Racing up Ulu Yam/Genting – why do we still do this?

Time and time again, we see incidents of sports car and supercar owners racing on the public highway. Often driving in large groups, these individuals travel at high speeds on roads frequented by other motorists simply going about their own business, and they often end up in massive accidents.

Most recently, a video posted by Azman Nor on Facebook – which showed a Renault Megane RS hitting a Proton Wira and flipping over – exhibited the public’s negative perception of these irresponsible road users, with many pouring scorn over actions that could so easily have been fatal.

The road on which this accident took place, the B23 leading to Ulu Yam Baharu, is a popular destination for two- and four-wheeled enthusiasts looking for a spirited blast – as is the nearby road from Batang Kali to Genting Highlands – due to its sweeping corners and thrilling elevation changes. For the Initial D generation, it’s the perfect touge substitute.

As many of us who have driven there will know, however, it is also extremely treacherous. The roads consist mostly of tight two-lane tarmac, with plenty of blind bends that are often badly surfaced, potentially causing hard-cornering cars to go off their intended line – and straight into oncoming traffic. And that’s before you take into account the fact that most stretches are pitch dark at night.

Despite this, however, plenty of people continue to drive hard and fast on these roads, taking liberties not only by driving at ridiculous speeds, but also cutting into oncoming lanes in the corners. Even some of the local motoring media are guilty of this – I for one will admit to being one of them, having gotten into a serious single-vehicle crash there a few years ago. So I know how easily it can all go wrong in a split second.

But it doesn’t take someone like me to tell you just how dangerous speeding is. Even on a relatively straight and empty highway, driving significantly above the speed limit opens you up to the possibility of a huge crash that can maim or kill you. On a twisty rural road with slow-moving traffic, the risk only multiplies.

And don’t think for a second that your Ferrari’s sticky tyres and arsenal of driver aids are going to be enough to save you. While the advent of stability control remains the single biggest improvement in vehicle safety, even the most advanced systems can only go so far to compensate for excessive speed, the limits of grip or your lack of talent. The instant you lose control at high speeds, it is often too late.

Driving or riding recklessly also gives us car and bike enthusiasts a bad name. We already have a lot on our plate, from rising car prices to the growing extinction of the sports car market, losing out to the ever-popular crossover (groan). We don’t need the public to turn against our simple love of driving too, do we?

But it doesn’t have to be that way. Malaysia may no longer have the multitude of race circuits that we used to, but we still have a world-class facility just an hour’s drive away from the city centre – and the barrier of entry into the world of sanctioned motorsports is going down. Race organisers like our very own Malaysia Speed Festival (MSF) are offering track days at the Sepang International Circuit from as low as RM300 for two hours, and there you can drive as fast as you like – so long as you abide to a few simple safety regulations.

Those of a more competitive bent can opt for time attack events, which are held not only by MSF but also other reputable entities like Grass Racing Autosports (GRA) and Sucimuci Motorsports. These events often have categories for road cars at affordable prices, catered to those with somewhat tighter belts. And while proper multi-car racing remains an expensive affair, series like our Saga Cup are much more cost-efficient and provide more door-to-door racing than even the most exciting Formula 1 race.

And what about those who still want to experience the thrill of a public road? Well, this year MSF is hosting its MSF Touge Series of hillclimb events, held on exactly the type of twisty, hilly roads that enthusiasts love – but, most importantly, with the safety of being closed to traffic and managed by people who have decades of motorsports experience. It too is open to road cars, requiring the bare minimum of safety equipment.

With all these options for the budding racer, the excuse of sanctioned motorsports being prohibitively expensive is no longer valid. It never was, anyway – it was perhaps understandable (but not excusable) for low-budget drivers to speed on the public highway, but if you can afford a sports car or even a moderately powerful hot hatch, you can afford a track day.

So take your need for speed to the track. And when you are driving on a public road, do it sanely and responsibly by obeying all traffic rules. Lastly, drive within your limits of both your car and yourself, and don’t be pressured by other drivers to speed up. Remember, when you’re sharing the road with other users, safety always comes first.

And of course, we at paultan.org try to be responsible when we take test cars out for a drive. While we do evaluate a car’s performance characteristics, we do it within the scope of what an average driver is capable of, and we do not push it to its absolute limits.

