Renault Subscription now open to the public in M’sia – Captur and Koleos available; from RM1,299 a month

Renault distributor TC Euro Cars has begun offering its car subscription service (Renault Subscription) to the public, following a pilot phase that was introduced back in May exclusively for Tan Chong Motor Holdings (TCMH), Warisan Tan Chong Holdings (WTCH) and APM employees.

Interested parties will have access to the Captur and Koleos, with pricing dependent on the chosen monthly subscription plan. However, a refundable security deposit of RM2,500 for the Captur and RM3,500 for the Koleos is applicable regardless of the plan you decide to go for.

Two plans are available, with the first (Fixed) being for a single model only, with a choice of one- or two-year terms. For the Captur, a two-year plan will cost RM1,299 monthly, while going for one year is RM1,499 a month.

Those who need something bigger can opt for the Koleos, which is priced at RM2,299 (two years) or RM2,499 (one year) monthly. There’s also the higher-spec Koleos Signature available for RM2,699 (two years) or RM2,899 (one year) monthly.

The prices of the plans include regular service costs, road tax and insurance, as well as an allotted mileage cap of 20,000 km per year Should you need more, there’s the option of an additional 10,000 km per year for an additional RM200 monthly. At the end of your subscription term, any excess mileage is subject to RM0.50 per km.

Another optional upgrade offered is the Wear & Tear package for an additional RM100 per month, applicable for Fixed two-year plans only. With this selected, wear and tear parts will be covered under the subscription programme.

Should you ever need to terminate the plan before the specified term, you will face a RM300 charge (applicable per month on the remaining months) if the termination is done within 12 months. This applies to all Fixed plans, including one- and two-year terms. For plans that span two years, terminating the plan from month 13 and any time beyond will warrant a RM200 charge, also applicable monthly on the remaining months of the plan term.

If variety is needed, there’s the Switch plan that allows you to swap between a Captur and Koleos. Subscribers will get to choose either a Base or Prime option, with the primary difference being the number of months you get to use the Koleos (two for Base, four for Prime) within the default one-year term. A RM3,500 security deposit is required for both options.

The Base option is priced at RM1,999 monthly, while the Prime is RM2,199. Both plans also include road tax and insurance, as well as regular service costs, but are different from the Fixed plans as they already include the Wear & Tear package and come with unlimited allotted mileage. There’s also no charges to terminate the Switch plan early, with only a one-month prior notice required.

The Renault Subscription service does have some benefits, as customers will not need to fork out a large sum as downpayment to have a Renault to drive, pay for service maintenance, be tied down by a long-term hire purchase, and is unaffected by depreciation. Is this something you might consider?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Meanwhile a Captur monthly repayment for 7 years loan is only RM1,297. Koleos 7 years loan repayment is only RM2,059. Both cheaper than you rent via subscription and the car belongs to you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • Paxter on Aug 15, 2019 at 12:56 pm

actually the car does not belong to you… till you pay the loan in full…

• Vedder on Jul 22, 2019 at 6:58 pm

Good luck getting your deposit back. I want to see the T&C for that. If they start charging you for each hardline scratch……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • seancorr (Member) on Jul 23, 2019 at 6:43 pm

Let me add to this about the RM100 extra for wear and tear. I bet they gonna charge you for all the wear and tear parts at the end of the term regardless of how much you use the car.

• Halim Misbun on Jul 22, 2019 at 7:04 pm

Proton should do leasing too since they cannot sell their existing Proton cars stock. Everyone seems to be buying Proton X70 only, so existing Proton stock seems to be piling up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
    • Obviously you have not been reading the papers, as the spillover effect of the X70, and the new connected Persona seem to have captured some market attention. OK la not as high as it could be but there are some higher numbers.

For this scheme, the biggest advantage is low entry level costs, and you ringfence plenty of risks such as resale value and also, actually having to sell the car at the end of a normal purchase life. So perhaps, these programmes may not work for cheaper cars. Maybe for the X70 it can be an option in my view. Or for Volvos and Audis.

• Hussain Zakaria on Jul 22, 2019 at 7:47 pm

Subscription service in Malaysia is very risky because abang2 will end up not paying halfway.

This is why our Sambung Bayar issue is a big problem in Malaysia. Thousands end up sambung bayar every month because they cannot budget their life and buy things above their means

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
    • What are you talking about? Subscription service is the perfect solution to those who can’t afford the long term commitment but are able to pay the short term rental fee. This program is tailored made for them and their GenZ yolo gig lifestyle. Keep up with the trends dude.

• Vedder on Jul 22, 2019 at 11:00 pm

Then this would make more sense. No commitments after a year

• Ruslan Bahari on Jul 23, 2019 at 7:40 am

Sambung bayar (SB) is illegal to start with, and both the idiot car owner and the idiot who opts for SB are, well, idiots lah!

I always get a call from some SB scheme fellow when I opt to sell my contis. They will email me the so-called contract, and say things like, “if they don’t pay, boss, we make police report that the car is stolen, and we then tarik the car la”!

So many loopholes.

• Khairul Idham on Jul 23, 2019 at 8:31 am

Dude, lowest sub is rm1.3k. No abang2 will try to pick up these cars. Only the rich car swingers will love it.

• Get a life on Jul 23, 2019 at 8:32 am

Sambung Bayar and subscription are two different thing. Wahai abam2 Hussain Zakaria…get a life, a better life.

Just look at the monthly cost, u think those abam2 can afford the initial cost?

• miskin_nampak_kaya on Jul 23, 2019 at 8:57 am

normal la bro..too many pretentious people here…act like rich..but have no money…sambung bayar is an obvious reason why you are not qualified for a car loan…cause u cannot afford it!! as simple as that…this so-called sambung bayar should not have existed in the first place..

• faizal azlan on Aug 15, 2019 at 12:57 pm

I might consider a sub actually, but not so much with renault if honda did it I would be the first to go get one

• The subscription IS the depreciation.

• Whatever on Jul 22, 2019 at 10:59 pm

Way to expensive. Better use Grab for short distance and Socar for outstation trips. Won’t cost you that much. Do you agree guys?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 23, 2019 at 12:28 am

car cannot sell thats why

• thepolygon on Jul 23, 2019 at 9:29 am

With the not so stable economy and the ever approaching / non-approaching economy crisis, we are now left with no choice but to subscribe to a car instead of taking the risk of owning one and not being able to pay half way through. House rent, car rent… next

• Mr. Octopus on Jul 23, 2019 at 11:18 am

My salary is 3 times the average pay here and yet I have no balls to commit to a car loan or even this kind of subscription service. After taxes, paying for house installment and utitilies, we have just enough to get by the rest of the month. Even savings is out of the question. But yet thousands of cars are being sold everyday so most of us are either very well off or comitting to something that will backfire badly in future….

• Ben Yap on Jul 23, 2019 at 11:21 am

this is for those who want to biar papa asal bergaya. kononnya want to drive conti cars but can only afford a Proton.

• Neutral on Jul 23, 2019 at 12:06 pm

Personally I like this scheme, considering paying about 30 K+ and got the chance to drive a brand new car for two years without further commitments is a real bargain.

• tryhardboy on Jul 23, 2019 at 2:21 pm

wow… it looks ok than many other on road.

• RHARIN on Jul 25, 2019 at 12:00 pm

I would go for it. Nowadays , car prices fall faster than the customer can pay up the loan. So this mitigates losses to the owner.