Malaysia vehicle sales data for July 2019 by brand

The see-saw ride continues for vehicle sales in the country, with the numbers again climbing in July after a soft month in June. Sales data from the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) revealed that 50,853 vehicles were sold in July, which was 8,327 units – or 19.5% – more than the 42,526 units that were managed in June.

As such, it’s a case of green arrows for all but one of the top 10. Market leader Perodua continued to pull away, the 19,924 units it managed last month being a 24.2% increase over the numbers it achieved in June. Of note is Proton’s climb back into second spot, a placing trumpeted by the automaker at the beginning of the month. The national automaker saw a 12.8% increase in sales last month compared to the month before.

Honda (+39.9%) slips into third, but the difference between it and Proton is just 314 units in terms of year-to-date numbers, and so it’ll be an interesting race to watch to see which brand will emerge second overall at the end of the year. Elsewhere, Toyota (+8.4%), Nissan (+33.0%), Mazda (+22.5%) also had a positive month.

Other brands that enjoyed a good July included Ford (+52.4%) and Subaru (+21.2%), but there was less cheer for Volkswagen (-25.9%), Kia (-13.9%) and Renault (-86.4%). The latter enjoyed a phenomenal +792.9% spike in June as a result of a swell in registrations for its Subscription plan, and looks to be settling back to normalcy.

In the premium segment, Mercedes (+8.7%) continued to lead the segment, and Volvo (+9.0%) and Lexus (+4.8%) also saw at increase in sales in July. Only BMW (-1.1%) saw red, the brand selling 10 less vehicles than it did the month before. Elsewhere, growth also for MINI (+22.2%) and Porsche, the 77 units it managed in July making for a 266.7% increase in sales.

Click on the table below to view a larger version.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Bieight on Aug 29, 2019 at 2:11 pm

Nobody is buying audi

• Ayam percik on Aug 29, 2019 at 3:08 pm

Another month another #1 Perodua. No matter what our resident P1 troll says, game changing Perodua will always be #1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 25
      • Sad but veli true…. Perodua, one horse race to the finish, yr after yr after yr… P1 jz woke up deep delusional slumber & bodosombong… Enuff of syiok sendiri & cleansed, back to clean uncorrupted humble ways. KepidapP2&P1!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
        • Abu Bakar Awang on Aug 29, 2019 at 4:42 pm

Thank you Geely and Thank you China for saving our car industry. We need more Mainland people into Malaysia to make all our GLCs like Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
        • Brian on Aug 29, 2019 at 4:52 pm

Nice joke.
          Perodua can say anything they want but gap is closing so fast that they should be concerned what happens next.

• Pityful on Aug 30, 2019 at 9:12 am

Look like proton need at least 9.5k unit sales every month starting Ogos to make it 100k ytd for 2019. But wateva it is, proton will never make it 100k sales this year. Try again next yr n next yr n next yr.

• August and September can achieved 9500 units but October, November and December will be less 1500 units.

• Abu Bakar Awang on Aug 29, 2019 at 4:38 pm

Last time when Proton was a true Malaysian car, people bought the car to support Barang Buatan Malaysia. Now, it is a China car. Malaysians don’t want to support a China made car.

This is why sales in Proton cars now gone down 90%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 38
        • Celup King on Aug 30, 2019 at 8:24 am

Last time when Perodua told us they were a true Malaysian car, and people bought the car to support Barang Buatan Malaysia. But all these while they had been lying to the people and they are just a rebadger.

Now that people are wiser to their lies, their sales are going down the drain.

• Axia gt on Aug 30, 2019 at 5:28 pm

Wiser yahh? But still p2 top sales every year for 13 years i the row. I guess u the 1 who shud be wiser and accept the fact that p2 is the winner cars for Msian heart. Lovely.

