Unsubsidised RON95 is RM3.22/litre in Malaysia – ready to pay 57% more with targeted fuel subsidy?

The launch of dedicated fuel stations selling non-subsidised fuel in Perlis may only affect foreign-registered vehicles near our northern border with Thailand, but it does offer a clear view of what to expect if, or rather when the targeted fuel subsidy programme is implemented. Ladies and gents, without government subsidies, RON95 petrol is priced at RM3.22 per litre in Malaysia.

Oh yes, that’s a huge RM1.17 per litre increase over the current subsidised price of RM2.05 for RON95. In other words, that’s 57% more expensive that what we are used to paying now. So if you are constantly spending say, RM300 on fuel every month as it is, you’ll be looking at coughing up RM471 without subsidies. That’s an extra RM171 every month.

Of course, that’s taking an overly simplistic view of things. As it is, we don’t know when the targeted fuel subsidy mechanism will be implemented and more importantly, how it will be worked out. Those that fall “outside” the targeted brackets, will they pay the full market price, or will they still receive some (but less) subsidy?

Then-finance minister Lim Guan Eng during Budget 2019

How one is deemed either eligible or undeserving of fuel subsidies is unclear too. So far, we’ve been told that the government will use your car’s engine capacity data as a measure, although the exact threshold is still unknown.

Back in 2018, the then-government proposed a cut-off limit of 1.3 litres – if your engine is any bigger, you won’t get any subsidy. That threshold was increased to 1.5 litres in Budget 2019, and then again to 1.6 litres soon after. In the last update, it was also added that if your car has an engine bigger than 1.6 litres, but is older than 10 years, you’d be eligible.

For motorcycles, the cut-off was set at 125 cc, and then upped to 150 cc. For bikes with bigger engines, it would have to be more than seven years old to be eligible. This was all supposed to start in January 2020, but it was never implemented due to the combination of Covid-19, MCOs and of course, the changing of governments.

Petrol subsidy programme (PSP) planned for 2020

As of end of 2022, Domestic trade and cost of living (KPDN) minister Datuk Seri Salahuddin Ayub added that beyond sheer engine size as per JPJ data, the government would also look at additional relevant information from the inland revenue board (LHDN), Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM), Khazanah Nasional and the department of statistics Malaysia (DOSM) to deem whether or not you would be eligible for fuel subsidies.

Again, the exact mechanisms and thresholds are still unknown so far. On the basis of income levels, would only the B40 be eligible? And if so, would the cut-off points be different from state to state? And what about fuel meant for business or company use – will it depend solely on the individual person doing the refueling? The questions and permutations are endless.

For now, it is expected that the targeted fuel subsidy programme will be included in the revised Budget 2023, which will be tabled in the Dewan Rakyat next week on February 24 by finance minister and prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim. Will our questions be answered then?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• ROTI CANAI on Feb 16, 2023 at 5:52 pm

lower car prices first, then remove all the subsidies for all i care

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • No meaning, at this price, petrol cost go above RM500 per month, excluding toll fee.

Even a cheap Saga only less than $10,000 usd, you can’t get lesser unless lower salary for Malaysian.

• King Kong kedah on Feb 16, 2023 at 7:01 pm

Tbh, we the PN locals cult more preferred bribe Sedekah during the General election…

than this cheap rm2 minyak murah ron95.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
        • Gay Monkey Anwar on Feb 16, 2023 at 9:15 pm

Another moronic PH supporter who wanted to relate every single thing to politics.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
          • Civic Turbo 2018 on Feb 17, 2023 at 11:23 am

Higher living cost
            Higher company earnings
            Higher individual salary mah…

• Hadi duta Tepi.. on Feb 17, 2023 at 11:38 am

so obvious King Kong is a PN sapoter. becos they swallowed sedekah. Duhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
          • We not like u smart PN supporter mah.. LOL

• dick-docker celebraties on Feb 17, 2023 at 12:30 pm

we voted pas pn, ten-q dpt RM RM RM RM

• Hahahaha on Feb 16, 2023 at 6:59 pm

If only everything is as simple as how your brain function.
      You really expect the car price will be super duper affordable without ridiculus amount of tax…and you really think that without fuel subsidy everything else remain as it is?