With certain high performance vehicles, we rent a circuit to test them out, or have the authorities close the road – see our first, second and third Driven Web Series hot hatch episodes for examples – or rent an airfield as with our million-ringgit sports cars episode. We will never compromise safety for the sake of readership or viewership.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• azrai on Jan 13, 2020 at 3:21 pm

Adrenaline Rush. Those involved are a ‘rich kids’ version of mat rempit actually.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 9
    • Safety Comes First!!!!! on Jan 13, 2020 at 4:04 pm

Yeah, nowadays Malaysians wants a car with more safety instead of driving Honda with no AEB, no land departure warning, no rear cross traffic alert and no blind spot monitor. Even people also make too much huge complaint about service and quality at Honda.

Yet, Malaysians are so brainless of buying Honda with no AEB, no land departure warning, no rear cross traffic alert and no blind spot monitor. As well as, Honda Cars with poor quality and aftersales services.

That’s why you see how many people causes accidents on the road? Probably could see Honda cars stopping on highway/road during the accident. Moreover, this also could causes injuries to the drivers and passengers in the car. And also when the car quality like Honda is poor especially if don’t service the car properly , it could may also breakdown and immediately stop on highway too. Probably may the other car could also hit the breakdown car.

So anyway, that’s the reason why the safety is very very important to all of you before you buy cars

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 324 Thumb down 83
      • mr1031 on Jan 13, 2020 at 4:44 pm

only idiot blame vehicles for causing accidents..most of the accident are due to poor human judgement and ego

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 142 Thumb down 12
        • autodriver (Member) on Jan 13, 2020 at 5:11 pm

Exactly. Human judgement and ego are the main factor rather than the car problem causing accident most of the time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
          • 4G63T DSM on Jan 13, 2020 at 6:16 pm

that Renault Megane RS wont stand a chance Vs. local hero Wira VR4 400hp ,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
          • Civic Turbo 2018 on Jan 13, 2020 at 8:50 pm

Is to see whose balls are lower to the ground

• Rosman on Jan 13, 2020 at 10:34 pm

The Renault Megane RS tried to tahpau the wiralution but it got tahpau’ed instead. Such kemaluan besar from the owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
          • Abang2 Sambung Bayar on Jan 14, 2020 at 8:25 am

This is only done by one type of people, the same people who also rempit. This what happens when parents have too many kids, like 6 to 12 kids per family, and they have no time to give parental guidance onto their children and guide them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
          • Can I advice you something? on Jan 14, 2020 at 9:25 am

Problem here is the lack of education in schools. We are more concerned with calligraphy instead of teaching children to grow to be responsible adults

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
          • Can I advice you something? on Jan 14, 2020 at 9:30 am

When you are bored with your easy life because there is so much of free contracts and dedak, you don’t know what else to do but rempit and lumba

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
          • Bossku Adanya Boss Sendiri on Jan 14, 2020 at 10:41 am

All these kind of lumba lumba are all done by Uitm, Mara, UIA and MRSM graduates. Too much idle time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 25
      • Can I Advise on Jan 13, 2020 at 4:49 pm

Those local Car reviewer /Youtubers should stop speeding when doin Car review. less so along Ulu Yam Baharu old road – from Batang Kali to Genting Highlands. This bad influence.

Should instead do review along normal route, to shopping malls, opis, sekolah & Hypermarket.
        this where a normal law abiding Carbuyer travelled at legal speed, Not Genting Highlands

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 24
        • Abang2 Sambung Bayar on Jan 14, 2020 at 8:28 am

same case as the basikal lajak. See who are the ones doing all these nonsense. They need a lot of guidance.

• Fast & Safe on Jan 14, 2020 at 2:38 am

Safety Comes First!!!!! @
        agreed with u, many brainless thought buying Honda like buy a Sportcar, now a day honda car in Malaysia are very poor quality and lag of many advanced feature but they dont care about, and many of the Honda owner are no quality also (like samsing) so rude, u can found on the road or HW everyday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 7
      • Why on earth are you bashing a particular brand, when the article talks about the driver. Doesn’t matter what brand you drive, if the driver is an idiot, then accidents will happens. Please stay on point and don’t be brand biased.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 49
      • Whats your problem with Honda?

• Nadzir on Jan 13, 2020 at 5:29 pm

Gayyyyyy man

• Abang2 Sambung Bayar on Jan 14, 2020 at 8:26 am

When one has too many wives and each wife has about 5 kids each, in total you will have like 20 kids. How do you give parental guidance onto these kids when you are the only father around?

