2019 Honda Genio launched in Indonesia – RM5,039

Indonesia’s burgeoning two-wheeler market shows no signs of slowing down, the official distributors PT Astra Honda Motor (AHM) launching the 2019 Honda Genio scooter. For those paultan.org readers who regularly visit Thailand or Indonesia, a resemblance to the Honda Scoopy scooter will be noticed.

However, several updates and improvements have been made to make the Genio scooter special. For starters, the engine, while still the same as the unit used in the Scoopy, has been worked over to be more efficient and Honda claims a consumption figure of 1.69 litres per 100 km.

Fed by Hondas PGM-Fi, the Genio puts out a claimed 9.0 PS at 7,500 rpm and 9.3 Nm of torque at 5,500 rpm. Fuel efficiency is further improved with idling stop using Honda’s ACG starter.

A first for the Indonesia motorcycle market is the Genio’s frame, an all-new unit designed using eSAF technology. Thi involves the use of laser welding and pressing, resulting in a scooter that is more comfortable, lighter and easy to control, a claim borne out by the Genio’s dry weight of 89 kg.

Other fittings for the genio include LED lighting, digital instrument panel and a 14-litre storage space under the seat. Rolling on 14-inch wheels with 80/90 front tyre and 90/90 rear, the Genio uses a single hydraulic disc brake in front and drum brake at the back, with telescopic fork and monoshock at the back.

Fuel is carried in a 4.2-litre tank and there are 11 colour options for the 2019 Honda Genio in Indonesia as well as two version. Pricing the Genio is 17.2 million rupiah (RM5,039) for the non-idle stop version and the Genio thus equipped retails at 17.7 million rupiah (RM5,186).

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Even kapcais are cheaper in Indonesia than here. Oh how low have we fallen since 1 year ago.

• Can they bring in honda sh-300. Its assembled in vietnam

• When its available in Malaysia ? Thnks for info. Plan to buy

• john doe on Jun 25, 2019 at 8:21 am

why wasting time in flying car instead of getting a better electric bike or hybrid bike, where the market in SEA is humongous, i will rather invest into that.
    Looking at the white smoke bike still on the road, the A.Joker should banned this (and the lorries with white smoke) instead of BS black tinted act

• Jimho on Jun 25, 2019 at 9:54 am

Honda M’sia, pls bring GENIO here quickly lah. Beat is a lil small for me, Vario150 is expensive, heavy & bit too powerful for a 59 yr old like me. You’ve launched so many 125cc chained kapchai already. Launch Genius lah! If u don’t, I’ll buy NYAMAHAI Solariz soon!!

• Danny on Jun 25, 2019 at 12:13 pm

please launch
    pcx 150 with ABS and rear disc brake. Other asian countries already have and we still …,…….

• Sohai on Jun 25, 2019 at 6:56 pm

The pCX is already very expensive now…still add spec? Boon Siew will charge rm20k… you want to buy or not?