Vehicle End of Life policy to control traffic jams? Even my late father was driving a 20-year-old car, says Wee

Scrap vehicles aged 10 years and above to improve KL’s traffic situation. That was the recent suggestion by a group of researchers from Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM). Transport minister Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong was asked to comment on this yesterday, and basically, he said that it’s not so simple.

Instead, traffic congestion in the city is a complex matter that must be addressed in a holistic way, and cities must first have a comprehensive line of public transportation connectivity, which is the main focus of the ministry, he said yesterday at the resumption of Shuttle Tebrau train services in JB, reported by The Star.

It doesn’t sound like Wee is all for the Vehicle End of Life (ELV) policy happening now. “I don’t think everyone would be able to change their vehicle every 10 years; even my late father was driving a 20-year-old vehicle. Most of our parents in the village are still using the Perodua Kancil and Proton Iswara. This is something that we inherited from our family,” he said.

“There is more than one approach that we can take to tackle the issue of congestion on our roads; like looking at the best policy to introduce and what intervention that we can take. All of these must be dealt with in a holistic way,” the Ayer Hitam MP added.

The most frequently-cited example of an ELV scrap policy is Singapore. Wee pointed out that Singapore has to limit the size of the vehicle population because of the country’s small size, and people who wish to own a car must pay RM100,000 for a certificate of entitlement (COE).

“They have to limit the number of vehicles due to the size of the land, but we do not have this policy in our country. In Malaysia, we have 34 million registered vehicles, but only two-thirds or 22 million vehicles are active and paying for the road tax,” he said, adding that many non-active vehicles were kept by their owners due to sentimental value.

No surprise if you’ve heard of the ELV in Malaysia topic, as it crops up occasionally. “A study to identify mechanisms in phasing out old vehicles in a sustainable manner will also be undertaken,” states a line in the 12th Malaysia Plan, or Rancangan Malaysia Ke-12 (RMK-12), released in September 2021.

The RMK-12 is a broad plan and it didn’t elaborate, but in March last year, the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS), in conjunction with the ASEAN New Car Assessment Programme (ASEAN NCAP), opened a three-page ELV survey to the Malaysian public.

The vehicle scrapping idea usually goes hand-in-hand with periodic roadworthiness inspections, much like the UK’s MOT checks and semi-annual Puspakom inspection for commercial vehicles in Malaysia – the survey touched on this as well. Another suggestion was to increase insurance premiums for vehicles over 10 years of age.

Generally, carmakers would be for ELV (people will have to buy new cars to replace old ones) while the rakyat would be against the idea, wanting the freedom of choice of if and when to replace their cars. As such, this is a difficult thing to push through for any government (never mind one in Malaysia’s current rocky political scene), as there’s bound to be backlash. What’s your take on the Vehicle End of Life policy?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

The comments focus on various approaches to reduce traffic congestion, emphasizing improved public transportation, road infrastructure, and smarter urban planning rather than scrapping old cars or imposing heavy taxes. Many highlight the need for reliable, extensive public transit systems, better pedestrian walkways, and congestion charges. Critics argue that policies like Vehicle End of Life (VEL), scrapping old cars, or raising taxes could disproportionately burden the poor and don't effectively address the root causes of traffic jams. Several commenters suggest increasing vehicle inspections and maintaining old cars to ensure safety without financial strain. Others advocate for better town planning, reducing car prices, or encouraging work-from-home policies. Overall, opinions favor comprehensive infrastructure improvements and smarter regulation over punitive measures that could hurt lower-income citizens, with strong undercurrents of skepticism towards political motives.

• as usual, PT being a MCA tool

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 85
    • More like BN tool

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 65
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 20, 2022 at 7:33 pm

Say NO to BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 59
        • Civic Turbo 2018 on Jun 20, 2022 at 9:05 pm

Hahahaha >20years old tu antique collection

• Antique Collector on Jun 20, 2022 at 10:33 pm

BN > 60 yrs so = Antique Collection?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
          • Sick & Tired on Jun 21, 2022 at 9:48 am

After 64year of messed up, imbecile inept corrupt stealing by BN gomen. And they cant even control car population , can y’all believe it… for goat sake. We really do think Malaysians deserved much better,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 58
          • Copy Paste on Jun 21, 2022 at 12:22 pm

Copy paste: “Malaysia dan BN berpisah tiada. Skali divorce, baru je 22months kjaan dah runtuh.
            Do you trust an old, loyal, loving wife or a young mistress out for your money only?”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
          • Contradiction on Jun 21, 2022 at 7:53 pm

BN old is gold, meanwhile PH is fools gold

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 64
          • Comparison on Jun 21, 2022 at 11:03 pm

