Malaysia lags behind ASEAN on EV incentives – report

It’s no secret that Malaysia has dragged its feet in stimulating the public’s adoption of electric vehicles, and this was highlighted in a damning analysis report by Maybank Investment Bank Research. The article showed just how far the country has fallen behind its Southeast Asian peers, despite having initially led the race for green vehicles in the early 2010s.

The bank’s research arm said that Malaysia’s roadmap for the future of its automotive industry, the National Automotive Policy (NAP) 2020, lacks definition. Delayed for several months, the plan debuted in the final days of the previous Pakatan Harapan administration; notably, it did not provide specifics regarding any incentives for industry players, nor any concrete details on the then-nascent New National Car Project (NNCP), which has now gone silent.

Instead, the NAP painted broad strokes with its five key objectives. These included the development of a Next Generation Vehicle (NxGV) technology ecosystem, the expansion of the Mobility-as-a-Service (MaaS) sector, supporting the domestic automotive industry to cope with the fourth industrial revolution, ensuring that the overall ecosystem benefitted from the NxGV ecosystem, and reducing carbon emissions.

The ten-year plan also included seven roadmaps and blueprints, plus 17 targets; the Electric Mobility Blueprint is also aimed at getting 125,000 charging stations up and ready by 2030. However, Malaysia lacks the clear milestones outlined by leading ASEAN countries, including Thailand, Indonesia and Singapore. The Land of Smiles, for instance, set a goal back in 2015 of building 1.2 million electric vehicles by 2026.

As part of this commitment, the Thai government laid out a three-phase plan set to last until 2036, covering the areas of industry incentives, standards, infrastructure and charging prices, among others. The country wants to be the region’s EV hub by 2025 and has already rolled out tax breaks for carmakers and battery manufacturers to support its ambitions.

Meanwhile, Indonesia is looking for electrified vehicles to make up at least 20% of its overall production by 2025, including 2,200 EVs, 711,000 hybrids and 2.1 million electric motorcycles. As for Singapore, the island nation announced in its Budget 2020 that it intends to phase out petrol- and diesel-powered vehicles by 2040, and has introduced several incentives for EV buyers and committed to building more charging stations.

The gulf between Malaysia’s approach and those of other leading ASEAN countries has led to starkly different outcomes. Vehicle production on our shores is still largely centred on cars powered by internal combustion engines, with Porsche being the latest surprising party reportedly eyeing local production. The Maybank report mentions the Macan and Cayenne SUVs as being the candidates for CKD operations.

But Malaysia has also lost a significant foreign player in Hyundai, which is moving its regional headquarters from Mutiara Damansara to Indonesia as part of setting up a US$1.55 billion (RM6.27 billion) plant in Bekasi. And while Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors (part of Sime Darby Motors, a key player named in the Porsche rumours) has committed to assembling more models in the near future, the decision must still hurt.

Hyundai, by the way, isn’t the only carmaker investing in Indonesia, which has also courted companies like Toyota and battery maker CATL – the latter, a supplier to Tesla, is building a US$5.1 billion (RM20.6 billion) plant and is expected to begin production there by 2024. Speaking of Tesla, the government is considering an investment proposal from the leading EV maker, while LG Chem is also looking to invest in a battery plant.

Singapore isn’t known for building cars (at least, not after the high-profile Dyson project was cancelled), but even Hyundai is building a small-scale EV production facility there, with a planned capacity of 30,000 units per annum by 2025. Even Vietnam is surging ahead, with homegrown carmaker VinFast revealing three new electric SUVs it plans to build this year.

But most players are choosing to invest in Thailand. Between 2018 and 2019, the country’s Board of Investment (BOI) approved 26 applications worth a total of US$2.6 billion (RM10.5 billion), including BMW, Mercedes-Benz and the three biggest Japanese carmakers (Toyota, Honda and Nissan). Late last year, the BOI announced the approval of several additional companies, including Mitsubishi and SAIC.

By contrast, Malaysia seems to be in a holding pattern, and a number of carmakers who have invested in the country are bemoaning the lack of progress. Just this week, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia said that it remained committed to its EV strategy but needed a more defined industry roadmap for it to do so.

Over to you now. Do you believe Malaysia should bolster its EV roadmap, and what incentives would make you purchase an EV? Sound off in the comments after the jump.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Dylan on Feb 20, 2021 at 3:56 pm

Hoping this comment does not get lost …

I love Malaysia, just not the rules and regulations. When Malaysia does eventually get around the announce EV incentives, they will be weak and will have limited effect.

Highly unlikely factors such as disposal (recycling) of batteries will be consider.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • Consumer Rights on Feb 20, 2021 at 5:08 pm

Malaysia also lags behind on Lemon Law to better protect the car buyers.

