August 2019 week one fuel price – RON97 down 2 sen

It’s time yet again for the usual weekly fuel price update, where it’s good news for users of RON 97 petrol, as the fuel is now cheaper this week.

From August 3, RON 97 will retail at RM2.54 per litre, which is two sen down from the RM2.56 per litre last week. No change of course for RON 95 petrol, which continues on at RM2.08 per litre, the maximum price consumers pay no matter how high market prices push pump prices.

It’s the same for Euro 2M diesel, which continues to retail at RM2.18 per litre, and Euro 5 diesel – which is 10 sen more than Euro 2M diesel – is priced at RM2.28 per litre.

According to the finance ministry’s Automatic Price Mechanism (APM) calculations, RON 95 petrol would be priced at RM2.24 per litre, and diesel at RM2.33 per litre without the price cap in place. The government said that it will absorb an estimated RM85.78 million in fuel subsidy costs for the period August 3-9, 2019.

These prices will remain in effect until August 9, when the next set of fuel pricing adjustments is announced. This is the 30th edition of the weekly fuel pricing format, which is announced every Friday. The weekly prices are in effect from Saturday until the following Friday.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• RM1:50 fuel price was not in GE14 manifesto. Anyway, PH is saving the country right now and is not corrupted, let’s all bersyukur! Fuel prices are cheap now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • Eshark on Aug 05, 2019 at 1:04 pm

Who sez is not corrupted now? The satay, pies and chips case now. Fuel are cheap now though.

• Copy Paste on Aug 05, 2019 at 2:34 pm

Copy paste: “This is not a political blog, pls spread your political BS elsewhere. Every article with fuel price sure got paid shills supporting the Gov. Is this what PaulTan really has become? To provide people like you to spread your dreamland propaganda instead of discussing about cars?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 30
      • air saktee on Aug 05, 2019 at 4:55 pm

Fully agree Copy. Btw, I juz paid RM1.50 for 250ml bottle of air mineral. Better minum petrol next time, becuz RM1.50 beli 1000ml…

• Copy Paste Corrected on Aug 05, 2019 at 8:22 pm

Sorry but how is this a political BS?

Is this whacking BN? No
        Is asking the gomen to honour what they not promised right? No
        Is telling the RM1.50 fuel price not in the manifesto wrong? No
        Is asking people to be grateful wrong? No
        Is it wrong to tell the truth? No

So tell me what BS are you talking about? The only BS I see are from paid trolls spreading their BN propaganda. Are you one of them?

• Manifesto Dicapati on Aug 06, 2019 at 9:47 am

Interesting but lame attempt at copy pasting from below. Firstly, the poster never claimed the other person was whacking BN so I can assume all other points are also made up.

• Budak UiTM on Aug 06, 2019 at 8:33 pm

Ever heard of rhetorical question? Learn English before copy & paste other people’s comments. Don’t copy & paste others if you don’t want others to copy & paste your work.

• English Teacher on Aug 07, 2019 at 12:57 am

Really now? You have no idea what is a rhetorical question when your questions is neither rhetoric nor tell anything.

• Angry Voters on Aug 06, 2019 at 11:59 am

Khalid Samad is already in Amanah when he reminded the rakyat of Pakatan promises when they come to power. Amanah was setup after GE13. That is very clear. The whole country haven’t turn nyanyuk yet. Don’t try to patronise us with your fake news!

• Repetition Teacher on Aug 06, 2019 at 8:25 pm

“RM1.50 petrol NOT in PH manifesto” – PT

Still want to spread more fake news? If Khalid Samad promised you RM1.50 petrol then you should ask from him.

• Einstein on Aug 06, 2019 at 9:36 am

Will you join in our crusade?
      Who will be strong and stand with me?
      Somewhere beyond the barricade
      Is there a world you long to see?
      Then join in the fight
      That will give you the right to be free!
      Do you hear the people sing?
      Singing the songs of angry men?
      It is the music of the people

Do You Hear the People Sing? (Les Miserables)

• Avenger on Aug 02, 2019 at 5:18 pm

RM2.54 ≠ RM1.50

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Avenger BN want free Thanos on Aug 05, 2019 at 8:33 pm

Nobody promise for RON97 to be RM1.50. Stop misleading the readers here. People in PT ain stupid like your BN troopers.

