2021 Honda City vs Toyota Vios in Malaysia – sportiest RM106k e:HEV RS hybrid and RM95k GR Sport shown

The Honda City and Toyota Vios have been fierce rivals over the past few decades, and while the advent of affordable national SUVs means that they aren’t the industry titans they once were, the arrival of two brand-new models is still a very big deal. Here, we have the top-of-the-range variants, offering the sportiest looks and the highest-performing powertrains (well, sort of).

In the H corner, you have the all-new fifth-generation City sedan, seen here in RS trim with the novel e:HEV hybrid system. Challenging it for top honours for the T brand is the third-generation Vios in its latest facelifted guise, dressed to the nines in full GR Sport garb – it’s the first model to wear the badge here.

Despite its much sportier design, it’s the Vios that’s the cheapest of the two, retailing at RM95,294 on-the-road without insurance. The high-tech, high-voltage City is a full RM10,000 dearer, coming in at a steep RM105,950. Both prices include a full sales and service tax (SST) rebate, as they are CKD locally assembled – the Honda in Pegoh, Melaka, the Toyota in Shah Alam.

Let’s start with the headline figures first. The City technically holds the power advantage with a total system output of 126 PS, but not without a few caveats. Most of the time, the car is motivated by a torquey 108 PS/253 Nm electric motor, while its 98 PS/127 Nm 1.5 litre Atkinson-cycle i-VTEC four-cylinder engine is used mainly as a generator to charge the battery and juice the motor.

The petrol mill can also clutch in via a single-speed transmission to drive the car directly at higher speeds, where it is most efficient. The car can also engage both power sources when more oomph is required, such as when overtaking – that’s when the e:HEV RS reaches maximum power.

The Vios trades all that complexity for a relatively simple 1.5 litre Dual VVT-i four-pot, shared with the rest of the range and producing 107 PS at 6,000 rpm and 140 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm. Sure, it’s a little old-school and the figures don’t exactly jump off the page, but there are no electrics and no fuss.

A CVT once again takes up transmission duties, but it’s been retuned for the GR Sport. The number of virtual ratios has increased from seven to ten, accessible in the upgraded Sport mode that also holds onto gears for longer before “shifting up”. You can also take manual control using either the paddle shifters or the gearlever.

As mentioned, the City is all-new from the ground up, sharing its bones with the latest Jazz (unfortunately not sold here) and new HR-V. Its honey-I-shrunk-the-FC-Civic design has been augmented with the RS (short for Road Sailing, apparently) kit that includes a honeycomb grille, a black grille bar, finned fog light surrounds and a sportier rear bumper design with a fake carbon fibre diffuser. Completing the aesthetic are 16-inch alloy wheels in a two-tone finish instead of the V variant‘s all-silver affair.

The Vios retains the same fluid design as before, but with a new front fascia that provides a more aggressive (and, dare I say it, handsome) appearance. Gone is the massive grin of the outgoing model, replaced by a downturned maw that goes well with the slim upper grille and trapezoidal headlights – now fitted with LEDs as standard across the range.

The Toyota is also the sportier-looking of the two cars here, as befits the GR Sport badging. The deep chin spoiler and large fake corner air intakes give the car more than a passing resemblance to the full-fat GR Yaris, while the side and rear skirting, the gloss black “moustache” rear bumper insert and a prominent gloss black bootlid spoiler continue the theme. The multi-spoke wheels are an inch larger than on the G model (and the City RS), measuring a massive 17 inches in diameter.

Inside, the differences continue, with the City sporting a clean horizontal dashboard design and a smattering of soft-touch leather trim to improve perceived quality. The Vios, on the other hand, features the same dashboard it has used since 2018, with hard plastics, fake stitching and a conventional centre console.

Moving on to the infotainment, both models come with aftermarket head units, although the Honda’s built-in system trumps the Toyota’s double-DIN unit in terms of touchscreen size – eight inches across versus seven. However, both support Apple CarPlay and Android Auto, and the Vios also has the benefit of a 360-degree camera system instead of the City’s single reverse camera.

