2023 Mazda CX-60 launched in Indonesia – 3.3L mild hybrid turbo inline-6 petrol; two grades; from RM358k

Indonesia is the next ASEAN country to welcome the Mazda CX-60, which has already been launched in the Philippines and Singapore. The five-seat SUV is being offered in two grades – Kuro Edition and Elite Edition – both carrying the same price tag of 1.1888 billion rupiah (about RM358k).

The powertrain used is identical too, with an e-Skyactiv G 3.3 litre turbocharged inline-six petrol engine being paired with an eight-speed automatic transmission and i-Activ all-wheel drive system. The mill is augmented by a 48-volt mild hybrid system dubbed M Hybrid Boost that features an electric motor/generator between the engine and gearbox.

The electric motor is connected to a 0.33-kWh lithium-ion battery, with the entire system providing 284 PS (280 hp or 209 kW) from 5,000 to 6,000 rpm and 450 Nm of torque from 2,000 to 3,500 rpm. This setup is identical to what’s available in the Philippines, although Indonesia doesn’t get a turbodiesel option or even a purely naturally-aspirated engine, the latter being what Singapore gets.

One way to tell the two grades apart is by looking at the front grille, with the Kuro sporting an insert featuring a honeycomb pattern while the Elite has vertical bars instead. There’s also more brightwork on the Elite’s exterior to complement its 20-inch diamond cut wheels compared to the Kuro’s dark exterior trim and 20-inch gloss black alloys.

These opposing themes apply to the interior as well, with the Elite being equipped with white Nappa leather upholstery and maple wood trim. Meanwhile, the Kuro gets quilted Nappa leather in a tan colour to contrast its darker trim pieces. As for exterior colours, the six available options are Soul Red Crystal Metallic, Machine Grey Metallic, Rhodium White Metallic, Platinum Quartz Metallic, Deep Crystal Blue Mica and Jet Black Mica.

In terms of kit, the Indonesian-spec CX-60 comes standard with two 12.3-inch displays, with one being the digital instrument cluster while the other is for the infotainment system. There’s also an Active Driving Display, which is a full-colour, windscreen-projected head-up display, adaptive LED headlamps, a panoramic sunroof, a 12-speaker Bose sound system, dual-zone climate control with rear vents, a wireless phone charger and a powered tailgate with hands-free access.

Both variants also get the same safety and driver assistance systems, including seven airbags, a 360-degree camera, hill descent control and the usual mix of passive items (ABS, DSC, hill start assist, etc.), front and rear Smart Brake Support (AEB), lane departure warning, blind spot monitoring, front and rear cross traffic alert, a driver monitoring system and driver attention alert.

Just like in Singapore, the CX-60 is now the most expensive Mazda model available in Indonesia. Over in the Philippines, the CX-60’s starting price is tied with the three-row CX-9 – both sell for more than every other Mazda model sold there. There’s no word on when and if the CX-60 will be launched in Malaysia, but given its positioning as more luxurious offering, we can expect it to command quite a premium.

GALLERY: 2022 Mazda CX-60

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Masuda (DOA) on Jul 27, 2023 at 5:23 pm

I believe this situation could be “dead on arrival” (DOA). Japan’s domestic automotive industry (JDM) once flourished as a sunrise industry, but now it seems to be heading towards becoming a sunset industry. In China, manufacturers of Internal Combustion Engine (ICE) cars are lowering their prices to compete with Electric Vehicles (EVs), which offer more features and attractive designs. As a consequence, Mitsubishi has announced its decision to withdraw from the Chinese market, raising concerns that Mazda, Subaru, and Nissan might follow suit.

Wishing the best of luck to JDM, advocate for a more conservative approach to innovation.

Potong and P2 might face similar outcomes, yet the government might continue to protect these brands, citing them as “too big to lose,” even if they are perceived as inferior.

In the end, the mindset prevalent in some third-world countries continues to influence and shape the trajectory of those nations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
    • Peppa on Jul 27, 2023 at 7:36 pm

Lol. So what? China auto market has nothing to do with us. Plus, Mazda is literally doing fine despite Proton said to aim at Mazda with x90 Those who buy a Mazda because they want to buy a Mazda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • Ahura Masuda devotees on Jul 28, 2023 at 9:28 am

Agreed.
        We bought masuda only due to plenty available stock and good discount and freebies compare to other automaker needs to wait months.

• Masuda (DOA) on Jul 28, 2023 at 8:59 pm

Are you seriously telling me that Mazda is doing well? Got any facts to back up your claim? The auto wars have been fought in recent years, a new reboot will happen soon, and you’d better keep dreaming. You better recall what you said today when electric cars became the norm in the next few years.

• Jacob on Jul 27, 2023 at 7:58 pm

Mitsubishi? They’re long dead, not just Chinese market. Just barely
      surviving on rebadged Nissans and Renault.

• Azmir on Jul 28, 2023 at 6:43 am

Agreed. Anything ICE of 2000cc & above or >RM150K, it will be DOA.
      Tesla & BYD kills everyone.

Hope all will bring down their ICE cars just like 10 years ago where accord & camry is sub 150k

• despite x70, x90 and chinese EVs are very much cheaper than cx-8, i never think twice to buy cx-8 turbo and i did..Tesla? BYD? they are all toys with touchscreen..lets see after 5 years if you think im wrong..or maybe 3 years..

