J.D. Power 2019 Malaysia Initial Quality Study – Honda Jazz, City and CR-V, Perodua Aruz have least issues

Quality control levels in vehicle assembly are on the up, according to the latest J.D. Power survey. The industry research firm’s 2019 Malaysia Initial Quality Study revealed that Malaysian buyers are experiencing fewer problems with their new vehicles this year compared to 2018.

The reduction is largely attributed to a decline in manufacturing-related issues. According to the study, the share of manufacturing-related issues has been on the decline over the past three years, dropping to 51% this year from 74% in 2016.

The particular study measures the number of problems experienced by new-vehicle owners in the first two to six months of ownership. This year’s findings saw the industry average decreasing to 85 problems per 100 vehicles (PP100) from 89 PP100 in 2018, with a lower score reflecting higher quality. It said that problems are nearly equally split between manufacturing quality (44 PP100) and design-related issues (40 PP100).

The majority of the reduction from last year was related to noise aspects, such as wind noise (-1.7 PP100); abnormal suspension noise (-1.1 PP100), seat noise (-0.9 PP100), abnormal transmission noise (-0.7 PP100); and other interior storage compartments noises (-0.3 PP100).

Nonetheless, noise-related issues still account for 36% of all manufacturing issues identified by owners this year. Excessive wind noise (5.9 PP100) and excessive road noise (2.9 PP100) continue to be the top two most-cited problems by owners.

Bluetooth smartphone pairing and connectivity issues were the third most reported problem (2.7 PP100), up from fifth last year (2.5 PP100), while infotainment system-related problems were the fourth most reported issue (2.0 PP100).

The study also revealed that new vehicle owners under 35 years old (57%) highlight more faults than those 35 years or older (91 PP100 vs 73 PP100 respectively). Specifically, they cite more problems in the areas of features/controls/displays (+4.6 PP100) as well as vehicle interior (+4.5 PP100).

Model-wise, the study found that the Honda Jazz ranks highest in the city compact segment with a score of 68 PP100, ahead of the Perodua Axia (75 PP100) – in pre-facelift form – and Perodua Myvi (86 PP100). Meanwhile, the Honda City is the least problematic offering in the entry midsize segment at 59 PP100, well ahead of the Toyota Vios (74 PP100).

In the compact SUV segment, the Perodua Aruz obtained a score of 70 PP100, finishing comfortably ahead of the Honda HR-V (85 PP100) and the Honda BR-V, which at 125 PP100 is well above the class average in issues.

As for the large SUV segment, the Honda CR-V‘s 64 PP100 score continued to put it at the top for a second year running, but it looks like there are more issues this year, given that it had a 48 PP100 score in 2018. The same too for the Mazda CX-5 (93 PP100), which had a 69 PP100 score last year. Interestingly, the Proton X70‘s score is nearly double that of the CR-V, at 126 PP100.

The results of the 2019 study is based on responses from 1,904 new vehicle owners who purchased their vehicles between July 2018 and August 2019. The study, which was fielded between March and October 2019, includes 50 passenger car, pickup and utility vehicle models of 12 brands.

This could well be the second-last (or final) edition of the IQS, since it has been announced that J.D. Power is set to leave the ASEAN market entirely – along with India, Taiwan and Australia – in 2020, shifting its focus on to China and Japan. In any case, what do you think of the findings? Share your thoughts in the comments section.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments largely express skepticism about the reliability and quality of Chinese-made Proton X70, citing survey results that show it having more issues than Honda models like CR-V and City. Some commenters argue the survey's methodology is flawed or biased, accusing it of favoritism towards Japanese brands and questioning its impartiality. Others dismiss the findings, claiming Proton's quality is poor regardless, or point out specific problems with Honda vehicles such as gear issues and rattling, contradicting the survey. There is a general tone of distrust towards JD Power and its survey results, with some insisting they are not credible. Overall, many comments reflect disappointment and criticism about Proton’s quality relative to Japanese brands, with a mix of denial and skepticism about the survey's validity.

