kiplePark reveals licence plate recognition for parking

Say goodbye to lost parking tickets – kiplePark is introducing what it bills as the first licence plate recognition (LPR) system in Malaysia. The new technology uses artificial intelligence to scan and recognise a car’s number plate via a camera and a centralised management portal, with the ultimate goal of providing a seamless, ticketless and cashless experience.

The system, which can be deployed in both indoor and outdoor facilities and can be integrated into existing parking systems, has captured and learnt images of more than a million number plates. The company says it can even recognise non-standard plate fonts (still a big problem in Malaysia, unfortunately) and broken plates, with a claimed accuracy rate of more than 99%.

Users will need to register their car’s registration number on the kiplePark app (they may register up to three numbers on their app, but each number can only be linked to one account at a time, as a safeguard against car cloning), which utilises the kiplePay e-wallet. Once they enter the carpark, their number plate will be scanned and a notification and an e-ticket will appear on the app.

The app can also be used to “lock” the car within the carpark, preventing it from leaving in the event of a theft. The system will deduct the parking fee from the e-wallet upon exiting, although those without the app may also input their registration number at the autopay machine to make a payment. kiplePark says customers will not have to pay a surcharge for using the LPR system.

Edisijuta is the first parking operator to run the system, which is currently in operation at Fahrenheit 88 and Bukit Jalil City. kiplePark is also trialling and testing the system at other sites in the Klang Valley, Penang, Johor and Kota Kinabalu.

We previously saw a similar LPR system in operation in Sunway Pyramid late last year, but that system was still being tested at the time.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Optimus on Aug 29, 2019 at 5:50 pm

inb4 invasion of privacy.

• Pakcik on Aug 29, 2019 at 6:02 pm

Smart app kiple Green Packet..Lost parking tickets, tailgate and almost kiss the car infront. Right foot ready on throttle, wait for parking exit boomgate…. wait…wait.. Slam throttle. Pheeew

• Need synchronization please on Aug 29, 2019 at 6:48 pm

Please synchronize the system, perhaps use the RFID tag introduced by TnG recently, or, choose one and ask TnG to follow… If everyone runs on different platform, how many types of systems / infrastructure the user needs to adapt to? Install?

• ALLALL on Aug 29, 2019 at 7:16 pm

KLCC already has it for several months already.

• Please show some advertisement about this. Always get complaints by the publics. You think we all know how to use it.

• potato on Aug 29, 2019 at 9:41 pm

someplaces already have such system la, you can see your plate number printed on the ticket.

• This is a great solution but to download another app and sign up another ewallet just stop me from embracing the tech. Ewallet consolidation is needed soonest possible.

• Johann on Aug 30, 2019 at 12:53 am

Suria KLCC have LPR quite sometime already.

• jack nicholson on Aug 30, 2019 at 7:49 am

I dont know why malaysian like to have a fancy font type for their number plate. Its ridiculous and stupid.

• willie on Aug 30, 2019 at 10:14 am

So much wastage of funds been implemented on car parking by local council, from Coin Meter, Ticket to Scratch Ticket. and worse, take example klang valley, Subang, Shah Alam and Klang each have their own booklet. one need to purchase 3 booklets. those travel to Johor, Ipoh, Melaka etc will also have their own booklet which I think its ridiculous.

Awared each council wants income, launch ONE SINGLE WEB BASED APP, options to top up RM5-100. when one parks at say Klang area, than he/she choose Klang Municipal Counsel and the number of hours and it activate immediately. same day if he/she park at Shah Alam or even Melaka, activate the area where one park, if not sure which council, than activate the location which will show which town council responsible for that parking area. one can have upto 1-3 cars number plate, say my wife or fren took my car and wants to park at Subang, she call me and I activate it from my mobile based on my car or allow other user to have car number plate link to few user. The money will than channel to that council.

if the local council wants to saman, he/she can randomly click the cars number plate, if updated, no saman OR each council will have the latest lists of cars that park there which has a valid parking updates.

Sure we have ppl whom will await council comes around only update, that would be a minority of them. IF one park and run into a bank etc, he/she can just activate it from the phones, instead of going back to the car to scratch or buy coupon. when the activation times up, a warning will be given 15 mins before expiry, if to top up or collect car.

• vVivi Zurianti on Aug 30, 2019 at 12:12 pm

This is an open secret to all Malaysian. The various parking fee payments are nuisance. However, this parking fee collection is business for cronies and gang.

If one system is used, many tak-boleh-cari-makan lor. Nanti abang, kakak ipar, saudara cronies marah.

• panjang on Aug 30, 2019 at 6:32 pm

One system is crony system@monopoly.
        Its quick cash hence local council hold on very tight on to whatever they have right now.

• stastasta on Sep 10, 2019 at 10:04 am

smart selangor app is your answer. the parking app already covers virtually the entire selangor and dbkl areas.

• panjang on Aug 30, 2019 at 4:31 pm

Say goodbye to lost parking ticket, say hello to lost numbet plate.

• Brian on Aug 30, 2019 at 6:32 pm

Kiasueans are way ahead of you.
      https://paultan.org/2019/05/27/plate-switching-singaporean-bmw-under-investigation/