Proton sales up 28.7% in October 2021 – 13,362 units delivered; X50, X70 and Exora lead their segments

Proton has announced that it sold 13,362 units (including exports) in October 2021, which represents a 28.7% increase from what it managed in September 2021, while also exceeding what it managed in the same month last year (11,392 units).

According to the national carmaker, its year-to-date (YTD) sales volume now stands at 86,739 units – a 1.6% improvement over the 84,999 units recorded during the first ten months of 2020. Meanwhile, Proton’s forecasted market share for last month is estimated to be 20.5%, which is lower than the 21.3% posted in October 2020. In terms of YTD sales, the company says its market share currently stands at 22.7%.

As it has been for every month this year, the Saga continues to be the brand’s most popular model with 5,107 units delivered in October. This is the third time the model has crossed the 5,000-unit mark in 2021, although it isn’t the best-selling vehicle in the country this time around.

Proton’s SUVs continued to lead in their respective segments, with the X50 managing to achieve its best month since its launch with 3,839 units. The X70 also saw 2,165 units delivered in October, its best achievement since March this year.

As for other models in the range, the Exora continued to lead the C-segment MPV segment with 359 units sold, but the latest Iriz and Persona were badly affected by the chip shortage. The reduced production for the B-segment models meant just 1,393 units of the sedan and 497 units of the hatchback made their way to customers.

“Proton’s sales in October can be summarised as a story of strong buyer demand and unrealised sales potential. While we are happy with the continued popularity of the Proton Saga and our achievement with the two SUVs, we missed out on adding more units to our final tally as we continue ramping up our supply of components. Market demand however is expected to remain strong towards the end of year, so we are working diligently towards closing 2021 on a high note,” said Roslan Abdullah, CEO of Proton Edar.

The government’s decision to extend the SST exemption period to June 30, 2021 was also something Proton welcomed, with the company saying buyers who have been patiently waiting for their vehicles no longer need to worry about missing out on the incentives if their cars are delivered next year.

“Proton would like to thank the Malaysian government for extending the SST exemption. By doing so, it gives us a chance to fulfil the bookings we have already received and doesn’t unfairly penalise customers who are waiting due to circumstances beyond their control. We predict the extension will also help to spur sales through the first half of next year when there could be more new models introduced to the market,” Roslan commented.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• X50 Sapu Vios City 1.5L.
    X70 Sapu Civic CR-V 1.5L.

Others like Mazda2, HR-V CX-30 already missing in action long time…

• Avanza GR Cross on Nov 05, 2021 at 11:14 am

It’s time to expand into commercial vehicle segment ie. Panel Van and Pickup.
    Geely doesn’t have commercial vehicle segment?

• Sub_zero on Nov 11, 2021 at 5:55 pm

Since volvo under them they probably rebadged rather than making new one or platform sharing like x series

• Amran on Nov 05, 2021 at 11:33 am

Habeslah Ativa, Aruz & Alza. Semua dah Game Over kaw2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
    • leoRNado on Nov 08, 2021 at 7:56 am

sure mehh??.. I heard Perodua Sales in Oct went into Msia book of records as highest selling car by a brand in a mth!. 27802u Sales and 29803u manufactured in Oct 2021!

• Amran on Nov 05, 2021 at 11:51 am

Tak payah pikir, tak payah pening, beli Proton saja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
  • Family Guy on Nov 05, 2021 at 11:57 am

The reasons why Proton is clear favorite for family guys. The perception of:
    1.Good value for money
    2.Solid Proton engineered product
    3. Local smell/Malaysia’s pride
    4. Easy to repair even bengkel bawah pokok pomen can do
    5. Family legacy – father bought a Proton and grown up with a Proton constantly in the family
    6. FC
    7. Kedai potong got cheap & plenty quallitier part for my P1
    8. Cheap roadtax
    9. It is the clear our own Kegemaran Malaysia
    10. Sturdy & tough HPF body, even if got whack by some idiot I know we will be safe inside
    11. Ligthweight car
    12. Got big boot, so as a man it is very versatile and easy to haul lots of things
    13. Very reliable, constantly being refined and updated.
    14. Proven Campro tech
    15. Bullet prove
    16. Internationally collaborating refined CVT
    17. No start stop, save battery, save environment compared to other car
    18. More planted drive on road, it won’t fly and do some acrobatic manouvres into longkang (unlike TheKing especially)
    19. No teh tarik hook, dissuade using plastics. Saving the earth for future generations
    20. Nice and comfy seats for long distance drives
    21. Plenty of aftermarket part from abang to layang2
    22. A few make up can unmistakabaly convert it R3 Limited Edition hnggg version
    23. Proton superb ride & handling yet improved NVH
    24. Nice meter display cluster, more higher end than some rm100k car
    25. Last but not least, using timing belt maa, no worries on timing chain will snap. Just only need to spend rm200 on the average lifetime of this car and drive worryfree

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • number 19 on Nov 05, 2021 at 6:02 pm

I’ve used that hook for reusable bags.

• Brian on Nov 05, 2021 at 10:20 pm

That hook is too low for reusable bag, it’s pretty much useless for anything but those tapau packets.

• Depends on Nov 06, 2021 at 12:08 pm

Depends

• Lets See on Nov 06, 2021 at 5:58 pm

Depends on whether you want to save the environment or not. Having that hook only encourages 1 time use plastic bag

• number 19 on Nov 08, 2021 at 7:32 am

Yes, it depends on the car model.

• Carfan on Nov 05, 2021 at 11:58 am

Proton X50 still have 6 months waiting list. Hopefully HRV will arrive by then

• jusknittin on Nov 05, 2021 at 2:49 pm

The new HRV? Honestly, I rather wait 6 months. Ummm.. no.. actually, regardless of any other brand, I’d still wait 6 months for X50.

• Guarantee you when people see the pricelist for new HRV the waiting for X50 will stretch to 9 months.

• people still buy exora? omg

• Brian on Nov 08, 2021 at 9:45 am

The best most valued for money MPV in the market. What else is there to compare?

• Why not? Though its outdated model, but Exora still relevant (unless Proton have new lineup). I have 1st model Exora Bold (2012) and still works very fine. Engine still powerful, no krek krek dashboard sound and suit my needs. Plus latest Exora updated and improved with airbags and better refinement, the looks also still acceptable. I personally think Exora is one of Proton best produced.