2022 Honda Civic gets rendered in production form

We’ve already seen patent images of what is likely the 11th-generation Honda Civic previously, but KDesign AG is taking things a step further by sharing a pair of renderings on its Behance page, which imagines what the sedan version might look like when it officially debuts.

Compared to the tenth-gen model, the all-new Civic appears to dial back on the aggression in favour of a “softer” and more elegant look, one that is rather reminiscent of the latest Accord. At the front, the headlamps have been flattened to blend in with the Solid Wing Face grille, accompanied by a distinct line that runs across its width and along the top of the lighting clusters.

A narrow, honeycomb mesh covers the intake seen just below the Honda emblem, while the lower apron features fog lamps tucked into the corners (not present in patent images), which are kept separate from the lower intake by a body-coloured, arch-like structure.

Moving rearwards, you can see the new Civic’s Accord-like profile, with a flowing roofline and window line – the latter with a raised section near the fuel door. This shape does suggest the C-segment sedan will be longer than before, at least based on these renders.

Around back, the tenth-gen’s C-shaped (or affectionally known as ketam) taillights have been replaced with angular and more conventionally-shaped unit instead, which again, serves to give the car a more restrained look. Other cues shown in the renders include a lipped boot lid, chrome exhaust finishers and slim reflectors.

KDesign AG also envisioned what the performance Si version of the Civic might look like, which adds on a more aggressive front bumper similar to the current Civic Type R, along with sportier wheels, a boot spoiler and a centre exhaust at the rear.

It has been reported that Honda will unveil the 11th-gen Civic later this year for the 2022 model year, although there’s no official date as of yet. For now, what do you think of these renders of the new Civic? Does it look good to your eyes? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below.

GALLERY: 11th-generation Honda Civic Sedan exterior patent images

GALLERY: 2020 Honda Civic Sedan FC 1.5 TC-P facelift (Malaysia market)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Jensen on Oct 07, 2020 at 11:56 am

I wonder how 2022’s Accord will look like if this is the new Civic.

• a.y.a.m on Oct 07, 2020 at 12:04 pm

Why looks different from the patent? I think it should be a direct copy from the patent pictures? They yet to read that news is it???

• Proton oh Proton on Oct 07, 2020 at 12:29 pm

I can’t feel the sportiness.

• Ah Beng Level III on Oct 07, 2020 at 12:31 pm

Looks worse. Front, look so ah beng. Rear, copied from hyundai. Bodystyle exactly same as Accord

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Underrated! on Oct 07, 2020 at 12:38 pm

Show that designer have no ideas for making new gen so they actually get from any brands and pasting it. So this is so called “Copycat Civic”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Civic facelift to looks like duckling accord?

Still the same platform

• Vader on Oct 07, 2020 at 1:08 pm

The curse of Civic design strikes again, I will wait for the next next model change.

• Donuts55 on Oct 07, 2020 at 1:14 pm

Ewww

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Knightrider on Oct 07, 2020 at 1:16 pm

Civic jerung in coming

• Dong gor on Oct 07, 2020 at 1:16 pm

It’s an accord

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • st3wp1d on Oct 07, 2020 at 1:39 pm

Maybach?BMW gt?

• i.t.i.k on Oct 07, 2020 at 1:41 pm

Other Korean, Chinese and Japanese automakers have evolved with their stunning and sportier design yet Honda still designs like crap. Even Proton is prettier now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Hondo on Oct 07, 2020 at 2:03 pm

Didnt know Honda name changed to Hondo. Great article.

• Fiat Multipla Designer on Oct 07, 2020 at 2:05 pm

Way out of proportion. Curves is everywhere, but suddenly a long, flat, straight line on the front facia defining the the upper side of grille and headlamps.
    That make the design split the front away from the rest of the car, especially with upward angle of the front windshield but very slender angle on the rear. Looks like turtle honestly, except turtle look better with slender curves all around.

• Why don’t follow patent images, this looks uglier than the patent images

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • The rendering is very poor. The patent pictures shown are more sedan look than fastback. both front and rear renderings are very different from the Patent pictures. I think Honda is moving towards more Luxury themed design as shown with New Accord. New City V will be very luxurious looking, rather than sporty, hence the City RS version. Just my thoughts anyway.Pity to loose those signature tail lights of the current Civic. Hate them or Love them, you cant deny its awesome attractive and immediate recognition as a Civic, no other car model has that, except continental cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 38
  • Honda turbo TGDI CVT on Oct 07, 2020 at 2:53 pm

Tapau BMW 330

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 30
    • BMW 330i and X50 will tapau this civic with design soon and ketam civic. Lolz

• I think the next 3 generations the civic will have a rear overhang that stretches 10 feet behind the rear wheels lmao

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • HondaFan on Oct 07, 2020 at 3:33 pm

Middle part just the same from the 10th gen civic, front taken from the present Accord, rear looks like it was taken from a korean car, what ever happened to my beloved car manufacturer, its time we parted ways Honda. Sadly.

• The design of the Honda Civic is getting worse from year to year. This isn’t futuristic or modernize but out of touch. I could say, FD2 is still unbeatable.

• Fantastic

• Syaheed Hazim on Oct 08, 2020 at 8:14 pm

Oh no, following the footsteps of Mazda’s copy i see. Gonna predict this version’s not gonna sell as good as the previous.

• This is K design.K design always design ugly car.The Civic spyshot is more beautiful and nice.