Both the RS and GR Sport models net you black leather-and-suede upholstery and red stitching, although the Toyota goes one further with GR headrest embroidery, a GR-branded starter button and floor mats, illuminated tread plates and a GR startup screen on the 4.2-inch multi-info display for some extra kudos. The Honda doesn’t have any of those flourishes but counters by having a seven-inch part-digital instrument cluster with hybrid-specific displays.

Honda City e:HEV RS (left) and Toyota Vios GR Sport (right)

Being range-topping models, both the City and Vios are kitted to the brim with LED headlights, fog lights and taillights, keyless entry, push-button start, single-zone automatic climate control and front arm rests. The Honda gets rear air vents and an additional two speakers (eight speakers, instead of six for the Toyota), while the Toyota receives an (optional) Qi wireless charger, front parking sensors, a front dash cam and an auto-dimming rear-view mirror; otherwise they’re even-stevens.

These cars also star on the safety front, with both coming with autonomous emergency braking and lane departure warning. The full Honda Sensing suite also adds adaptive cruise control, lane centring assist and automatic high beam. While the Vios has a blind spot monitor, the City has a LaneWatch camera, but without any warning function. A minimum of six airbags (seven for the Vios) and stability control are standard-fit.

So, which do you prefer? Are you Team Honda or Team Toyota? Sound off in the comments section after the jump. Of course, we’ve driven these cars and you can look forward to both written and video reviews of each of these two cars, so stay tuned for more.

GALLERY: Honda City e:HEV RS
GALLERY: Toyota Vios GR Sport

Learn more: ,

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• (Dude) on Oct 04, 2021 at 8:59 pm

Exterior:
    Honda City RS e:HEV
    Interior:
    None of them, both are ugly.
    Honda,
    Obvious senget misaligned non-centre screen,
    Vios,
    Outdated interior

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 55
    • Roger on Oct 04, 2021 at 11:02 pm

But vios looks more aligned, not senget

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 29
    • Hondaman on Oct 05, 2021 at 12:05 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 184 Thumb down 309
      • Sinema on Oct 05, 2021 at 8:36 am

175km/h vs 201km/h

But same acceleration

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 19
        • Faster for what, you just end up dying sooner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 95
          • Have you tried? Already tried 2 cars including Almera. For me, I would prefer Vios as first choice & second choice for Almera than City, both are high safety car. Already tried City but worried on quality not be par as those two rivals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 31
          • Aura89 on Oct 06, 2021 at 12:10 am

Nothing is that kebal at those speeds except for Proton X50.

• Sinema on Oct 05, 2021 at 8:37 am

City Hybrid vs Vios GRS
        175km/h vs 201km/h
        But same acceleration

• I honestly respect your opinion. But for Vios, interior not means everything already outdated, at least vios looks a bit premium, even seats with red stitching is too sportier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
    • X70 Buyer on Oct 05, 2021 at 8:10 am

Neither one, for your money X50 owns them all and X70 wipes the floor with them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 133
      • dumber on Oct 05, 2021 at 9:30 am

Yeah it’s like comparing Apple fruit with Durian fruit. Are you dumb Proton buyer?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 24
        • Who are you to call Paul Tan writers “dumb”?
          https://paultan.org/2021/08/24/should-you-be-comparing-cars-from-different-segments-in-malaysia-ativa-vs-x50-camry-vs-3-series/

Get your own automotive site if you think your so “smart”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 96
    • Honda look very disappointing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • Toyota fanboys got triggered. I wonder how long will take Honda fanboys to woke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 41
  • Prefer Vios. Durable and safer

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 34
    • X70 Buyer on Oct 05, 2021 at 8:18 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 248
      • Doesn’t matter. Vios is better

Sportier, powerful, safety, features, quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 27
      • Sinema on Oct 05, 2021 at 8:39 am

City looks more awkward than Vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 18
      • asshurted dugong fans on Oct 05, 2021 at 12:50 pm

Never knew so many of their kind here! Dugong army stand united, hand in hand with smashingly high like button in furious mode, triggered to defend their god brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
      • Did Lee Yin, honda navy, attempt for pressing green button many times?

