Subaru XV to get EyeSight with facelifted model in MY

With the Subaru Outback and Forester now equipped with EyeSight in Malaysia, what of the XV then? Well, this question was posed to Glenn Tan, managing director of Tan Chong International, at a group interview session after the launch of the fifth-generation Forester, and he confirmed that the crossover will be the next model to get the suite of safety and driver assistance systems.

However, Tan said that EyeSight will only be introduced with the XV facelift when it is launched in our country, but there was no indication of when this will happen. The second-generation XV was first unveiled globally at the 2017 Geneva Motor Show, and has yet to be given a mid-cycle update.

The current XV, which is a locally-assembled (CKD) model, first made its launch debut here in November 2017 without EyeSight, although the system is offered with the model in other markets like the Philippines.

During last year’s Singapore Motor Show, Tan revealed that the XV sold in Malaysia would receive EyeSight by the second half of 2019, but with the XV facelift not out yet, it’s unknown if the suggested timeline still holds true.

So, there you have it. If you want an XV with EyeSight in Malaysia, you’ll have to wait for an undisclosed amount of time for the arrival of the facelifted model. Will you be looking forward to this?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ongtk on Aug 23, 2019 at 6:08 pm

Yes. I waited for Eyesight after the XV was launched in 2017 being advised it will be available 6 months after the launch. After almost 6 months I was informed the Forester would have it when it is scheduled to launch in December 2018. Again, I waited and continue to drive my XV. After another 6 months without sight of the Eyesight, I bought a CX-5 2.2D that has almost similar features. No regrets whatsoever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • John Sambung Bayar on Aug 23, 2019 at 7:48 pm

I rather buy this car or the Forester than some China made car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
      • Roti jala Sdn Bhd on Aug 24, 2019 at 10:09 am

You’re right! I felt more confident driving a game changing Japanese SUVs rather than a China X70

• Lolwhut? on Aug 27, 2019 at 11:17 am

You have eysight problem. lol!

• Vedder on Aug 23, 2019 at 9:43 pm

You have an XV and wanted to buy a new one because of EyeSight?

• Adi Birla on Aug 23, 2019 at 10:35 pm

Subaru Forester is a top selling car in the world. Accepted by 200 countries worldwide.

Boyue only can sell in Malaysia and China

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
      • Celup King on Aug 24, 2019 at 11:19 am

Boyue in China outsold Forester globally, proven that Forester is not a good car because sales figures means it is a better car.

• Fazrul on Aug 26, 2019 at 4:50 pm

China has billions of people, and Mainland China people are patriotic. They are anti-Japanese because of WW2. So, Geely sells well in China.

You go to Russia, Saudi, UAE, where got so many Geely sold??

• Rahman Putra on Aug 23, 2019 at 10:45 pm

2019 Proton X70 RM123k
      2022 You want to sell, you get only RM35k

2019 Subaru Forester RM140k
      2022 You want to sell, you get RM103k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 28
    • monana on Aug 24, 2019 at 8:03 am

Yeah, now Forrester have the EyeSight which include the Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) but CX-5 still doesnt have the equivalent feature which is Mazda Radar Cruise Control (MRCC). Even in the up-coming 2.5 Turbo. For below RM200k SUV/car, only the following got the feature. Only Mazda CX-5 doesnt have it. Even the more expensive CX-9 doesnt have it.

(Note: we r not talking abt the Automatic Emergency Braking (AEB) or similar feature).

X70 – yes
      CR-V – yes
      X-Trail – yes
      Forester – yes
      Ioniq – yes

• Cendol on Aug 23, 2019 at 6:26 pm

Subaru Impreza XV early buyers got blinded again.

• Brian on Aug 23, 2019 at 6:37 pm

tan chong management style; neither here nor there.

• Sohai on Aug 23, 2019 at 6:43 pm

Well if Glenn Tan doesn’t know the answer, who would know?? His boss??
    What kind of MD doesn’t know the timeline when he has control over the decision? Should have given the eyesight feature from the beginning at the first place.
    Why need to wait for an undisclosed amount of time? No other car to buy kah??

• Celup King on Aug 24, 2019 at 11:16 am

Glenn Tan is the owner of TCIL, the franchise holder for Subaru in ASEAN. He is the boss. And if the owner himself doesn’t know his business, it doesn’t bode well for Subaru long term in our region.

• Murali Pillai on Aug 23, 2019 at 6:46 pm

With the XV and Forester having Eyesight, Proton X70 sales will take a big hit.

Wow, boxer engine!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
    • Jay Chow on Aug 23, 2019 at 7:27 pm

Proton X70 and X50 turbo enjins way better cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Ongtk on Aug 23, 2019 at 8:37 pm

Unlikely. Vehicles with Eyesight will easily cost RM10K+ more. Many car owners are still unfazed with these technologies especially when costs are higher.

• Actually, I would never count on the Boxer engine as a feature unless it was turbocharged. Plus, it’s mated to a very “meh” CVT.

But the Symmetrical AWD though, now that is something. You would be smiling so wide when it rains heavily and the other drivers turn into pussies on the road, as you overtake them on the road in your planted Subie.

• vVivi Zurianti on Aug 23, 2019 at 7:44 pm

the design looks dated, Would you all agree??

• yes..agree.their suv line up not look attractive inside and out compare to competitors.

• Fakta on Aug 23, 2019 at 7:45 pm

So is Malaysia worst than Philippines? Apparently Tan Chong think so.

• Chavez on Aug 24, 2019 at 7:25 pm

Many experts opined that Malaysia will do worse than Philipines now that PH are in charge and they are coming out with more money sink projects like never started undersea tunnels, airport to nowhere, 3rd national car, flying car, sponsoring Gojek for budak mentah minister…..

• 25or6to4 on Aug 23, 2019 at 7:58 pm

Tan Chong can screw themselves. I’m not waiting for the XV any longer. A lot of better b-segment suvs coming next year, X50, Seltos, CX30. Heard Kona is also arriving end of this year. Meanwhile, Tan Chong continually make false promises about the XV with eyesight, well you have a potential customer here!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Too selow old man tan chong. X70 alredi got 40,000 bookings.

• Ben Yap on Aug 24, 2019 at 10:49 pm

with the undisclosed time to wait for the facelift fitted with EyeSight. My eyes has sighted on the Honda CRV instead that comes with Honda Sensing.

• azrai on Aug 26, 2019 at 1:28 pm

Meanwhile our own homegrown Axia will get EyeSore for their FL model.

• Michael on Jan 10, 2020 at 5:50 pm

Facelifted model? Will there be exterior and interior changes? Headlights slimmer or different shape etc.?

The car still looks great on the exterior but frankly the interior especially the dashboard and air-cond vents look shite.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 12, 2020 at 12:57 am

mar 2020, still nothing. syabas.

• I sighted nothing from my EyeSight so far… :(

• wondering on Aug 17, 2021 at 11:00 am

safety features are already basic specs for many other models. subaru was a leader for safety standards no?

2019 commitment until today will we ever see Eyesight xv in our market? with the cross coming in strongly i’m swayed towards that when showrooms are re-opened.

• It is now October 2021, still no Eyesight for Subaru XV in Malaysia.

• sd isaac on Nov 19, 2021 at 12:32 pm

I called few Subaru dealers to check out. Heard speculations that, the XV facelift with eyesight by CNY 2022