Even PT seems refuse to highlight the recent lemon car case which bring huge implication on car buyers protection.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Lets See on Feb 20, 2021 at 5:57 pm

There won’t be any incentives for EV when we still have Msians going gaga over an ICE car that was just launched yesterday. When such an outdated tech can wow Msians, why should our Govt care to incentivise us to move on?

• Casual reader on Feb 20, 2021 at 6:02 pm

Just a casual reader but I can clearly see a stark correlation between those hate-filled and vile comments in the 4 new proton launches and those near idolatry shipping in these 2 perodua articles.

I don’t really care about either brands but the extreme vileness coming from the perodua camp makes me hate that brand somehow. Neither can I fathom their fawning comments, I mean, what innovation does perodua really bring to the market? Nothing really. The world is moving towards electrification but what is perodua doing? Nothing. No hybrid, no EV. Their sensing tech are all pre-existing on the cars they rebadge so little, if any, reason to shout about.

Remove the protectionist taxes protecting perodua and we will see Toyota bringing these cars in directly without perodua involvement. Can perodua survive such a future? I doubt it but their existence is what keeping car prices high and we cannot get the fuller range of Toyota EV and hybrids. For us to get better cars, perodua must cease to exist.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
      • hantu raya on Feb 22, 2021 at 10:05 am

really? i agree with everything you mentioned except for the last part, and im not even a P2 die hard supporter.

• Avenger on Feb 22, 2021 at 10:52 am

Honda has an A segment small car called Brio sold around SEA & India except here why? It is a decent car and would seriously take the fight to Axia & Myvi if it came with updated safety features and priced <RM50k. The reason why? PERODUA.

• PEJUANG on Feb 22, 2021 at 12:00 pm

the brio is even smaller than an Axia, u sure u want to buy one? lol

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 23, 2021 at 12:47 am

Honda is king of space. City is B segment but with legroom of D segment. So looks on a Honda can be deceiving, a Brio might even be felt larger than Myvi! Time to bring competition to the small car segment here!

• Copy Paste on Feb 20, 2021 at 11:50 pm

Copy paste: “I don’t blame Malaysia for being slow for EV, there is no infrastructure for the charging system and to make matters worse, hot weather is very detrimental to the battery system.

The carbon emission maybe neutral, but the truth is much higher from the production of electricity to the disposal of battery waste.

Countries like Indonesia and Thailand will support EV as they don’t produce as much oil as Malaysia thus need alternative fuel, Indonesia has the raw material for batteries but if there is no infrastructure then the mining of the raw material will only be exported thus no benefit to the economy.”

• QChan on Feb 21, 2021 at 9:27 am

Can’t you see ?? What EV infrastructure ??

Last couple of years, Malaysia is extremely busy politicking – electing new government, then bringing down new government. And now we have a state of emergency !! Couldn’t get anymore disheartening…………… :((

Manufacturing FDIs have been going to our neighbouring countries right before our eyes, and YES, even to Singapore –> EV manufacturing FDIs !!

Just too much politicking !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • Voltron on Feb 21, 2021 at 3:59 pm

Indonesia produces oil and in larger magnitude compared to Malaysia. Thailand is maybe a little behind in terms of barrels but not too far away.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 21, 2021 at 6:14 pm

Indo produces more oil but per capita they uses even more hence they became a nett oil importer, for us we still considered nett exporter but just a bit more.

• vezeroth on Feb 21, 2021 at 6:53 pm

The whole reason we have been dragging our feet is because of cronism. Trying to create a policy that will benefit cronies and not leave them out. and meanwhile the cronies are all sambil lewa lepak.com because of the easy money so dont see need to progress. This is the malaysia automotive problem, or malaysia problem, because everything is attached to politics and corruption.

• If we’re scaredy cat of cronyism then just give up and don’t do it. The other countries don’t have a problem with it, nay embracing it, and they are moving past us.

• EV battery can keep changing as technology develop, its not even matured yet.. long charging hours… So do the infrastructure, charging plug head..

Better dont go for it now.
    5 years later, tech not compatible for today cars.

Just like the Smartphone Chargers,
    Old phone dah not compatible. Any charging standard that can last 10 to 15 years?

Better push for AEB,
    self driving, and other advanced safety features
    Self charging Hybrid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 24
    • If you don’t develop tech and move together with the wave, you’re going to be at the tail end of the competition when the tech supposedly “matures”. At that time, the only viable option would be AGAIN to beg to be bailed out by some other foreign companies *COUGH* something like Geely *COUGH* because local companies/technologies are incapable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • With your logic, then we shouldn’t buy anything now bcz nothing is matured yet. Are ICE cars matured yet? Are they not changing? You see new technology for ICE cars coming out every year. Let’s not talk about cars, just smartphones. Don’t buy smartphones then! None of them are really matured yet. They keep changing every single year. The truth is, nothing is ever stagnant. You think AEB, self driving tech won’t change? Won’t improve?

