Safety Vehicles on PLUS highways – what are they?

Here’s a hazard that many regular highway users are familiar with – road debris. Running into debris such as tyre carcasses, metal pieces or fallen cargo from lorries is a thought that many truly dread.

If you see the debris from afar, there’s a chance to safely avoid it, but it’s not always that we have the luxury of distance. Sometimes, debris may appear “out of nowhere” and motorists are left with a quick decision to make – swerve away or take the hit. Both comes with its own risks. Been there? You’re not alone.

Also at risk are the highway maintenance workers who clear the debris. These frontline workers have to physically remove the item while running into a multi-lane expressway with high speed traffic, without a shield from vehicles zooming past. There’s now a solution that ensures safe highway maintenance, clear roads for motorists, and protection for the frontline workers.

Safety Vehicles by Edgenta Infrastructure Services on the PLUS North South Expressway is a new measure to achieve all of the above, during planned or unplanned works, such as debris collection. The introduction of Safety Vehicles has been endorsed by the Malaysian Highway Authority (MHA) as part of traffic management to minimise risk for all parties.

Safety Vehicles will be deployed whenever there is any activity on the highway where the frontline workers need protection while carrying out tasks such as lane closure and obstacle collection.

The Safety Vehicles, which are trucks with warning lights and arrows, will get into formation to block the lanes from traffic to enable work to be done safely. The duration varies, but traffic can be stopped for around 15 to 30 minutes, depending on the type of work needed. Safety Vehicles will be on standby 24 hours a day, as and when needed.

The Safety Vehicles will form a “barrier” for the workers to perform their task safely, and the distance from the line to the point where the work is being carried out is approximately 100 metres. This distance provides the workers time to react should there be any breach of vehicles through the Safety Vehicles formation.

As for the safe distance between traffic and the Safety Vehicles, it should be 50 metres for a moving formation, or five metres for a stationary line. The Safety Vehicles will gradually reduce traffic speed from 80 km/h to 60 km/h (or 40 km/h and 20 km/h, if needed), or to a complete stop, if required.

So, if you encounter a fleet of one-tonne lorries or pick-up trucks with safety features forming a line on the highway, keep calm, be patient and co-operate with the Safety Vehicles and their instructions. The highway maintenance workers have a job to do, and ultimately, it’s for everyone’s safety. Be alert and drive safe.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Safety Concerns on May 20, 2019 at 12:49 pm

Great idea. But, the trucks itself are under-specced..! There should be deformable crumple barriers attached to the back of the truck. Or at the very least, rear under-runs. From the photos and video, it would seem that if a private car / small vehicle rear-ends one of these trucks, it will go under it and the chassis of the truck will article the car passengers directly through the windscreen. PLUS, please fix this ASAP..!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Bruno on May 21, 2019 at 12:29 am

Can we claim car repairs from PLUS North South Expressway for damages caused by
      road debris such as tyre carcasses, metal pieces or fallen cargo from lorries ,

• Slirh on May 21, 2019 at 10:21 am

Adding to the comments on Safety issues, the truck used is also underpowered. While they are meant to slow down the traffic, they become a hinderance once they need to clear the lane in fast and safe manners.
      Also, PLUS need to have more electronic information billboards to inform the motorists on the changes/incidents on the highway. This is for the motorists to adjust their speed and direction of travelling, if necessary

• Susukotak on May 20, 2019 at 12:57 pm

why use 1 tonne lorry instead of truck?

• BOYRACER on May 21, 2019 at 9:03 am

I think that’s a typo.Look at the picture you can see the BDM and BTM..Difference of 2 tons..so it’s a 2 ton lorry not a 1 ton..

• Eternalgl0ry on May 20, 2019 at 12:58 pm

We need more on the road especially kl to jb to kl

• bieight on May 20, 2019 at 5:16 pm

as we all know P brand tyres are dangerous and should be avoid

• Brian on May 20, 2019 at 9:46 pm

PLUS maintenance used to be inhouse and now outsourced to a crony? Why am I not surprised.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • PLUS staff on May 27, 2019 at 9:28 am

That is wrong, PLUS never had inhouse maintenance team since 80s, PLUS only operated the expressway (collecting tolls and receive user complain), the maintenance carried out by PROPEL or now known as Edgenta PROPEL which is also under UEM Group

• love to see them in action. so cool..seriously

• azrai on May 21, 2019 at 7:51 am

This always happened between Melaka and JB stretch. By the way 15 -30 minutes stop is a lot waste of time. PLUS should divert traffic out to the nearest exit instead. Sometime people are rushing for important meeting or visit their sick mom in emergency.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
  • After many trip overseas and this is what we get?
    Anyways LDP pls take note.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Redpilled on May 21, 2019 at 11:41 am

And the one yapping here has 0 knowledge on driving lorries/trailers. Macam pandai sangat.

