West Coast Expressway to open four new alignments

WCE highway map

The West Coast Expressway (WCE) and Federal Route 5 (FR5) with a combined length of 275.8 km are expected to receive at least 300,000 vehicles daily when fully completed, which is expected to be either towards the end of next year or early 2025, Utusan Malaysia reported.

The opening of the alignments in Bandar Bukit Raja as well as in Hutan Melintang, Lekir and Changkat Chermin in Perak since May 2019 has increased traffic flow by 60% this year, according to the report.

Four new alignments will be opened this year and these will be Sections 1, 2, 6 and 11 in areas including Banting, the South Klang Valley Expressway (SKVE), Assam Jawa and Taiping (South), according to WCE chief executive Lyndon Alfred Felix.

The opening of the Section 4 alignment that is the Federal Highway connection that has reached 99% completion will be opened when land acquisition around Jalan Kebun for Section 3 connecting to the Kesas highway in Shah Alam has been completed, he continued.

When these are completed, WCE will focus on the construction of the final, 29.5 km-long Section 7 alignment located in Tanjung Karang that will connect with Jalan Kuala Selangor-Teluk Intan on Federal Route 5, the CEO added.

For the upcoming Hari Raya Aidiladha that falls on June 29, Thursday, the highway is prepared to receive more than 100,000 vehicles as this volume has been achieved during the past Hari Raya Aidilfitri celebrations, and this in fact has surpassed last year’s figure of 60,000 vehicles, according to Felix.

Felix adds that the WCE is also well-suited for commercial vehicles, as travelling along the highway would save travel time by around 30 minutes to an hour. From a safety standpoint, the WCE is also safer as it does not pass through hilly and high-risk areas, and is instead mostly level and has fewer turns, making it suitable for heavy vehicles.

In addition, the WCE is suitable for residents in and around Shah Alam, Klang and Kuala Langat who want to head north without encountering as much traffic from Kuala Lumpur and from the Hulu Selangor, Gombak and Hulu Langat districts, he said.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• K.M. Liew on Jun 26, 2023 at 6:55 pm

What about EV charging stations along the way?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • I believe this highway is 15 years late. At changkat jering ( taiping) , there could be a bottleneck as it nerges with NS highway to penang. The highway leading to juru toll has no plan to be widened. So those going north of prai and vice versa will suffer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • stasta on Jun 28, 2023 at 8:50 pm

completion delayed by so many years thanks to incompetent main con WCE

• Orang Johor Kerja di Klang Valley on Jun 27, 2023 at 6:35 am

We need the highway as the alternative to NSE, badly. Imagine enduring traffic jam on NSE every weekend and festive holidays. Will be gone soon if we have the highway ready. I hope the highway will be expanded to Muar.

• Faizul on Jul 01, 2023 at 11:45 am

I am not living in West Coast area, but do people there use NSE frequently anyway?

• cakoi on Sep 12, 2023 at 5:22 pm

Going north, no. Going south…maybe, depending on how kiasu you are. going by highway is faster despite the longer distance travelled simply bcs can go faster with no interruption. if you dont want to pay for the tol then just follow federal highway south though this will take longer to reach kl.

• Junkies otr on Jun 27, 2023 at 8:15 am

Scrap all vehicles above 20yrs n save lots of money on building new highways

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 32
    • msacras on Jun 27, 2023 at 11:05 am

Won’t those who scrap their old cars will in turn buy new cars & the vehicle population will still be high?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Alistair Ang Kah Tong on Jun 27, 2023 at 4:59 pm

DAP.Junkie folliwing Sg blindly …Junkie IQ Zero

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Rasta on Jun 27, 2023 at 10:22 pm

Building highways is the best solution , each household has min 3 cards this days and this won’t stop even until Y3000

• Ruslan Bahari on Jun 27, 2023 at 8:31 am

And so now the PR team has announced their target market: commercial vehicles. I would not take this highway knowing the stuff our lorry drivers do while driving… why would anyone want to be on a highway “well-suited for commercial vehicles”.

• Laugh on Jun 27, 2023 at 9:44 am

Suggest to make it official to have all heavy vehicles to use this highway instead since it’s more well suited.

I don’t think I need to elaborate on the cause of accidents, traffic jams and hoggers on the NSE now.

• pomen on Jun 27, 2023 at 11:00 am

not so convenience highway as u need to exit and go to federal route then enter back the highway..

• stasta on Jun 28, 2023 at 8:49 pm

agree its an idiot location. for people staying within FT/KL they need to travel 1 hour just to reach the entrance of this highway

• Morons gets on my nerves on Jul 05, 2023 at 12:56 am

Already mentioned that the highway is suitable for those staying in Shah Alam area but no… you have to talk about coming from KL. If you want to travel from Nilai to Seremban, are you going to drive up to Cheras and go via Kajang? I wonder who’s the bigger idiot… the one who complained about using Federal hw to access, or the one who agreed to it. I suggest that you 2 use Karak hw to go Taiping instead. Trust me, it’s nearer than using NSE!

• YAY… bole pi Teluk Intan direct d

• NSE have been long overdue to upgrade to highway with minimum 4 lanes all the way from north to south. Many lanes is still with 2 lanes only. Just a simple accident or public holiday will cause a huge jam. Waste of time and money when jam.

• SlyGTR on Jun 28, 2023 at 5:26 pm

What about LPT 3 and the final connection to east coast of peninsular Malaysia? Every time there is a holiday there will be 1.5-2.0 million vehicles. I am hoping the Madani Govt fulfills its promises.

• all major road, highway and railroad should be upgraded not built a skyscraper for no reason.