• Tuan Side on Feb 20, 2021 at 4:21 pm

Fallen disgracefully behind Thailand, Indon & Sinkie.

Nothing move & done since FEB 2020. Even the glacier was moving faster

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • Lets See on Feb 20, 2021 at 6:00 pm

It is ok. EV tech today is impractical, even Audi boss does not think highly of it
      https://paultan.org/2021/02/17/future-evs-will-offer-less-battery-range-audi-ceo/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
  • Bieight on Feb 20, 2021 at 5:38 pm

First off give tax incentives to car manufacturers and a clear road map regarding ev(like total ice ban by 2025)and to make sure peoples will buy those evs government should not tax ev(0% tax) as for buyers should get free parking at public car park, free highway usage, additional insurance rebate, extremely low loan interest (<0.2%),lower electric rate, rebate for solar panels installation and special ev green license plate for ev charging bay recognisable plus new harsh law to punish non ev vehicles parking at ev bay

• Alive & kicking on Feb 20, 2021 at 6:05 pm

In 2009, there was this news that Proton & Detroit Electric were to sign an agreement to make EVs based on Proton models, but it’s obvious that nothing had come out of it.
    https://paultan.org/2009/03/27/detroit-electric-to-sign-rm-12-billion-agreement-with-proton-for-electric-car-development/

In 2007, there was this news that Proton & Lotus Engineering had developed a Gen2 EVE hybrid concept car, but it did not go into production.
    https://paultan.org/2007/03/07/proton-and-lotus-engineering-develop-proton-gen2-eve-hybrid-concept/

• That’s the thing with EV. EV, while compelling indeed, has no market here for various reasons:
      1. EV cars are just too expensive. Even for Tesla they struggle to come out with a family sized EV for <rm100k. That is way above the average affordability for most rakyat.
      2. Range anxiety. A poster above sums up what other carmakers view on the range issue of EV are yet to resolve.
      3. Infra. The gomen did not setup petrol stations so why should they use our money to setup charging facilities. In other countries, the traditional fuel providers are themselves moving to provide recharge points.
      4. Home. Yes if your home is in the jungle or 30 storeys up, how to charge your EV.
      5. Risk of fire. Something many are overlooking is the higher risk of catching fires for EV compared to ICE car.
      6. Battery replacement. Relate to point 1, even if these EV are reduced down to affordable levels the battery replacement defo isn't a sum you see with a weak heart.
      7. Recyclability. Aaaannnnddd what do you do with those dead batteries? This isn't like AA cells you throw into garbage bin, these EV batteries are toxic and highly hazardous to human lives if improperly disposed. Can we afford such callousness?
      8. Practicality. Most hybrids & EV needs significant storage for the batteries and this eats up a lot of space in the car sometimes reducing practicality. Take City & Jazz hybrid batteries result in omission for a spare tyre.
      9. Reliability & Serviceability. When new of course these high tech cars have no issues but what about coming to 7-10 years old? They are so filled with sensors that any such or multiple failures can strand the car and unlikely a convenient pomen able to diagnose & repair. After warranty its gonna cost a bomb to keep it running.
      10. Low RV. That's the main bugbear for EV adoption that in here, hybrids & EV are way down on the scale for resale and if they come from non-japanese brands, the RV drops even lower.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 12
      • autodriver (Member) on Feb 21, 2021 at 1:29 pm

1. EV car is not common yet and the most expensive part of the car is because of the battery. When EV cars are more the price will be cheaper.

2. Range anxiety should not be major concern for at least 80% people who travel less than 200km a day. If travel to outstation there should be fast charging station ready which take less than 1 hour to allow 80% charged.

3. Infra is just an EXCUSE. Setting up EV infra is far easier than gasoline station. As long as the ticket machine can reach it mean EV station can be installed. And it takes very little space compare to petrol station which need underneath storage tank.

4. Home. As long as house got electricity it mean it can charge the EV vehicle. It is matter of time it takes. Compare to petrol is more troublesome as house we cannot store petrol.

5. Risk of fire. Rest assure the EV car is very safe. The fire case is extremely rare..

6. Battery replacement. This is the MAJOR drawback of all EV cars.

7. Recyclablity is all depends on our country policy. It is not difficult for battery replacement as long as government encourage of EV. There are investor willing to venture into this business. Even car 12v battery recycle market is good response and good price of trade in.

8. Practically then EV car stand benefit over Ice where electric motor is taking much lesser space. Most of the EV carmaker nowadays put battery underneath to save space and increase benefit of centre of gravity.