• Bruno Mars on May 21, 2019 at 2:52 pm

Stopping traffic with so many vehicles behind just so they can lineup these trucks for an advert? Brilliant goof up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • PLUS staff on May 27, 2019 at 9:35 am

The maintenance team had and been subjected to fatal accident previously before this approach come to effect. Trust me, if PLUS don’t care about staff and road user’s life, PLUS are saving money if do not implement this. Yes PLUS are brilliant, you are not. Thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Think logically before you condemn and comment bout’ PLUS BHD. They don’t simply ask the Safety Vehicles to block the highway for no reason. Imagine if there’s something fallen off frm a treller or anything obstructing the traffic and it’s in the middle lane of the highway, do you think that the workers or even Plus Ronda vehicle to just stop on the EL and get the debris??? You only knw hw to blame on PLUS BHD for doing stupid thing when you hit something on the highway. Use your brain properly when commenting

• Sattian Kollanthavelu on May 21, 2019 at 2:58 pm

Dear Danny, just a s suggestion. If paultan can produce an road safety article on what to do in case of encountering debris on the highway, it will be helpful.

• Sparcov on May 22, 2019 at 8:30 pm

Very good video indicating motorcycles travelling on the Fast Lane. Malaysia is the only country that allow motorcycle below 150CC to travel on the major highway with massive percentage accident. Change?

• Ghani on May 28, 2019 at 6:32 pm

I didn’t know this can be a news piece when safety vehicles had always have presence on the highways. It’s just given that we should be extra cautious when seeing them in operation. Does this need to be told?

• Ahmad on May 31, 2019 at 12:30 am

Hi.. i commute every day since last 20 years using PLUS ..previously the traffic management(TM) handle by PROPEL.. when merger excercise take around.. the PROPEL be rename by edgenta.. during PROPEL time.. the traffic management manage internally.. tht mean inhouse staff etc etc.. but once edgenta roll out.. i see some of TM be outsource.. maybe due to high cost..

To be honest now there hv a lack here n there.. the procedure,distance of super cone l, cone, TP, safety sign not stardadize.. the workers look not experience..eg they should drive the veh untill 80km/h at emergency lane before departure to slow lane..but now i see tht not happen.. procedure to drop the cone something too dangerous… n i believe something yhey facing lack or manoower number. .. the most wht i concern.. the safety truck.. previously double cab orrange colour PROPER well manage.. but now.. ur sub contractor justbusing under power 1 ton truck.. personally they should use more powerfull truck.. so more easy to manuever..stop n go procedure..

Edgenta shoudl looking for pickup truck for safty truck… come with absorber barrierr at back. . eg practic at singapore.. event during road sweeper truck in operation the pickup need to follow wt the possible distance come with signing sign etc..

Of course it come wt a cost.. but for sake of million highway user.. cost for safety is infinity..

Just my opinion.

• Chiok on Jun 02, 2019 at 1:44 pm

PlUS has been carrying out maintenance works in the day time on the NS Highway non-stop since way before GE14. It has become a nuisance to paying highway users. What happened to the night time roadworks?

We pay & use the highway for the convenience & disruptions free travel. PLUS should consider giving discounts whenever they want to carry out maintenance works.

Also, they are repaving sections of the highway that are still in good condition like the Bemban-Tangkak stretch but ignoring the scattered potholes along the Pagoh to JB stretch which endangers two wheelers.

I do not understand their logic.

• Moutoon on Jun 03, 2019 at 12:22 am

Its a nuisance and a lame excuse for maintenance – part closure should be sufficient. There many other way in the name of maintenance.

Wake up PLUS or the people power will eventually rebel.

• Faris on Jun 10, 2019 at 2:43 pm

Ok that was kinda cool

• Chipzter on Mar 31, 2021 at 11:06 am

First thing to ensure safety on our highways to ban all those motorcycle convoys their own marshals!!! Not approved convoys have Traffic police escort/marshals!!!

Secondhand matter is banning of motorcycles below 125/150cc motorcycles on the highway. If that cannot be done, then please build motorcycle lanes on highway for their use!!!

Third issue – overloaded lorries should be need from using the highways!! They cause excessive damage to the roads and are the main cause of debris on the highways!!!

4. Improve night lighting on the highways by using at lights that will turn itself on in the evenings and off in the mornings!! With solar lights, we can have more lights fitted so that the roads are always brightly litup!!!

5. Change all toll payments to RFID systems which can be reloaded online!!! This will make it easier and possibly can help reduce the number lanes being used for toll plazas which is actually counter productive as vehicles leaving a 10 lane toll plaza will need to squeeze back into a 2,3,4 highway!!!

• Brian… if you don’t knw anything, don’t simply comment and condemn on PLUS without using your brain

• Thanida on Dec 09, 2022 at 9:51 pm

Did u know this is very stupid things? U mentioned 15-30mins and cause the jam more than 1 hour