• Spin Too Much on Oct 05, 2021 at 6:48 pm

Honda fanboys like many times.
          Toyota fanboys dislike many times.
          Both are well described by Brian’s comment above.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
  • Owned Vios. Run nearly 200km/h and powerful small car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 30
    • 7yrsold on Oct 06, 2021 at 8:54 am

Lol no good when ferrying more than 3 pipu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
      • So what if I carry full passenger, power will more or less same as even there are no passengers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
        • Vios when full passenger like bullock cart

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 32
          • lemasuk on Oct 07, 2021 at 10:52 am

My friend drives vios with full passengers but doesn’t feel like bullock cart. This relies on driver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • City interior have little wierd proportion and doesn’t age well that I don’t quite like

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 16
  • Roger on Oct 04, 2021 at 9:41 pm

Interesting

• Ocean on Oct 04, 2021 at 9:54 pm

Vios….hensem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 80
    • Goose neck on Oct 05, 2021 at 12:55 am

Bro, miss ur eyecheck appointment, overdesign, mimicking supermodel jinjang neck + angmoh nose lol…as if longer overhang equates better crash protection during head to head collision

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 102
    • Dante on Oct 05, 2021 at 11:03 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 226 Thumb down 387
      • Have you tried or complain? I just tried Vios GR-S, it is not underpowered. Ride and handling are better due to performance tuning with more gears, so not only GR badge. I disagree with you cause Vios is really looking good, front looks fine and interior looks clean. For City, interior doesn’t look good and not really clean. It is better for you to check your eyes. City quality is also not par than those two rivals.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 402 Thumb down 221
  • Vios is pretty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 55
  • Vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 15
  • stick on Oct 04, 2021 at 11:11 pm

oh vios, ah long’s favorite car

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 04, 2021 at 11:24 pm

Go for the Vios for a safer bet in the long run or be even wiser and wait for the all new 2022 Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 18
  • The Qi wireless charger on the vios is an optional extra.

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Oct 06, 2021 at 1:30 pm

Ah yes, you’re right, I’ve updated the article to reflect this. Thanks for pointing it out!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 04, 2021 at 11:37 pm

prefer the vios as toyota malaysia gives the lesser models safety features too…whereas honda…

• The vios does include factory fitted solar n security tint (ecotint raybarrier), which is optional extra for the city

• Ethan on Oct 05, 2021 at 12:13 am

What’s so special about this Vios compared to other Vios? Just put on makeup but underneath almost the same. Engine also same only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 61
    • Same engine. But more performance tuning like ECU, 10 speed gearbox and sport suspension.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Agree. Only haters like to complain this or that or never tried at all.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 146 Thumb down 53
    • Unravelled on Oct 05, 2021 at 11:00 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 159 Thumb down 294
      • It is better for you to study, rather you complain or hating. Not only GR badge, it is also performance tuning. Have a good day.

• Autodrone USJ on Oct 06, 2021 at 9:35 pm

Guys beri laluan, a rare occasion, since PT dominated by all male writers, a female perspective is needed in this site. Proven survey, 70% of the time, wife or mom will decide which car to buy. so ws or invite more female friends cum drivers to join this comment sector.There is a hint of honesty in her post.Joking aside, the way she throw the tantrum back to the opposing view kinda cute tho.

• Oh my god! Well, if you want to go against me, go ahead if you want. I’m very tired that some haters here still can’t accept my opinions. The more haters did that, more and more people will not know accept what hater said. It is time for haters to grow up and be mature.