• I seen way more Proton on the road nowadays and infact it has improved a lot and even better than the competitors…

• Pepsi on Aug 30, 2019 at 11:17 am

Another fake news from our regular troll. Proton cars are not that much on the roads which is also proven by Proton dissapointing sales data. Also, Proton quality is still game over compared to competitiors This is the reason why Proton needs to learn from the competitors such as game changing Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
          • Oh really? All I saw were Geelys.

• Anonymous on Oct 24, 2019 at 5:07 pm

Proton is going up compare last few years…don’t bull shit please

• Abu Bakar Awang on Aug 29, 2019 at 4:49 pm

So shameful Malaysian Proton has become. We all sacrificed car prices to go super high just for Proton.

From 1985 to 2010, car prices went up 800% in Malaysia to protect Proton. In the same period globally, car prices only went up 50%

And yet, Proton is now 100% a rebadger. Just tampal logo only.

So sad, we all suffered for 30 years with high car prices just to see this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
        • In 1985, 50 Sen can get you a complete nasi lemak. In 2019, 50 Sen not enough to even buy white rice. Blame that on Proton too? Ever heard of inflation?

• Bye bye volvo and audi on Sep 01, 2019 at 11:19 pm

Better close malaysia operation

• KepidapP2 on Aug 29, 2019 at 3:11 pm

Perodua sales always double the number from proton sales. Well done perodua. As u know perodua always best selling car in Msia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 21
      • Makes no difference. Perodua sell less, all profits goes back to Japan. They sell more also all profits goes back to Japan.
        Only difference is sell less meant less RM goes back to Japan. I rather keep our RM in the country by buying Proton instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 56
        • Aura89 on Aug 29, 2019 at 6:47 pm

Point is, what does someone do that is pressed against a corner? Lash out in defense. It’s natural that they react like this but they should be concerned about what Proton releases next. If the gap is closed as much this time, what will it look like next time, with X70 CKD and X50 coming?

• Perodua fanboys are just shaming the brand they are supposed to support. Now more and more fence sitters are supporting Proton just because they hate the vitriol coming from Perodua fanboys. Go figure.

• P1 failed on Aug 29, 2019 at 10:15 pm

Who care what u say. Always perodua and forever perodua. Perodua is the most success. Proton how many time need loan billions from govt before, but end up still built a junk and almost bikinrap, thanks to Li Chunrong from geely buy proton share n save protos sssess. Without Li Chunrong from geely, proton close down already. U should thanks Li Chunrong. After all proton money still goin back to China oh yeahh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
        • Din Din on Aug 29, 2019 at 11:25 pm

So in your mind since Perodua is Japan owned all the money goes back to Japan. But Proton that is China owned, we somehow keep the money? I wish I had your kind of selective outlook on life. Ignorance is indeed bliss.

Before you uninformed P1 fanboys chime in, Daihatsu owns 25% of Perodua (most of the rest are local institutions), as opposed to the 49.9% that Geely owns in Proton. Seriously, be more ignorant on your smart device.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
          • Celup King on Aug 30, 2019 at 11:46 am

Daihatsu – 25%
            Toyota Tsusho – 20%
            UMW Toyota (with 25% Toyota ownership) – 55%
            Making direct and indirect Japan owned > 50%.

I agree. Ignorance is indeed bliss more so for one that is not fully knowledgeable yet pretend to be one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
          • @Celup King, to quote Ian Malcolm: ” that’s a big pile of shit”.

• Din Din on Aug 30, 2019 at 2:42 pm

I dunno how even Google can fail you, but whatever. Your delusions can’t affect reality.

• @Celup King that’s not how the profit division works. Toyota’s near 50% stake in UMW Toyota is not comparable to the 55% that UMW Toyota owns in Perodua.

• Celup King on Aug 30, 2019 at 5:24 pm

Toto, to quote Albert Einstein: “same to you”.
            Din Din, goes the same to you.

• Cooldown on Aug 30, 2019 at 9:01 am

A jeles p1 fan will always have excuse to make everytime p2 lead the way. Muahaha!

