2020 Proton X70 CKD – first car to use MARii EEV label

At the launch of the 2020 Proton X70 CKD yesterday, we spotted this disc affixed on one of the display vehicles. It’s a Malaysia Automotive, Robotics and IoT Institute (MARii) EEV label, which has a QR code from which key specifications of a particular vehicle can be gleaned, including that of its fuel efficiency and CO2 emissions.

The voluntary EEV labelling scheme, first unveiled in March 2018 during the launch of the National Emission Test Centre (NETC) in Rawang, is meant as an awareness platform for consumers and is in line with Malaysia’s commitment to reduce carbon emissions by 45% by 2030, as outlined by the UNFCCC under the Paris Agreement.

In the case of the X70, the SUV was already classified as an EEV when it was launched in CBU form back in December 2018, but this is the first time that the label has been spotted on a vehicle. Also, although there are other EEVs in the market, Proton is the first company to utilise the label since the format was established.

Click to enlarge.

For the X70, its MARii EEV label simply classifies it as a 1.8 TGDI. As is already known, fuel consumption for the locally-assembled SUV is rated at 7.6 litres per 100 km on a combined cycle, or 13.16 km per litre, which is a 2.6% improvement in litres per 100 km (strangely, Proton communicated a 13% improvement in FC on more than one occasion) than the CBU version (7.8 litres per 100 km), while its CO2 emissions is 181 g/km. There’s also mention of the vehicle’s top speed, which is 195 km/h.

The 2020 Proton X70 CKD is available in four variants – Standard 2WD (RM94,800), Executive 2WD (RM106,800), Premium 2WD (RM119,800) and Premium X 2WD (RM122,800). Find out more about the X70 CKD through our comprehensive review, and browse full specifications and equipment of the SUV on CarBase.my.

2020 Proton X70 CKD Infohub

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• taweel on Feb 13, 2020 at 4:38 pm

Same like Australia fuel consumption label

• Copy paster keyboard warrior on Feb 13, 2020 at 6:12 pm

Later all same cerita from copy paste will be seen. Economy tak bagus, nak jadi leyboard warrior to earn that RM10 per day as extra income. Shameful.

• carbuyer on Feb 13, 2020 at 8:19 pm

Author’s fuel calculator is misbehaving. The difference between 7.6 and 7.8 litres per 100km is three, not thirteen percent.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Feb 13, 2020 at 9:03 pm

Lol, yes, it’s a 2.6% difference from the 7.8 l/100 km of the CBU. The 13% was communicated by Proton, and was highlighted on a slide at the launch yesterday. Should have done the math though. Thanks for the spot, edited, with the 13% mention also placed in for context.

• Jonathan Khan on Feb 13, 2020 at 4:44 pm

Good car, overpriced.
    Rm60k at china, assembly cost rm40k.
    Malaysia CKD with EEV, parts delivered from china, shipping cost rm80k.

Xiaomi rm800 at china, malaysia sell rm800 also.
    Like that fair, no scam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 19
    • Jessica L on Feb 13, 2020 at 7:19 pm

Confusing,

You mean China Selling RM60k.
      Estimated thier Plant Assembly costing only RM40k each.
      but when they ship the parts/car to Malaysia, we get charged so high. Even Shopee got Free Delivery…

Xiaomi XX @ China home land RM800
      Xiaomi XX @ Malaysia also about RM800.

Ok, got it. Let me think about it …

• Anonymous on Feb 15, 2020 at 11:25 am

On the other hand in shoppee, “free delivery within Malaysia; Sabah & Sarawak add RM10”

• Reality Check on Feb 13, 2020 at 9:34 pm

Reality is, if a businessman selling goods, the demand is there for higher price, why would he lower it down. It would just tarnished the “premium” brand positioning, to a “cheap brand” while its still recovering & building-up the brand image. But of course, neither said businessman would let go the high demand for a cheaper goods, there you go a cheaper variant of goods. In proton case, it would be their upcoming X50.

Come on man, proton is doing real business now.. Their shareholder(Geely) want a profit, not doing charity. Still X70 give you the most value for money it can offer in it segment, so how exactly it is overpriced here in MY? Not to say it could be a bad business practice, probably unfair to other carmakers if the price is even lower, that is like trying to monopoly the market in it segment just bcos it can.