BN is like Rosmah while PH is like Nurul Izzah. Which would you choose? But I guess most BN troopers would choose Rosmah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 15
          • Angry Voters on Jun 22, 2022 at 8:19 am

We voted PH and we truly regret it. SAY NO TO PH!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 36
          • Why So Serious on Jun 22, 2022 at 11:23 am

Rosmah is like a loving loyal wife who stuck with her husband thick & thin. Nurul is an opportunistic b**** who divorced her husband when he could not ignore her affairs anymore. Which you prefer leh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
          • Old Loving Wife on Jun 22, 2022 at 12:12 pm

Don’t be angry, keep a pic of Rosmah in your room as collection. You will be much happier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
          • Be Happy on Jun 22, 2022 at 1:10 pm

Sure, Rosmah happily spends her husband money to buy handbags and jewelleries. If you are not as rich as her husband, you cannot afford a ‘good’ wife like Rosmah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
          • This the last swan song for PH DAP parties. b4 dying for gud…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
          • BN GG on Jun 23, 2022 at 11:51 am

How can PH DAP party be dying when it is BN UMNO party leaders that are being convicted with crimes left and right?

Oh no! BN supporters got nothing to say more to say. GG liao

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 21, 2022 at 2:22 am

Vote DAP then nobody can own or drive a car except their members, T20, & cronies. Traffic problem solve cuz majority cannot afford to go to work. Petrol subsidy solved cuz majority use to light kerosene lamps when they have no cars to use petrol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 101
          • BN Tipu on Jun 21, 2022 at 12:07 pm

Are you sure? PH has ruled before and none of what you said is true.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 51
          • Fake News on Jun 22, 2022 at 2:08 am

Are you calling PaulTan fake news? How dare you!!! Get outta here!!!
            https://paultan.org/2022/05/31/driving-a-car-in-malaysia-should-be-made-a-luxury-not-a-necessity-says-dap-assemblyman-liew-chin-tong/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 24
          • BN Tipu Lagi on Jun 22, 2022 at 11:55 am

I like it when someone post something and provide a link just to twist and turn what others said. It only expose more of their lies. Let me quote the article of your link.

“He urged the government to expand the coverage of buses and other modes of public transport so that at least 40-50% of the population have access to reliable public transport. This matter had become even more pressing with the rise in global oil prices.”

“Liew said that simply hiking petrol prices without providing adequate public transport would mean that low-income earners would be forced to switch to motorcycles for their transportation needs, which would increase the fatality rate on roads.”

No mentions of cars only for members or T20. In fact, he urged the Gov to provide adequate public transport to low income earners. Did the current Gov provide? With frequent MRT train delays and long queues, Malaysians know the answer of how ‘good’ the current public transport is. Still nothing you said is true.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 6
      • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 20, 2022 at 8:20 pm

it was like this before ge14 oso….. BN try to look good to the rakyat to make us support them… i wont fall for them anymore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 63
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 21, 2022 at 8:36 am

Malaysia dan BN berpisah tiada. Skali divorce, baru je 22months kjaan dah runtuh.
        Do you trust an old, loyal, loving wife or a young mistress out for your money only?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 64
        • Yusri on Jun 21, 2022 at 1:58 pm

diam la bodoh, kau berambus lebih baik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 58
          • BN Berambus on Jun 21, 2022 at 11:10 pm

Rather than him berambus, why don’t you and your Gov berambus? Not only are cars getting expensive but necessities like oil and even chicken rice have gone up in price thanks to BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 15
          • Copy Paste on Jun 22, 2022 at 8:06 am

Ape benda la yg ko merepek ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
          • Chicken Genius on Jun 22, 2022 at 11:00 am

You don’t know that chicken rice has gone up in price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
          • Ghani on Jun 22, 2022 at 10:32 pm

OF course chicken rice prices have gone up! Sinkie sellers are fast to up prices when MY Govt stop export of chickens to ensure adequate supply to their own rakyat. That is called taking care of their citizen. But Sinkie sellers are certainly not taking care of their customers. What to expect from a nation of hedonistic, opportunistic swines.

• Lets See on Jun 23, 2022 at 12:20 am

Must be this fella raising prices for his alphard
            https://paultan.org/2022/06/22/toyota-alphard-driver-fined-rm400-for-spitting-pleads-not-guilty-to-reckless-dangerous-driving-in-viral-video/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • AL,Victorian on Jun 20, 2022 at 8:00 pm

It is disgusting to label PT as a lapdog(Chowkau in Cantonese).
      Pt is reporting SiongSiong’s press release..cos Anthony Loke is no more Transport dude.
      If PT reports Anthony Loke’s press release,then is PT, PH’s lapdog?
      Come on,I may dislike SiongSiong,but certain things that are not harmful I accept.Like MCA fighting for gomen grants to UTAR.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 14
      • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 21, 2022 at 9:40 am

fair comment….most importantly no racism…especially from ministers

• Step Up on Jun 21, 2022 at 11:10 am

Yes but he needs to step up and stop following orders from UMNO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 13
      • Sometimes you do comment properly when you’re sober. Wish you stay that way far longer.

