Toyota promises 10 EVs for Indonesia, invests RM8 bil

Toyota has announced that it will be investing an additional 28 trillion rupiah (RM8 billion) in Indonesia, the sum of which will be spread until 2024. According to CNN Indonesia, the extra capital will be used to produce a range of hybrid and electric cars, including the rumoured Innova Hybrid.

Toyota Motor Corporation Asia Region CEO, Yoichi Miyazaki added that the automaker will introduce no less than 10 electric vehicle models for Indonesian customers over the next five years. These cars are already being prepared, but exactly what models they are remains to be seen.

Toyota Motor Manufacturing Indonesia’s director of administration, corporation and external relations, Bob Azam explained that Toyota would begin producing hybrid cars in the country by 2022. Again, there were no specific mentions of any car models, but they will either be a brand new hybrid model, or one based on existing models in the line-up.

“In 2022, we will produce hybrid models. New hybrids or hybridise existing models so that they can keep the supply chain there and new technology can be adopted, especially since these models have already been accepted in the export market,” Bob said in December 2020.

The cars Bob supposedly referred to were the aforementioned Innova Hybrid and Fortuner Hybrid, but he has yet to confirm this. The report suggested that, since both the Innova and Fortuner share the same Innovative International Multi-purpose Vehicle (IMV) platform, it’s likely that the pair will be among the earliest ones to be electrified.

Besides that, Toyota will also be ramping up its engine production capacity to 411,000 units annually (up from 250,000 units currently), plus the expansion of its export destinations to 20 additional countries, bringing the tally to 100 destinations by 2024. Miyazaki said Toyota is currently preparing Indonesia as its export hub, not just for ASEAN but also other countries.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Rosman on Mar 15, 2021 at 5:41 pm

Syabas Toyota.. having the proud nation supplying EV battery materials to Toyota and Panasonic…

• Moodin on Mar 15, 2021 at 5:47 pm

Jemin, pls answer in the next cabinet meeting why msia lost this FDI to indon. We’re you too busy playing backside?

• AJibkor on Mar 16, 2021 at 1:08 pm

Rilek jemin boy, now you in my camp. Chill

• Simple reason; they have cobalt & nickel and we don’t. You think they go there to give jobs to Indonesians? Lmao!

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 15, 2021 at 5:48 pm

So this is where the outflow of our KLCI FDI went to.

• YB Albert on Mar 15, 2021 at 6:41 pm

Bolehland can only watch in disbelief that auto giant Toyota has picked our neighbour for such a much needed money spinning machine.
    If our planners cant wake up,I think we will always be toying with ‘flying cars” only,which is a myth.

• Toyota, Tesla, et al also promises unmitigated epic environmental disaster with EV battery production and usage but its not like they are going to tell anyone that eh?

• Why are big car makers choose Indonesia and Thailand as manufacturing hub?

• We have a lot of catching up to do. on Mar 16, 2021 at 12:20 pm

And here we are, the “tiger” of South East Asia, falling behind in everything to our “less developed” neighbours.

• Aura89 on Mar 16, 2021 at 4:52 pm

South East Asia is all about shared prosperity, no need to be envious rather we should be happy everyone in SEA is going up and becoming richer. Love thy neighbour and thou shalt prosper.

• Not envious. on Mar 17, 2021 at 10:10 am

Not envious, more like, disappointment?

I rather we grow together with our neighbours and prosper together as a region together, as oppose to right now where we’re stagnant and losing investments.