• Being over gungho ..A Clear and Present Danger on Feb 16, 2023 at 7:47 pm

U remember TZ spew dragon flames at covid stricken rakyat,by threatening BMW owners?
      Now,we have Sallahudin,buat kajian,pemantauan..still no clues.
      The fact is>>>our opposition will hentam germen using this fuel thing as a weapon.Now,MOoMOo advocating EPF withdrawal again.
      In the end…just continue to get fuel subsidies.No PM dares to hike it due to huge backlash.

• subsi on Feb 17, 2023 at 12:32 pm

What subsidy? actually the rakyat has been paying the fuel subsidy through high taxes when we purchase our cars…..rakyat subsidised our ownself la! to be fair, reove the cars taxes & u can go ahead remove the fuel subsidy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Roger on Sep 26, 2023 at 5:30 pm

What do you think about why our car price is higher as compared to many other countries out there? It is used to compensate back the subsidy paid. Your idea is pretty impossible. But well, never said never.

• A targeted subsidy system would be a royal mess. They can try to remove the subsidy 100% for everyone, but let B40 request for financial aid through proper channels. This way, no one can game the system like T20 paying B40 to pump petrol and paying them half of the saved money as commission.

• Subsidy or no subsidy? IDGAF. on Feb 16, 2023 at 6:36 pm

For me, I don’t really care if need to fork extra money even now also I fill up my car with 97 to prevent knocking. I’ll simply push all the price to retailer at least 57% also. At last B40s will ‘die’ infinitely as all the goods that they need to pay now will impact all their basic necessities.

And to gov, prepare to ‘layan’ all the ‘rengek & rungut’ from your beloved B40s as they are your huge chunk of your vote right?

-Gula-Gula-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Ramasami on Feb 16, 2023 at 10:16 pm

That is one of the problem…’I don’t really care’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
      • Azfar on Feb 17, 2023 at 10:16 pm

Wow such arrogance n selfishness.. I too only pump ron97 but with the absence of such animal thoughts like urs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
        • Denial enough? on Feb 18, 2023 at 11:05 pm

Literally this is reality brother. What do you expect? To cry it out loud and expect all the price to be RAHMAH? We’ll not reduce our margins to rakyats. Business is business.

Pls open both of your eyes and see it for yourself.

That’s why I said, B40s will suffered most from this chain effect. And always, they will ‘sell’ their sad story such as anak ramai, bini ramai, makan nasi garam + duduk PPR. Should enforce castrated on them so that will not breed like no tomorrow.

Lousy & lazy, menghabiskan beras, kecil2 x nak mam***, sudah besar menyusahkan org. Quote that I heard from my Malay friends.

You very ‘untung’ born as bumis, we as minority need to work twice as hard in order to gain the same thing. So is it fair to us? But we accept it right?

Think about it before saying such arrogance and selfishness brother. It’s you that live with denial.

Tq.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
          • Dislike? Lol, I challenge you to fight clean pls, no handicap. Can or not?

So LEMMMAAAHHH.

I belanja you magic tissue.

• Disappointed Anwar supporter on Feb 16, 2023 at 7:32 pm

Please don’t do this, Anwar. If not, you will lose my vote.

• Janji dicapati on Feb 16, 2023 at 5:59 pm

Anwar menang rakyat senang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Anwar Supporter on Feb 16, 2023 at 6:04 pm

Tax the rich, help the poor.