• Arnie on Jun 21, 2022 at 2:18 am

Dr Wee a man of the people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 42
  • MOF Genius on Jun 20, 2022 at 5:32 pm

Simple, remove SST exemption as said by our genius MOF and increase car duties to reduce people buying cars. More income to the Gov and less cars on the road. WIn-win

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 18
    • Gradually remove fuel subsidy, the people will find their way to coupe with the raising transportation cost.
      Either forced to take public transport, plan better travel route, or moving closer to their offices/schools.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 24
      • RyanT on Jun 20, 2022 at 7:01 pm

Do u read news recently? By removing fuel subsidy, inflation rate be about 13%!
        Pls don’t pretend to be economist and make me laugh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 38
      • EconomicsProf on Jun 21, 2022 at 1:14 am

Hello si pandai zhap fan Rm 20 you ready?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • Remove the Excise tax on cars and make our cars cheaper to buy then only can consider about Vehicle End of Life (ELV) policy. How la to keep on changing cars when new cars is RM50k+ or RM100k+?

Also open the market up more so foreign brands can compete directly with Proton & Perodua at their current price level. This will promote competition and make Proton & Perodua to be more competitive to reduce their own prices. This will benefit further the consumers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
    • Someone Said on Jun 20, 2022 at 6:15 pm

But… But some says tax holiday will increase traffic jam woh. So how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
      • Bonmessi on Jun 20, 2022 at 8:44 pm

Nice sarcasm. Those ppl ‘think’ that new car buyer can drive 2 cars at the same time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 22
      • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 203
        • Disagree with you on Jun 21, 2022 at 8:46 am

You need tissue to wipe your tears? Majority malaysians were fed up with heavy traffic jams and wanting to reject tax holidays. So you don’t know. Education problem is because some people don’t know about heavy traffic jams but demanding tax holiday.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 54
          • Policeman on Jun 21, 2022 at 12:12 pm

Majority of Malaysians are more fed up with motorcyclists that don’t obey the laws, causing danger to themselves and others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 28
          • BN Propaganda on Jun 21, 2022 at 11:00 pm

When are you going to stop your ‘Tax Holidays Traffic Jams’ propaganda? People here are fed up listening to this nonsense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 23
          • Disagree with you on Jun 22, 2022 at 9:11 am

Lol, do you need tissue to wipe your tears? You still can’t accept majority malaysians includes poor people that rejected both heavy traffic jam and tax holiday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
          • Disagree with you on Jun 22, 2022 at 9:20 am

To Policeman

Wrong topic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
          • OMG. Hahaha… You know when you dislike someone more than 200 times, it only shows your amount of butthurt is insanely high. It’s so obvious who did it, isn’t it, ‘Disagree with you’? Like i care LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 12
        • minister all study at Cambridge like Najib, while some mat rempit or ah beng dun have same opportunity. deswai its easy to fool local pipu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
        • Mana otak? on Jun 22, 2022 at 9:56 am

Does government have revenue for SST exemption when running out of their money?

• Banker Botak on Jun 23, 2022 at 12:32 am

BN Gomen can always apply for bankruptcy or let Najib return the money.

• Addressing the elephant in the room.
    1) Improve public transport.
    2) Sheltered and safer walkways.
    3) Town planning and Zoning. Moving certain sectors to other states to divert the traffic away from KL/Selangor. There are just too much concentration in Klang Valley, plus a couple of white elephant skyscrapers to be completed in KL soon.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
  • dong gor on Jun 20, 2022 at 6:11 pm

scrapping more cars means less car on the road? when ppl need a car, they will need a car. they will have to buy a new one when you scrap the old one. as simple as that. so this is not about old cars causing lots of accidents…and increase the insurance premium?? ok after that, they can’t afford a new car or the high premium anymore, less car on the road now cos they walk to work! all the proposals one way or another just burden the ppl man. thanks to the high caliber ppl running country. pui

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • KJ, University of Oxford on Jun 20, 2022 at 8:09 pm

I couldnt agree less.Do u know what will happen to the kampong folks who have 20-30 year old cars?Some still keep the first Saga in pretty drivable conditions.
      Never force people who only have a bare car,into violence.
      Cars r here to stay,unless we r as small as Singapore.