So, these kids grow up, they end up racing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
        • I didn’t know rich ah bengs can have many wives. Must be something new in New Malaysia

• Tiramisu on Jan 13, 2020 at 10:32 pm

Let them be. These car clubs and big bike clubs are much better and more responsible than the rempits i STILL see on the highways in KL and Selangor area doing their superman stuff in huge groups around midnight.

Most that complaint about these racers are holier than thou people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
  • Martin Tan on Jan 13, 2020 at 3:26 pm

Overconfidence in one’s driving and not thinking things through… plus ‘kamikaze’ Malaysian drivers make for dangerous roads anywhere.

• WC is water closet aka mangkuk jamban on Jan 13, 2020 at 6:00 pm

Well well spoiled brats racing and competing among themselve for ultimatum to get death certificate

• karam singh on Jan 13, 2020 at 7:21 pm

This year MSF is hosting its inaugural MSF Touge Series of hillclimb events.

• This stretch is very popular among super cars who love to drive up to Gohtong Jaya via Batu Caves – Ulu Yam – Batang Kali route.. try use this road on Saturday or Sunday early morning and the chances to meet them are very high.

They drove up… had breakfast at Gohtong Jaya and then adjourn to Starbucks (in Petron station) further down before going down via normal Karak Highway.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 13, 2020 at 7:12 pm

It’s not that chances of meeting them are high but you WILL meet them. It’s a weekend affair for most car and bike clubs. I do like to go there to see some really good rides on display.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 13, 2020 at 10:24 pm

next time, they wont get breakfast at all, straightaway adjourn to the coroners

• Leeut on Jan 13, 2020 at 3:36 pm

We also shouldn’t justify Youtubers drive up to Genting like a race track. I’ve seen a couple of videos where some moments could be easily causing accidents.

I simply don’t care about your previous racing pedigree or you have taken expert driving courses. You might be able to get away, but others wouldn’t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 9
  • Danny on Jan 13, 2020 at 3:40 pm

Your own pic shows the mercedes overtaking at double white line

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jan 13, 2020 at 4:06 pm

Precisely the kind of behaviour/driving that we are trying to avoid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 12
    • Angry Voters on Jan 13, 2020 at 10:30 pm

Err polis. Tolong saman kereta mesidis puteh WWE 3136

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Aniki Tan on Jan 13, 2020 at 3:59 pm

Since the highest limit on the road is 110km/h, why the authority didn’t limit the import and local car manufacturer to max 120km/h with 10% allowance?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 43
    • Add A Comment on Jan 13, 2020 at 5:06 pm

the bodoest comment of all….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 7
    • Rakyat on Jan 13, 2020 at 5:16 pm

Because speed does not kill.
      Idiot behind the wheel is the main culprit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
      • choha on Jan 13, 2020 at 10:01 pm

heard of something called temptation?

• NIck Leow on Jan 14, 2020 at 7:53 am

A wise man once said “”Speed does not kill. It is stopping abruptly that gets you.””
        Stay safe on the roads. We maybe defensive drivers but we cant control how others act on the road.

• Hello on Jan 14, 2020 at 8:58 am

If speed don’t kill why bother with the speedlimit

• All True on Jan 13, 2020 at 4:03 pm

Frequently see Porsches masuk longkang there. Poor handling due to bad design. Drivers oso otak udang and small kkj.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 38
    • Gerald on Jan 13, 2020 at 6:30 pm

From your comment we know that you’ve never driven a Porsche and are a sad, jealous man. Hope your life takes a turn for the better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
      • All true on Jan 13, 2020 at 7:16 pm

I drive Porsches all the time. Really. But i much prefer Toyotas. More stable. Made by a much more successful manufacturer so you know it has been tested properly. Porsche people also have attitude problem. Because of their physical shortcomings. Normally Renault Megane owners are Porsche people. Except less successful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 51
        • Lolol on Jan 13, 2020 at 9:47 pm

Lol. This comment alone already shows you are a keyboard warrior. Keep reading and making comments without any real driving experience. Ahahaha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
          • All True on Jan 13, 2020 at 10:27 pm

Why would you say that? Is it not a logical deduction to say Renault drivers are less successful as the car is much cheaper? Or is Porsche a worse car than Renault even though its much more expensive?

