Proton to develop its own homegrown EV for Malaysia – 16 engineers to be sent to China for R&D training

Proton Iriz EV 2

Proton has announced it will offer its own-brand, homegrown electric vehicle (EV) for Malaysia, although no definitive timeline has been laid out for now.

This was revealed during today’s exchange of memorandum of understanding (MOU) documents between the carmaker’s NEV subsidiary, Proton New Energy Technology (Pro-Net) and Gentari at the ongoing 2022 International Greentech and Eco Products Exhibition & Conference Malaysia (IGEM).

If you’re unfamiliar with the term ‘NEV’, it stands for new energy vehicle and is popularly used in China for electrified vehicles, which includes those with either a mild hybrid, hybrid, plug-in hybrid or fully electric powertrain – the last of which is also commonly referred to as an EV (electric vehicle) or BEV (battery electric vehicle).

Details are scarce, but Proton says its Pro-Net subsidiary will work closely with smart to ensure the forthcoming EV products match the usage profile of Malaysian EV buyers. Additionally, the company will also invest to grow its knowledge base in the field of NEVs by sending engineers to be trained in all aspects of the field.

“Today’s exchange of documents with Gentari addresses one piece of Proton move into the NEV market and opens opportunities to collaborate with the clean energy subsidiary of Petronas to contribute to the buildup of Malaysia’s charging infrastructure. However, Proton must pay equal attention to other areas of the business if we want to have a comprehensive business solution,” said Roslan Abdullah, deputy CEO of Proton.

“For instance, as a national automotive brand, Proton should spearhead the development of Malaysia’s EV ecosystem by investing in knowledge and expertise to address potential blind spots in areas where we have little experience. So, we are sending 16 engineers to China for six months to be trained in R&D, vehicle performance, homologation, and testing with the aim of eventually developing and selling a homegrown NEV.”

“This is an important step in supporting the government’s efforts to move Malaysia towards a knowledge-based economy and to be a regional epicentre for NEVs,” he added.

Proton has dabbled in the realm of NEVs in the past, as during the 2015 IGEM, the carmaker presented the Iriz EV. That car had a 39.6-kWh lithium-ion polymer battery that powered a front electric motor rated at 158 PS (155 hp or 116 kW) and 360 Nm of torque.

Proton to develop its own homegrown EV for Malaysia – 16 engineers to be sent to China for R&D training

The setup enables a 0-100 km/h time of less than nine seconds and top speed of 150 km/h, with a fully charged battery capable of delivering up to 300 km following the NEDC cycle. The EV supports AC charging up to 6.6 kW and fast charging up to 50 kW, with a 40-100% state of charge reached in just 15 minutes with the latter.

There was also the Saga EV Green Propulsion Concept, the Exora REEV, the Preve REEV and Persona Elegance REEV.

Meanwhile, in November last year, the carmaker previewed a 1.5 litre TGDi mild hybrid engine at its Centre of Excellence (COE). At the time, the company did not mention if it will offer any of its own-brand electrified cars, but today’s announcement is a clear indication that one or more will be coming our way. Just when this will happen, we’ll have to wait to find out.

GALLERY: Proton Iriz EV prototype

GALLERY: Proton Preve REEV

GALLERY: Proton Saga EV Green Propulsion Concept

GALLERY: Proton previews 1.5L TGDi with BSG mild hybrid technology

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• I hope you like quarantines and locked downs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 33
    • Right? Aptb. on Oct 13, 2022 at 8:15 pm

No need to homegrown lah. Just rebadge whatever EV that they have. No need to waste money to R&D a.k.a holiday here and there and lastly fail over and over again.

Q4 2022 already. Heard about this so-called bullshit EV from 20++ years ago but the results still same.

Just focus on whatever skills/specialist that you have which is Rebadging.

If cannot just close shop.

YTJT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
      • Kanasai on Oct 15, 2022 at 10:22 am

Yet another stupid comment. Are proton haters that brainless I wonder. You are saying if that when your not smart enough you will just copy your friend’s homework. Now I know why proton haters are so brainless, they never bother to learn anything and prefer rebadging.

• Don’t be negative lah,
        Develop Malaysian EVs by incorporating with all the local technologists at all the local universities,
        Xkan kita asyik nak me harsh kat alien je,
        Bangunlah Malaysia, yang Merdeka 65 thn.

• AP Putra on Oct 13, 2022 at 2:03 pm

next upcoming new model Proton Listrik technology transferred from Tiongkok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Roti john Reborn on Oct 13, 2022 at 2:03 pm

Thank you China for saving Proton as well as training Proton workers to build a proper EV and selling it. Without China’s guidance, Proton is a Game Over company. Last time create Iriz EV but until now never launch it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 33
    • uh, did you notice how you effortlessly contradict your own self? “Proton never launch iris EV” just means they already have the tech for so long but can’t release it because of factors like economy and price. Therefore, proton is not a game over company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • u think they wud launch their new EV too? this is p1 we’re talking about dei! if they still wan to lepak & rilak then nothing will change

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • Hyundai, which started at around Proton time, has been selling its own EV worldwide already. Many China brands, Vietnam and others late to the industry have been developing and selling own EV already. Living comfortably in our own world is good, but that doesn’t mean the world outside stops to accommodate us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
    • Elon Fanboi on Oct 13, 2022 at 2:41 pm

Wrong info brader, Hyundai started way more earlier than Proton. But I can’t argue with u about China car other than spare parts issues.