• Chavez on Nov 27, 2019 at 11:10 am

Meanwhile JD Power is pulling out of Asia because they lost sales due to lost credibility.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
    • newme on Nov 27, 2019 at 2:24 pm

Dahlah Proton. Usah tegangkan benang basah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 14
      • john Al Tikus on Nov 27, 2019 at 3:43 pm

Looks like john and his friends are hiding like Tikus right now. After reading this game changing article, it is proven that China car got NO quality. From this survey, now we all know why Aruz have easily game the X70 over as Malaysian trust Japanese quality. Moreover, I would rather trust this survey instead of some game over keyboard warriors that keeps condemning Aruz to the max.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 18
        • Roti j Sdn Bhd on Nov 27, 2019 at 6:00 pm

Thank you Paultan for this game changing news, this article have cleared all those fake news by our resident Perodua bashers. I can’t stop laughing when reading this news! Now those penipu got nowhere to hide their faces after knowing that X70 is a game over car whereas Aruz is proven reliable

• Vader on Nov 27, 2019 at 7:20 pm

Yeah sure. When your Honda & Toyota don’t allow customers to come and make complaints during weekend servicing, most of your disgruntled customers prefer not to waste their annual leaves and deal with your shitty cars.

After warranty ends, most sell them as fast possible and buy Protons. Unlike shitty Japanese brands, Proton allows their customers to walk-in and make complaints during weekends. This is called “Customer Service”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
          • newme on Nov 28, 2019 at 11:08 am

This is because Proton got so little customer.

• Safety First on Nov 28, 2019 at 5:31 pm

Newme. You must be stupid for calling 9000 customers a month to be ‘so little’.

• Newme on Nov 29, 2019 at 7:44 pm

9000 for the past few months only consider alot? Are you stupid?

• Celup King on Nov 27, 2019 at 5:11 pm

Syiok sendiri for paid surveys? I rather prefer the feedback from users and most I have seen are happy users. You jelly much?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
        • newme on Nov 27, 2019 at 5:19 pm

We already knew China-made Proton have lousy quality from the beginning. This survey is just to confirm it. Nothing extraordinary here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
          • Still the same dumbyou on Nov 29, 2019 at 3:11 pm

Oh, how do explain the BRV then? Is it not made by your beloved Japanese?

• Newme on Nov 29, 2019 at 7:46 pm

Of so many models, only brv got lower. Compared to x70 which is supposed to be your flagship model with volvo quality.

• Come on lah! If their surveys were objective and impartial, their findings would have been credible and made into a standard like those testings done by UL or EC or TUV or NCAP. Instead, less and less are trusting them and hence less are buying their survey results. If reputable automotive brands no longer trust them, why should you? Just because they skewered their findings to your perception?

Bro, even those brands whom should be happy with the glowing words find it no longer beneficial in boosting their sales when word of mouth from actual users are telling otherwise, deterring potential buyers. So who is the ones now tegangkan benang basah’?

• newme on Nov 28, 2019 at 11:34 am

Impartial?… like allowing non-production variant into test when the production variant 1 star?

• Safety First on Nov 28, 2019 at 5:30 pm

Oklah. I admit there is something wrong with ASEAN NCAP when they allowed Perodua to send in an unknown G spec variant of Aruz for testing, but that we know is due to Perodua was the main sponsor for MIROS testing facility where they do ASEAN NCAP testing. But what about other NCAPs? EURO NCAP is independent and impartial enough to be a regulatory standard.

• Real LLort on Nov 29, 2019 at 10:07 am

Heyy.. are you talking about Aruz?? Dont be like that laa.. makes me want to question my choice.. aiyoo

• Vader on Nov 27, 2019 at 7:22 pm

“The syndicated surveys carried out by the company, of which the detailed results are then sold to interested parties” Yeah we know WHO paid for those surveys.

• Tryinz on Nov 27, 2019 at 3:44 pm

What? Did x70 the highest problematic? Oh yesss it stated there. Haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • 1904 new vehicle owners divide 50 vehicle models.
      Each vehicle model only take 38 samples.

Not comprehensive surveys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • newme on Nov 27, 2019 at 5:57 pm

Well that’s 38 unhappy X70 owners. If they take 10000 samples, that would be 10000 unhappy owners too.

• Ya, u r correct. They only take 38 happy Aruz owners and didn’t take 20000 unhappy Aruz owners.

• Kumpul together turbo on Nov 28, 2019 at 8:42 pm

Go to Honda ‘s FB and see it yourself..

Honda BOLEH.. Lol

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Nov 27, 2019 at 11:34 am

Patutlah Proton X70 CKD tak jalan…! CBU dahlah banyak hal…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
    • “The syndicated surveys carried out by the company, of which the detailed results are then sold to interested parties”

Survey macam ini tak boleh caya lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
  • digidigi on Nov 27, 2019 at 11:37 am

the most praised x70 have double the issue of CRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • newme on Nov 27, 2019 at 11:39 am

Proton X70 still CBU from China right? Belum lagi disuntik dengan quality Proton yang teruk.