• Lone ranger on Jun 22, 2022 at 2:06 pm

Shut down use car dealers than get rid of cars that doesn’t pay insurance policy and road tax.that are parked on road side parking lots.

• Malaysia has huge car market,
    Like those accessories shop, maintenance shop, ah beng shop,
    AP car holder importing used and old CBU, etc.

Not like Singapore, clean, but not much job and business oppurtunity @ Car industry.
    They also easy to achieve carbon-neutral goal, but Malaysia target is 2050 – How?

For short term look ahead,
    Instead of End of Life Policy,
    We need Car Maintenance Policy.
    So new and old car are running properly, can brake properly, etc.

Lorry accidents brake failure still plenty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • Chris on Jun 20, 2022 at 6:35 pm

I feel the best way is to lower new vehicle import duty, excise duty and SST/GSt whichever is coming in future. In return, market float the petrol/diesel price. U want to drive, u have to pay. That’s it. No need to waste money and resources to implement targeted subsidies & etc. The resources and fund can channel to better place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • My ideas
    1. Higher road tax for vehicle more than 15 years
    2. Higher insurance for vehicle more than 15 years.
    3. Additional yearly fee (e.g. RM500) for car older than 15 years.
    4. Mandatory send car to puspakom for inspection car more than 15 years. Ensure, the car condition meets safety requirements before road tax renewal.
    5. Government provides a sum (e.g RM5000) for trade-in old car to gov body for scrapping.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 57
    • ZamZam on Jun 20, 2022 at 6:55 pm

Yeap,
      Only retired people/OKU deserved low taxing for keeping his old car for movability.
      But need to supported by proper maintenance policy too.

Like Wee’s late father, considered retired person –
      His car only can maintain existing charges, but need proper maintenance inspection regularly.

• Your points won’t fly..
      The problem is not getting rid of old cars..The problem is reducing traffic congestion, that is what the whole car scrapping issue started.

Why sacrifice the poor pakcik makcik who own a 15 year old Kancil in kampung who didn’t even cause traffic jam in KL ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
    • morpoyos on Jun 20, 2022 at 8:17 pm

Your ideas are burden to old cars’ users. Malaysians not wealthy enough to change to new cars every ten years. When do people want to save their money after ten years roadtax & insurance go up? What about other things that need money such as children higher education?
      Old ICE cars can be on roads but must be maintained & repaired before can be renew their roadtaxes & insurances without increase the cost. Old ICE cars must be proven safe on the road by Puspakom.
      I agree to stop fuel subsidies & give it to target group.
      Government must upgrade & repair public transportation quickly and manufactures must promote more EV cars under RM100K.
      Also the selling of new ICE cars must be slowed and fully stop by 2027 for cleaner EV cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Proton Perodua on Jun 20, 2022 at 6:49 pm

This suggestion will not control the traffic jam problem. People will adapt to the policy one way or another.

• University student has got used to car rental since year 2000s..

Moving forward, Untung saja Socar.
      If car get less affordable – ppl rent by week/day/hours when needed.
      Sometime, rental car can be doorstep delivery too.
      Scrapping car doesn’t help reduce traffic jam.
      Ppl drive because it’s a need, not because of owning a car.
      Owning a car parking @ home, how to cause traffic jam?

Public Infrastructure is the best way to carbon-neutral, reduce total emissions.
      Today, many houses still not accessible to nearby train,
      Even Train Station needed more safe car parks too.
      And train station should have easy passengers drop off, so driver/grab driver no need hogging the road causing road bottleneck and jam.

• bieight8 on Jun 20, 2022 at 6:57 pm

Government should remove fuel subsidies and imposed fuel tax so that Ron 95 will cost from 20 per litre

• Alternatively,
    can those cars aged more than 10 years,
    be issued with different Roadtax (for instance, colors or logos to identify) and,
    be restricted from entering certain congested cities / towns?
    *just like the existing restrictions for heavy vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
  • Because his late father dived an old car, so the VEL will not viable. Thanknyou late Mr.Wee Sr.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
  • Bla blaz on Jun 20, 2022 at 8:00 pm

Issue: to address traffic jam.

Solition1. Introduce EoL policy – not gonna solve the traffic jam prob. Tambah heartache lagi
    Solution 2. Increase insurance – Cant see how higher insurance can reduce jam :). Tambah heartache lagi kuat.
    Solution 3. Increase car retail price aka more tax – car become expensive and many cannot buy car. Not supporting local car brand. Heartache lagi kuat kuat
    Solution 4. Improve public transport and walkway first – I like. Kurang heartache sikit.
    Solution 5. Dont build new shopping complex in city area. Wont cause me a heartache but contractor dll heartache :)

So what is the best solutions? I dont know. Need all universities to conduct studies

• Shopping complex approval should be subjected to residential population density.
      Ppl need the convenience. The KL also shouldn’t be dead when comes to weekend, haha..
      Need to boost retail economy also maa..

