August 2019 week three fuel price – no change

It’s Friday, which means yet another round of the weekly fuel update, and there’s little to report on that front, because there is no change in the price of RON 97 petrol for the coming week.

From tomorrow, August 17, RON 97 continues to be priced at RM2.49 a litre, as that set last week. No change of course for RON 95 petrol, which continues on at RM2.08 per litre, the maximum price consumers pay no matter how high market prices push pump prices.

It’s the same for Euro 2M diesel, which continues to retail at RM2.18 per litre, and Euro 5 diesel – which is 10 sen more than Euro 2M diesel – is priced at RM2.28 per litre.

The finance ministry says that according to Automatic Price Mechanism (APM) calculations, RON 95 petrol would be priced at RM2.19 per litre while that for diesel would be at RM2.21 per litre without the price cap in place. The government added that it will absorb an estimated RM47.10 million in fuel subsidy costs for the period of August 17 to 23.

These prices will remain in effect until August 23, when the next set of fuel pricing adjustments will be announced. This is the 32nd edition of the weekly fuel pricing format, which is announced every Friday. The weekly prices are in effect from Saturday until the following Friday.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Sick & Tired on Aug 16, 2019 at 5:25 pm

1) Free float for RON95 & 97
    2) Still no Rm1.50/l petrol as promised (Amanah had reaffirmed that promise).
    3) BR1M is revived to subsidise the poor
    4) The middle income have to foot these extra cost w/o the benefits as promised.
    5) New tolled highways sprouting left & right.
    6) Mega expensive projects sprouting left & right.
    7) National car project is back again
    8) Car prices are going higher & higher.
    9) Menteris more bothered to make scandals than help people.
    10) Money thrown into ridiculous national flying car project.
    11) Complaints are not heard or Menteris says there is no problem or tak suka boleh keluar.
    12) Foreign investors coming into the region but NOT to our country.
    13) Taxpayer money spent to defend the government online instead of benefiting the rakyat.
    14) Our ministers specialising PhDs in Uturn statements.
    15) Our country turning into the world’s laughing stock.

I didn’t realised our government has reverted back to olden corrupted days of madey BN. When did this happen and why had we voted PH in the first place if this was coming?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 78
    • Why Malaysia is still the SAME? on Aug 16, 2019 at 6:18 pm

Lots ofnegative matters are still happening in our country. Why? Very simple. It is the same people running the show. Only the Cabinet has changed. It is the same lazy people running the show from below Cabinet onwards. So no difference now and no difference 5 years ago.

The 1.6 million Government servants are still the same. The are always looking for handouts, bantuan and bailouts. So, nothing really changes.

When the bulk of your civil workforce is looking for the easy way out of things and want the easy life of yesteryear, how do you expect the country to improve?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 17
      • MyBikin on Aug 16, 2019 at 10:41 pm

Rm2.08/l petrol everyday. If the previous govt people running the show. Roti canai Rm5/pc…

• Agreed! Fully agree! It looks like the Cabinet has changed but look closely at the important roles it is still Madey lackeys that are in control. This coupled with our now toothless DAP ministers who prefer to enjoy the trappings of power. Instead of being watchdogs, now more like running dogs. Even the 1.6million Government servants cannot do anything but to follow orders from their ministers to implement 3rd national car and flying car projects. They can’t even protest because Madey demanded unquestionable loyalty from them. I blame this all on the useless, toothless, and self-serving Cabinet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 44
        • Richard Gomez on Aug 18, 2019 at 8:00 am

Too much of corruption by the lazy type before has flowed through to this time. Don’t blame the Cabinet, blame the lazy type who is always not wanting to work hard

• Yes, blame the lazy ministers who are more comfortable to eat and make scandals.

• Alan Fong on Aug 18, 2019 at 12:45 pm

Don’t blame the leaders. Blame the orang bawahan who are so used to dedak all the time. Now new administration, they are not used to hard work and want their goyang kaki life back again

• Orang bawahan just follows orders of orang atasan. If orang atasan are clueless headless chickens, then don’t expect orang bawahan to perform any better.

• In any government, in any company, in any society, in any clubs, in any classroom, in any gangs, in any hak seh wooi, in any playground, in any groupie, in any family, in any body, the downline just follows the instructions from their leaders. If the instructions were bad, it isn’t their downlines’ fault. The blame all goes to the leader.

