May 2021 Malaysian vehicle sales down by 19.4%

The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) has released vehicle sales date for the month of May 2021. It announced earlier today that a total of 46,663 vehicles were delivered last month, which is 11,249 units (or 19.4%) less than the 57,912 units sold in April.

Nonetheless, last month’s total was nearly double that of the corresponding month in 2020, when 23,366 units were shifted, making for an improvement of 23,297 units (99.7%) this year. As for year-to-date numbers, the 245,932 units managed in the first five months of the year is 117,142 units (90.9%) more than the 128,790 units that were recorded in the same period last year.

The MAA attributed the dip in sales last month to a number of factors, including the nationwide implementation of the third movement control order (MCO 3.0) in the second week of May as well as from having a shorter working month due to the Hari Raya Aidilfitri festive period. It said that the global chip shortage continued to affect production – and sales – of some makes.

With the country being under full lockdown for the entire month and showrooms – as well as production plants – closed for the duration, the association said that June’s numbers will be almost non-existent, save for the carrying forward of May registration units not invoiced in the month.

The only bright spot is that the sales tax exemption, which was supposed to have ended on June 30, has again been extended to the end of the year, so sales should remain somewhat positive until December.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Angry Voters on Jun 19, 2021 at 1:16 am

Down 20%! MITI minister sez Ekonomi dah pulih… PNipu PNgkhianat pNderhaka!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 48
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 19, 2021 at 11:25 am

People are buying second hand cars in drove…our economy is still sustainable and manageable…we can survive the pandemic…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 15
      • History Bender on Jun 19, 2021 at 12:33 pm

How to survive?? Our gahmen kelam kabut. DS Ismail Sabri dah tutup pintu depan tapi.. tuan yg di Pintu belakang??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
        • Sick & Tired on Jun 20, 2021 at 12:33 pm

tepat tuan… I rate the Government performance, an A for awesome but rate the rakyat E for excellent.

• Dr Strange on Jun 20, 2021 at 10:23 pm

The ship is sinking, the rats are fleeing!

• Logical Deduction on Jun 22, 2021 at 12:17 pm

PN becomes rat free, meanwhile PH becomes rat infested?

• Recond Alphards stagnation on Jun 22, 2021 at 2:50 pm

But too many used car dealers begging for sale to dispose off their overstocked vehicles

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 19, 2021 at 3:52 pm

Betui betui betui! Even our excellency para doktors have said we should not so hardup for new elections before we stabilise but certain factions pushing hard to topple caring one. PembodoH, PemboHong, PengHasut, PengkHianat, PenderHaka, PemusnaH.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 48
      • Sick & Tired on Jun 21, 2021 at 10:09 am

What nonsense are you talking about!? Caring government, my foot la!

• Sick & Tired on Jun 21, 2021 at 3:41 pm

Sori gaisss…. I thought it was talking about Selangor government, that one memang tak boleh pakai.
          So sori gaiss lets continue support our caring federal government!

• alt ctrl del on Jun 21, 2021 at 4:21 pm

You must have mistaken paultan.org automotive news website for politics.org lah…

• Sick&Tired on Jun 19, 2021 at 11:27 am

I thought ah wee said car sales not affected by MCO!? This guy is the worst transport minister ever!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 47
    • YB Albert on Jun 19, 2021 at 11:44 am

Your Excellency Sick n Tired,the dude is like Donald trump..covid will go away…when infact 600,000 Americans are dead by now.
      In psychology…if Sigmund freud is alive today,he will be at a loss of words,how to describe people who speak reversal of facts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
      • Speak for yourself, I wonder what Freud would say to someone who replies his own comments. Schizophrenia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
        • alt ctrl del on Jun 21, 2021 at 8:14 am

Same goes to those who thumbs up their own comments multiple times

• Why So Serious on Jun 21, 2021 at 3:45 pm

Same goes to those who thumbs down others comments multiple times

• Sick&Tired on Jun 19, 2021 at 6:46 pm

Please don’t give Wee Wee that much credit! I would pick Donald Trump over him any day! At least Trump provides free entertainment!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
        • Sick & Tired on Jun 19, 2021 at 10:33 pm

You sure love replying your own don’t you? Real sick & tired of these crap tin kosong comments.

• Sick&Tired on Jun 21, 2021 at 10:13 am

Who ask you to read? Nothing better to do ah? Oh yeah, I forgot, so many months MCO, that’s why u so free to read my comments. Wonder why we having so many mco’s despite having a ‘caring and wonderful’ government!

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 19, 2021 at 3:53 pm

Dr Wee is doing a great job. If you cannot read title properly, that is not his fault you know
      https://paultan.org/2021/06/15/used-car-sales-unaffected-by-pandemic-wee-ka-siong/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 23
      • Karam Singh on Jun 19, 2021 at 9:00 pm

Ppl losing jobs. Or shut business down. They had to sell their expensive 150k cars.. but still need a car to move. So They are buying cheaper used car. Like 30k myvi Or city/vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
        • Crony on Jun 20, 2021 at 9:52 pm

The rich suffers? Who cares, they aren’t going to die. The poor is taken care of and that is most important as human race.

• Copy Paste on Jun 21, 2021 at 2:06 am

Copy paste: “Lol. Meanwhile DOSM reported latest unemployment rate drop down to 4.6%, in other countries it is doubled or tripled that numbers….”

• Sick&Tired on Jun 21, 2021 at 10:10 am

Dei how to transfer name if puspakom is not open!? Ah wee will inspect the car personally ah?

