2020 Mitsubishi ASX unveiled before debut in Geneva

The Mitsubishi ASX receives its third facelift ahead of this year’s Geneva Motor Show, which includes an updated exterior design and minor equipment changes.

The most notable revision is at the front, where the ASX gets a new face that better follows its latest ‘Dynamic Shield’ philosophy. In a way, the front end does resemble that of the Eclipse Cross, with sectioned-off fog lamp-signal lamp clusters placed below slimmer headlamps.

You’ll also notice a two-tier grille with vertical inserts, the latter also inspiring the skid plate near the base of the bumper. With a more expressive grille, the bonnet is now deeper back than on the outgoing model.

Around the back, new LED taillights with a prominent T-shaped graphic projects a sense of width, while a bolder skid plate design takes up more space in the lower apron. A more minor add-on is decorative trim placed near the front wheel arches that meet with the vehicle’s character line.

There’s also three new colours to choose from – Red Diamond, Sunshine Orange and Oak Brown. Meanwhile, the interior looks pretty much identical to before, except the size of the infotainment display has been increased to eight inches.

For European markets, the ASX will be available with a 2.0 litre four-cylinder engine with either a five-speed manual or INVECS-III CVT, as well as AWD or FWD options.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 12, 2019 at 6:22 pm

An overused underwear from Mitsubishi again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
    • Design critic on Feb 12, 2019 at 7:36 pm

This dynamic shield face looks better and tough than the previous facelift that have a failed dynamic shield face.

• Interior is outdated before even launched. What did they do? Got an accountant to design for them to a cost price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • common Mitsu, you could have done better than this and you can do better. Looking at you, i started to appreciate X70 design more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • The Salah on Feb 14, 2019 at 9:16 am

Nothing to be appreciated from X70 design. It’s just a Chinese rebadged car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
      • Agreed.
        X70 just rebadged and it’s stil proton badge.
        Wonder why all owners so proud, always compared, praise high and belittled on other better pricier car.

• Once again…. I “thought” i see a Volvo when looking at tail-light

Also reminds me about Lexus tail-light

Why is Volvo designs appearing everywhere?
    From Subaru to Mitsubishi

• YBodo Kunta Kentut on Feb 12, 2019 at 7:09 pm

3 times facelift… Proton facelift once and the bashing starts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Haidi on Feb 12, 2019 at 7:16 pm

Facelift again? Wow! Good luck Mitsubishi.

• tricycle on Feb 12, 2019 at 7:17 pm

Still a manual hand brake? Cx3,hrv,tucson have gone electro mechanical hb. Luckily the front end design is refreshing.

• aaron on Feb 12, 2019 at 7:49 pm

So miserably undesirable. G’luck mitsubishi

• Funnyman on Feb 12, 2019 at 7:50 pm

Front end looks like new Civic/city and rear end looks like new bmw G20. Interior resembles Clio. Good effort from Mitsubishi. Yes, it is old tech, but it means it is reliable, just like myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Engineer on Feb 12, 2019 at 9:24 pm

Get a horse then. It’s much older tech so surely must be super reliable then. smh

• Oplaadpaal on Feb 12, 2019 at 8:39 pm

Thank you for sharing this and keep posting more such stuff!

• azrai on Feb 13, 2019 at 8:28 am

Same underpinned with X-Trail?

• I dont mind that it is outdated. If price it below 80k i will consider

• Syarizan on Feb 13, 2019 at 12:05 pm

Asx is rival for Honda HRV, but I’m see hrv are better light SUV from many angel even price more less than ASX

• benzs on Feb 13, 2019 at 12:14 pm

Dear MMC,

Too many FL liao. Bring in Eclipse to replace ASX. Your Evo 10 is the last, now u joint with Nissan. Recycle their GTR lah, very bored no sports car from you.

Regards,
    MMC Fan

• applegreen on Feb 13, 2019 at 1:04 pm

The best thing about mitsu is their priority to customer service. No wonder they always get excellent score from JD Power.

• Kiddo on Feb 14, 2019 at 1:54 pm

Hahaha! JD Power is paid, you don’t know that?! As naive as a baby Juices.

• Greasemonkey on Feb 13, 2019 at 1:05 pm

Msia pun belum dapat model 2018 FL, now this? Aiyoo MMC ,bila mau bangun?