• Richard Gomez on Aug 18, 2019 at 7:58 am

We need high petrol prices because we have the largest Government workforce in the world and we need the money to feed them

1.6 million Government workforce to cater for 35 million people

Australia got 35 million people ALSO but their Government workforce is only 250,000 people

• Sequerah Pereira on Aug 18, 2019 at 1:09 pm

This is like meetings in Government departments. Write a lot of points. And have 100 meetings to discuss an issue. But nothing comes out of it.

Take action instead of whining pls.

• Richard Tan on Aug 16, 2019 at 6:46 pm

Malaysia’s problem is this…..

Only 20% of the working population pay Inland Revenue’s TOTAL Income Tax collected by LHDN from every working member in Malaysia.

This is the main problem in Malaysia. Why the 80% of the working population don’t pay income tax and yet enjoy the benefits of the hard work put in by the 20%?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 13
      • Aura89 on Aug 17, 2019 at 12:43 am

Quote: Only 20% of the working population pay Inland Revenue’s TOTAL Income Tax

What a load of BS. When the government implemented GST, people supported PH to remove it. Now you complain as if you’re taxed a lot. Don’t make me laugh. High income earners have better things to do with their time than coming here to troll.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
        • Richard Gomez on Aug 18, 2019 at 8:01 am

majority of the lazy type do not pay tax. If everyone paid tax, we will be cash rich thus cheaper petrol

• Majority of the type that don’t pay taxes are those doing illegal businesses of course they don’t pay taxes. How to declare profits from business in judi, ayam, ahlong?

• Muzaffar Shah on Aug 17, 2019 at 9:38 am

Be grateful for what you have. Already given so much free, still demanding more and more. No other country pampers this much giving to much of privileges and entitlements.

• Brian on Aug 17, 2019 at 12:53 pm

I share your opinion, though I know our regular trooper here would strongly disagree.

• Bernard Kwong on Aug 17, 2019 at 1:52 pm

We need the national car project to give certain people jobs.

• Bernard Kwong on Aug 17, 2019 at 1:53 pm

So fed up with people who just make noise but never do anything. PHD in complaining.

• You complained while looking in the mirror again. Don’t post when you are doing that.

• Lolwhut? on Aug 18, 2019 at 6:10 pm

PHD in complaining = Pakatan Harapan Dumb in complaining

• M.Khamis on Aug 16, 2019 at 5:27 pm

Price is correct again, according to my formula.

• tikus on Aug 16, 2019 at 5:44 pm

Thank you game changing PH, fuel price remain cheap and I am able to save my financial for other needs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
    • Crony on Aug 16, 2019 at 6:03 pm

Cheap for cronies, not cheap for rakyat.

• Copy Paste on Aug 16, 2019 at 9:46 pm

Copy paste 2nd: “Can we believe the words come out from an UTUN+VTUN+STUN government?”

• Lolwhut? on Aug 18, 2019 at 6:11 pm

With how Pakatan is performing, I’m not holding my breath. I think the age of PH is coming to a close.

• Fully expecting the tower defence postings from our resident PH trooper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
    • Richard Tan on Aug 16, 2019 at 6:47 pm

Enough john, we don’t need your instigation here. Work hard like everyone else and Malaysia will be a more productive country to begin with

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
      • God! PH plebs are funny.. Nothing hurts like the truth. People are angry at PH for a reason and you people can even get the name of the person making the comment, my name!, wrong!!! You are everything that is broken in PH, sorry to say. Oblivious, defensive, lying, dishonest with the truth, and you find the need to come here and make accusations instead of making things right. That is the problem with PH. You and those ministers are finding excuses to justify your inadequacies and u-turnings by giving us a very obvious fake reasoning. Wake up and own up!

• 4bini on Aug 18, 2019 at 8:03 am

work harder instead of complaining about life. Taking too much you cannot handle, then you complain no money

• EDITOR on Aug 17, 2019 at 2:23 am

You don’t have to comment here if you don’t like it. In fact I prefer you not to comment here if you have nothing substantial to say.

• Jeremy on Aug 17, 2019 at 10:31 am

Yes, anyone else on this planet who thinks PH is seriously underperforming must be john. You’re absolutely right. No question there. Anyone that is critical of PH about anything else is just wrong. Period. Did I said you’re right? Because you are. (sarcasm).

• Angry Voters on Aug 18, 2019 at 2:18 pm

You don’t take your own advice as far as I’m concerned.

• With u. we anti PH trooper gonna rock their tower.

• vVivi Zurianti on Aug 17, 2019 at 12:18 pm

I predict……..

I predict……

…..that petrol prices will drop near Merdaka Day