2023 Perodua Axia – 20,100 orders received so far, with 13,600 orders converted from outgoing model

There’s strong demand for the 2023 Perodua Axia and its manufacturer is ensuring that owners are taking deliveries promptly, with an estimated 2,900 orders set to be delivered ‘soon’ after today’s official launch of the second-generation hatchback, according to Perodua.

Of the 44,000 orders received which were for the existing, first-generation Axia before the launch of its successor, 13,600 of those have been converted to orders for the newly-launched second-generation Axia, according to Perodua president and CEO Datuk Seri Zainal Abidin Ahmad.

Combined with more than 6,500 new bookings received since the order books opened on January 31, Perodua now has an order tally of 20,100 units, the company said.

As mentioned previously, the national carmaker set itself a sales target of 5,700 units a month for the D74A Axia, and to that end the carmaker aims to reach an annual production volume of over 82,000 units for its just-launched A-segment hatchback, and therefore also set to exceed production volumes for the larger, B-segment Myvi.

The second-generation Perodua Axia was launched today in four variants – G, X, SE and AV, priced at RM38,600, RM40,000, RM44,000 and RM49,500, respectively, where these prices are on-the-road excluding insurance. The most basic E variant with manual transmission will carry on in first-gen Axia form, with release planned for after Hari Raya Aidilfitri, which will be in April this year.

While prices have gone up, Perodua says the hike is in exchange for a larger, safer and more generously equipped car, where VSC, traction control and hill start assist are standard across the range, and the AV range-topped gets Perodua Smart Drive Assist (PSDA).

Motive power for the D74A Axia comes from a 1KR-VE 1.0L VVT-i three-cylinder petrol engine mated to a D-CVT driving the front wheels, with electric power steering, and fuel consumption is a claimed 25.3 km/l fuel consumption in the Malaysian Driving Cycle (MDC).

GALLERY: 2023 Perodua Axia AV

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• anonymous on Feb 14, 2023 at 4:50 pm

Malaysians man i tell ya. also, strong-arming people (who already cannot afford a car) to buy their newer product for more (even though they booked the previous, cheaper model) just doesn’t sit right with me. there isn’t much in terms of competition for cars at that price point so i bet a lot of the 13,600 people (while of course aren’t forced to buy the new model) sort of had no choice but to agree to the ‘upgrade’. perodua really should have had a cut off for bookings made and only launched this model once they clear the backlog of orders for the old model because if i were one of those people who had to ‘upgrade’ i’d genuinely be pissed.

and before y’all wanna say much, they are half the reason why most of us can’t even dream to afford anything else besides P1 or P2 and it absolutely sucks.

• John Geli on Feb 14, 2023 at 6:55 pm

Told ya we rakyat Don’t Need Geely Anymore (DNGA) !!

• Being over gungho ..A Clear and Present Danger on Feb 14, 2023 at 9:49 pm

We never should need Geely at all,if the failed politician didnt start protong.He should have done what Thailand has done…the Detriot of Asia.
        P2 is a spinoff of P1 after P1 became too expensive.
        Remember the first Perodua rebadge of the Daihatsu Mira?

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Feb 18, 2023 at 5:19 pm

Surprisingly only 13.6K left in order bank for Axia. Translating just of 6.5K new order…

https://paultan.org/2023/02/08/2023-perodua-axia-nearly-all-bookings-for-outgoing-model-converted-to-upcoming-next-generation-car/

• Exactly. So many P1 P2 defenders, they aren’t understanding that these two companies are being subsidized to hell and other manufacturers (and consumers) are paying the price for this unfair practice.

Without these two, we’ll be able to afford other (better) cars at a lower price point. This whole rebadging exercise is redundant.

• rakyak bodoh on Feb 15, 2023 at 12:04 pm

the BN government has made most rakyat stupid. It is on purpose. a stupid population will not challenge the government decision. a stupid population is too busy fighting over ketuanan (is ketuanan benefiting the B40? or even the M40? no! but shhh they dont know this). So created national car project to enrich the cronies (guess who are the share holders of national car?) Without AP, without national car project, if we can be like Brunei and buy foreign cars at “standard” prices, rakyat is happier.

• Let them bodoh and diperbodohkan. Which is good. I like it. In front of them I’ll take care of them but reality IDGAF about them.

This is reality. Or is it you need some kind of stone? Avenger much?

• Katheryne Wong on Feb 15, 2023 at 5:45 pm

When riding motorbike which is quite risky, buyers especially the females will buy axia instead. Its all about business, Perodua supplies to the demand. If you prefer better cars, simply buy it, if complaint that means you cannot afford better cars. So, just buy yamaha y15 bcoz its more cheaper.

• John Gagal on Feb 14, 2023 at 5:24 pm

Tell us why we still need Proton anyway.

• Habibu on Feb 15, 2023 at 8:18 am

Tell us why the society need you ?

• Up to you... on Feb 16, 2023 at 7:05 pm

We need Proton as we like to charge you guys more.

We need you to buy those P1 and P2 so that we can happily drive our favourite car.

Thank you for supporting P1 & P2. Love you ketat-ketat.

-Terpaling Sayang-

• 13,600 lucky buyer, didn’t get the outdated model.

Even the base model already better than previos Axia for same price @ RM38k.

Axia AV buyer get to opt for even better AXN AV for 6 Airbags, BSM, RCTA, DNGA Comfort, 27km/L DCVT and larger boot.

• newme on Feb 14, 2023 at 5:36 pm

“Of the 44,000 orders received which were for the existing, first-generation Axia before the launch of its successor, 13,600 of those have been converted to orders for the newly-launched second-generation Axia, according to Perodua president and CEO Datuk Seri Zainal Abidin Ahmad.”

Didn’t they say MOST have converted?

• Gua Rocky on Feb 14, 2023 at 7:30 pm

seventy percent from previous axia model backlog sale. these 30 percent new buyers will experience the same waiting period for another 2 years

• Bosskou on Feb 14, 2023 at 7:21 pm

Hopefully some day high spec manual will come out

• TripleY on Feb 14, 2023 at 8:59 pm

Proton Saga is crying down the drain

• Justice on Feb 17, 2023 at 2:39 pm

Great, more mat rempits on 4 wheels on the roads now…