Public transport sharing app controlled,
      E,g more koompool,
      Route to can AI optimized to cover taman residence zone, condo.
      Maybe taman should get improved Moped support to designated station/bay.

https://paultan.org/2022/04/11/kumpool-ride-e-hailing-bus-booking-service-malaysia/

https://paultan.org/2021/07/14/hyundai-to-pilot-autonomous-roboshuttle-service-in-korea-book-rides-via-app-20-stops-on-6-1-km-route/

• Scrap old car then buy new car. Total car the same. Zero reduction in traffic.

• Bonmessi on Jun 20, 2022 at 8:42 pm

I read the article by trying to think in academic sense without any political-biased mind. But, when i look at the comment section, man..every statement from gov, for sure ppl will comment based on political mind set. Haha, the same thing as in FB’s comments. Just grab while reading the comments.

• Farhan on Jun 20, 2022 at 9:14 pm

To work around it, is to introduce a 1 Name 1 car policy. If you want to use the car for 30 years also can, but you cannot buy a 2nd car under your name. Simple matter with simple solution.

• Katie on Jun 21, 2022 at 8:54 am

If you have 3 cars,
      Do you drive them @ the same time?

How does it cause traffic jam?
      If your parking is illegal parking, road hogging confirmed kena towing.

More cars ownership @ home is related to residential zone parking availability,
      Not traffic jam issue.

If u say 1 house 3 cars cause traffic jam?
      You can say parent 2 car, 1 kid 1 car…
      If the kid stay elsewhere, he also need driving, how does it reduce car on road?

• Joseph on Jun 21, 2022 at 3:00 pm

See the previous ‘No more SST extension’ article, see all those dumb heads saying SST extension will cause traffic jams. Moreover, they are liking their own posts which make it even more disgusting when they can’t make a constructive debate. This is a syndrome of ‘Syok Sendiri’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 30
        • Disagree with you on Jun 22, 2022 at 9:06 am

You can’t accept what majority malaysians were complaining about heavy traffic jams while rejecting tax holiday? Are you crying?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • PetrolHead on Jun 20, 2022 at 9:32 pm

Vehicle EOL policy is not sustainable in Malaysia due to our high car prices and low per capita GDP. However, annual MoT tests would be a good idea for vehicles over 5 years old to ensure than they are in good mechanical condition and are roadworthy. If not maintained properly, even new cars can be a menace on the roads.

• MoT by Puspakom will create more corruption and inconvenience to car owners

• congestion charge. why dare not?

• U cannot have a VEL policy if u keep car prices high. Malaysia has one of the highest priced cars in the world. And that came about to protect Proton at the behest of the consumer. Lower car prices by at least 50% then we can talk about VEL.

• Sate Kajang on Jun 20, 2022 at 10:12 pm

Employers should encourage staff to work from home …during pandemic last time no traffic jam

• Sonata on Jun 20, 2022 at 10:19 pm

Old cars facing heavy maintenance with ever rising salary and parts cost.
    Slowly it just faded anyway.

We have less iswara now,
    Less kancil now,
    Masterpiece benz also no where to be seen,
    Alot of continental won’t last beyond 15 years old too.
    Too pricey to maintain, no parts to be found..

Usually when I spot it – it’s the same car in my town.
    Testing and Inspection can verify its soundness – if it’s parts are still good to achieve good cornering speed, good braking distance, good acceleration ‘ benchmarked to practical road usage, no Rusty drivetrain, worn belts, etc.

Maybe government want to find way to allow ppl to refinance it’s old car so the loan is locked for maintenance and inspection claim. When it’s road-safe, of course it worth to be refinanced. Bank valuation also can verify if it’s valuable to be maintained or to be scrapped.

• You’re trying to reduce traffic jams. Traffic James are local so specific areas. Using a blanket policy of adjusting petrol prices, car taxes, etc isn’t targeted enough. Introduce vehicle congestion charges. The rates change by the hour. You wanna masuk and join the jam? You pay. The kampung folk driving 20 year old cars aren’t affected. In tandem you must also imrpvoe public transport. More buses, more mrt lrt, and allow grab car and taxi drivers some concession for entering congested areas.