No.1 – I’m not defending anyone but this is very honest, my opinion here. Everyone now are getting wiser, not following haters that haters didn’t tried or experience. They all make sure that everyone are already study or experience perfectly before buying cars, not defending brands/hating without study or tried and not haters forcing buyers not to buy good brands but buying brands that don’t know whether it is good or not.

No.2 – I am not working any of the companies. I don’t work as cars, okay? I have X70, Civic, GLC and soon going to have another one which I’m looking at now for small cars. I already tried 3 cars, Almera, Vios and City. City is totally out for sure. Worried that quality not par as two rivals. Interior doesn’t look good and not clean but comfort level is same as Almera & Vios. So only left either Almera or Vios. Both Almera & Vios are good but except that Almera is a bit expensive than Vios and City. So final choice will be Vios.

• Good comparison

• For sure Honda meh. Retrenched but still can own one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 66
  • MekMek on Oct 05, 2021 at 7:33 am

Even though I like Toyota, generally Honda is a fair brand. They have only 1 design worldwide, unlike Toyota. For example, Corolla, there are 2 different external design, different for Asia and USA. That still ok, not a big issue. Engine. Toyota have several designs in engine too, for example Camry. I know, old engine is better in reliability, but hati ada sikit sakit bila our US friends can enjoy 2.5cc engine with greater than 200hp whereas us, same (roughly) 2.5cc but lower in power (181hp). In Honda, every market got the same design, engines. Smart. But their reliability is still lower than Toyota. In general. For City vs Vios, I would buy neither of them!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • RyanT on Oct 05, 2021 at 9:38 am

I used to own 2.0NA 150hp 200NM car, every time I drove more than 3000rpm, my wife complaint why drove so fast…then I notice I don’t need high HP n NM for family cars, and it save me a lot of repair and maintenance costs for so called new tech Turbo and EV

• Please study the metric system properly on Oct 05, 2021 at 10:18 am

2.5cc or 2.5L?

• Gavlo on Oct 05, 2021 at 8:23 am

GR Team

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 13
  • simon on Oct 05, 2021 at 10:06 am

Nissan Almera : hello! Am i a joke to you?

• dong gor on Oct 05, 2021 at 1:32 pm

Agree… Almera first choice in this class.

• Ivan Tan on Oct 05, 2021 at 9:18 pm

Almera obviously is the better choice in this class but I hardly see any on the road while there are plenty of City & Vios. Wonder why.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
      • Aura89 on Oct 06, 2021 at 12:13 am

Everyone is scared of Tan Chong more than they scared of Nissan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
  • jinggo on Oct 05, 2021 at 12:53 pm

2022 Proton Persona Premium MC2 much more better.

• City have hybrid interior dark looks cool but a little over priced. Vios a good car but I dont really like the back design. In the end never buy either one. :)

• transformer on Oct 05, 2021 at 5:33 pm

not sure why, these days, best seller B segment car just has very weird side looks, very out proportions (i meant front & mid, rear & mid)…

front seem carried from its larger siblings and rear comes from other makes, its a mix match… pathetic

• ng fook meng on Oct 05, 2021 at 7:13 pm

I prefer the Vios. Proven systems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 25
  • Team Honda due to everything is NEW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 60
  • HAHAH on Oct 05, 2021 at 10:58 pm

Vios same old boring design, thought installed GR body kit is sport car but no power at all, city RS hands down more powerful only downside is the pricing but hybrid engine and Honda sensing surely attracts specific group of buyers, sorry not a fan of Toyota vios but it’s good for economic purchase, GR BIOS definitely NO for me as nothing stands out, boring!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 76
    • Your 2cent opinion. Now better for you to check your eyes and study, rather you complaining and hating. Not only GR badge, it is also performance tuning. Disagree that City RS is not as powerful as Vios GR-S. Yes can feel that acceleration feels better but City RS is not powerful as Vios GR-S

