Kia K3 sighted – Chinese Cerato gets Maserati grille

The new Kia Cerato continues to be rolled out globally, and in China a localised version, sharing the K3 name with its South Korean-market twin, is set to be introduced pretty soon. These images, which have surfaced on Chinese portal Sina Auto News, show a number of interesting changes to the C-segment sedan.

Front and centre is a wholesale redesign of the front end, now with a larger “tiger nose” grille. Two grille inserts are available, one with a triangular pattern and the other with a series of imposing vertical slats; together with the wraparound headlights and U-shaped lower bumper design, the latter gives a look fairly reminiscent of the Maserati Quattroporte.

Kia K3 sighted – Chinese Cerato gets Maserati grille

At the rear, the K3 gets revised tail light graphics but keeps the trapezoidal shape and the red strip joining the two. The bumper has also been re-profiled, adding fake twin tailpipes and losing the triangular surrounds for the reverse lights and indicators (which have been moved back into the main lamps).

According to the publication, the engine lineup will also get a revamp. While other markets only receive a naturally-aspirated 2.0 litre petrol mill and a hotted-up 1.6 litre T-GDi turbo in the GT variant, the Chinese-market K3 will apparently get a 115 hp 1.5 litre NA unit and a 130 hp 1.4 litre turbo. There will also be a plug-in hybrid version that pairs a 105 hp 1.6 litre petrol with an electric motor – likely the same setup that you’ll find on the Niro Plug-in Hybrid that also delivers a 65 km all-electric range on the SUV.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Lokman John Adam on Mar 25, 2019 at 11:31 am

In Singapore, whereever you go, most of the new SEDAN cars is the latest Cerato. This is because, Singaporeans have CONFIDENCE in Korean products

What a shame. Last time, Proton was on par with Korean products. Sometimes, even Proton is better than the old Kia and Hyundai cars.

But now, Korean workers work hard and produce a great car. They know that lepak lepak will not get them anywhere

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 12
    • Now new era of proton has come after geely brought proton, the new X70 seem famous around malaysia. soon or later they sure come out plenty copy paste car. really cheap, Kia been defeat with the price.But im malaysian and i trust KIA to be my only brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • True, there are alot of elantra and cerato, mazda3 in Sg, instead of the civic and altis

• Lao Yee on Mar 25, 2019 at 6:31 pm

We all know is due to corrupted culture and skin color base policy which causes the failure of Proton before Geely era. If Opposition continues to question of NEP and Bumi policy, continuing influence the weak minds of Malays, don’t expect the country could compete to become a first world country.

• JasonX on Mar 26, 2019 at 8:00 am

Singaporeans change their car every 5years for optimum resale value due to COE… Do you change your car every 5years? What’s the confidence the car will last for 10years?

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 25, 2019 at 11:33 am

Ahahaha time to stick the Maserati logo there and drive to Shangri-la valet parking.

• Kia and kopy, berpisah tiada.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • ur proton is no better john. at least kia makes profits!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • Darren on Mar 25, 2019 at 3:54 pm

Spending billions R&D only to come out with a copycat. Even if make money it is no different than copycat China brands. Worse than Proton. MaluapaB055kurr….

• Veyron Owner on Mar 25, 2019 at 3:10 pm

When you are poor and cannot afford for a real Maserati, you go for Kia K3.
    When you are poor and cannot afford for a real Alfa Romeo, you go for Kia Stinger.
    When you are poor and cannot afford for a real Land Rover, you go for Landwind.
    When you are poor and cannot afford for a real Cayenne, you go for Zoyte.
    When you are poor and cannot afford for a real Toyota Rush, you go for Aruz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 22
    • When u r poor and can’t afford a real Veyron, u tokok here….lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Veyron Owner on Mar 25, 2019 at 3:31 pm

So says the peasants. Spending your time here meant you are not working hard enough. Don’t complain if still remain poor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
        • johnissohai on Mar 25, 2019 at 3:55 pm

says the Veyron “owner”..lulz

• Someone did say if u born poor its not ur fault, if u die poor its all ur fault. Anything in between, if u complain being poor, is oso ur fault.

• U mean all those who spend their time here r poor n not working hard peasants?….hi all peasants, pls spend more time in ur farm…lol

• Lao Yee on Mar 25, 2019 at 6:27 pm

From entertainment to fashion to car industry, the Korean never fail us on copying. Instead of direct mimic, they enhance it.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 26, 2019 at 10:25 am

its ok la….maserati interior worse than kia

• ismail on Mar 26, 2019 at 2:30 pm

Korean use brain to improve their car, bumi elite malaysia use brain to sell low quality n expensive spare parts to proton, think buyers stupid

• mintak2 la dashboard lama. kia win exterior design tapi interior tak berapa lawa.