Changes to fuel prices will cause inflation to other things such as food! Changes to CA rprices will only affect those who are buying new cars. You won’t see any changes to traffic patterns in the short to medium term. Vehicle end of life policies only affect those who drive old cars. So you buy new car – you still contribute to the jam.

• salem on Jun 20, 2022 at 10:47 pm

A safe car only need these –
    1. Brake functions – Brake Parts, Fluids, Pipes, Pump check
    2. Alignment- no severe damage and run acceptably
    3. Braking distance 100toZero check, may use eqv lower speed/distance relationship to check.
    If it’s sound, it’s absorber also sound. Suspension also affect braking distance, which can judge whether it can do basic cornering safely.

I have driven alot old cars where it’s spongy – lousy Suspension, scary to be driven.
    Some even had bad Alignment, more dangerous..

Comfortable car is different story.

• YB Sama Loo on Jun 20, 2022 at 11:57 pm

Instead of ELV policy and scrapping off citizen and orang kampung’s good working condition old car, better to scrap off and close both Protong and Brukdua – our national junk manufacturer. Why?

1) Protong – only know how to sell junk local and China made cars, but can’t even give vehicle spare parts to their loyal customers.
    2) Brukdua being too greedy to desperately maintain No. 1 position. Also, only know how to sell ‘local design’ junk cars, but can’t even provide a proper temperature gauge. You never know one fine day our beloved Brukdua might also remove fuel level gauge from instrument cluster.

And now, both paria Protong and Brukdua already killed all manual transmission cars in their lineup, further opening floodgate of unskilled stupid idiot drivers. Even rubbish from scrap Punch CVTaik sourced by Protong and also Dogsheet-CVTaik from Brukdua – both highly problematic also Malaysian carbuyers buy it, as long it’s not a manual cars, further implicate that Malaysian carbuyers are worse than dog.

• Joe Wireko-Adumatta on Jun 20, 2022 at 11:59 pm

Cars can be registered with alphabets A, B,C,D, etc to X, Y, Z,
    Now we have 26 alphabets, so if a vehicle is registered as A, exactly after 26 years it automatically leaves the scene for the CEMETERY.
    I hope this suggestion helps.

• Yg Penting Gaji Mesti Naik laa… on Jun 21, 2022 at 1:09 am

Idea itu ok dengan syarat harga jualan kereta mesti la murah dan diturunkan.Cth kereta local range sekitar RM20-35k sahaja,kereta import RM40k-80k sahaja.Ini harga kereta sgt2 mahal lepas tu loan kena lama baru habis loan kena loan lagi mmg la rakyat marah dan rmi x setuju.

• The reason why there is traffic jam is because there are more road users. This is an inevitable consequence of a growing economy. So the only way is to have the city infrastructure keeping up with the growing size of the city itself. More roads, better planning and running computer predictions to better design the road networks and so on.

Suggesting getting rid of old cars, adding taxes, entry fees are all detrimental to the economy (thus bad for everyone’s livelihoods) and will not solve the problem of traffic jam.

• Sick&Tired on Jun 21, 2022 at 7:47 am

I would make it mandatory for cars which are more than 25 years old to undergo yearly or once every 2 years for inspection provided PUSPAKOM is not given exclusive rights for inspection!! Open up more inspection centers and make the process easy and cost effective. If you provide competition for PUSPAKOM, I am sure they will provide better service

• Tortilla on Jun 21, 2022 at 7:53 am

Traffic Jam, usually peak hours, caused by road hogging:

1. @ residential zone- Parents hogging @ schools, tuition centers, etc
    @ Peak hours lagi tu!

2. @ retail/ office zone- Driver, Grab drivers hogging/temporary parking @ the side lane.
    Especially Pavillion, Mid Valley, Petaling Street, etc.

3. @ food zone – Pasar malam, Bazaar, drive thru warung road side, clashing with peak hours.

4. Excessive traffic light/junction.
    PJ, USJ1, Kesas re-routing proven the reduced junction and traffic light benefits for traffic jam improvement. 1 way traffic/reduced junction/dedicated U turn lane helped.

5. Additional temporary police block –
    E.g near Wisma Wah Chan/Ford Showroom Federal Highway
    Police road block not consistently reflected to Waze to help drivers.

6. Heavy logistic, crawling speed hogging lorry and trucks.

• @Snakebabu on Jun 21, 2022 at 8:20 am

Increase wage, reduce new car prices, improve public transportation (not just in keyel), then talk.
    Wee hours pissing moment!

• newme on Jun 21, 2022 at 9:41 am

He must be hoping the people thinking he’s a saint by saying his father driving a 20 yo car. He got bigger plan ….. Certificate of entitlement…. money babyyyyy.