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
      • 2022 coming soon on Oct 06, 2021 at 1:48 pm

Ok la darling Jane or mr Akio closest kin in disguise, relax your muscle. Respect your nonstop (monitoring from 4rd until 6th Oct), defendish effort to reply and downvote anyone against BigTGiant. Established Giant by right sustain itself, no longer need an army right?. Don’t be brand snobbish, what are you getting in return?.On the fence sitter will open your eyes through better perspective. I know this consumed a lot of energy. Pity of you Jane* It has been too long right, why don’t you try another avenue, crossing to the other side, more are merrier and damn cooler too.
        2022 coming soon Jane

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
        • I’m not defending anyone. But some haters here didn’t study, instead haters are here just to complain or defending without studying or tried. I’m not working any of companies, not any of army here. I have X70, Civic, GLC and soon going to have another one which I’m looking at now for small cars. I already tried 3 cars, Almera, Vios and City. I gave my opinions here, also for everyone. City is totally out for sure. Worried that quality not par as two rivals. Interior doesn’t look good and not clean but comfort level is same as Almera & Vios. So only left either Almera or Vios. Both Almera & Vios are good but except that Almera is a bit expensive than Vios and City. So final choice will be Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 26
          • Kenceng on Oct 07, 2021 at 4:32 am

Yeah I also can say I have x50 , 330i, accord stapler, Almera turbo, brz…. you name it I have it all!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • distress note on Oct 08, 2021 at 3:17 pm

Miss Jane, we had a slot ready for you since last week. Call your cellphone several time, goes to voicemail. Were concern about your vision health since our first test valuation.According to our record, your eyes catches colorblind and presbyopia symptoms, failure to define certain form and color. For your own safety, steer away from any form of driving including shopping for a new car.
        Recommended to do followup test with our doctor to make sure there isn’t another problem.Please response back to reschedule specific day and time for new appointment asap.By the way, below are few tips to keep your eyes healthy:
        Eat well, quit smoking, wear sunglasses or safety eyewear, look away from computer screen, check with eyes doctor regularly, stay positive and while you’re on cellphone screen, please control your emotion and avoid an argument on social media.

• Venom79 on Oct 07, 2021 at 9:33 am

Just be realistic, Malaysia max road speed limit is 110km/h. Also that it is a family car. So no point having a higher top speed. Acceleration shift focus to torque, comes to A & H brand: Turbo charged engine is good at this area but turbo engines tends to spoil (gasket leaks due to higher stress in engine block) & eat engine oil. Also there will be turbo time lag. While hybrid, people will be over-concern on hybrid battery reliability. However this wouldn’t be an issue since Honda gave 5year warranty. In additional, EV is coming in soon. So this issue will be goner, after market batteries might have bigger capacity. Which in terms spell even better fuel economy. Replacement battery will be cheaper in price then. All and all, there is no right & wrong; which car you pick now. Sooner or later, there will be new companies pop up to convert combustion engine car to EV. So for those kaki racer & sport car owner, hold-on to your favourite sport car (as they dont make that kind of chassis anymore).

• Even. 7 years old kid knows his father’s car won’t reach advertised top speed when carry full passengers , very much needed on highway cruising and overtaking

• And yes higher hp and torque = lesser time to overtake = lesser probability to go wrong ie being knocked by car behind

Plus lesser stressful driving with a lot of llow and mid range rpm power under hood especially turbocharged cars

• Ranking reliable engines with cost:
      1. Naturally aspirated engines
      2. Hybrid
      3. Turbo engines
      4. Pure electric

• But it is still safer to drive ICE car than hybrid. Both City and Vios are nice but hybrid battery replacement is expensive, not worth to buy and qc issues for City.

• Steven wong on Nov 07, 2021 at 11:15 am

It’s a different ball game, hybrid Vs NA engine,

• Steven wong on Nov 07, 2021 at 11:15 am

It’s a different ball game, hybrid Vs NA engine