FreeW empowers Malaysian female motorcycle riders

With the rising price of fuel and cost of living in Malaysia, many are turning to two-wheeled transport for their daily commute and short trips for necessities, giving rise to the current market demand for small displacement motorcycles and scooters. Hailing from France, Alison Grun of FreeW Riding Classes noticed female riders in Malaysia tend be neglected when it comes to rider training.

According to Alison, there are many ladies in Malaysia who want to take up motorcycling but many find the process of learning intimidating and dominated by male riders. “Let’s not talk about the driving schools, they only teach you to pass the licence test,” says Alison, “what I teach the lady riders in Malaysia is proper riding skills in a structured environment where they are comfortable and safe.”

The course syllabus for FreeW is based on Alison’s thirty-plus years of riding experience since age four and comprises of two-hour sessions in blocks of four or eight costing RM290 each. Alison says she caters to lady riders of any experience level and can take a complete novice who only knows how to ride a bicycle to a competent road rider in eight sessions.

“My teaching includes proper road craft and the necessary skills you need to be a good rider on the road,” Alison says. “You learn things like proper body placement on the bike, both low and high speed manoeuvring, head position in turns, braking, defensive riding… these are the things the driving school does not teach you,” Alison explained.

Alison then mentioned many ladies who want to learn riding tend to pick it up from the men in the sport which she says isn’t wrong but has the drawback of assimilating bad habits and non-recommended practice. “Many male riders in Malaysia, not just Malaysia, around the world, ride with their ego. This is not the best way to learn riding and ego will get you into trouble,” says Alison with a laugh.

A one-to-one approach is favoured at FreeW with classes kept small to ensure all riders get the proper attention. Alison says FreeW was founded to encourage women to overcome fears and self-limiting beliefs, for women riders to inspire others and in turn, be inspired by women’s emancipation and self-empowerment through motorcycling.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• dong gor on May 31, 2022 at 11:59 am

food price hike is real… it’s beyond just a pinch and i think everyone is feeling it already. if the targeted fuel subsidy is implemented, things will just get so much worse that social crimes will join the party every where. Ministers, please assess thoroughly and this one is no play play. once the things go up, it will never come down even if you reinstall the subsidy. it’s irreversible damage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Sick & Tired on May 31, 2022 at 5:21 pm

Meanwhile we have DAP intending to make cars expensive so that everyone only can ride kapcais to work. DAP reasoning 1 tangki just RM 15-20, so instantly fuel price hike won’t be felt thus inflation won’t happen wor. Their economist politicians must be genius.

• Shamshir Hassan on Jun 01, 2022 at 9:44 pm

While I disagree with that idea, I’d rather liked to see more Malaysians start riding to commute. That may help ease road congestion issues.

• Kapchai on May 31, 2022 at 1:50 pm

More female rider when it is the affordable EV-Scoot.

• Sohai on Jun 01, 2022 at 9:50 pm

Is Alison taking male student?

• Michele on Jun 03, 2022 at 9:05 pm

Yes..she coaches both females and males 1 to 1. Most of the group rides and group classes are female focused.