Volkswagen Tiguan Allspace Life SUV now priced at RM160,590 – RM13k cheaper, deliveries from Jan 2023

Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) has announced a lower price for the Volkswagen Tiguan Allspace Life, which now goes for RM160,590 on-the-road without insurance. The price adjustment takes place with immediate effect and is applicable for deliveries from January 2023 onwards.

The Tiguan Allspace Life was introduced in August this year as an entry-level variant of the three-row, seven-seat Tiguan Allspace range, which has the Elegance and R-Line. The launch price was RM173,590 on-the-road without insurance, so we’re looking at an RM13,000 reduction in the SUV’s RRP.

No spec change, which means that buyers of the Life get the same 1.4 litre turbocharged engine with 150 PS and 250 Nm of torque from 1,500-3,500 rpm. Drive from the TSI unit is sent to the front wheels via a six-speed wet dual-clutch DSG transmission. Claimed average fuel consumption is 7.7 litres per 100 km (13 km/l). This powertrain is similar to the one in the RM189,590 Elegance variant.

The Life gets the Tiguan facelift’s illuminated light strip between the full LED headlamps, LED taillights, silver-painted side mirrors and 18-inch Frankfurt single-tone wheels with 235/55 tyres. One notable difference compared to the Elegance is the unpainted bumper inserts.

Inside, the base Tiguan comes with fabric upholstery instead of leather, and there’s no 12-way powered front seats with memory, ventilation and heating functions. Other features omitted to achieve the lower price point include the five-preset ambient lighting system and illuminated sill plates. You still get a powered tailgate, although there’s no Easy Open hands-free function.

The rest of the kit list reads pretty much the same, with items like a leather multi-function steering wheel, Climatronic triple-zone climate control (with rear vents), 11.7-inch Digital Cockpit digital instrument cluster, 9.2-inch Discover Pro touchscreen infotainment system, navigation function and wireless Android Auto/Apple CarPlay support all being standard.

Click to enlarge spec sheet

In the safety and driver assist department, the Life comes with six airbags, stability control, hill descent control, regular cruise control and Isofix front passenger and rear child seat anchors. There’s also lane keeping assist and driver alert, but no AEB. As for colours, one can choose from Atlantic Blue, Platinum Grey, Pyrite Silver, Deep Black and Oryx White – the same options as the Elegance.

Once again, the Tiguan Allspace Life is now priced at RM160,590 on-the-road without insurance, RM13,000 cheaper than before. It comes with three years free maintenance, five years unlimited mileage warranty and five years of roadside assistance.

GALLERY: Volkswagen Tiguan Allspace Life

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ROTI CANAI on Dec 23, 2022 at 1:53 pm

kosong safety features. volkswagen, the early 2000s umw toyota of 2022

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • Just wait till next year, surely will give jupiter discount like Passat.

• Unfortunately the 2 litre awd r line price gas gone up and similarly, the arteon.

• anonymous on Dec 23, 2022 at 2:13 pm

this is the problem with Volkswagen. how is this even ok because they basically conned the first buyers of this car. not to mention, they still are one of the remaining car brands that still don’t offer the basic active driver assistance on their vehicles. insane considering elsewhere, Volkswagen sells their cars packed with tech lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • We only have VPCM (Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia) to blame for this. Their arrogance will be their downfall.

• kopi o kosong on Dec 23, 2022 at 2:39 pm

Selling a old model with high price and call itself luxury car. Frog in the well.

• Go Go on Dec 23, 2022 at 2:55 pm

Without AEB, I won’t buy.

• We are closing on to 2023 and VW still refuse to put AEB to their car. Yes I know that ID4 will have it but the release date is unknown.

• seancorr on Dec 23, 2022 at 3:44 pm

Haha quite obvious they couldn’t move many units due to its high price but mediocre spec list. But at 160k but no AEB or blind spot monitor they will still struggle to sell. Those 2 extra seats behind, while would be nice to have in reality it’s an extra cost for those who wanted a 5 seater SUV.

• Katheryne Wong on Dec 23, 2022 at 5:26 pm

They need to sell it at RM110k, then will sold out

• Mr Fakta on Dec 23, 2022 at 8:59 pm

Is this what German engineering has to offer? Seriously a 160k car without even basic AEB in 2022.

