Don’t run away from roadblocks, motorists warned

PDRM has reminded motorists to not runaway from roadblocks because doing so invites the risk of accidents and lives of the individual himself, other road users and police officers are at risk.

Traffic investigation and enforcement department (JSPT) Bukit Aman director Datuk Mat Kasim Karim said that many still take the easy way and attempt to escape roadblocks.

“The inspection is to track offences by motorists. The routine is not referring to criminal cases and there’s no need to runaway. We fear that when they escape from roadblocks, they will face even bigger risks such as being hit by other vehicles or crashing into police personnel,” he said, reported by Sinar Harian.

The top JSPT cop was commenting on the recent incident where a police officer was injured after being hit by a motorcycle ridden by a 22-year old man during a ‘snap check’ at the Sultan Yahya Petra bridge in Kota Bharu, Kelantan.

Mat Kasim said that the rider can be charged under the Police Act 1967 and Section 186 of the Penal Code for obstructing a public servant from discharging his functions, besides Section 42 of the Road Transport Act 1987 (reckless and dangerous driving). “Action can also be taken under Section 307 of the Penal Code for attempted murder, depending on the case situation,” he added.

According to Mat Kasim, the police have SOPs to follow when setting up roadblocks such as placing cones and signs, and using whistles to get motorists to stop at the designated area. Running away from a roadblock is a serious offence, he stressed.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• normally its those mat rempit that run away from rd block one.

then polis also cant do much, and those idiots get to run away and think that they get to do it forver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on May 30, 2022 at 3:01 pm

When U haven’t get caught. U’re innocent
      When U being compounded. U’re still innocent
      When U’re at all the courts. U’re still innocent
      Even if U’re being imprisoned. Continue the story
      Someday later sure people will believe U’re innocent

• Avenger on May 30, 2022 at 5:18 pm

Sounds like the story of Zorro, the Avenger of Truth & Justice

• Bieight8 on May 30, 2022 at 12:00 pm

Maybe the police should give RM 10 voucher for summon discount to encourage people to drive safely

• Voucher a.k.a Bantuan Kena Roadblock (BKR 1.0)

Can bring this matter to parliament to discuss.

• BOYRACER on May 30, 2022 at 12:37 pm

Question is WHY should you run in the first place?Why are you so afraid? Because you may do something wrong right? It is your responsibility to ensure your driving licence,road tax and insurance are valid .if you do too many modifications then what to do..your choice..

• Kawansemua on May 30, 2022 at 1:07 pm

“runaway” is a noun. “run away” is a verb.

• so easy to run away from road block?

• Ben Yap on May 30, 2022 at 1:55 pm

don’t run…. just pay the fine and case close. the money lost in paying the fines can be earned back.

• Kenapa lah on May 30, 2022 at 3:02 pm

I admire how cops think that these motorists should not run away for the safety of others, when the same group of motorists are the ones roaming around doing stunts like red light running, driving opposing to traffic, illegal u-turns, etc.

Eh encik polis, I appreciate your effort but you got to do more than just nagging like a mom would to her kid.

• Sebab ni lah on May 30, 2022 at 4:27 pm

Polis garang kate xde perikamusiaan, kejam, tak adil. Polis nasihat kate mengaduh, membebel, berleter.

Xpe, next time polis nk buat operasi dia akan hantar jemputan dan war2kan kat semua media supaya rakyat nampak dan mana2 yg ade ada masa lapang boleh hadir sekali untuk memeriahkan operasi.

• Right? on May 30, 2022 at 11:12 pm

Ya. Next time dia bg flying baton at your head okay. Mayb after that, your brain cells might connect.

• Francis Lim on May 31, 2022 at 12:22 pm

Nobody run away from PDRM road blocks, they just make a U- turn before reaching the road block.