• Copy Paste on Aug 30, 2019 at 12:37 pm

Copy paste edited for truth: “A jeles p2 fan will always have excuse to make everytime p2 lead is seriously threatened by p1. Muahaha!”

• Countdown on Aug 30, 2019 at 2:31 pm

Eh, isn’t it usually insecure P2 fanboys that started? Number one in sales, but P2 fanboys too paranoid that P1 is improving so much.

• Na na na on Aug 30, 2019 at 12:48 pm

Does anybody care? Still perodua sales double than proton. Still u see more and more perodua cars on the road. Proton fan boys has no point to argue when they badly beaten by perodua sales. So simply say money back to Japan la, bla bla bla. Still the most successful is perodua. Bravo perodua! Let the hater hate more, the more them hater hate, the more success perodua go. The more them hater hate and ignorant, the more they angry in themselve for no purpose, syiok sendiri merajuk. Go go perodua! Go go perodua!

• Abu Bakar Awang on Aug 29, 2019 at 4:41 pm

SO shameful now for Malaysians. 90% of all Proton cars sold is the Proton X70. Money goes back to China.

Our existing Proton cars…..soon to be in the muzeum.

Pity, money is not circulating within Malaysia but repatriated back to China

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • I prefer money repatriated back to China and not to Japan. My ancestors are not from Japan, so why should I repatriate money back to Japan and not China?

• Anonymous0984321657 on Oct 24, 2019 at 5:12 pm

Better back to china…if left in Malaysia they will feed someone like you…

• The more companies offer cars, the better for the consumer. When P2 (or P1, Toyota, Honda) would reach 85% market share, they would be free to increase their prices as they want.

• Jeremy on Aug 29, 2019 at 3:41 pm

Well done Proton!!! You have turn a YTD deficit of 700+ last month into a positive 300+ units vs Honda. Continue this upward trend and 2nd spot is yours to lose. Bravo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Mr. Octopus on Aug 29, 2019 at 3:45 pm

You don’t see Audi because they are no longer a part of MAA for now. But they do still sell in small numbers.

• Ah Meng on Aug 29, 2019 at 2:16 pm

MY veli strong konfiden. Kudos P1 back to no.2^^

• Rahim on Aug 29, 2019 at 2:19 pm

Even with X70 also, Proton sales still the same.

How lah? PRoton need profits

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
    • P1 is making profits. So no problemo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
      • badak on Aug 29, 2019 at 3:32 pm

What profits? All the profits from X70 sold are sent to China while Proton profit from PIES models are game over.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
        • Better than 25 years of profits send back to Japan. Japan edy richer that us, yet we continue to send money back to Japan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
        • DRB Hicom already announced they already profit contribute from Proton. Dun tok kok here, follow latest auto news, dun look at 20 years ago old story

• badak cap kaki tiga on Aug 29, 2019 at 6:38 pm

P2 troll working hard to spew lies and twisting ‘facts’ because he knows P2 spot at the top is not going to last long. Imagine one model X70 is already enough to propel P1 to no 2. That is why we can see he trying to use his fake nationalism in his every comment.

• Pakulupapito on Aug 29, 2019 at 7:40 pm

How come all profit go to china when they only owned 49.9% of proton?

• Raja Celup on Aug 29, 2019 at 4:11 pm

Proton need 150,000 units just to breakeven costs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
        • DRB Hicom announced 2019 Q2 already make profit contribute from Proton. SH

• Brian on Aug 29, 2019 at 4:58 pm

150,000 basement cars like Axia or 15,000 X70s. Oops, they had ady achieved that target. Perodua still haven’t achieve that 150,000 target, so they continue making losses for the year to date. Perodua better buck up.

• 18000 units X70 (RM10k profit) already breakeven and make profit.
          Is different with previous models or like Perodua need 150,000 units to breakeven costs.