9. Reliability and serviceability are the major advantage over ICE. EV car components are far lesser and much easier for maintenance. There is no service schedule due to no engine and gearbox mean no lubricant needed. It only need grease and it last freaking long. How reliability is electric motor? The KDK ceiling fan can easily ran for 20 years without service, same goes to EV motors. Those sensor malfunction can easily be replaced which is same as ICE car. I got a customer driver recond Tesla Model S, after 3 years he only change tyre and wiper despite of driving nearly 100k km. He said brake pad can last 200k miles before it need to replace. Yes, after 7 or 10 years maybe lower arm, suspension, tie rod need to change but the maintenance cost is FAR FAR cheaper than any ICE and much reliable also.

10. Resales value low because new electrical car keep improving battery life and functions. If one is not chasing for latest trend the old EV is still very reliable to drive.

• Thanks for taking the time to reply. I will try to be brief on my reply.
          1. Yes, so why rush the policy making since it won’t be so soon when EV achieve price parity? Let the tech mature a bit.
          2. City use no problem but what if you travel to S’pore or Penang? No way with one charge. Should we have a backup ICE car for long distance?
          3. Somebody needs to pay for infra, I hope its not us.
          4. How do you propose charging if yr house and carpark is 30 storeys away?
          5. IIHS studies disagrees with you.
          6. Ditto
          7. The entire chain from mining, to making to recycling of EV battery is toxic & hazardous. I doubt we can fully secure it.
          8. Despite the highly efficient packaging, EV still suffers boot eat up compared to ICE variant. The longer the range, the bigger the battery, the more space it eats.
          9. Mechanicals are easier to fix, electricals not so much. Electronics are made with planned obsolescence so don’t count yr luck on reliability after warranty.
          10. Low RV for hybrids & EV actually relate to point 6. Nobody wishes to buy a used EV then spend another 50% just to replace batteries before using it.

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 22, 2021 at 9:57 am

1. In fact we should slowly start to bring in the EV car. I think for now only the rich people afford since it is still very expensive to own plus very bad resales value.

2. EV car is target for city drive. For long distance driving like travelling 400km in 1 go if no ideal. But if every R&R equiped with fast charging station this is not big issue as 20 minutes charge give at least 80% battery power.

3. Somebody needs to pay for the infra, I think it has to be the TNB (since they are monopoly in Peninsular). The charging rate should in accordance with household or lower in order to encourage use of EV.

4. For those who stay at high rise building EV isn’t problem. I got friend own a X5 hybrid living at Desa Park City condo. He manage to get the management to pull the socket to his parking lot and management will send him bill for his usage. No worry for high rise as many EV car owners in China and SG are staying in high rise too.

5. For fire case we can see this more in details when it launched. If it were not safe countries like US and SG won’t so early to adapt EV.

7. We already have Lynas which is more toxic. As long as they are well keep the environment it should be safe. I do not agree to have Lynas but it does help for contributing key components to battery and also many electronic stuffs.

8. If put underneath the eat up space is the height. Nowadays many people prefer SUV and this battery is absolutely well positioning. Only thing is the weight as battery is far heavier than fuel tank.

9. Electronic part failure applied equally to ICE vehicle. In fact EV car stand better position because the voltage output is stable than the ICE which mainly use alternator to supply electric.

10. Low RV is the main concern for those who wanted to own EV car. If not fancy with car then just keep 1 EV and drive for 15 years. Battery price will become cheaper over the years when the supply increase.

Btw I dont think Malaysia will roll up plan for EV car for next 5 years unless the GST come back. Petroleum and ICE cars have contributed tens of billion tax to Government whereas EV is seeking incentive from government. Double impact is implementing now.

• 1. So why should we make it cheaper for the rich to buy their EVs now?
            2. So should we have a backup ICE car solely for long distance travel? Might as well use that car and not buy the EV if that much hassle. Expecting to stop for that long is bloody inconvenient unless we’re willing to change how we travel.
            3. TNB money comes from our taxpayer money. You might be willing to sponsor but not me. I not afford an EV yet to make use of them.
            4. At others, these facilities are built into the building. If you have to pull, you have to pay. Bear in mind the MO have to tap from mains so its not cheap!
            5. The real risk factor is still unknown (too few samples) but cases per EV on the road is far higher than ICE vehicles.
            7. So you prefer have Lynas 2.0 with mountains of used batteries?
            8. Eventually smaller denser battery will happen but until then it still a space eater.
            9. ICE cars have proportionally higher mech parts than EV. A breakdown in mech parts are far easier to repair than a sensor fried.
            10. Are you sure can get battery replacement for 15yo EV? Can you still get Galaxy S replacement battery from Samsung? This is related to planned obsolesces.

• Mike Tee on Feb 21, 2021 at 4:17 pm

Google NIO BaaS. All of your worries with regards to battery solved in one fell swoop.

• Solid state batteries is an improvement, but what about the cost? How long would it take an NIO BaaS EV to drop down until Axia prices?