• RyanT on Feb 16, 2023 at 7:05 pm

Do u need help? Haaa

• There needs to be some kind of balance, otherwise no one’s incentivized to succeed anymore and that would be terrible. We’re already a nation of net talent exporters…

• Treat all fairlah! on Feb 16, 2023 at 10:57 pm

The rich already paid more taxes. it is not really fair to further target them as they r also rakyat and contribute to the country development. Some bcome rich due to their hardwork,dedication&discipline. They bring investment & employment. Sometimes i feel strange y ppl like to target the rich like somesort of problem??Eventhough im not rich, but do try to work my best and learn from them to achieve a better life not the other way round.

• Such a pest on Feb 17, 2023 at 10:57 am

As always, PPR B40s solution —> Tax the rich.

Study & work hard and pls don’t ‘merengek’ like idiot to the gov.

• Rafizi sembang kencang on Feb 16, 2023 at 6:12 pm

Targeted fuel subsidies mean lower food and goods prices? Is it correct, Anwar and Rafizi?

• Bring it on!

• Coffee Rahman on Feb 16, 2023 at 6:25 pm

Use QR code coupons that are generated for all the B40 to get subsidised fuel. Without this QR code you pay unsubsidised fuel. Plus there is a limit on subsidised fuel.

• M40?

• Don’t you know that M40s always ‘tersepit’ in between?

Here in our beloved Malaysia, either you in B40 or T20, don’t put yourself in M40 categories.

• Bla blaz on Feb 16, 2023 at 6:42 pm

B40 drive rm170k car how?

• Seventie on Feb 16, 2023 at 6:42 pm

25,000km/year @ 8km/L @ RM3.22/l x 10 years = RM100,625 Petrol or RM838+/month
    25,000km/year@ 20km/L @ RM3.22/l x 10 years = RM40,250 Petrol or RM335/month

Suffering alot with makan minyak car now.

• oh boy this is gonna get messy! kalau nak buang subsidy, naik gaji kita org duluuuuu

• Li Peng on Feb 16, 2023 at 6:48 pm

Now that we have the new fuel saving Axia government shall drop fuel subsidies completely.

• Bla blaz on Feb 17, 2023 at 11:19 am

Not the case. Regardless of car u drive if u re not b40 u cannot get the subsidy. If b40 drive rm170k car they can get subsidy. If t20 drive rm170k car they cannot get subsidy

• Bieight8 on Feb 16, 2023 at 7:16 pm

What if the person own many cars from axia to range rover? How to target???

• Maverick merpati still at Kajang on Feb 16, 2023 at 7:43 pm

Aiyahyah..sell,off the blardy Rover now lor..simple ,also dont know meh?

• In thailand, philippines and vietnam does not have petrol/ diesel subsidies. In thailand and vietnam their cost of basic goods are still low.
    We should remove petrol/ diesel subsidies and implement afta(asean free trade agreement) for cars snd basic food such as rice, fish and chicken snd our food prices will drop.

• In Thailand nationwide highway toll free. Buy local assembly car is 45% cheaper than Malaysia. All these savings sufficient for my fuel without subsidy that’s why Siamese no complaint and cost of living is still low. Malaysia highest toll, car price world top 3…ALL THE CRABS MEAT in politicians stomach…. LOL

• Muzzy on Feb 16, 2023 at 8:22 pm

I don’t know why is it so hard to implement. If car brand is continental, just remove the subsidy. Helps promote local brand. Rich people will still use luxury brand no matter what. Only a few would still use local one but it is still better than using engine size.

• Simon on Feb 16, 2023 at 8:28 pm

Stop giving subsidies and enforce a fair minimum wage

• YNWA84 on Feb 16, 2023 at 9:15 pm

What’s the point? Raising a fair minimum wage is impossible. At the end of the day, the companies will just divert the raise to the overall cost, meaning further layoffs, raise prices for end product, and more work hours.

• INEVITABLE on Feb 16, 2023 at 8:36 pm

let fuel prices float, remove all subsidies, increase 100% on car taxes, profit from taxes to improve public transport,

in long run rakyat will learn how to adapt, spend wisely, spend necessarily, less rempits, less vehicles on road, less fatal accident

• BODOH on Feb 16, 2023 at 9:18 pm

Many areas in the country still do not have proper infrastructure, if we implement what you suggest then many might as well just die. Stupid.