• Kancil Hybrid on Aug 02, 2019 at 5:24 pm

Bila naik dipersalahkan kerajaan.
    Bila turun knp tak puji. Dulu murah skrg lg murah

• Sick & Tired on Aug 02, 2019 at 5:26 pm

1) Free float for RON95 & 97
    2) Still no Rm1.50/l petrol as promised (Amanah had reaffirmed that promise).
    3) BR1M is revived to subsidise the poor
    4) The middle income have to foot these extra cost w/o the benefits as promised.
    5) New tolled highways sprouting left & right.
    6) Mega expensive projects sprouting left & right.
    7) National car project is back again
    8) Car prices are going higher & higher.
    9) Menteris more bothered to make scandals than help people.
    10) Money thrown into ridiculous national flying car project.
    11) Complaints are not heard or Menteris says there is no problem or tak suka boleh keluar.
    12) Foreign investors coming into the region but NOT to our country.
    13) Taxpayer money spent to defend the government online instead of benefiting the rakyat.
    14) Our ministers specialising PhDs in Uturn statements.
    15) Our country turning into the world’s laughing stock.

I didn’t realised our government has reverted back to olden corrupted days of madey BN. When did this happen and why had we voted PH in the first place if this was coming?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Copy Paste on Aug 02, 2019 at 5:37 pm

Copy paste edited for correctness: “I hope our regular troll does not come here with his countless of dupes to give an impression that petrol is cheap and that PH never promised RM1.50/L petrol in the last GE.

Our highly esteemed PM already confirmed that their Manifesto cannot be trusted so whatever they say also cannot be trusted. Therefore when they said such promise was 10 years ago in the previous GE and they repeated the same promise in last GE, they don’t really mean to keep with those promises. If you had believed their lies this is your problem so they tell us.

Please do not get angry if you are frustrated they had lied to you.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • Sick & Tired of Copy Paste on Aug 05, 2019 at 9:20 pm

Who is angry? The only ones that are angry are the corrupted ones which their boss is caught. Now they have no more funding and need to come here to complain like the one above.

• Repetition Teacher on Aug 06, 2019 at 11:58 am

Where did the PM confirmed that their Manifesto cannot be trusted? PH already explained and PT already published the article. So why are the BN troops keep on repeating the same thing again and again?

This is the title in PT article:
      “RM1.50 petrol NOT in PH manifesto”

Get it?

So stop spreading fake news and pls do not get angry if your corrupted leaders are caught and hope that the next GE can free them.

• Shukor bin Azman on Aug 02, 2019 at 6:30 pm

Petrol prices are so cheap in Malaysia. Those complaining should just look at what other countries in our region are paying.

I would say bravo to our Government giving us cheap petrol prices of RM2.08.

• Amran on Aug 02, 2019 at 7:24 pm

Harga turun pentaksub membodek kerajaan. Harga dah tinggi macam haram, kenapa tak marah kerajaan? Dulu harga rendah, skrng dah tinggi. Dulu harga kereta dan motor turun, skrng harga dah naik mendadak. Cilaka betul kjaan ni!

• No Cancer and Freak Weather for New Generations on Aug 02, 2019 at 8:56 pm

Never ever demands for rm1.50 a litre of cheap dirty high sulphur petrol or diesel which caused cancer and wreak havoc on the environment with freak weather.
    Smart consumers will always prioritised the important of demanding the cleanest petrol and diesel preferably euro5 euro6 above.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Angry Voters on Aug 04, 2019 at 7:48 pm

No we demand RM1.50/L petrol of EURO5 grade. Promises made must be fufilled.

• borneo darul seram on Aug 05, 2019 at 5:36 pm

Previous promises of RM1.50/L petrol is EURO2M grade RON92. If you want affordable petrol EURO5 grade suggest you try your luck emigrate to Brunay Dark rule Salem.

• Manifesto Dicapati on Aug 06, 2019 at 9:43 am

So means PH was promising something no longer existent? RON92 had been removed way before that promise was made dude. What next is PH promising, flying unicorns with rainbow? PH promises are getting absurd by the day.

• Angry Abang on Aug 05, 2019 at 8:24 pm

Betui! EX5 fuel no cheap how to rempit?

• Melayu Tak Peduli on Aug 04, 2019 at 11:20 pm

Abang2 don’t care. All they ask is cheap fuel for their EX5. So much complaint to the new Gov is becoz they cannot get cheap fuel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Khat toon Network on Aug 05, 2019 at 5:42 pm

At the end still poor can’t afford to pay for surgical tumor removal, radiotherapy, and chemotherapy. Burdening the local healthcare.

