Perodua sets 240k sales target for 2022, 20% increase for a ‘year of recovery’ – much shorter waiting period

Perodua, which is aiming to breach the 200k units sales mark for 2021, is targeting sales of at least 240,000 units in 2022. That’s a 40,000 unit increase, or 20% higher than the expected 200k cars registered in 2021.

President and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad said that the 240k figure is a preliminary estimate and that a more accurate forecast will be shared in late January 2022. He described 2021 is “the most challenging year so far” but 2022 is set to be “a year of recovery” for the market leader.

“We believe that the worst is behind us in terms of Covid-19 related lockdowns, insyallah, and while there are other risks in the market, we foresee the year 2022 as a year of recovery,” he told the media at the 2022 Myvi facelift drive in Johor Bahru.

“In fact, based on current information and forecasts, we foresee that we can at least reach the 240,000 registration target next year as the market stabilises and our waiting period will be reduced significantly,” Zainal added.

The P2 chief forecasts that demand for vehicles would peak in the first six months of 2022 as people will want to benefit of the sales tax exemption incentive by the government, while the second half would see demand slow. The SST exemption was first announced in June 2020 as part of the Penjana stimulus package. Originally scheduled to end on December 31 last year, it was first extended to June 30, 2021, and then to December 31, 2021. Now, it’s set to expire on June 30, 2022.

“The 240,000 registration number is important as we want to grow the Malaysian automotive ecosystem. With this growth, we expect to see auto component purchase to be back to around RM6.5 billion for next year. We will share the total number of purchased component parts for this year in January,” Zainal said.

If 240k sounds familiar, that was Perodua’s original sales target for for 2020, before Covid arrived and forced a revision to 210k (eventual sales was 220,163 units). The company set the same target for 2021, but Covid lockdowns and parts supply issues forced P2 to lower it to 214k. That will not be met – Perodua is instead looking to breach the 200k mark. Third time lucky for 240k? The company’s all-time record is 240,341 units, set in 2019.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mid of 2022 revise again to 220k

• Revised to 220k again in mid-2022.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Dec 04, 2021 at 2:51 pm

Terbaik P2! Kebanggaan negara. Ini kalilah!!

• Everyday jam. But every year nak increase sales target. Yay. Soon beli Bugatti also stuck in jam, arrive same speed like an axia hahahaha

• Sohai on Dec 04, 2021 at 4:16 pm

Good one mrDanny, whatsoever 240k or 300k sales, you only can sell at kampung with tax protection. As long as no equal competitive you are going no where with zero improvement in quality and cost towards international automotive market. The car of the Milotin Jaguh kampung award only you deserved. TQ.

• Copy Paste on Dec 06, 2021 at 10:21 am

Copy paste: “Say goodbye to Perodua and we can get better cars at cheaper prices. Simple.”

• Sohai on Dec 04, 2021 at 4:22 pm

The management is Syok Sendiri ,can you sell to Japan US or EU, the Milotin quality and cost management??? –> Vinfast Vietnam national automotive established since 2017 (only 4 years old) already exploring to USA market. Our 2 national companies decades (>20yrs) ago car automotive still going no where, decades of tines proven this as FAIL project FAIL mission FAIL strategy FAIL policy who started this.

• newme on Dec 05, 2021 at 12:59 am

Seeing P2 now reminds me of the myvi launching video. Dato Dato Dato…. bodek habis.

• Congratulations to Perodua and Proton.
    Both will deliver more rapidly in the coming recovery year.