No wonder you guys voted for PH

• CLEVER? on Feb 17, 2023 at 10:58 am

roads in peninsular are very much sufficient, only those in borneo are still not that mapped, that’s the reason why taxes are needed to improve public transport

more vehicles, more subsidies, more roads, more maintenance & toll charges

those voted for PN are the saviours of the nation?
        so they can continue breeding & rely on subsidies?

clearly you deserved the title BODOH, i cant argue with that…

• Sigh... on Feb 17, 2023 at 11:04 am

Actually mr bodoh, as Rakyats basically we don’t have the choice. You vote A, B, C etc, at the end of day, they will do the same to you.

Politics = Same shit different smell.

• …belum perintah janji capati…dah dapat perintah suruh makan taik minyak..

• STUPID PH on Feb 16, 2023 at 9:27 pm

If we follow your stupid advise, economic growth will be impacted. You should consider living in the jungle with orang utan.

• Reduce government expenditures, not increase people burden on Feb 16, 2023 at 9:38 pm

M40 and T20 are already paying income tax with T20 topping the tax range. In a way, they are already paying the for the subsidy for this and other things else. Let’s not forget the purchases by them in another way go to government thru different tax (sales, etc). B40 contributes nothing to income tax and less on other taxes. It’s actually the cronies and government leeches that suck the most from our country coffer. Instead of mulling on getting more money from the people, firing 1 redundant minister / leech benefits at least a 1000.

• BN propaganda 60 years on Feb 17, 2023 at 8:24 am

BN propaganda has always tried to demonize the T20, and also the hardworking M40. The stupid B40 always believe the propaganda. You see in local forums, always envy, dengki with M40 and T20. But the hidden truth is, T20 and M40 has been paying taxes, keeping the economy afloat, and allowing Malaysia to continue running. But alas, B40 gets all the benefit and contributes NOTHING.

• lebai on Feb 17, 2023 at 11:12 am

filthy rich doesn’t pay tax, they evade, they hid their stash in overseas account which can’t be touch…i believe everyone will do the same

• Dugung X on Feb 18, 2023 at 1:16 am

Without T20 paying tax, the B40 won’t even get a single Sen of BRIM. It’s a government trick to make us fight among each other. The real enemy is the T0.01 menteri and cronies sucking the taxpayers dry.

• Inggut on Feb 16, 2023 at 10:32 pm

cut all subsidy and give all malaysian a million rnggit in ASB(for Bumi’s) …for non bumi’s gov should make 1 Amanah Saham for them…and can only wtdraw divden year end and mature(withdraw all) when reach age 60 ….2k for mnimum wage….and gov should focus on how to get Animal and Fish Feed,fertlizer and many more so it can get cheaper….

• Make hybrid/ev cheap first than only talklah! on Feb 16, 2023 at 10:43 pm

Honestly speaking. Plz make hybrid/ev affordable(axia pricing) before thinking to remove subsidy. So the effect will not be too big. if gment really want to increase the revenue, the best way is Gst. Besides, can the gment think how to get more income/investment globally rather than focus internally? Tq

• Two cents on Feb 16, 2023 at 10:46 pm

Emm so those that drive 1.0-1.6L turbocharged continentals still get subsidy?? Lol this logic is flawed af. Might as well make the subsidy an income tax relief for the targeted brackets…

• Wei86 on Feb 17, 2023 at 4:47 am

Many so called B40 are actually T20 that actually don’t report their true financial status and pay taxes while still getting all the B40 benefits.

• Drivers on Feb 17, 2023 at 9:16 am

Your claim is not realistic. Unless they willing to put their assets and properties all under other people’s name. I don’t think they will do that.
      Put it simple case and easy example:
      Are you willing to put 95% of your 1mil savings to another person, let’s say your sibling, just to make you B40 ? At the same time your siblings who are real B40 is now become T20 due to your money and have less benefits ?
      Or you going to split it into many people and having a money drama later on ?

