Perodua Alza – 39k bookings to date, over 4k delivered

Perodua has collected 39,000 bookings for the all-new Alza to date. This was revealed by Perodua president and CEO Datuk Seri Zainal Abidin Ahmad at a press conference in Kota Bharu this morning.

The 39,000 total is 9,000 units more than the order book total at the second-generation MPV’s launch day two weeks ago (July 20), where the Perodua chief revealed that the market leader had collected over 30,000 bookings, the highest ever in the brand’s history at launch day.

Then, the P2 boss said that the staggering total was largely attributed to buyers looking to capitalise on potential savings before the sales tax exemption ended.

“This achievement was due to several factors, chief among them being that customers wanted to take full advantage of the sales tax exemption initiative, which expired on June 30. Of the over 200,000 bookings we currently hold, nearly 15% is for this full model change,” he said then, adding that nearly 4,000 customers converted their previous-gen Alza orders to the new D27A even before the booking announcement for it was made.

With Alza bookings close to reaching 40k, it’s clear then that orders are continuing to stream in despite the ending of the sales tax exemption. The good news for those who booked early is that Zainal has assured customers that those who placed orders before June 30 will receive their vehicle before the March 31, 2023 (SST registration) deadline.

As for deliveries, over 4,000 units have been handed over to customers to date as production at Perodua’s Sg Choh factory goes full throttle. No change in the variant ratio – as per launch, 65% have opted for the range-topping AV. Surprisingly, 70% of all Alza bookings are with the GearUp bodykit!

More on the Alza in our full launch report and walk-around videos below.

GALLERY: 2022 Perodua Alza AV

GALLERY: 2022 Perodua Alza H

GALLERY: 2022 Perodua Alza X

GALLERY: 2022 Perodua Alza AV with GearUp accessories

GALLERY: 2022 Perodua Alza official brochure

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Lagender on Aug 04, 2022 at 10:37 am

Not a bad car,
    Seen it, tested it,

Really not that bad,
    Good price. Well done.

1.5DCVT made the Elsa more dynamically fun for the driver.
    Nice Vehicle with Bed Lounge.

• Betui bro, the rush is simply relentless. Ayuh PH to a New Malaysia , Well done p2

• Spin Too Much on Aug 07, 2022 at 7:30 pm

Stupid remarks.Buying car has nothing to do with PH. It depends whether u buy in cash or banks grant u loans.

• should i sell my 3mo city vsen and trade with this alza.
    20k cheaper and bigger boot…tempting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Sorii on Aug 04, 2022 at 11:46 am

City Vsen have AEB but no ACC.
      Ativa, X50, Myvi, X70, Elsa, Veloz full spec all have ACC.

Almera turbo also don’t have ACC.
      Now traffic jam highway alot, ACC is so good.
      Balik kampung also syiok.

Meanwhile, Passive cruise control is meaningless, no braking, no follow speed,
      Unable to relax.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Aug 04, 2022 at 11:57 am

You gila kah…? Your city already lost 20k the moment it was driven off showroom…

• Savon on Aug 04, 2022 at 2:41 pm

City V Sensing don’t have blind spot monitor and 360 degree camera but Alza got blind spot monitor and 360 degree camera

• Silthice on Aug 04, 2022 at 11:01 am

Have seen it in person it is quite good looking car with many advanced features embedded. Unfortunately, the recent car crash proven that Perodua/daihatsu/Toyota designed the car just to pass the Asian NCAP even during the testing the A-pillar kinda tilted. The ASA really make the safety kits shine to cover up how poor the tensile strength of the body shell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
    • aumeow on Aug 04, 2022 at 4:38 pm

Better than honda strength body shell in which both honda and tesla collides each other during accident while both honda and x50 collide each other during safety test

• what is the income group to book this car? Since they are so rich to buy new car instead of continue using old car, should they continued be subsidized for petrol?

• It takes 10 years for the civil “servants” to realize T20s are enjoying more subsidized petrol than others. It probably takes another 10 years for them to realize SUVs and MPVs drink more petrol than normal cars do.

This is the advantage of working for the government. You set your own KPI. You won’t set KPIs that you cannot achieve. Nobody can punish you. Because all those above you get their salaries in the same way as you do. You help me, I help you. Same same for all civil “servants” and MPs.

• Ativa’s booking and delivered numbers?

• First Day Booking on Aug 04, 2022 at 11:31 am

I’m first day booking when P2 announcement “All new alza – Open for booking now”.
    But until now still “No News”…
    SA no update anything.. haiz..
    Loan approved alr… Car plate registered alr.. haiz..haiz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
    • Sohai on Aug 06, 2022 at 1:52 pm

Not sure about the thumbs down. I am in the same boat and can attest to that. SA did offer me a colour that is not my booking to have it immediately. But I rejected it.
      I think the first batch is given to those who converted the order from old Alza

• You don’t know eh? You got relative inside or not. If not, sure GG. They will simply ulti (potong Q) you.

• Reminder that the Alza would probably have been less popular if Proton had a more competitive product. However they don’t.

I wonder if Proton still wants to beat Perodua by 2027.

• Since 1985. Scam like no tomorrow on Aug 08, 2022 at 3:01 pm

Exora (P1) exist simply to make Alza (P2) look good and bargain. So it will look like the rakyat ada pilihan.

Pilihan pi mai pi mai tang tu.

• newme on Aug 04, 2022 at 3:20 pm

How many with failed dash cam?