• paanjang16 on Feb 21, 2021 at 4:34 pm

My 2 cents:
        1) Having a Type 2 charger will still need a single phase 240V 40A outlet point which will require some modifications to the house wiring. A typical socket is 15A and it will take far too long to fully charge an EV. A switch for air-con or induction cooker is 20A. Also if there is more than 1 EV in the house more 40A points is required. So a typical 2 car terrace house will need 2 Type 2 chargers assuming the husband and wife goes to work during the day. The house may need to upgrade to 3 phase wiring from the standard single phase. Assuming they charge at night at home both the cars and a/c will use the power so an upgrade of the TNB meter and house wiring is required.

2) My job sometimes require me to do day trips outstation like to Penang or Kuantan from KL. Also I go to site where electrical supply might not be available (eg. the bld is under renovation, sites where the infra is under construction and require Hilux to go around). An ICE car allows me to do the 1 day trip with a short refueling stop in between. It is not possible to do such day trip in an EV at the moment.

3) Has anyone with an EV made a trip up Genting? Can the EV go up and come back from Genting from KL in 1 single charge? Paultan should do a Genting test for the Leaf.

• Correcto and I read before, price per KW using electricity is still higher than per KW by burning petrol.

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 22, 2021 at 10:01 am

1. Yes, it is recommended to have 3 phase wiring for EV car due to high power voltage needed.

2. If you job need to travel more than 500km in 2 days it is not ideal for your to have EV due to lack of infra.

3. EV car has no problem to go Genting and back. Going up Genting drawing more energy however downhill time the battery is being charged by regenerative braking system. But it still depend from where you going Genting. If coming from Ipoh then surely not enough, but if from any of KL it has no problem for round trip.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 21, 2021 at 4:42 pm

You are looking at this solely as a consumer and you are not incorrect. It’s a chicken and egg issue.

However, most of our concerns go further. We are talking about the entire industry and how we as a country fit in the global industry.

Loosing competitiveness and the clear lead early on is a sure way of loosing out in the long run. FDI create jobs and technological transfers. It can also bring in export incomes if vehicles are made here and exported to regional markets.

History will repeat. Malaysia will just tax the hell out of EV CBUs to protect our homegrown offerings, if any. Good luck ever owning an EV, at least one that is globally competitive.

Like it or not, electrification is the way to go.

• Read my comment below (ref: Gary on Feb 21, 2021 at 1:52 am)

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 23, 2021 at 12:52 am

We want EV cars that can travel min 400km per charge and take only 10 mins to recharge from 10 to 100% like how long we take when refuel petrol. Boleh tak kita dapat EV macam ni?

• There’s a lot of problem with ICE Vehicle when people are riding horses last time, sometimes they break your hands starting the car. For god sake, they still think it’s worthy to build roads, petrol stations and all the infrastructure needed for it.
        But I do agree with you on not moving forward for EV. If we can dig all the fossil fuels that are available, why bother to dig something else for batteries? We don’t live in the sea, environment destruction there is not related to us, right?

• Abang Long on Feb 20, 2021 at 6:30 pm

Automotive world moving forward? Automotive development and technology are rapidly changing by the day?

No worries guys, becoz our Govt very steady one, and always believe “Kita ikut acuan kita sendiri”.

• Copy Paste on Feb 20, 2021 at 7:04 pm

Copy paste: “There won’t be any incentives for EV when we still have Msians going gaga over an ICE car that was just launched yesterday. When such an outdated tech can wow Msians, why should our Govt care to incentivise us to move on?”

• I don’t blame Malaysia for being slow for EV, there is no infrastructure for the charging system and to make matters worse, hot weather is very detrimental to the battery system.

The carbon emission maybe neutal, but the truth is much higher from the production of electricity to the disposal of battery waste.

Countries like Indonesia and Thailand will support EV as they don’t produce as much oil as Malaysia thus need alternative fuel, Indonesia has the raw material for batteries but if there is no infrastructure then the mining of the raw material will only be exported thus no benefit to the economy.

Thailand, is because its the Michigan of SEA, to keep this status it needs to offer incentives to keep the automotive companies keen and interest to invest further. But if automotive leaves Thailand and no tourists then the GDP of the country will be affected significantly.

Just my understanding

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Facts are wrong on the oil bit, after all our own oil and gas products are almost never used locally, the low sulphur content means they fetch a higher price elsewhere. What we use are middle east imports that we refine for local use. Thailand is in fact the largest producer in SEA and PTT Thailand is the largest oil company in Sea.

Malaysia is slow because we flip flop on our policies, each administration trying to outdo the other by creating new policies and constantly U turning. A good policy has a 5 10 15 and 20 year road map with clear metrics and targets to achieve within specific time lines which shall be reviewed for effectiveness from time to time. We have none here in Malaysia with the fools running putrajaya, none of whom are qualified to run a company let alone a country. MCO is already a good enough example.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • Using oil to buy oil still comes back to our domestic usage no?