• Jeremy on Aug 05, 2019 at 8:12 pm

Wow, what a dickheaded comment. You think who are the ones crying for cheaper petrol? It is us M40s. The B40s have plenty of support from gahmen so they have no pressure for cheaper fuels, but not us M40s. What do we have? We have high fuel prices, higher cost of living and lowering living standards. Why is it wrong for us to demand something better, something we have voted for? Why? WHY???

• Clarkson on Aug 06, 2019 at 8:37 pm

Stop acting innocent. For 60 yrs, we are not getting what we are promised i.e. 30% reduction in car prices and now you people suddenly wake up to whack PH? Yeah, ask why lah.

• Vader on Aug 05, 2019 at 7:25 am

AFAIK, the politician I voted in promised us RM 1.50 per liter petrol of EURO5 RON97. Until today I still don’t see it.

• Skywalker on Aug 05, 2019 at 8:55 pm

60yrs of promises also never fulfilled, want to talk about 1 promise?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
    • Lemon tea on Aug 05, 2019 at 11:27 am

I am very satisfied with our current game changing goverment. Thank you PH for reducing petrol price. Now I can save my petrol money for something else

• Abang2 Sambung Bayar on Aug 02, 2019 at 10:20 pm

I hope our regular troll does not come here with his 50 different dupes and ask for RM1.50/L petrol. Tun Mahathir already confirmed this is fake news.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 15
    • Angry Voters on Aug 04, 2019 at 7:53 pm

He even tell us Manifesto cannot be trusted to follow. Betul ke dia ni woi?
      If what is written cannot be trusted then what is said is less trustworthy.
      And it that’s so, then how can we trust them? How can we trust you telling us that is fake news? Because it is not fake news at all.

• Rational Voter on Aug 05, 2019 at 8:51 pm

Where did he tell us that Manifesto cannot be trusted to follow? Is this what you said or what he said?

• Brian on Aug 04, 2019 at 8:30 pm

Nice trolling with that fake news there. Make it less repetitive than the usual weekend BS and just maybe, NST will give you a job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
      • I wonder who’s the troll?

https://paultan.org/2018/09/12/rm1-50-petrol-not-in-ph-manifesto-targeted-fuel-subsidy-for-kapcai-cars-below-1-3l-next-year/

• I guess I was mistaken. Sorry.
          https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2018/07/16/manifesto-not-a-bible-says-dr-m-in-defence-of-speakers-appointment/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
          • Logical Deduction on Aug 05, 2019 at 2:41 pm

We all make mistakes. It’s good you found out sooner rather than later. Some chose not to find out and continue burying their heads.

• What i quoted got nothing to do with fuel price. PT is correct, FMT is wrong. Sorry.

• Ah what the heck! I was a bit blur since we had referred to Manifesto so once again I was wrong. Sorry about that guys. Point is, politicians can’t be trusted more for those who made promises.

• Copy Paste on Aug 04, 2019 at 9:46 pm

Copy paste: “All rushing to claim fake news.
      The irony is it always come from those spreading fake news all the time.”

• Trump on Aug 05, 2019 at 11:01 pm

You only know copy & paste. Did UiTM only teach this? What else do you know?

• Vader on Aug 05, 2019 at 7:23 am

It’s so refreshing to see you still are this gullible week in week out. The world still need fools as ever. All is well.

• Lolwhut? on Aug 05, 2019 at 9:06 am

Lol! This is what happens when you leave brain at the door, you believed whatever politicians tells you.

Previously they said black is white and you believed, now they said they’ve never told you that black was white, and you still believed them.

Luckily the rest of the population aren’t so easily fooled.

• Rossie on Aug 06, 2019 at 8:34 am

They were just fooled by that ‘janji ditepati’ guy who bought his wife luxurious items.

• Turn M on Aug 05, 2019 at 10:39 am

Yessss….. my minions are working hard at fooling the people. All is going according to keikaku.

• Brian on Aug 05, 2019 at 12:26 pm

Same sh*ts/politicians, so don’t tell me they smell differently.

• Dr Strange on Aug 05, 2019 at 12:53 pm

It’s like a deep philosophical question, is it a broken promise, if the politicians are hoping that people forget they had made such promises? :D

• Philosopher on Aug 06, 2019 at 8:43 am

The main question is did we forget 60yrs of broken promises and stealing happening in our own country? :D

• Ahmad on Aug 05, 2019 at 1:09 pm

Fully support you bro!

• Unknown on Aug 05, 2019 at 10:18 pm

So we’re being forced to listen to paid shills despite everything is Googlable in this era. Is this an attempt to brainwash the rakyat or am I missing something.