• Ruslan Bahari on Oct 13, 2022 at 2:49 pm

And your point is Proton should stay as they are? They are rebuilding so I’m game to give them a chance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • newme on Oct 13, 2022 at 3:31 pm

What can 16 engineers do? The last time it took the entire company machinery to design that eternity wave grille… and they were so damn proud of it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 12
    • F’ing holiday there brader. Hehehe

• LOL! Much better than your P2. It took their whole company to design the badge and they were so damn proud of it. Even fanboys are still shouting about their revolutionary badge.

• Homegrown means wasting of taxpayer money that all.Proton also homegrown a good example

• @Snakebabu on Oct 13, 2022 at 3:46 pm

Better late than never. And for goodness sake, pls be inspired by hyundai / polestar design language & never revert back to your iriz.

• FudgeMeSideways on Oct 13, 2022 at 4:07 pm

A bit late, dont you think?

• All foreign EV tax is going to be increased to protect proton EV

• Apologies sir. I don’t quite get this. Excise duty, sales tax are exempt, for CKD and CBU.

• Thats how u do it in japan and korea.protect local industries b4 they are ready to compete

• technocars on Oct 13, 2022 at 5:12 pm

tak payah bazir duitlaaa…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • Makan angin on Oct 13, 2022 at 7:15 pm

Last sembang tgh buat hybrid Gen.2

• DemakATM200 on Oct 13, 2022 at 8:00 pm

Why need homegrown? I thought Geely has made their EV platform available? Just rebadge the geometry model asap.. Why need waste time?

• Sohai on Oct 13, 2022 at 8:36 pm

Why not just hire the talent from overseas instead of send engineers for training? Faster time to market wouldn’t it?

• FrankC on Oct 13, 2022 at 8:39 pm

it makes good sense for 16 engineer to go to Geely and learn how to integrate thie 1.5l TGDi with mild hybrid into locally developed vehicle.
    for most penangites, we live in high rise (like pigeon holes). as such we have limited ability to setup EV charger for our EV. Hence a mild hybrid will be good answer to our need to improve our vehicle fuel efficiency. i have no doubt, the engine with mild hybrid will result in better efficiency for most of us that get stuck in traffic jam everyday.
    in fact proton have had competency to build good chassis but always let down by under performing engines, transmission and interior design. hopefully this group of engineer will help breath a new life to proton’s new vehicles. it’s about time preve and persona get a new drive and upgrade.

• Send which 16 engineers to China? Bought lotus for so long, what did Proton engineers learn?

• Axia Elektrik tested so far ok jer, mereka pun tiada hantar Engineer pergi China belajar, tapi syarikat tu pun boleh cipta dengan berjaya….Membazirkan duit rakyat…..X70 dan X50 pun dari China, Campro enjin yg begitu membanggakan satu masa dahulu sampai skrg pun tak boleh jual, lagi nak elektrik lagi….no comment!

• Mistake with malaysia was it opened up to other countries too fast unlike japan and korea which protected its home grown companies until they were able to walk.still crawling but asked to fight .the previous PM mistake.

• James KWON on Oct 14, 2022 at 7:27 am

Can someone ask them why they sold off their EV R&D Cars in Auction? Proton was ahead of all in early 2010’s. DRB need to answer this. I saw their cars in 2014 open day and had the chance to see the PREVE REEV. pity

• Don’t be hangat2 taik ayam sudah lah Proton. We still remember year 2015 prototype Iriz EV being showcased to us, now already 2022. Please Geely, help Proton.

• Ali Towing Bukit Beruntung. on Oct 14, 2022 at 3:08 pm

“TUNTUTLAH ilmu walau sampai negeri China”

• All, drb fault, so cheapskate, invest low want to sell high…last need geely to support

• FrankC on Oct 14, 2022 at 9:10 pm

Renault also using Geely technology and platform for it’s EV in south korea venture.
      not uncommon in automotive industry to use proven platform or engine from other company.
      instead of having to design anew battery management system and whole lot of other supporting technology, might as well use commercially available and viable solution. learn to plug into what you are already good at… i think the earlier persona and preve have good chassis design. hopefully proton’s product placement not focus on too low cost. otherwise we will get poorly built proton.

• David on Oct 14, 2022 at 9:27 pm

16 engineer going for holiday.. All paid. come back design front kidney grill

• Syamil on Oct 18, 2022 at 2:23 pm

Proton loves big news, didn’t they? From Emas, to Tuah, and now REEV….. But please, Proton, please solves your own problem before do something big but problematic….