• If Proton reach 150,000 units (X70 and X50 higher profit margin than PIES) sales per year, Perodua can close shop already. Perodua with 150,000 units (profit margin same as PIES) sales per year just able breakeven. Predict automative industry TIV only 560,000 units per year, 50% conquered by national car (280,000 units) minus Proton (150,000 units, you insist believe Proton need that much sales volume) Perodua only have 130,000 units sales per year, Perodua is making big lost, dude.

• Aura89 on Aug 30, 2019 at 9:18 am

Yeah sure. As usual no facts to back up that statement. I take everything Perodua shills says with a full packet of iodised salt.

• Told ya P1 will have overtaken Honda for overall sales within few months. Tahniah P1!
    #P1, Volvo Car, Mesidis > all
    #DrLi’s at the Wheel
    #Basher tears are so sweet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 20
    • Oh well on Aug 30, 2019 at 5:38 pm

Well it will never happen without the help from Mr. Li Chunrong. We very thankfull to Li Chunrong for saving p1 from bingkirap. Luckily Geely and Li Chunrong wanna help. If not, bye bye p1 close shop. Now back to rebadger again. Oh maiiii…

• Tahniah to you John. Tahun ni dapat bonus boleh open table ya.

• WHy AUDI sales data is not retrievable?

• john is otak batu on Aug 29, 2019 at 4:01 pm

Simple answer=0

• sir rhys lee on Aug 29, 2019 at 4:54 pm

if not mistaken, it’s because the audi sales in MY is combined with SG. need to ask audi SG for the figures.

• Fareed on Aug 30, 2019 at 12:14 pm

Wasting time talkng about Audi sales figure when it had become an irrelevant brand in Malaysia couple with new ugly design line up.

• vVivi Zurianti on Aug 29, 2019 at 3:26 pm

Even when proton increased sales figure…..I dont know who is making profit. Geely in Tongsan or Proton in Bolehland??

• newme on Aug 29, 2019 at 3:32 pm

During Fukushima incident, Proton put up a banner at their factory to celebrate their 1st position against P2 that lasted with just mere 3 months. I think they are going to have 3 months kenduri now.

• If p2 would manufacture all important parts in Malaysia, then earthquakes in Japan wouldn’t stop production in Malaysia.

• newme on Aug 30, 2019 at 11:41 am

Oh still better than Proton import the whole car now.

• Obviously you failed to read.
          https://paultan.org/2019/08/07/proton-x70-ckd-on-track-for-q2-2019-launch-local-content-to-gradually-increase-to-meet-commitment/

• newme on Aug 30, 2019 at 2:55 pm

Obviously you failed to read my comment. I said NOW.
            Anyway whatever Proton say they want to do or will do should be taken with pinch of salt with their game changing Iriz and selling 200K cars a year.

• The are CKD-ing the car NOW but obviously you pick and choose the facts and words that pleases you. Whatever. Cant stop a troll if you want to behave like one.

• Haslindah on Aug 29, 2019 at 3:41 pm

Despite the launched of new Proton products, the China quality still cant match the superior Japanese Perodua quality. Most Malaysians still prefer top notch Perodua vs Proton. In order for Proton to be number 1, they need to sell their cars way cheaper (i.e. X70 below RM70k to fight Aruz). Otherwise it is still making a big lost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 21
    • U still dun understand, Perodua just only selling 19924 biji rambutans and Proton got 8590 durians sales. Who told Proton making lost? SH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 25
      • sir rhys lee on Aug 29, 2019 at 5:01 pm

gimme a break. no way proton (which is actualy geely with a malaysian name) will be making that much money with the sales performance which is mediocre at best. they can make money, yes. but to be the #1 in ASEAN, well, dream on. P2 will always triumph due to the simple fact that they have better quality and value proposition. japanese > PRC til the end of time.