So now you see it is unrealistic to claim a T20 to pretend as B40 right ? Unless he/she is willing to do so due to illegal money, but that is extreme case and I don’t think all of T20 doing illegal stuffs. :)

• Cinta berahi on Feb 17, 2023 at 1:51 pm

They actually do that….Doesn’t have to be illegal money

• Nah bro, they keep it in their Sdn Bhd or partnerships nowadays, no longer keep with close family because family can stab you in the back apparently. All their cars and houses they buy under the company name. Taxes also they pay corporate taxes. Individually speaking still B40 if they don’t declare dividend for director, but living like kings.

• Ben Yap on Feb 17, 2023 at 9:49 am

those riding Sym VF3i and Yamaha R15 or MT15 no subsidy… LOL…. while those driving BMW 318i, 218i, VW jetta or Merc A180 and A200 or Honda civic, HRV, CRV and accord 1.5 turbo got fuel subsidy.

• Pisang on Feb 17, 2023 at 10:13 am

It is 2023 and government still looks at engine displacement for benchmarking. In what era are these guys living in actually.

• Penduduk Tanah Melayu on Feb 17, 2023 at 10:14 am

Before they become the government, they said everything is easy. This can be cheaper, that should be cheaper. But now everything need to go up. When the talk is so cheap. I think there should be an act to let people report and charge any cheating politician.

• Mereka sendiri kata janji kempen tidak semestinya perlu dikotakan. Hehehe…

• Vincent on Feb 17, 2023 at 10:25 am

The price is still much lower than what has been paid by Thailand. Current Ron 95 (petrol + alcohol) is selling @ THB35 per L. 35*0.13 is Over MYR4.50 for the mixture of petrol+alcohol.

• Proton oh Proton on Feb 17, 2023 at 10:33 am

Formula man where is your formula?

• Del... on Feb 17, 2023 at 10:39 am

Abolish road tax dan lower car prices then it is ok to go market price for the fuels.

• Chen Kim Fatt on Feb 17, 2023 at 10:53 am

All these methods are stupid. Just impose additional petrol tax at the sake of the vehicles. Examples, cars above 1.5 cc to 1.6 cc is charged extra 4 k at the time of purchase, 1.6 cc to 1.8 cc is charged 8 k, 1.8 cc to 2 litres is charged 12 k and so on.
    It is stupid to do it at time of pumping petrol. People can easily finds ways to bypass it and it gives additional burden to the petrol stations

• Sohai on Feb 17, 2023 at 11:01 am

Nothing wrong with Fuel subsidy as it is channeled back to the rakyat. Unless you tell me what you are going to do with the savings from subsidy, a better plan so to speak…

If you tell me the savings is going to buy a few more submarines…. err..

As it is, the fuel subsidy is helping us to cope with inflation.

• ej wo on Feb 17, 2023 at 11:26 am

Just remove all subsidies and provide rebate to b40 and m40 via bsh, etc etc. No need new systems and over complicate things. Why all the smart ppl in gov cannot think?

• Reality on Feb 19, 2023 at 8:27 am

Simple. Because when you work smart in the gov. They will fired you or heck sending you to rural area to do some idiotic research & development on orangutan. The more idiot you are, the more easy for you to go up the rank. See for yourself.

• Anonymous on Feb 17, 2023 at 1:07 pm

Why bring up old story and news. Does it relevant to now and will it affect us?

• I have no objection if no subsidiary but it has to be to all!!! The government should encourage Malaysian worker harder. Just like labour law, We have minimum 14days sick leave but only 8 days annual leave, encourage lazy people to take sick leave?

• East Nayl on Feb 17, 2023 at 1:32 pm

Government should totally remove the subsidy ASAP. People who cant afford should use public transport, MRT, bus etc, less polution, less traffic. More money for govt to improve public facilities. Just like in europe where ministers ride bicycle to work. In malaysia, a few hundreds in bank already driving a myvi. It’s totally wrong!

