Hyundai i30 N launched in Malaysia – 20 units, only available on Lazada during 12.12 Grand Sale, RM299k

Hyundai Sime Darby Malaysia (HSDM) has officially launched the Hyundai i30 N in the country, a year after its first appearance here as a preview at KLIMS18. Only 20 units will be available for our market, and of note is how the car will go on sale here – it will be sold exclusively on Lazada Malaysia during its 12.12 Grand Year End Sale.

The first model in the automaker’s performance-based N sub-brand has been making plenty of waves since its debut in 2017, going up against the likes of the Volkswagen Golf GTI, Renault Megane RS and Ford Focus ST in Europe.

The front-wheel drive i30 N is powered by a 2.0 litre Theta T-GDI turbocharged engine, with two output tunes being available for the twin-cam E-CVVT mill – the car we get is the higher of the two. In its standard guise, the unit offers 250 PS at 6,000 rpm and 353 Nm at 1,450 to 4,000 rpm, (with overboost, 378 Nm) and performance figures include a 0-100 km/h time of 6.4 seconds and a 250 km/h top speed.

The Malaysian-spec car is the one with a Performance Package, which bumps up the power to 275 PS at 6,000 rpm, with the torque output remaining unchanged. The top speed remains at 250 km/h, but the sprint time for the car is accomplished faster, at 6.1 seconds.

The car is only available with a six-speed manual transmission (with a strong clutch that’s built to last, according to the company), which should be just the thing for those still very much into stick shifters. It provides an alternative to the Megane RS 280 Cup in its manual form, although that is RM20k cheaper at RM279,888.

Exterior accoutrements for the N variant include aggressive-looking front and rear bumpers, a N-badged radiator grille, black bezel for the LED headlamps, a new rear spoiler that is finished in gloss black and twin tailpipes. Elsewhere, the side sills are finished in black and the outside mirror caps are in gloss black, while the front splitter gets a red accent.

The i30 N also gets an increased wheel arch, and in its Performance Package guise is dressed with 19-inch units, wrapped with 235/35 Pirelli P-Zero high-performance Hyundai N tyres. The car sits lower than the regulation five-door i30, in this case eight mm lower with the 19-inchers (four mm on the standard i30 N, which gets 18-inch wheels).

The 275 PS variant rides on an electronically-controlled adjustable suspension with Skyhook technology and comes equipped with red N brake calipers and larger 18-inch front, 17-inch rear brake discs (on the standard, 17-inch and 16-inch respectively). Also on, an electronic limited slip differential (E-LSD) and a variable exhaust valve system. Performance-oriented features include rev matching and launch control.

Five drive modes are available (Eco, Normal, Sport, N and N Custom), offering a broad range of configurations, from comfort-oriented daily commuting to race track performance. Selectable via two dedicated buttons on the steering wheel, the different modes change the character of the car, adjusting the high-performance parameters of the engine, the dampers, ESC, E-LSD, sound, steering and rev matching.

Interior equipment includes dedicated high-performance sport seats with lumbar support and extendable seat cushions, with the driver’s seat being a powered, 10-way adjustable unit. Dressed in suede and leather, the seats also get a stamped N logo on the back rest. There’s also an N steering wheel, which gets blue stitching and an N logo, and an N gearshift knob.

Standard fit items include an infotainment system with a free-floating eight-inch touchscreen and Apple CarPlay and Android Auto support, dual-zone auto air-conditioning, cruise control, front/rear parking sensors and a rear-view camera. Boot capacity is 381 litres, and with the 60:40 split rear seats folded down this increases to 1,287 litres.

Safety kit includes seven airbags, a tyre pressure monitoring system as well as Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB), Lane Departure Warning (LDW), Lane Keeping Assist System (LKAS) and Driver Attention Alert (DAA), among others.

Although six exterior colours are available for the car, the 20 units that will be sold here will all be in Performance Blue, an exclusive shade that was introduced with the start of the brand’s WRC engagement in 2014.

Finally, pricing. The Hyundai i30 N is priced at RM298,888 (on-the-road, without insurance), and comes with a five-year or 300,000 km warranty (whichever comes first). It will be available for pre-order from December 2 through Lazada’s Chup Dulu pre-order feature, but those interested in viewing the car can do so at the Sime Darby Auto Hyundai showroom in Old Klang Road ahead of that date.

As for the buying process, customers only need to pay a 50% deposit on the booking fee of RM2,000 (RM1,000) via the Lazada app from December 2-11, and check-out and pay the balance of the booking fee (RM1,000) from December 12-14 to secure the booking. Do take note that the deposit is non-refundable, if the full booking fee payment is not completed.

Buyers will then be contacted by a Hyundai representative to proceed with the purchase at their preferred Hyundai showroom. The 20 buyers who successfully complete payment of the full booking fee (RM2,000) and receive loan approval for their vehicle will also be presented with a trip to Korea for an exclusive track day experience.

GALLERY: Hyundai i30 N, KLIMS18 preview

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• bmw 330i rm288k
    merc c300 rm300k
    vw golf gti rm240k
    vw golf r rm290k

hyundai n? no brainer choice here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
    • YB Kunci Kunta on Nov 28, 2019 at 3:38 pm

In 5 years resale value,drops to RM 29K…Go and help yourself with this Christmas rip off.Rudoff the Reindeer will be having the last laugh.
      Hyundai Sime darby thot Buyers are buying like there is no tomorrow.That amount of money,u can have an accord or camry plus HRV…plus plenty of good resale value.
      Do u need rocket science or simply buying this car is like buying a toy? Well some MALAYSIANS are really loaded.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • free postage?