• Din Din on Aug 29, 2019 at 11:36 pm

Who the Hell taught you Math?! Perodua’s best seller the Myvi sells (by far larger volumes) at a price point near and above Proton’s popular models Persona and Saga. Since there’s no breakdown, we’ll have to do visual and historical sales comparisons between their highest end models, which are comparatively similar. Doesn’t seem to diverge much between Aruz and X70 sales. I’d say Aruz has a little bit more, but X70 has higher price point.

You still wanna talk rambutans and durians?

• Celup King on Aug 30, 2019 at 11:57 am

Your own Maths is a suspect.
          Proton sells Persona & Saga but all royalties and profits belong to them
          Perodua sells Myvi but all royalties and profits must send back to Japan.
          By comparing both X70 with Aruz already tells me you are just desperately grasping at straws. Sorry mate but despite X70 being one segment higher (therefore incomparable) its sales still outstrip Aruz atm. So yeah, its like comparing your rambutans with Proton’s Musang King.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
          • Din Din on Aug 30, 2019 at 2:53 pm

All royalties and profits belong to them?! Do you even understand corporate mergers?! The fact that you stated as such for both companies highlights the degree of your ignorance. Check your own math next time. Speaking of which, we’re done wasting time.

• Keli2 on Aug 30, 2019 at 3:16 pm

Do you not understand how conglomerates work? All that talk…

• The more Din Din talks, the more I am reasonably certain that he is unsure of what he is talking about. A lot of words but nothing substantial to refute. Just a kid pouting “your wrong and I am right”.

• Pakulupapito on Aug 29, 2019 at 7:49 pm

What quality? my honda hrv after a year already kriekk krekk. Absober also kong already. Nvh like shit. Side mirror folding sounded like a slow fart. Semi jap perodua…….quality is also shit, nvh is under par. Drive feels like an empty box with wheels. Toyota is so-so, quite ok. Mitsubishi have good quality cars but have 5 to 10 years outdated specs and design. Nissan is almost dead. Mazda at the meantime is the only Japs that are actually good and have climb up to premium levels. Sadly price also increase.

• Sam KuntaKinte Loo on Aug 29, 2019 at 9:12 pm

@Axxx, It should be stated like this: Poodua selling 19924 cars made from tin cola body and Proton got 8590 cars made from solid HPF car body (only Proton FC a bit higher due to increased weight). Who told Proton making lost? SH

• ProtonBest on Aug 29, 2019 at 3:52 pm

So, Proton is back to Number 2 for YTD

Honda fans?? How har? Hahahaha

• john is otak batu on Aug 29, 2019 at 4:02 pm

Wait til DS Anwar remove Excise tax, the real contender of the market shall prevail.

• He is the perennial bridesmaid that never gets married. Edy lost all hope in him.

• Daddykasi on Aug 29, 2019 at 4:31 pm

Will are waiting pm8 to remove import tax, AP,
        So we malaysia can enjoy low price honda toyota, petrol rm1.50, free toll plus highway, free education.. Our pm7 are very stingy to malaysia people.. We pay tax what?!!

• Predict vs actual vehicle sales data in July 2019:-
    1) Perodua 18400 units (actual: 19924 units)
    2) Proton 8700 units (actual: 8590 units)
    3) Honda 7200 units (actual: 7534 units)
    4) Toyota 5800 units (actual: 5660 units)
    5) Nissan 2400 units (actual: 2003 units)

• UMWT tak rasa malu being in 4th place? Can’t they see that nonsense Vios racing thingy is not helping their cause for the past two years? Buang duit adalah. You don’t see Perodua or Honda wasting money yet they are way, way above them.

Their strategy with the SUV range is most bangang. CHR is overpriced into in the C-segment SUV group yet still underspecced (mana LED headlights??) while the RAV4 is nowhere in sight, as they want their SAs to tell you with a straight face to buy the hideously expensive ladder-frame Fortuner instead.

Bangang UMWT, bangang.