• rakyat tak cerdik on Feb 17, 2023 at 3:13 pm

Malaysia produce high quality oil.
    But Malaysians dont get to enjoy its own fruit.
    The petrol we use are cheap garbage purchased from overseas.

Pendek cerita: we produce Good oil, we sell for others to enjoy. Then we use that money to buy Garbage oil for rakyat consumption. Hence we need to follow crude oil price.

• damn my 155cc scooter bike is sure cheaper than 1500cc honda/toyota/mercedes/proton/bmw
    but not qualified?

• Kow chye on Feb 17, 2023 at 4:33 pm

To be fair the richer folks alr. contribute exorbitant import taxes when buying cars and pay higher income tax. If want to implement 0 subsidy, remove taxes incl. road tax. Try to simplify matter and maintain status quo. Most importantly, smash down on corruption and cut salary of ministers will be able a lot of rakyats money.

• Sohai on Feb 17, 2023 at 6:00 pm

You should never have different pricing for different people at the point of sales. Is just a recipe for disaster and abuse.
    Taxing the rich more should be at the point of income, not consumption. after that, everyone pays the same price for the same goods without discrimination.

• Coconut on Feb 17, 2023 at 8:28 pm

Remove subsidy for all fuel ron95 and above. Subsidize for 92 or less only. Same like Indonesia

• Encik Awan on Feb 17, 2023 at 10:30 pm

Hahaha.. These fellow dont remember what happened to pak lah when he increased the price to RM2.80. Good luck. We’ll see.

• B40 m40 t20 is all bs. Its only written on payslip. I have know lots of business men only get min amount of salary to be eligible to be b40 but way much money in saving than me m40. Every thing not eligible. If subsidy are removed, then orang makan gaji will be most affected. Pm also b40 because he dont have salary.

• Chicken & Egg on Feb 17, 2023 at 11:40 pm

Pitty the middle class

• Bla blaz on Feb 18, 2023 at 1:02 am

What if we redefine like this. No fuel subsidy for filthy rich peiple. What that translate T5?, T3?

• Somal on Feb 18, 2023 at 1:34 am

Soon all vehicle will be an EV no more internal combustion engine. So no petrol or diesel usage on vehicles.

• azahari on Feb 18, 2023 at 5:10 am

It should base on horsepower not cc as many luxury cars own by the rich now come with small cc. why are the kerajaan madani mindset are soo backwards no wonder the rakyat called them a tong kosong government

• Don’t get shrimp behind Mee geroang tau …lepas tu suka² jer nak sidai Raykat !!!!!

• Talk2 government on Feb 18, 2023 at 8:42 am

This is a hypocrite government. They will talk2 probably until GE16. They will just continue with previous government strategy. This targeted fuel subsidy and all other targeted subsidies is just to make themselves look busy.

• Nelsan on Feb 18, 2023 at 9:49 am

Bring in more local EV’s. Proton and Perodua should start delivering EV. Stop telling reason Malaysia is not ready. It is Petronas not ready to take the challenge. After EV is 50% used by Malaysian, then u can start selling fuel without subsidy.

• Terbaikk. Sepatutnya ini patut dilakukan lebih awal , kerana subsidi tu boleh dijadikan bayaran balik hutang negara , dapat mengurangkan risiko kemalangan jln raya kerana rakyat akan lebih byk menaiki motorsikal dari kereta dan kesesakan lalulintas dijln jln utama pusat bandar juga akan berkurang .. rakyat akan lebih belajar untuk berjimat untuk menaiki kenderaan awam atau berkongsi/menumpang kenderaan rakan sepejabat .. terbaikkkkkkk

• Xperlu berjadual atau mengasing2kan B40 T20 s3bab itu menyusahkan pihak penjual ,lebih adil untuk semua ,

• Ape nak jadi... on Feb 18, 2023 at 11:31 pm

Betul tu tuan. Setuju. Drpd buat2 bz dgn cadangan sampah tu, lebih baik mrk ni fikir mcm mana nak tarik pelabur masuk. Ini tidak, isu2 bangang je dibangkitkan. Mrk tdk bljr drpd kes mendiang Shinzo Abe nih…

• Mark Yap Soon Cheong on Feb 18, 2023 at 12:10 pm

What about fuel subsidies for oku drivers? Pls don’t forget the oku card holders who are eligible to drive.