We had a roadmap for EV. Once. We tried oh yes, not to say we didn’t. Remember Greentech? How did that went after Pakatan tookover? Became silent as a door knob. Anything came after that? Nothing. Nada. Zilch. When Pakatan revised NAP back in 2019, did they lay out clear policies for hybrids & EV takeup? No, A lot of talk and jargons but hazy in direction much like how they ran the country. They were more focused on 3rd national car and *gasp* flying cars, which are thankfully dead today.

Maybe you’re right about that flip-flop but I don’t mind us not being saddled with yet another disastrous national car project and worse the utterly fantastical flying cars.

Who knows, maybe later, when the Govt has more stability, they should just scrap NAP 2020 and redo with clearer policies for EV adoption built in from the start.

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 22, 2021 at 10:46 am

I do have similar thinking last time but in fact cold weather is worse than hot due to lithium-ion batteries are more sluggish in extreme temperatures (cold temperatures impact their ability to store and release energy). Plus in winter time we need to switch on heating system. Heating system actually consuming more energy than cooling system.

Thailand support to EV because fuel price expensive whie Indonesia support EV as to grab the chance to become one of the main hub for EV export country. Fuel in Indonesia is 20-30% more than Malaysia while Thailand nearly double.

Malaysia did not promote much due to government tax heavily rely on petroleum tax and new internal combustion engine car duty. EV car is different where country will support incentive rather than impose tax.

• Avenger on Feb 22, 2021 at 12:36 pm

This is the sole reason Indo is attractive for EV making.
        https://paultan.org/2021/02/05/indonesia-rich-in-nickel-has-received-an-investment-proposal-from-tesla-focus-is-on-making-ev-batteries/

• Covid conspiracy on Feb 20, 2021 at 9:40 pm

Not just flip flop unclear policies, Malaysia no longer attractive
    1. Protection to national cars
    2. Malaysia reluctant to EV will still rely on gas because of Petronas
    3. Malaysia is weak when it comes to export markets

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 20, 2021 at 10:57 pm

road tax for full ev cars are ridiculous… what incentives?

• Roadtax price is the least of concerns when considering an EV mate. See mine above.

• paparadzi on Feb 21, 2021 at 1:20 am

I’m very concerned about the road tax. The ICE road tax is already quite scary if you go above 3000 cc. The EV road tax is based on power output, and it starts to get ridiculous at around 200 hp. As I hope to get a decent EV in the future, yes I am worried about the road tax structure.

• Lets See on Feb 21, 2021 at 12:59 pm

The problem with EVs are how they are being marketed today as some sorta performance cars, If EVs can be toned down to 100+HP similar to a family ICE car rating, this is not gonna be a problem, right?

• Hasan on Feb 22, 2021 at 9:45 am

100+ horsepower is underpowered. It has FJ be 200 horsepower minimum especially with how heavy EVs are. Let’s not encourage more underpowered cars …

• Avenger on Feb 22, 2021 at 12:39 pm

Why do people complaint a 100Hp would be underpowered but never seen how a fully loaded Myvi goes. EV motor can output large amount of torque so pulling power is not an issue.

• MARii should put all their effort and focus on bringing the Malaysian automotive industry to be competitive. They are too busy with other irrelevant things.

• Ahmad on Feb 21, 2021 at 10:58 am

Signing Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) is their only KPI. so no problem

• Caveman on Feb 21, 2021 at 1:00 am

Simple really, because EV is too hi-tech and Malaysia is afraid and unable to compete financially and technologically. Therefore EV engineering talent in the country will brain drain to countries that support EV, creating a vicious cycle that leaves the country in the stone age.

• Chicken and egg. EV tech haven’t yet drop down to affordability levels for the man on the streets (aka Saga prices), with that said you may ask why not make purely for the export market but it would take at least 10 years for a brand to build its credentials overseas. How would it survive a decade or more without local demand?

Tesla took nearly 17 years to turn a profit but they survived thanks to bottomless wallets of venture capitalists. Here it would turn to our(taxpayer) pockets and our pockets would koyak if we tried to replicate Tesla.

Our previous leaders were too intent on making us to be the enablers via NAP 2020 but they forgot to set policies on turning us into users firstly. They wanted to walk 2 steps forward without taking the first step.

• Ahmad on Feb 21, 2021 at 11:01 am

Which group of pipu or which part in ‘Malaysia’ is afraid and unable to compete. Bro Caveman, care to elaborate?

• Lets See on Feb 21, 2021 at 1:06 pm

Probably meant the OEM parts makers and the local carmakers. Proton had Iriz EV ready but market demand is not there. Perodua, no need to talk totally kosong still waiting Toyota to wahayukan EV for them to rebadge.

• Caveman on Feb 23, 2021 at 3:26 am

The government, the local manufacturers.