• Ben Yap on Jun 21, 2022 at 9:54 am

impose entry fees to the city center and make it expensive. this will lead to people taking public transport.

• Wally on Jun 21, 2022 at 10:26 am

This fella talking without using his brain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • I am not asking to have Vehicle End of Life Policy, what I asked for is having those car more than 10 years old to undergo mandatory checks at Puspakom every 2 years and verified it is safe on the road. I once encountered a car without a headlamp and I don’t mean they did not turn on the headlamp, the headlamp is literally missing on the car. I don’t care if the owners are broke or didn’t notice it, it is a hazard on the road regardless of the age of the car.

• Mohd shukri on Jun 21, 2022 at 10:38 am

Ur dad should’ve shot it at the wall! LAPDOP!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • it’s logic & obvious right!!
    why would scrap >10 yo car reduce trafic jam? people will just buy a new one to replace…same traffic!!
    besides…even my 9yo lancer & 10yo crv still running great without any breakdowns, only routine maintenance needed…better than new car now

it’s easy to reduce traffic but no one dare to implement
    1. this is quick to implement: encourage @ force WFH..if cant do 100% maybe do alternate weeks or half month only…esp for work that dont require physical on site…we have tested this 2 years in MCO and it works greatly.
    2. this gonna take years: create more business @ office centre outside current crowded place/city
    3. this will be unpopular esp with pussy male: encourage more to ride bike, 99% car are single driver with no occupant…a bike take only 1/5 space of car, save fuel and environment

• Traffic Jam is a 1st world wellness issue.
    We compare to developed countries.
    But also an economy issues.

Shall we talk on improve Country Reserved Fund, Reserved Food?
    Can reduced traffic jam help improve Reserved Fund? Reserved Food?

Sri Lanka bankruptcy already closing school and non-essential government services.
    https://www.hmetro.com.my/global/asia/2022/06/853810/sri-lanka-mula-tutup-sekolah

Inbefore another No Chicken story..

• ROTI CANAI on Jun 21, 2022 at 11:13 am

yea here no pension, how old ppl can afford to change car

• TaxMore! on Jun 21, 2022 at 12:07 pm

Tolong naik tax kenderaan semua 500% semua naik basikal, mrt good for the environment, slow slow naik basikal pergi kerja macam lulu.

• First, shorten the loan tenure first. People just finished 9 yrs loans, before these people can enjoy loan free time, you ask them to fall in another round of loan tenure?

• macampondan on Jun 21, 2022 at 12:55 pm

this wee is a real piece of something. talk a lot … no output.

typical shit as I would say. if all these junks are in private companies… they all would have been sacked for non performing and arrow pointing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • pengguna ploton kecewa on Jun 21, 2022 at 1:12 pm

all those researchers are theory based celup from overseas research which celup from other research without providing comprehensive solution to the actual problem on local perspective. I take all research in MY with a pinch of salt. you just simply wants to reduce the number of private vehicle on the road by making it unaffordable. Thats harmful to our economy. The behavioral changes among the EMPLOYER would be the BEST. PKP has proven that work from home is practical to a certain degree. Let employee choose 2/3 days per week to work from home and see significant reduction of vehicle on the road. In addition to that, IMPOSE LIMIT OF VEHICLE SIZE IN MALAYSIA. We do not need ALPHARD/VELLFIRE/MPV/SUVs flooding the daily traffic with single occupant per vehicle. That’s just complete waste of road space. Small car should be given incentives for entry to city areas and parking lots just like the Japs done with K-Car concept. We can learn something from them for sure

• calcutta on Jun 21, 2022 at 1:49 pm

you charged malaysian with one of the highest car tax in the world, then you tell us to scrap our car? before you scrap our car,scrap the NAP and AP system that burden malaysian and benefit dato only, then we can talk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Org Miskin on Jun 21, 2022 at 3:03 pm

Can’t afford Roti Canai thanks to BN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Bhai101 on Jun 21, 2022 at 3:13 pm

Want to reduce traffic jam? Why not look into our existing infrastructures especially roads? Are they really adequate and properly designed? I don’t think so. But common sense tell me that despite so many room for improvement, these clowns doesn’t’ want to kacau because road sounds very lucrative as a source of duit rasuah which will upset our corrupt ministers if they do, so they go kacau poor rakyat instead. Plus, selling new cars sounds another good opportunity for dedak as well. Puihh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • abenda? on Jun 21, 2022 at 4:50 pm

Scrap old car will not help with traffic much. Improve public transport like underground subway or metro will help. Please help to make money from abroad and spend it on rakyat. Making money from rakyat only are for stupid government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • abenda? on Jun 21, 2022 at 4:55 pm