• Hanafiah on Feb 18, 2023 at 7:15 pm

Shouldn’t it be about drop in price as promised!? What are we waitoing for?

• Ricky on Feb 19, 2023 at 12:55 pm

First, you you have inefficient public transport systems 2nd, even with a railway system, your way below productive levels. Pity, such a system could have been further taken advantage of to reduce the carbon foot print and further reduce the cost of goods delivery and finally reduce the cost on the shelves domestic users. Your Agri and agro culture is far below par as well. Ineffective productive methods and distribution control by so call government agencies add to the hike in cost. Its not always an excuse to increase salaries. Unproductive and ineffective so call training programs with expansive price tags is a waste to the expenditure spent by the government which is actually in some way or other supported from tax payers aka the rakyat. With the same results year after year. There are so many ways to change the wastage, unproductive, under par performance in so many sectors but it been a culture of what do I personally get, what promotion i get, what bonus i will get… About me.. me.. me instead of working first towards the stability and improvement of the efficiency of thea many major sectors that is bleeding away abd failing miserably year after year. I only touch on transportation and supply however there are so many sectors that need attention as its all interlinked like a chain. Break down one and it effects the others like a daisy chain system. There are many here in this great country who can help and contribute but never get the chance.. its a shame. Their ideas either get hijacked and someone else gets to do the job and end up failing badly or producing results far lower than expected and the project deemed a failure. In the end many leave the country only to contribute the knowledge and technics to benefit another country. What a waste!

• Goh Tuo Huei on Feb 19, 2023 at 1:29 pm

All is because china covid 19

• Khun Ah Rick on Feb 19, 2023 at 2:48 pm

Just remove all subsidies. It’s about time the B40s sacrifice for the country.

• manaholo on Feb 20, 2023 at 12:35 am

gst pegi abandoned…just pasai nak kejar vote…now subsidy bersasar…will it work? subsequently harga barang also naik because oil price naik… then how? bring back gst so the gomen can tax base on rakyat spendings….so the revenue can cover the subsidy n some other things…but smart ass mr rapiji is better than 99% economic expert in the world said gst not fair…blady idiot eat your own words la

• Just a thot on Mar 06, 2023 at 1:28 am

If you remove all the fuel subsidies, we are not just talking about the people t20 to b40.. We are also talking about businesses, manufacturing and factories.. Once these subsidies are gone.. Every cost increases.. Not just fuel cost for everyday person.. Have a proper plan before implementing it.. Have everything ready to suppress the suprise increase in other costs.. Food, services, and other goods..

Im not against the removal of subsidies, infact i want it removed so this country cant stop being reliant all the time at the gov.. But the gov must have everything else in order at least the basic necessities.. No need to gula² the people.. Just be kind, fair and just.. From the subsidy saving give targeted allowance to the b40s.. The universal basic income sounds good.. Let them manage their finances on their own.. Then the remaining can be used for improvements of the country esp gov housing development and sell them to both b40s and m40s at a rent to buy basis.. This will help save alot of people’s money.. Also use some for the development of infra that t20s can use.. This way all will win..

• Autobahn on Jul 14, 2023 at 7:28 am

I thought when ph win tomoro rm1.5 per liter

• James on Dec 05, 2023 at 5:24 pm

Save the subsidy which is meant for every one and pass back the savings via ewallet to Rakyat as rebates according to income level.