Like I said, quality Volvo bukan saja tak sehebat yang digembar-gemburkan malah sangat teruk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • ya the x70 is still CBU. from what i know, the CKD versions (of any brand) are always not as good..

• newme on Nov 27, 2019 at 3:15 pm

Don’t be surprised when Proton tells you that their CKD version is better than China and they got pengiktirafan dari Geely yang mengakui Proton lebih bagus qualitynya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
        • new or old on Nov 27, 2019 at 9:28 pm

Oh newme, haven’t seen you in a while because not many negative news about Proton. I can understand why you are so eager to pounce on this small chance to show yourself again. Alas, JD Power isn’t exactly the most trustworthy as they are leaving the region next year.

• Wow X70. Lots of problem huh? You get what you pay?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • newme on Nov 27, 2019 at 11:42 am

Bila dikatakan quality China tak bagus, melalak dia orang ni. Tengok bukti ni.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • Rendang on Nov 27, 2019 at 2:20 pm

I wonder where are the game over trolls who claimed that Aruz have multiple breakdowns, unreliable engine, problematic airbags and junk quality. According to the survey above, it is the opposite. Instead, Proton X70 got the most problem. Hahahahah! So I hope there will be no more fake news about game changing Perodua quality going down to the drain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
      • “The syndicated surveys carried out by the company, of which the detailed results are then sold to interested parties”

Survey macam ini tak boleh caya lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
        • Biasjoe on Nov 27, 2019 at 3:02 pm

Ya ya if proton X70 is better than CRV for sure this survey can caya right

• Celup King on Nov 27, 2019 at 5:14 pm

I see on Honda FB, many owners are complaining over and over about how disappointed about their CRVs & HRVs. Japanese fanbois just cannot accept the truth.

• sir rhys lee on Nov 27, 2019 at 5:51 pm

living in denial. no wonder la kena played with a foreign carmaker disguised as a national carmaker to sell their second rate cars.

• Lets See on Nov 28, 2019 at 5:35 pm

Who is living in denial? Is JD Power pulling out of Asia? Yes or No?

• ”Interestingly, the Proton X70‘s score is nearly double that of the CR-V, at 126 PP100”

Even more interesting is that despite so much hype written by certain individuals on this site, the China product only gets a single sentence and no further elaboration of these problems. LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • kek lapis on Nov 27, 2019 at 12:18 pm

I read, read again, then re-read again.
    Is this about fault or about ‘personal perception’?
    When they say problem…is it failure or the user being dumb?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Not always we get to see Proton more hebat than honda. X70‘s score is nearly double that of the CR-V,

• Ahahahaha…… Honda LEAST ISSUES????
    CRV gear problem
    City cannot start and tow to service center (my friend issue)
    Tow truck driver also said he always tow Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 19
    • troll la on Nov 27, 2019 at 5:36 pm

CRV gear knob recalled and resolved. Your sample size is too small. It seems like bad things always happen to “friends” eh?

• sir rhys lee on Nov 27, 2019 at 5:54 pm

ya my friend’s mother’s neighbour’s cousin’s officemate’s also have banyak problems (dunno what) with his honda. therefore this stats from a well known survey company is totally not accurate and possibly tampered with to tarnish geely’s name!

• Tow Truck Dude on Nov 27, 2019 at 11:54 pm

My tow truck driver said he always tow Proton. My friends tow truck driver also said Proton. Which one to believe la broooo? Anyone else tow truck driver got amazing Intel? Or do we trust the owners survey lmaooo

• Real LLort on Nov 29, 2019 at 10:13 am

Well, that’s because both of them are tow truck for Proton. That’s why they always tow Proton. Seems about right..

• LeonShiull on Nov 27, 2019 at 1:06 pm

Rattling dashboard on City and Jazzes: Am I a joke to you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
  • Nabil Dev on Nov 27, 2019 at 2:24 pm

Hahaha Well I guess they may need to do another proper survey / research.
    Come la , CR-V quality issue with the gear knop and I personally owned CR-V where I gets annoyed with plastic noise at the centre console and my sister using X70 where the car is millin times great specially with build in quality , soft touch , unlike CR-V using cheap plastic for back door cover and the centre console.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
    • newme on Nov 27, 2019 at 5:15 pm

Say what you want with your imaginary story. Data speaks. We are used to imaginary stories from Proton even way before it was sold to DRB.