I have never seen any Toyotas in the longkang at ulu yam. Porsches and Renaults yes. Must be because Toyotas win races. And much more successful manufacturer. Love Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
          • probably are those type that can afford to pay down payment and cheapens out on tyres type.

• Brian on Jan 14, 2020 at 12:26 am

No you probably don’t see Toyotas ending up in longkangs at Ulu Yam because they end up in longkangs way before they reached Ulu Yam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
          • Regret Honda Owner on Jan 14, 2020 at 9:45 am

There is no such thing Porsche attitude problem! Let’s talk about in Malaysia! If you compare to Honda DRB, Honda DRB is not even successful manufacturer at all than Toyota’s and Porsche’s in Malaysia!

I owned my Civic 1.8 in 3 years back but I already sold it off. Anyway, after a year of buying my Honda Civic 1.8, the quality is becoming from good to poor because there are some faulty parts. Honda assembly workers attitude becoming more and more problem. Even go to showroom, also nobody care about me and to other customer, even service advisor attitude also can tell lies to the customers some more. Shows that Honda Customer Care Malaysia attitude is becoming more and more problem.

So if you compare to Porsche and Toyota, probably could see service is doing well and sales advisor/service advisors always greeted and fully respect to me and to other customers.

Very Shameful Honda Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
          • Win10 on Jan 14, 2020 at 9:58 am

@All True

What a burthutt Honda SA for bashing Porsche!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
        • Safe Deposit Bodo on Jan 14, 2020 at 9:18 am

bro, there is a saying, bodoh tu simpan sikit, keep it for future generation, you said you drive lots of Porsches, that’s a total bullshit seeing your comment. It’s not the car is not good but because its packed with punches of power known generally as Torgue which for imbeciles like you might be causing over/under steer in duress… so stick to your Vios and dont make comments that reflects your stupidity…

• All True on Jan 14, 2020 at 11:13 am

Dear Mr. Bodo,

Tell me….do you drive lots of Porsches? How much experience do you have? And what is Torgue?

• Harrison Foo on Jan 13, 2020 at 11:43 pm

You said that Porsche drivers have no brain and also have small kkj. You also said that you often drive Porsche, so logically you also have no brain and small kkj. Congratulations, you just played yourself.

And please tell me in what objective measure a Toyota is better than a genuine Porsche sports car. Porsches can take corners faster more safely without understeering, has lower rollover chance due to lower center of gravity, is able to stop faster due to high performance brakes, and has adjustable suspension to increase stability during corners and highways. Makes me wonder if you have ever driven a real Porsche before, or only in video games.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
      • All True on Jan 14, 2020 at 11:10 am

Sorry my mistake. I meant to say Porsche owners have otak udang and small kkj. I dont own a Porsche because my otak is manusia and my kkj is huge. When i drive my friends Porsches i do feel my brain morphing to prawn size and more space in the seat of my trousers. That is why i quickly stop and jump back into my Toyota as i dont want to be permanently stuck in Porsche mode.

Toyota is better in every way. The company sells much more cars. Porsche is a failed business that had to be taken over by VW. People who buy Porsche only do it for vanity. All Porsche suv are vw underneath. And vw failed brand in Malaysia. everyday you can read this on PT forum.

Porsche legendary for bad handling. Their cars called widow makers. What kind of car is so terrible it gets this nickname? The kind of otak udang car like this. Toyota resale also the best. Even our malaysian cabinet want to use toyota for minister car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • v-tec fan on Jan 13, 2020 at 5:05 pm

thumb up bro, support 100% on your comment … they should test at race track. not public road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • Henry on Jan 13, 2020 at 5:15 pm

Daniel Ricciardo he is not.

• Does anyone know of the proton driver and passengers?

• Those drivers who are cutting into oncoming lanes in the corners…they are trying to corner as fast as possible by going for the apex & they took the easy way out.

It is more harder & challenging to do the same while keeping to your own lane at all time. This will also lowers the cornering speed but it will also be safer.

• Brian on Jan 14, 2020 at 12:29 am

If they don’t sapu the corners while eating into the opposite lane, then they are not ‘yeng’ enough.