Tesla is the world’s biggest pure EV manufacturer. In 2020, it sold 500,000 units and was un-profitable, if you minus subsidies.

Proton sells 100k cars in a year, how on earth can they compete with a brand like Tesla. Tesla model 3 is $35k USD/140k RM, which Malaysian would buy a Proton EV over a Tesla? How on earth can Proton compete with VW ID, Tesla, Chinese brands like BYD, Nio which have infinite money from investors and governments.

Simple really, don’t compete, tax the hell out of foreign competitors and just live hand to mouth in your own little bubble of a country and pretend EVs dont exist. That’s what’s gonna happen just like they did with ICE and Proton, Perodua. That’s why so many of my highly educated classmates left for greener pastures overseas.

• Mensa on Feb 21, 2021 at 1:17 am

All Malaysia needs to do is remove all duties on EVs for CKD electric vehicles again

• All Malaysia needs to do is scrap NAP 2020 and redo with clearer directions on EV (for the users, for the infra provider, for the makers, for the industry).

• hahaha on Feb 21, 2021 at 12:30 pm

Scrap NAP 2020 and redo with clearer directions on EV. But the exact same group of ppl sit in NAP 2020 and redo NAP 2030… Garbage in Garbage out. Tengkiu gomen terbest!!

• the driver on Feb 21, 2021 at 10:12 am

Malaysia, just stay the course and don’t get too involved in the EV race. The immediate beneficiaries aren’t the rakyat actually because this is not like environmental expediency where every rakyat benefits from a better infrastructure but only those who can afford the EV cars to begin with. if we chase the EV tech, are we going to be holders of some new EV technology? Unlikely, so best we follow.

• karim on Feb 23, 2021 at 9:02 am

Exactly the type of thinking of most locals.

Why become a high income nation if we can already have 3 meals and a roof?

For F sake, it’s Malaysia , not Singapore, Malaysia lacks ambition to be the leader of anything. This guy is just telling the truth of the country.

• Gopinath Muruti on Feb 21, 2021 at 11:34 am

I fell in love with EV vehicles after I got the chance to drive one while I was in Europe a few years back. When I am back in Malaysia, I miss EV vehicles since it is very expensive to own one here, and additionally our country lacks a nationwide charging infrastructure. I hope our government provides subsidies and incentives which can encourage our local and foreign car manufacturers to produce energy-efficient vehicles such as EV and hybrid vehicles for our local market. Additionally, our government should also encourage rakyat to buy energy-efficient vehicles by giving them rebates, discounts, or tax incentives during the purchase. I will believe EV is the future of the automotive industry in the coming years and we do not want our country Malaysia to be left behind in the EV race.

• Lets See on Feb 21, 2021 at 1:15 pm

Energy efficient cars can be in all forms and not be an EV. Perodua cars are all EEV-certified but are any of them EV? No. Until EVs can be made as cheap as Axia, any assistance on EV will just benefit the rich users. We’re not there yet, the Iriz EV was estimated to cost 80k so it is a good 30k on top.

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 21, 2021 at 1:43 pm

Giving so many incentives to buy EV, where do government earn their income to support these EV incentive scheme. Europe countries can do so because every single one being taxed GST or VAT plus very high personal income tax. Malaysia majority people are not paying tax, and petroleum companies are so important as every year these companies contribute tens of billion tax to government. Unless GST comes back to cover the lost of income from petroleum companies, otherwise it is very hard to promote EV.

• EdwinL on Feb 22, 2021 at 12:45 am

The article here is incentives more for carmakers and battery manufacturers to support the country to be the region’s EV hub, instead of consumer incentives to buy EV. Losing to Thailand military rule and, Indonesia fractious rule.

• Ayam Kampung on Feb 21, 2021 at 12:26 pm

Maybe our leaders are busy getting super rich for themselves & their families.

• Chee Peng on Feb 21, 2021 at 1:00 pm

Don’t invent the wheel. No need to think hard how to lay out the roadmap. Copy what other countries are doing, like set the deadline to phase out all sales of petrol car, a total number of charging station to build, incentives for EV buyers, lower road tax, attract more EV players into the country. Just copy and execute.

• Guest on Feb 21, 2021 at 1:25 pm

If most Malaysians start using EV and hybrid cars in a large scale already, then the govt will start losing money because less people are buying fuel. That’s why the govt is taxing EV and hybrids like crazy to prevent citizens to buy those kinds of vehicles.

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 21, 2021 at 1:38 pm

Unless government reinsert GST to cover the losses of taxes, without this it is extremely hard for Malaysia government to push EV to citizens. Every year petroleum companies are paying tens of billion of taxes to government, where by EV is using electric and only TNB benefited and yet TNB is under government. They can’t charge high rate of electricity if global fuel price is low. It will not make sense if 1km of EV is RM 0.20 if a petrol power Merc E class is less than RM 0.20. The people rather drive the ICE and ignore EV.