I thought PH was the nice team and BN the evil ones. Something clearly is wrong here.

• Aura89 on Aug 02, 2019 at 11:52 pm

Waiting for the weekly supporters to come and syukur that prices are “low” and all that thanks to new government. Even after reality has set in that prices will remain high and they have no intention to make good their promises to reduce fuel prices there will be biased people, always the same thing all over again.

Some people are willing to be blind, even if they have eyes. Closing your eyes and identifying yourself as blind is stupid IMHO. C’mon guys, let’s act like adults with brains here, use logic & reason to think and not follow blindly. A promise made is a promise to be kept. I mean, is this the quality of governance that PH want to show to the world?

I know you can do better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 25
    • Brian on Aug 04, 2019 at 8:33 pm

Fully support you bro!

• Azmin on Aug 04, 2019 at 11:02 pm

This is not a political blog, pls spread your political BS elsewhere. Every article with fuel price sure got bashers bashing the Gov. Is this what PaulTan really has become? To provide people like you to spread your hatred propaganda instead of discussing about cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
      • Logical Deduction on Aug 05, 2019 at 2:40 pm

Sorry but how is this a political BS?

Is this whacking PH? No
        Is asking the gomen to honour their promises wrong? No
        Is telling the blinded to open their eyes wrong? No
        Is asking these people to act mature a problem? No
        Is it wrong to quote an oft used English about promises? No

So tell me what BS are you talking about? The only BS I see are from paid trolls spreading their PH propaganda. Are you one of them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
        • Betol Kah? on Aug 05, 2019 at 7:16 pm

Is this a political blog?

If no, are you one of the paid bashers to spread your BN propaganda so that your boss can be freed soon?

• English Teacher on Aug 07, 2019 at 12:59 am

This is not a political blogsite. So why are you here? The poster above clearly isn’t talking anything political unlike you.

• You have no idea what you’re talking about, therefore stop.

• Aura89 on Aug 05, 2019 at 6:59 pm

Bashing? Where? Is is wrong now to point out that promises should be kept? I never the world has flipped on its head and trust no longer applies. I was only addressing fanboys blinded to the truth and you have your reasons to be triggered. Well you are entitled to your say if you think I am bashing the Government but again that’s your opinion it does not speak for all. Personally, I don’t have any interest nor care to what you said or your agenda in trying to shut me up. But again that’s me personally, anyone should be allowed to have their say one way or another provided it’s backed up with facts & numbers, and if you have nothing substantial to counter but resort to shouting me down that is your problem. Your reply to me, slanting this as a political propaganda makes no sense since I wasn’t attacking any politician nor political party.

Furthermore what they had said and promised are easily googleable so if you don’t believe it, your personal opinion, which you’re allowed to have, doesn’t mean someone else isn’t allowed to believe differently when facts and evidences are presented.

• UMNO Cybertrooper Tipu on Aug 05, 2019 at 9:26 am

Alleged ‘janji ditepati’ better than racist government

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • Angry Voters on Aug 05, 2019 at 3:41 pm

How interesting for a racist party to be calling others racist.

• Isobel Chin on Aug 05, 2019 at 10:23 pm

This coming from a kleptoracist party, that’s rich.

• Ahmad on Aug 05, 2019 at 1:25 pm

“No change of course for RON 95 petrol, which continues on at RM2.08 per litre, the maximum price consumers pay no matter how high market prices push pump prices.”

What’s with the trolling of high fuel prices? In reality, the prices are not higher than the old Gov. Always blaming the new Gov is getting lame.

• Angry Voters on Aug 05, 2019 at 3:40 pm

If we wanted the same prices old government, we would gladly have remained the old government. This isn’t what was promised, this isn’t what we wanted.

• Aura89 on Aug 05, 2019 at 7:16 pm

Nobody asked for petrol prices to be lower than set by old administration but it’s being promised by those that came in, and fully expecting these promises to be kept. If that is called trolling in your dictionary, you’re entitled to your opinion. But that is not what other people will believe.

People believe trolls when no one calls them out for their nonsense. Not everyone who follows these or any forums are educated enough to not get pulled in and believe the pure fabrication that comes out of people like those blinded supporters.

• like really MEH!!!!

• Bijan on Aug 04, 2019 at 7:54 pm

Mana janji RM1.50/l petrol? Kerajaan baru tak tepati janji mcm ku. At least i kept my promise of buying pink diamond for my wife.