Instead of focusing on stupid things like durian SIRIM etc, better focus on attracting more foreign investors to Malaysia so we can get more income. This is the best time to approach European companies since their country is collapsing due to their hostility towards Russia. Many european companies will leave Europe very soon. Better approach them now before they choose other countries. Always stay ahead of the game. Jangan pikir relax saja hari hari. Do something for Malaysia la minister

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Robert Kiyosaki on Jun 21, 2022 at 5:52 pm

If government wants elv, then all banks MUST approve car loans for those giving up their old cars

• nizam on Jun 22, 2022 at 12:46 am

mana ada orang nak naik basikal atau jalan kaki gi kedai sekarang.dulu boleh la naik basikal sampai depan bus stop.sekarang mana mau nya.kereta benda wajib dah sekarang,memang sesak la jalan.
    pandai2 la pihak berkaitan buat solusi,kami tak mau naik pengangkutan awam.apa barang naik bas,kitaorang ada status nak jaga.
    jangan nak cakap pengguna salah plak sebab semua nak naik kereta sendiri.
    anak2 kami habis je sekolah mesti kami belikan kereta sebijik sorang.

• Mohan on Jun 22, 2022 at 9:57 am

I have a 36 years old car which I have maintained extremely well. It takes me wherever I want to go. Being a retiree there is no way I can acquire another new vehicles. So I would say that this mooted law by the research body is baseless…just like other ideas by people who don’t have their feet on the ground.

• Frank Cracknell on Jun 22, 2022 at 12:20 pm

How will that get rid of traffic jams if the r people just replace their old vehicles with newer ones. Still the same numbwr of cars on the roads. Of course it could be a way of keeping lower income people from travelling. Maybe thats what they want. Control the people of their mobility.

• Kadir on Jun 22, 2022 at 12:22 pm

Malaysians are paying heavily taxed cars,if elv is introduced most of malaysians wont be able to afford to buy a replacement car,fisrt get rid rid of poorly,unroadworthy cars which breakdown causing traffic jams to solve current jam problems,repair roads that frequently flood causing jams,a lit can be done not just applying Elv to solve problems,it will create problems to many families.

• Lawson on Jun 22, 2022 at 12:33 pm

To install electronic tagging for every car which can geo locate with 5m to 10m accuracy. Basically similar to the techology in a smart phone but actually is still simpler. RM500 per car?. Tie it to rfid etc etc which auto deduct it depending on peak or off peak hours, public holidays or not. Differentiate the charges when the car is on road on 1st or 2nd or 3rd or 4th tier city or town. To kick start this say 5 years from now. Then eliminate or reduce current
    road tax.

• .P Bhart on Jun 22, 2022 at 6:53 pm

Many people simply cannot afford to buy new cars or reasonable used car with the ridiculously low wage level here. What about expensive vintage cars??? The research guys must be living in La La Land.

• doyourjobmiros on Jun 22, 2022 at 8:06 pm

probably reduces the vehicle on the road but did the study cover its impact to overall mobility?

• Ruben R on Jun 23, 2022 at 1:40 am

So far lost in a multitude of difference. Firstly road tax of vehicles cannot be based on cc anymore. Should be based on horsepower. Currently lower but high-tech cars of lower cc enjoy the benefits of roadtax system based on cc. Well the high tech cars with lower cc are affordable to the rich only. So the rich get richer enjoying the benefits of a lower roadtax.
    This application of of horsepower base taxation will also cover the super high tech and high price electric vehicles in the future. After all aren’t the rich supposed to be paying higher taxes!?
    Similarly the he government only now realizes the RON95 subsidy is being enjoyed by others than the targeted groups.

• Chong on Jun 23, 2022 at 10:15 am

Don’t follow Singapore blindly. Improve our public transport significantly to cover whole of Malaysia first. Then, increase the taxes for cars to encourage public transport, but allows unlimited lifespan for cars.

• William Alberto on Jun 23, 2022 at 11:47 am

This is a totally non sensical idea as it was not thought out in detail & just simply said randomly, do not compare singapore with us as we are two totally different countries. The system in singapore is fantastic whereas here is not, think before you talk.

• 1. All large schools should have parking lanes alongside the school not on the main road
    2. Adequate large parking lots in key transport hubs near MRT at cheap rates
    3. End of mile electric shuttle buses or tuk tuks
    4. Open walkways that connect easily between residential and commercial areas to facilitate pedestrian traffic
    5. Encourage ride sharing and not put too strict requirements that discourage drivers
    6. Reliable and locatable public transport
    7. Removing of structures that obstruct traffic flow and parking like roadside stalls in high congestion areas
    8. Traffic impact study of new developments and provision of parking spaces