• Siva Kumar on Dec 24, 2022 at 1:55 pm

A lot of commenters here are complaining no aeb la no blind spot la. You are trained to not have those features right? So those are just extras to help you as a driver to do things you are supposed to do correctly as a fully licensed vehicle operator. I for one would never depend on these techs (im a lorry driver with 30 years of experience on the road and my lorries dont have any of these features) instead sheer skill and vigilant defensive driving comes first before anything. Forget about those extra techs that doesn’t guarantee anything and be thankful you can get such discount for a brand that is imported into the country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 15
    • I strongly agree. I would rather have a car without all the fancy active assistant drive or whatever at a lower price… Those extra techs are also the first to break. Relying too much on them will dull our vigilance and reaction. Albeit I think those features could prove very useful for seniors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • ROTI CANAI on Dec 24, 2022 at 9:48 pm

waste of money easy to break yadah yadah until one day when your wife knocks into your son accidentally will you then appreciate these things

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • Macampondan on Dec 24, 2022 at 11:28 pm

If don’t use brain and skills, continue to eat your roti canai la.

• AEB is A Must Feature on Dec 25, 2022 at 7:25 am

You are dead wrong! My X-Trail with AEB saved me few times against hitting cars that abruptly stopped or when I did not press the brake padel hard enough or when I was careless .. I began to appreciate AEB from then on

• Bro the suv targeted customers are young men and married women, not lorry drivers

• Haiyaaa on Dec 25, 2022 at 12:03 pm

Clearly that vw wants to clear off the existing model right. And it’s really unfair to previous buyers. Seriously lack of ADAS level 1 or 1.5, not even AEB, currently own a golf rline, driving it, is fun and no other Jap brands can give in the same class (don’t tell me Mazda, it’s still having a gap from vw, I’ve tried both, definitely can feel, Mazda is good too of course)
    But It really lack of safety features like even not having autohold (such a basic feature) but then? give auto start/stop instead. Smartass strat
    Overseas VW even the base model having better features and specs like Taiwan.
    VW Msia really needs to up his game to compete lahhh hellooooo..

• Ketopi on Dec 25, 2022 at 3:55 pm

VW Golf is fun compared to most others because of being a shorter hatchback.

the same fun is missing from VW Arteon and even a Golf Sedan like Jetta.

• Pondan je beli kereta nk kena ada AEB

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Dec 26, 2022 at 6:45 pm

Lelaki sejati selalu yang memandu. Tapi kadangkala dia letih, lalu isterinya menggantikannya memandu. Rupanya isterinya juga ‘microsleep’ ketika jalan sesak di lebuhraya ketika musim percutian. Lalu diciumnya bontot kereta di hadapan. Wang terbang. Abang macho menyesal bagi isterinya memandu walaupun seketika. Kereta tak ada AEB. Ini kisah benar, bro.

• Autodriver on Dec 26, 2022 at 12:00 pm

RM 160k is affordable for 5+2 SUV since the entire components from German and only assembly at Pekan Pahang. Those who complain no AEB don’t buy, you clearly not understand that you can retrofit the AEB (comes with ACC function) at RM 2000 and adds on blind spot monitor also RM 2000. So it is only RM 4k you can have full ADAS (this Allspace Life already equipped with lane keep) and stop and go ACC.

Why VW resist to provide AEB by themselves? It is funny but the truth is they still struggling to get approval from JPJ. It is ONLY RM 4k you can retrofit GENUINE AEB and blind spot from outside workshop. Just ask the VW showroom SA and they will direct you where to install. No warranty void as it is plug and play. I already got full set ADAS for my Passat few years ago.

Tiguan Allspace is very agile in drive, it is similar size like CX5 and CRV but much easy to drive just like X50 or HRV. CX5 handling might be slightly better but it is quite bumpy over the bump.CRV drive is so lame and floating. Tiguan Allspace is right in the middle, ideal for comfort and handling. What is the biggest weakness of Tiguan, the major service is at Benz level. 2nd value is not too bad since it is wet clutch, 2017 Tiguan HL is about RM 90k while new car is RM 170k.

• WooGoo on Dec 27, 2022 at 10:32 am

Struggling to get approval from JPJ? Are you joking? We have never heard of such excuses from other makes….

• stasta on Dec 27, 2022 at 9:25 pm

because other makes have a local “powerful ” partner such as sime darby, drb hicom, umw…

• Robinhood on Dec 29, 2022 at 12:39 pm

You must be having some eyesight issue or senses. Tiguan same size with CRV and CX5??? Lol