john does not come here with his dupes and ask RM1.50/l petrol mana?

Tun M, our esteemed PM has already held a press conference to say PH NEVER promised RM1.50/L petrol in their manifesto at all.

I rather believe a prestigious statesman than a frustrated keyboard warrior who has not got his dedak for a long time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
  • YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 08, 2019 at 5:30 pm

I hope the same fake troll john does not come here with his dupes and ask RM1.50/l petrol mana?

Tun M, our esteemed PM has already held a press conference to say PH NEVER promised RM1.50/L petrol in their manifesto at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
    • UTurn M on Feb 08, 2019 at 9:16 pm

He also told us he never knew about the lopsided toll concession deals despite his signatures on all these contracts. Yeah sure, we believed him. Well, not anymore.

• John Berita Palsu Sdn Bhd on Feb 08, 2019 at 10:05 pm

BN cybertroopers like john got comprehension problem. Tun M already say not in manifesto, but they keep insisting on asking for it like budak degil

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
      • Fordist on Feb 09, 2019 at 9:25 am

NNCP is also not in the manifesto but they have already dropped RM20million into this black hole despite everyone’s very vocal misgivings, and they will continue to drop more of our money into this dumb idea.

Still want to argue what is or what is not relevant in the manifesto? Didn’t Tun said that nothing inside the manifesto is set in stone? A promise is a promise and should be kept! Why did we vote in these lying politicians?!

• John Bin Palat on Feb 09, 2019 at 11:47 am

Petrol prices are cheap now. If follow old regime, it will be RM3.00 per liter now

• Calvin on Feb 11, 2019 at 2:19 pm

I dont mind paying that RM 3.00 per liter, I would have gotten MRT3, 4, 5, etc, LRT3, 4, 5, etc, and LRTs in Penang, Melaka, and Sarawak. Now I pay Rm 1.00 less but I got NNCP instead that will eat more of my money and clog the jam-filled roads. My health suffers, my wallet sufers. So if given the second chance, I would have gladly went for the old regime, thank you very much.

• Daddykasi on Feb 08, 2019 at 7:01 pm

Harga minyak dah turun. Tomato dah turun. Telur turun 2 sen..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 09, 2019 at 11:27 am

semua harga dah turun sekarang. tak ada GST, beli barang makanan semua dah murah.

• Rakyat B40 on Feb 08, 2019 at 10:27 pm

Terima kasih. Lama dh x naik