• Msia driver on Nov 28, 2019 at 12:22 pm

Rm299k, nice price, Malaysian are very rich, yr 20 units will sold out in 30 second at Lazada…Don’t worry…

• 299k?? lebih baik angkat Civic Type R tambah lg 20k je…tak pun Bimmers or Merc..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
    • Ganu68 on Nov 28, 2019 at 8:51 pm

Peugeot 308 gti 270hp…masih bawah 200k…

• hondafan on Nov 29, 2019 at 9:58 am

better low resale value but always on the road. Pijot is workshop best fren.

• Pak Toh on Nov 28, 2019 at 1:31 pm

RM299k?

It’s already over Bank’s Valuation.
    Konfem difficult to get 90% loan approval.

• kenny_lim on Nov 28, 2019 at 1:47 pm

Gila

• johnnas on Nov 28, 2019 at 1:52 pm

Proton mane?? Outplayed by a younger competitor. Orang sekarang dah ada i30N! Proton CFE chicken dropping pon takde. A proof that P1 was mismanaged!

• wawasan2020 on Nov 28, 2019 at 1:55 pm

300k for a kimchi car? Anything impossible become possible at Bolehland

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • This is the way. on Nov 28, 2019 at 2:04 pm

for same price can get 330i or S60 T8
    both are quicker cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Kimchi on Nov 28, 2019 at 2:12 pm

Unless u want all those safety features, better grab a 3series 330 instead. No hard feeling kimchi

• Kimchi Fans on Nov 28, 2019 at 3:34 pm

No hard feeling Kimchi. Haha? Look at Mercedes first, no hard feeling Mercedes. At least BMW, Volvo and Kimchi Cars got better feeling than Audi and Mercede

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • Lalaland on Nov 28, 2019 at 2:17 pm

Why so mahal? Should be priced similar to Golf Gti and will be sell like hotcake.

299k better top up abit get Civic R else get the cheaper Golf R. Really no brainer.

• absolutely DISGUSTING pricing

• jibby on Nov 28, 2019 at 4:19 pm

habislah perodua, still copy paste kereta orang. game over perodua with this game changing protong

• Good car i guess…but in other markets it is priced lower than golf gti. I guess 20 units will be gone since malaysians are suckers for rare cars nowadays(actually i30n should not be a rare car,come on,hyundai)…but too bad hyundai missed the chance to introduce the good car to people hence missed the chance to change people’s mindset about kimchi car.

• 300k for kimchi car u seriously???

• ahmadjohnson97 on Nov 28, 2019 at 6:25 pm

Hyundai i30n Performance 275ps 0-100 6.1 sec rm298888
    Renault Megane RS cup 280ps 5.8 sec rm279888
    Honda civic type r 310ps 5.7 sec rm320000
    Volkswagen golf r 290ps 5.1 sec rm295990
    Volkswagen golf gti 230ps 6.4 sec rm239990
    Peugeot 308 gti 272ps 6 sec rm199888
    Mercedes c300 258ps 5.9 sec rm304888
    Bmw 330i ckd 261ps 5.8 sec rm288800
    Subaru wrx 267ps 6.3 sec rm257240
    Subaru wrx sti 300ps 5.2 sec rm309647

I love i30n but the price in Malaysia is overpriced. I hope they bring in too the standard 250ps version and also fastback which I’m more prefer. Peugeot 308 gti looks like the most value for money in terms of performance and also very underrated in Malaysia.

• Peter on Nov 29, 2019 at 1:14 am

If Lazada give full 10% rebate with their eWallet …

• ha ha ha on Nov 29, 2019 at 3:18 am

99k – maybe

199k – emmm ok

299k – no wayyy

• ahmadjohnson97 on Nov 29, 2019 at 2:15 pm

99k – definitely
      199k – shortlisted
      299k – forget it

• Consoleme on Nov 29, 2019 at 9:25 am

This car is so ordinary looking, it makes McDonald’s look like a Michelin star restaurant. And by the way this is a McDonald’s meal for a Michelin star meal price. ;-)

• macampondan on Nov 29, 2019 at 6:04 pm

why not get a volvo s60 404hp, 0-100 4.4sa all the active safety features and aelegance with style for less that this.

macam xde logic

• Autobahn on Dec 01, 2019 at 6:54 am

In UK i30n is cheaper than golf gti. By that logic it shud be less than myr240k here in malaysia.

• Hantu Peugeot on Jan 22, 2020 at 10:00 am

we cannot 100% blame Hyundai for this crazy price.. sime darby makan kuat

• Evne A45 AMG W176 year 2016 unreg. Easily can get RM280k!! with 381 ponies!! Hyundai brand? IF YOU REALLY GOT SO MUCH MONEY UNTIL DONT KNOW WHAT TO DO..than maybe,,,just maybe get this one LOL

• Fa Kyu on Mar 12, 2020 at 3:47 pm

With that kind of price I’d rather buy a Vellfire and still have some change. Can fit my whole family too without a problem.