• troll la on Nov 27, 2019 at 5:35 pm

Gear knob issue already recalled and resolved. Since Nov 19 batch CRV has updated the gear knob. My car never has any rattling issue, very good fuel consumption and quite a nice ride. Can imagine if CRV with gear knob issue still come up top, then x70 must be very problematic. Probably your sample size is too small.

• Nabil Dev on Nov 28, 2019 at 3:27 pm

Hahaha so when Honda gives problem and this is what you claim, I don’t see any X70 owners complain about the car , I personally can say CR-V NVH level and the rattling noise is just annoying.
        The thing is no matter how great Proton produce also you people will keep saying something.
        imagine if X70 gear knob got issue and Proton recall and change means you guys will be talking about it for years because its Proton but when it comes to Honda , consumers like will just smile and say its just small issue hahahaha ..

• Lanz Deen on Nov 29, 2019 at 9:27 am

Just like power window issues…

• sir rhys lee on Dec 02, 2019 at 2:45 pm

they dont complain because they malu and too proud to admit they just spent over rm100k for a PRC trash.

• vivizurianti on Nov 27, 2019 at 2:43 pm

When buying secondhand cars, ppl very scared of lemon, and dark history of the cars….

Now, buy new cars oso got problem……

Owners sure very hempeh with the problematic new cars…while need to service monthly installment.

• Ha ha ha on Nov 27, 2019 at 3:00 pm

Hahahahaa beli la X70. So cheap ma the price and useless with DOUBLE the issues. That’s a real China car for you.

Jap cars > anything Geely/Proton. EVEN Mazda car of the year in China lols!!!

• Sure ah? on Nov 27, 2019 at 9:32 pm

Yeah, survey from a company that can be bought with money. JD Power is leaving the region next year.

• sir rhys lee on Nov 27, 2019 at 5:47 pm

i already pointed out that volvo (owned by..?) scored the poorest in reliability scores by consumer brands 2018. coming back to the topic, X70 is just one car which geely sells in malaysia at the moment. when geely dumps all their older cars in all segments in malaysia, their car will top each segment. malaysians are so typically myopic. always look for the cheapest deal but are unbothered by the overall quality and reliability. what more being fooled into buying a PRC car driven by a misplaced sentiment for a national carmaker that is no more. in loving memory proton 1985-2017.

• In order to generate a good level of result accuracy, first of all its critical to adopt a suitable methodology or method of survey.
    This survey trying to tell wat message? quality related issues are in the improving trend?? or trying to tell which manufacture/model have the worst quality?? either message, both are not using a suitable population for survey.. because by taking samples from new car buyers alone is not enough to conclude the results.. what if most of the 1st 50 buyers we buying a newly launched hot model.. then the results are questionable buy just analyzing this bias samples..

common, we all know cars like city,vios, mivy, axis,x50,cx5 hv high sales figures.. so to point out that this cars tops the list of poor quality related issues are inaccurate.. in other words like saying a models from bmw,merc,kia,Hyundai, ford, Nissan, n etc r having a better quality, which in fact is not exactly true.. they too hv tons of issues.. so pls, if wan publish a survey results be accurate on wat u present..

• newme on Nov 28, 2019 at 11:36 am

Don’t tokok. High volume models like Axia, Aruz, City also get high score. And your X70 have lower volume and yet getting lower score.

• Old or new on Nov 29, 2019 at 3:16 pm

How do you explain the BRV then? Or you just cherrypick your facts to show how good your beloved Japs are? Hypocrite.

• newme on Nov 28, 2019 at 11:10 am

Don’t trust JD power then can trust Proton? Like how they sent non production car for Ncap testing? or Tether gate?

• Old or new on Nov 29, 2019 at 3:19 pm

Yeah, let’s pick something from a no longer in production Proton model instead of focussing on the still ongoing airbags causing deaths in Honda. How ‘impartial’ you are, Jap lover.

• AL OUT on Nov 28, 2019 at 12:08 pm

this article is so Honda favored.
    I notice that the overall Mitsubishi was the highest in ranking follow by Toyota.

• Therealmaserati on Dec 01, 2019 at 2:34 pm

Already mentioned a million times, stick with the Japs and u will have less headache.

China car, Korean car take and throw in the bin. Lousy from top to bottom.