Digital road tax, license won’t add congestion – PDRM

The digitisation of vehicle road tax and driver’s licenses will not add to congestion at road blocks, according to a digital excerpt of a Sinar Ahad article shown on the Polis DiRaja Malaysia (Royal Malaysia Police) Facebook page.

The Bukit Aman traffic investigation and enforcement department (JSPT) fully welcomes and supports the government’s digital approach, JSPT Bukit Aman director Datuk Seri Mat Kasim Karim was quoted by the newspaper as saying.

This follows the announcement on February 10, 2023 by transport minister Anthony Loke Siew Fook that Malaysians only need to show the digital versions of the road tax and driver’s license on the JPJ mobile app via mobile phone.

As a result, Section 20 of the Road Transport Act 1987 (Act 333), which says that the LKM has to be stuck and displayed on the vehicle will no longer be enforced for categories in phase one, which covers private vehicles including motorcycles for Malaysian citizens.

“In the interim, we aim to give society a chance [to adapt] and [practice advocacy] before the Road Transport Department (JPJ) carries out 100% enforcement. I am also confident that checks during roadblocks will not be affected. Should problems arise, detailed checks will then be carried out,” the Bukit Aman JSPT director told Sinar Ahad.

The police will always be in collaboration with the JPJ in terms of assignments and enforcement, he added. The mobile compound online payment system (MCOPS) devices will continue to enable enforcement through integration with the JPJ’s MySikap system or QR code scanners for the verification of drivers’ identification and vehicle license plate numbers, the JSPT director continued.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Keyboard warrior on Feb 20, 2023 at 7:21 pm

I wonder how people can be so dumb for even issuing this matter. Some of you can’t read at all ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
    • Tang KS on Feb 20, 2023 at 9:50 pm

If everyone is as smart as you think you are then there won’t be people cleaning the public toilets and neither will there be anyone sweeping the streets. Believe me there are lots of dumb people out there including me. Satisfied?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
      • AZAMIRUDDIN AHMAD on Feb 21, 2023 at 8:40 am

Off-topic here, but I don’t think people who do jobs like you said are dumb. They are more brilliant people compared to those who work in the parliament.

• Zoomer on Feb 21, 2023 at 8:59 am

It is 2023. Reading comprehension is still exist?? For old folks, yes. But youngster???

• KS Tang on Feb 21, 2023 at 9:49 am

you’re just lazy, like other B40 in the country. waiting for handouts, waiting for help. Too lazy to put in effort.

• KokTok on Feb 21, 2023 at 10:55 am

And you think people who clean toilet are dumb. Bravo Tang’s family!

• Old cock on Feb 22, 2023 at 1:49 pm

Public toilet cleaners and road sweepers are not stupid but you are.

• AZAMIRUDDIN AHMAD on Feb 21, 2023 at 8:37 am

Dear JPJ and Transport Minister,

I don’t know if you guys are reading this.

Please review the road tax value. It should be based on engine power rather than engine capacity. We lived in the year 2023 already, not 1960.

• Zimb Kozy on Feb 21, 2023 at 11:34 am

Betul tu. Remove roadtax. Sudah tak relevant. Change it to carbon tax.

• Squid on Feb 21, 2023 at 8:56 am

If they stop printing road tax, what’s the solution for those who drive across borders?

• AppleTree on Feb 22, 2023 at 10:38 am

Road tax is paying road tax in Malaysia. Not in Thailand or Singapore. Your road tax is not valid there, though these countries may need this document when you want to enter. They have to change to follow our changes, not our country follow their aged long processes.

• Old cock on Feb 22, 2023 at 1:53 pm

Come on. That’s simple. Print s copy yourself and stick it as usual on your windscreen when you cross borders.

• digital me and you on Feb 21, 2023 at 9:14 am

I’ve removed all roadtax stickers from the cars in my garage since the day it was announced. My windscreen and view is unobstructed now!

• Andrew Chee on Apr 02, 2023 at 4:14 pm

I too support the move and took off my road tax. I had doubts but decided to give the enforcement authorities the benefit of doubts only until recently. I was stop at a road block purely for not displaying the road block. Car in front of mine was let go without any stop. The police actually confirm that he stop me purely because he wanted to see my road tax. This is discriminatory against me for in support of the new move. He actually gave me a whole lesson of how I show put up the physical road tax because some time the system is down and so on. So the question is what are the guidelines given to the enforcement authorities? Whether they should stop a car purely because they do not see a need physical road tax displayed? How does the govmen expects us to continue in support of digitalising everything when we will be targeted simply because of following their new implementation?

• jomkoyak on Feb 21, 2023 at 9:24 am

dah koyak since announced. good riddance

• lambmendi on Feb 21, 2023 at 10:21 am

Let me share you one scenario. I’m driving my wife car, then I met a roadblock. I showed my license through MyJPJ app, then the police asked for a roadtax for the car that I’m driving which I don’t have it in MyJPJ app because the car is not under my name so how I’m to show the roadtax that I don’t have.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • this is another example of ignorance. Read the article until finish. Already stated NO NEED TO SHOW ANYTHING TO ENFORCEMENT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Digital not necessarily the way to go on Feb 21, 2023 at 10:34 am

I wonder how does one display digital road tax if the car is rented. Or someone borrowed to use my car, how do they get my car’s road tax details? Why not use number plate recognition camera which can pull up details or red flag if the road tax expired? Also, if phone battery flat, how to bring up the digital license? Looks good from far, but far from good when you look into details.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • RTFM2 on Feb 21, 2023 at 11:37 am

this is another example of ignorance. Read the article until finish. Already stated NO NEED TO SHOW ANYTHING TO ENFORCEMENT.

• Avid reader on Feb 21, 2023 at 1:26 pm

I’ve scanned through the article a number of times. Wonder which article you are reading which expressly state that there’s no need to show anything. I think you are not on the same page as the rest here….

• Laugh on Feb 21, 2023 at 3:19 pm

No need to read anything. You just continue to use the roadtax sticker. Problem solved.

• Richard C on Feb 22, 2023 at 7:45 am

The last paragraph Where they mention the device which the pdrm would use to check & verify validity of roadtax of car. Note. Phase 1 of this exercise is for private vehicles & bikes. Not rental vehicles.