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 21, 2021 at 5:00 pm

Dr Wee is doing a great job. If you cannot article properly, that is not his fault you know
          “All JPJ counters handling ownership change (tukar hak milik) will be closed, but online transactions can be done via e-auto or MyEG.”
          https://paultan.org/2021/06/01/jpj-puspakom-apad-to-close-during-fmco-60-days-leeway-for-lesen-road-tax-name-change-on-myeg-only/

• Vader on Jun 19, 2021 at 10:35 pm

Dr Wee will tell you to go see a doctor and get your eyes checked if you have problem reading bruhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • YB Albert on Jun 19, 2021 at 11:36 am

The semi and total lockdown ,starting somewhere in May, may prolong till somewhere in July/August.By that time,perhaps a partial lockdown applies once the covid cases fall below 4000 cases daily.But one never know if the cases skyrocket again due to blatant non compliance of sops.
    So,with this kind of scenario,do car buyers have the appetite to buy new cars? Jobs and survival of businesses are hanging by a thread.
    Of course,there will be people who are loaded with spare cash/loan ability.
    Hopefully,people will remember ” Buy the hat according to the size of your head” wise saying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • Oh puhlezzz don’t lump us all into your predicament. The fact of matter is PaulTan ACE2021 successful multimillion transactions showed there is pent up demand for cars – lotsa cars – from all segments.

On top the Govt is extending SST free until end December, I’m getting my downpayment money in November so this is great news for me lol, still feeling impatient though because I really hope my preferred brand can do something about the shortages and long waiting time by November.

So another point to disprove your comment… the long waiting lists from many car brands, that some even vent their fruss waiting for their beloved Protons X50 and X70. For people to have such emotions for their undelivered cars, and a Proton too,… that showed real and honest to goodness demand… real hard demand for new cars and lotsa more new cars.

Appetite? There isn’t enough to go around here! We are hungry for more cars! Give it to us! Give it to us!

WE WANT MOAR!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 27
    • alive n kicking on Jun 21, 2021 at 8:05 am

Save your money for more rainy days ahead…

• Everyman on Jun 21, 2021 at 8:06 am

“Don’t bite off more than you can chew.”

• MCO Secukup Rasa on Jun 19, 2021 at 12:01 pm

No matter new car or old car……how to sell/buy cars, when test-driving also cannot bcoz MCO.
    (Maybe I can test-drive Ford Raptor. ;))

• Sick&Tired on Jun 19, 2021 at 6:48 pm

No dude! Exceptions are only be made for VIPs. Us regular folks have to comply! No chance given!

• Dredd on Jun 20, 2021 at 12:33 pm

Yet people complaint when kena saman Rm10,000 for breach of SOP. I guess tight enforcement means RM 100,000 saman. Then people won’t complain about SOP & enforcement. Dredd agrees.

• You can waze Juru Ford.

• June’s number will be non-existent. Wow, car sales have become extinct in Malaysia. Another pencapaian.

• Unknown on Jun 20, 2021 at 2:43 am

No duhh!! Do we want loss of business of loss of lives if we hadn’t lockdown? Demand will still be there post-lockdown so let’s be patient.

• Sick&Tired on Jun 21, 2021 at 11:45 am

What lockdown are you talking about!? So many businesses are still running! This is suppose to be a complete lockdown!

I am also pissed off because the useless transport minister is saying that used car sales are doing well even during mco. My question to him is how can used car sales be doing well when can’t even transfer name because puspakom is not operating and also how are people going to buy used cars when the showrooms are closed and you cant test drive (unless you are a VIP, rules do not apply to u). I know you can still buy online, but would you buy a used car without test driving and viewing the actual car?

Just he honest. And if you want to have a full lockdown, make sure everything is shut down. We have been having mco’s since the beginning of the year, and where has it gotten us? Only those who are delusional will say that the government is doing a good job.

I admit that I am a PH supporter, but when do they something wrong (flip flop a few times), I will make sure to also screw them. Don’t just blindly support.

• Sick & Tired on Jun 21, 2021 at 4:56 pm

Sori Kunta but you are well known PH diehard supporter here, I never saw you ever screw them during 22 months gagal kerajaan. Still trying to justify your existence with flimsy reasoning? My foot la!

• C.P. MOHAN on Jun 19, 2021 at 8:40 pm

Maybe drop due to the extension or likewise have the car sales been skewed by the temporary abolishment of the SST.

• Skewed or not, it helps. Which is why Indonesia & Thailand are copying our playbook

• Sick&Tired on Jun 21, 2021 at 10:15 am

So many PN ‘supporters’ here! Let’s have a meaningful discussion. I just have 1 question:-

1) If the PN government is so great, why are the cases so high compared to other countries until we have to go through multiple mco’s since the beginning of the year?

• Copy Paste on Jun 21, 2021 at 4:58 pm

Copy paste: “You must have mistaken paultan.org automotive news website for politics.org lah…”

• Dr Strange on Jun 21, 2021 at 5:11 pm

UK is still under lockdown due to resurgence of Delta variant.
      Aussie have gone thru umpteen lockdowns and still have cases.
      Singapore is on lockdown (AGAIN!) how many time la.
      Japan Olympic still very uncertain due to covid cases going back up.
      India, no need to say. Die case.
      WHO leaders lambasting the rich nations for hoarding unused vaccines.
      Europe is having football tournament but many of my health experts peers are expecting covid cases to rise in those respective countries after that is over.

If the world nations are so greater than Msia, why are cases there going higher and their R naught far surpass our own?

• Dredd on Jun 22, 2021 at 11:29 pm

Covid numbers in Msia manipulated high. Darurat with no parlimen only to keep the current failed gahmen..Dredd agrees.

• Why So Serious on Jun 23, 2021 at 4:25 pm

Agreed. All other hide their covid numbers ie SG stopped reporting after hitting 100,000. The world is manipulating the rest.

• Dong gor on Jun 21, 2021 at 11:41 am

Removing sales tax alone is not enough.. Offer more from the excise duty bucket! Think win win