• vivizurianti on Jan 13, 2020 at 5:53 pm

Watch too much Initial D,
    Listen too much Techno music,
    Attended too much TT “Poison” session,
    Listen too much bragging among car owners,
    Played to much NFS, GT games, etc

Anyway, a 500hp Supercar wont crash by itself.
    However, an idiot behind the wheel of 500hp Supercar will (eventually) crash it though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • DonkeyKong on Jan 13, 2020 at 6:59 pm

And also pretentious wannabes who always say stupid crap like “paddle shifters are a safety feature “.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • Pakcik on Jan 13, 2020 at 8:39 pm

Agreed, crap… ASA2.0 in P2 cars is safety thou

• Mitsuko on Jan 13, 2020 at 11:37 pm

That gorilla always said that having paddle shifter is safety. Better brake and using your brain save life. Paddle shifter wont make a different if you slam your emergency brake hard when trying to evade accident. Best part he will even claim his volvo got very good resale value which is a joke. Wonder what weed he smoke everyday.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 13, 2020 at 7:09 pm

I’ve had a go at this stretch before with a convoy. Yep we were pushing our cars to the maximum and it’s just one of the many stretches that are quite dangerous. It’s the uphill twisties that is the most dangerous of the lot. Not only there are many blind spots but the road is being used by cyclists and even hikers which makes things worst. Good thing is our cars are so loud so it does make the other road users to be wary that we’re upcoming up in full speed. Ferrari owners will not use that route due to the poor road surface conditions too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 28
    • Ah seng kor on Jan 13, 2020 at 8:49 pm

So you are one of those goons who endanger other motorist life. Goto sepang you cheap skate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • Robocar Poli on Jan 14, 2020 at 8:19 am

Lmaoo at this point I’m not even sure are you trolling or just stupid

• RotiBakar on Jan 13, 2020 at 7:51 pm

Dont forget the evoclub mafia boss and his kulis….all driving like gila to genting highland to test their car. I am just counting the days they kena accident, am sure enforcers will clamp on all this speeding vlogs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • Eskay on Jan 13, 2020 at 8:44 pm

This route is popular among cyclist and runners too. It’s not a racing track. So please be responsible drivers and use this road with care. You don’t want blood in your hand and do time in jail.

• worst part is these moron drivers drive fast, danger to themselves ok la…
    but they have to zig zag very close to other slow moving cars which is endangering lives of other innocent people
    not to mention on youtube some car reviewers even drive fast like a moron in public road (facepalm)

• vivizurianti on Jan 13, 2020 at 11:51 pm

Malaysia has lots of Takumi who thought they are Speed-God in King-Car. They often fantasize that their cars with performance mods (likely with numerous cheapo rojak parts, immitation parts or kreta-potong parts) enable their cars to smoke 99% cars on the road.

Heck,these takumi believe pasting stickers on the car, can already boost 100hp.

So, dont play-play yah?

• Boy Racer (Member) on Jan 14, 2020 at 12:50 am

Even YouTube motoring journalists are able to drive without limits on these routes and “safely” overtake while blaming other road users for coming into their lane.

That kind of “safe” driving being promoted on public roads just blows my mind. Such a shame really. These are the people that others look to get automotive knowledge from as well. I don’t want to call out any names but I’m sure these are known people in the industry. I hope they do change their ways though, as they need to know their responsibility to use their influence to better promote cars in a safer environment.

Malaysia has many beautiful roads and let’s not misuse them before it’s too late. Let’s actually start driving safely and keep the racing on track days.

• Robinhood on Jan 14, 2020 at 8:59 am

Please jail all these irresponsible idiots and impose heavy penalties on them. Got money to buy sports car but no money to pay for the track. What nonsense!!!

• Boobbie on Jan 14, 2020 at 9:10 am

best part is the amount of people supporting him, i am very afraid for malaysia…

• Therealmaserati on Jan 14, 2020 at 9:27 am

Just because you are a lousy driver doesnt mean others cant have fun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • Reaist on Jan 14, 2020 at 9:13 am

One of the reasons I love Malaysia is because of what we can do on the roads. The liberty extended to road users is great for driving enthusiasts. I remember fondly my Ulu Yam, Genting runs. Whenever I am back in Malaysia now, driving these routes are one of the things I most look forward to.

Get the other side of the argument that it’s dangerous but there is no evidence that this type of driving causes more accidents than normal driving. Are there any statistics to suggest that there are more accidents on Ulu Yam and Genting as compared to other places?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • Safety First on Jan 14, 2020 at 10:20 pm

Because Malaysian drivers are dangerous idiots as they are normally, causing the high statistic rates. When the accident rates are that high, you don’t see significant increase from these spirited drives.