Malaysia government hard to source the income when majority citizens are not paying income tax and yet government losing much taxes in SST compare to GST time. Government simply not afford to lose the tax from petroleum companies.

• lchan on Feb 21, 2021 at 1:40 pm

Nothing new. As long as NEP policy is in place, we will never progress forward.

• Not Toyota Fan on Feb 21, 2021 at 2:11 pm

Gone are the days when we were one of the Asian tiger economy, all that came crashing down in 1997. Till today 2021, we have yet to recover from this crash and probably won’t ever.

Today we lag behind countries that were truly third world back in 1997, countries such as Vietnam, Indonesia & maybe Thailand. They have steadfast improve themselves while we stood still, basking in our past glory, trumpeting our past achievements with nary a thought given to the future.

This systematic failure to plan for the future is seen throughout the entire spectrum, not just only the automotive industry. Too much brash talk of future policies but many will not see the light of day. Some policies are fantastic fantasy to dupe simpleton voters who can’t distinguished wheat from the chaff.

Sadly, I see no way out of this predicament as 63 years of brainwashing and dumbing down can’t be reversed overnight, nor is there the will to reverse it. The ultimate motive? Just ask “Cui bono?”

• Brian on Feb 21, 2021 at 6:31 pm

We were never considered one of Asian tigers, that was just brainwashing propaganda from you know who. We only had a brief spurt of double digit growth for a mere 10 years while the real Tigers had been having double digits 10-20 years before us. Anyhoo on one side we have a failed NAP from the 80s and the other side is a brand new floozy NAP with fantastical policies that are vague in execution much like their election promises.

• pomen on Feb 21, 2021 at 3:23 pm

Impressive plain realiti, Terbaek. *Best 2021 PT.org komen*

• Incentive to EV may promote Automotive industries and its supplies chain to land in Malaysia. Malaysia has a more competitive manufacturing chain especially in contract manufacturing and electronic may have added advantage in such policy. EV industry may uplift the technical competency of Malaysian and promote employment.

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 21, 2021 at 5:47 pm

No sh** Sherlock. Even with this report nothing’s gonna be done and we’ll be stuck like this forever. Next!

• C.P. MOHAN on Feb 21, 2021 at 8:44 pm

Malaysia have invested heavily in fossil fuel (oil) and related jobs which requires less in a clean/green environment hence may effect economic and government stability.

• Ahmadjr on Feb 21, 2021 at 9:25 pm

The future is hydrogen not ev

• mike Moto on Feb 21, 2021 at 10:40 pm

What about EV kapcai motorcycles first? since majority of us riding around. and I dont mean those e-bicycles ridden by aunties to pasar. Real EV kapcais that can last 100km a charge.

• cabaiperawit on Feb 22, 2021 at 12:53 am

Now i know, paultan is for car buyers or car enthusiasm only.

• AZAMIRUDDIN AHMAD on Feb 22, 2021 at 8:06 am

I suggest government review again roadtax vs engine size. Its already 2021 and this engine size tax is ridiculous.

• Avenger on Feb 22, 2021 at 10:45 am

EV has no engine so does it mean zero roadtax? But it also uses the road just as any other vehicle.

• Hameed Koyakuti on Feb 22, 2021 at 10:24 am

Investment come togather with the introduction of Omnibus Law.

Would we sacrifice our worker and country just for the sake of investment??? Nope…..

• newme on Feb 22, 2021 at 11:21 am

“The country wants to be the region’s EV hub by 2025”

The country wants to be a lot of hub.
    Automotive Hub
    EV hub
    IT hub
    Halal hub
    Furniture hub
    Agriculture hub
    Education hub
    SEA hub
    Research hub
    Travel hub
    Covid 19 vaccine hub

dan macam-macam hub lagi. Which hub are we in already?

• Gracke on Feb 22, 2021 at 12:53 pm

Elon Musk promise wanna make EV Tesla price as low as and as affordable as possible each year!……..but our government sell it over RM400k!!!!!!
    It’s not lag, is totally rubbish!!!!!

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 23, 2021 at 12:57 am

Elon Musk is full of shit and biggest penipu scammer if you really see what he says

• Skeptik on Feb 23, 2021 at 8:52 am

Elon Musk doesn’t care about Malaysia, he’s never heard of Malaysia. He will never walk on Malaysian soil. South Africa is a lot like Malaysia, and he said he disliked his home country and never went back.

On the internet, he might have power. But in real life Malay society is your boss. Malay society wants you to earn a meager wage and drive a Proton or a motorcycle, pump Petronas and speak Malay. There is no room for EV or Tesla in that equation.

If you don’t like it, leave. And I mean that in the most sincere way possible.