But don’t worry, you still can wait for upcoming X50 or P2 version of Daihatsu Rocky. I believe it will be more affordable & full of features, as compared to imports like CX-3 or C-HR

• the driver on Feb 13, 2020 at 4:48 pm

For a thirsty car,…

• common sensor on Feb 13, 2020 at 5:24 pm

What is this MARii real function actually? WTF??

• Spin Too Much on Feb 13, 2020 at 5:48 pm

Another unnecessary money spinning idea from our useless PH ministry. Well done sucking our money!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
    • Eddie on Feb 14, 2020 at 8:41 am

EEV label was introduced in March 2018 by BN government.

• Jeremy on Feb 14, 2020 at 11:29 am

BN government didn’t require to put up a stickere mate. Take your PH bias somewhere else.

• What’s wrong with putting up a sticker? Bodoh

• Sick & Tired on Feb 14, 2020 at 3:50 pm

Someone’s gonna pay for that sticker, you think its free ah? Bodoh.

• Rosman on Feb 15, 2020 at 3:30 pm

Agreed. rather pay that birkin then sticker.

• Ben Yap on Feb 13, 2020 at 6:10 pm

How can the Mazda CX5 2.0 can do 6.5 litres per 100km, Honda CRV 1.5 turbo can do about 7 litres per 100km, Subaru Forester 2.5 can do 7.1 litres per 100km. all these SUVs can do better fuel consumption than the Proton X70. The X70 doing 7.6 litres per 100km for a 1.8 turbo engine is horrendous. it’s a petrol drinker and it doesn’t deserve the title of EEV. Seriously, MARii can do better than that rather than helping Proton to give that EEV title. Other SUVs deserve better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 30
    • If you feel 7.6l/100km is a drinker for a suv, you need to work harder, or just comment on axia thread

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 35
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 14, 2020 at 12:55 am

try the car for a week, i want to see how you can achieve 7.6L/100KM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • 13.16km/l fuel consumption and 181g/kg CO2 emissions gets you EEV status! What kind of standard is this? Even a 10 year old Myvi might get this. Thailand Eco Phase 1 itself has requirement of 20km/l fuel consumption and 120g/kg CO2 emission, let alone Phase 2 that are even more stringent. Best part is, someone is making money from supplying those stickers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • VoidDance on Feb 14, 2020 at 10:50 am

Name one petrol 1.5l and above engine SUV (non PHEV and what not) that can do 20km/l fuel.

• Haidi on Feb 13, 2020 at 6:38 pm

Combined 7.6L/KM, 13KM/L. Not real life at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • vivizurianti on Feb 13, 2020 at 7:37 pm

Reminds me of Proton “lulus” sticker on the door glass of Saga. The stickers were given regardless of quality of cars being churned out at p1 factory.

Now, Marii copy-paste the tactic.

• Engineer on Feb 13, 2020 at 9:49 pm

No this is more like the joke MS label stick on products and standards. The joke is MS means Mamak Stended which nobody else follows.

• why the heck we need such thing?
    Oh yeah…forgot Marii has not much to do other than promoting itself to be on top of the car industry ^^
    the taiko of car industry

• MHK I on Feb 13, 2020 at 9:50 pm

A fancy sticker that probably doesn’t carry any weight from it printed words (cakap kosong)

• Matchy on Feb 13, 2020 at 11:25 pm

AFAIK, this car is thirsty as hell. Not sure why it is EEV certified…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 14, 2020 at 12:54 am

lol at all the proton keyboard warriors here defending their gas guzzler.

if the x70 qualifies as eev, anything can be an eev in malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • Lolwhut? on Feb 14, 2020 at 11:31 am

Lol! Look at the person who never owns an X70 yet thinks himself qualified to judge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 14, 2020 at 8:14 pm

so, i guess you driving a hyundai accent has more qualification to judge?

• Lolwhut? on Feb 15, 2020 at 9:27 am

Lolwhut? You’re the one making such statements like “defending their gas guzzler” as if you had first hand experience with the car. You’re the one making such statements and such judgement not me and you think you are more qualified when you have no way of knowing whether it be gas guzzling or not? Well you da boss. A moronic one but you da boss.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
          • Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 17, 2020 at 10:26 pm

moron who dont know how to spell what, cos u assume i dont own this car, so i assume you drive a piece of junk like a hyundai accent

• Akira on Feb 14, 2020 at 8:56 am

Cringey sticker.

• Weird. Many x70 owners told me that it consumed fuel like drinking water. Out of sudden, this CKD with efficient fuel consumption? What magic has Proton did?