• Killian on Jan 14, 2020 at 9:16 am

Build a proper race track in Sarawak, please.

• Some car reviewers are being bad examples by racing up getting. One retired rally driver comes to mind.

• Ollie on Jan 14, 2020 at 9:46 am

They are all men. The worst craziest dangerous drivers are men. Just reward for bad driving but they endanger others as well. The next time people call women bad drivers, read this article.

• Safety First on Jan 14, 2020 at 10:22 pm

Men drives crazy when they feel the adrenaline rush.
      Women drives crazy all the time, everytime.

• Many car owners have driven with their “pedal to the metal” before. Its common.

But those are mostly quick bursts of cheap thrills….sporadic, “on the spur” moments which are UNPLANNED, mostly solo and not for recognition nor for money. There is no racing with each other. Same applies to reviewers testing vehicles.

But it’s a totally different situation when an un-trained driver is driving at very high speeds on public roads COMPETING with another friend/acquaintance as part of a PRE-PLANNED activity, with action cam or even multiple cams deployed in advance to record such exploits with the objective of creating an exciting video to upload on social media for whatever personal aspirations, glamour, superiority complex, self actualization and/or financial reasons.

Such a driver was already excited even before the drive started because the driver already knew it’ll be a very high speed blast to showcase the superiority of the car, the car’s modifications and his/her superior driving skills…for strangers to oohhh and ahhhh on an LED screen.

Hence, there could be a MOTIVE behind waking up early to go for such PRE-PLANNED convoy blasts up the hill or outstation, because they know heavier traffic later in the day will spoil their “run” and the video wont look exciting. The exception are convoys that take leisurely drives at safe, legal speeds…safe and responsible

If there are no social media and no action cams, there’s not many other ways to show off, and many would probably not be bothered to do such things on weekend mornings.

Regardless of how skilled one is in high speed driving, one has 100% no control over other motorists in front. If a slow Myvi made a silly unexpected move, it might instantly get the speedster into trouble as he/she is the one working very hard to impress and produce a great video,…. and end up killing or injuring other innocent lives on public roads

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Sam KK Look on Jan 14, 2020 at 1:52 pm

Malaysia has lots of scumbags who thought they are Speed-God in Poodua King-Car. They often fantasize that their junk cars with performance mods (likely with numerous cheapo rojak parts, immitation parts or kereta-potong parts) enable their cars to smoke 99.9% cars on the road. 

Heck, these idiotic scumbags believe putting GearUpToHeaven bodykits and pasting stickers with ToyoTaik Basuh emblem on their junk car, can already boost 100hp. 

So, dont play-play yah?

• Sylvester Jr. on Jan 14, 2020 at 3:12 pm

Oi Polis trafik, still scrolling & read the comments kah? Do a speed trap la sana. Easy money man!

Dont do road block ah. Gua naik basikal takdak bawak IC woh. RM20 sahaja ada untuk sek fan.

• Digging my own graveyard on Jan 14, 2020 at 3:15 pm

hahahahahhahaha…. jason kwk/lcian marah wei korang bash honda dia.. baik korang bash proton… perodua pun jangan.

• Forget Ulu Yam, Malaysians are speeding even on parking lots la. I think there’s this general idea of “I have to get there fast” for no real reason. We are listed as one of the worst drivers in the world. I had an ozzy friend who tried to drive in Malaysia. He quickly gave up and asked me how do you guys do it?

• did you guys see the video?
    the noob renault driver was leading the pack ^^
    somehow he lost his rear end and swerve to the wira.
    how can you lose your rear end in a front wheel drive car?
    OMFG!!! Noob!!!!

• for me this road have lot nice view..but yg tak best when u drive terlalu laju..then yang bagus nak tunjuk hero overtake smpi x sedar kereta kat depan dtg..yup morning weekend alot car lalu situ x kisah dari kancil -ferrari..if feel macam fun drive..xde masalah..tapi klau nak tunjuk hero…jadi macam renult tu lah..

• “The pedal is not a throttle, it’s a detonator.”
    ― Jeremy Clarkson

• Track days at sepang are rare and cost like rm400 for 45 minutes. People would rather use public roads for racing.