• Recycled bin Empty on Jul 29, 2023 at 3:33 pm

Agreed. Nobody can stops you from taking hire purchase loan to buy your impulsive inclined favourite car. Even best if you would had bought the Bufori instead.

• anonymous on Jul 27, 2023 at 6:30 pm

first of all. Bermaz, are you awake/alive? not even rumors of this entering this country when we have this being launched left and right. second of all, i truly feel like this large engine approach is a bit regressive. while i don’t think anything nothing can top that sweet sound of 6 cylinder engines, in a world where electrification is taking center stage this is really taking major steps backwards. while i hope to be proven wrong, this car more likely won’t even sell in malaysia as our tax structure is not forgiving when it comes to ice cars with large displacements. it’s kind of sad because mazda really has a thing going for it, but man idk how this is progress. oh well let’s hope this makes it here at some point because i would really at the very least like to check it out in the flesh.

ps// honestly though where is the cx-5 facelift Bermaz? i get that there are those that don’t care about features but my god what are you doing. if you don’t wanna facelift the car at least add the features people have been SCREAMING they want since the beginning of time. heck if you don’t want to include them as standard, make the MRCC + Bose sound + sunroof as an optional ‘technology pack’. ffs i love the cx-5 but the features are the only thing stopping me from signing on the dotted line.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • No prob on Jul 29, 2023 at 11:34 pm

Yes. I’m also no prob with paying extra for extra features/items.

• Love the look of it, but if it’s beyond 300K MYR in Malaysia, no one will consider this when the German brands and now EV brands are within the same price range.

• I do not deny Mazda makes good quality and handling cars but sorry to say that with this price tag is certified without the need to laugh here. EV era Now. ICE cars will be obodoleted matter of time. Furthermore, not any car brand Able to sell over rm300k here. Brand image needs long time to build. Many will say Mazda quality is catching up European cars but no one willing to pay for the bill If it is approaching conti prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • If it comes to MY at prices above >RM300k, it’ll probably be coldly received. Not many people would favor a >RM300K Mazda over a similarly sized German model.

It’s like the whole Toyota Camry vs 3-series/C-class situation again.

• msia driver on Jul 28, 2023 at 9:13 am

U right, I rather but tesla Y performance spec…more gaya & mutu, lel

• modelwai on Jul 28, 2023 at 2:33 pm

Tesla? Mutu? those two words don’t go together.

• anonymous on Jul 28, 2023 at 3:07 pm

oh have you not read about their severe quality issues? windscreen flying off while driving, their ‘autopilot’ having a mind of its own, their steering wheel literally falling off while driving? not to mention their cars periodically just combust with no warning. look am all for electric cars, but i would absolutely run the other way when it comes to teslas.

• ROTI CANAI on Jul 27, 2023 at 8:55 pm

malaysia is ignored again

• ThePolygon on Jul 28, 2023 at 7:58 am

Some old FJ Cruiser owners might want to downgrade to this… though just doesn’t look rugged enough.

• Only 280hp from a 3.3L turbo – how inefficient

• ERIKO on Jul 28, 2023 at 10:49 am

RM360K??? Mazda thinks all countries suffer inflation like them ka?? Bodoh. Most countries support Russia and China la in terms of trade. We have no saction like Japan and other anjing Amerika. Bye bye Mazda. Go and die la.

• Stone on Jul 28, 2023 at 8:12 pm

Bdoh punya mazda..harga mahal2 sapa nk beli..

• Aishah on Jul 28, 2023 at 8:15 pm

350k…org bodoh je akan beli..apa mahal2 sgt ni…baik xyah masuk mesia la..xlaku punya..

• Sigh... on Jul 29, 2023 at 11:45 pm

If you cannot afford, there is always alternative like Saga/Bezza for sedan, Axia/Iriz for hatchback and Exora/Alza for big family.

See? Happy ending right.

P/s : no one bising when mini sell with not mini price.

Nevertheless, go study and work smart to achieve your dreams.

Assuming you’re bumis, there’s more privileges for you right? For us minority, we need to work/study twice as hard to achieve it. Think about it, do we bising? We respect and we sedar diri as the so-called pendatang/banduan import to Malaya, but as time goes by, we change/improve ourself. How about you as the privilege one?

Lahir miskin bukan salah kita.
      Mati miskin tu salah engkaulah.

• Aishah on Jul 31, 2023 at 3:17 am

I own cx8..so what? What is the related with bumis? Why mention bumis here? Do i mention any cina here? Typical rasist..

• Affirmative enough? on Jul 31, 2023 at 6:57 pm

Racist by stating facts? Is that so ma’am? Reality always hurt. Don’t bark/act like a typical childish manner.

• Aishah on Jul 31, 2023 at 3:20 am

Bukan masalah mampu ke x bodoh punya rasist komen..masalahnya mahal xpraxtical..lepastu compare dgn mini..u ni budak sekolah ke..bodo nak mampus..komen mcm banggang otak dekat lutut ke..

• Simple on Jul 31, 2023 at 6:55 pm

If you don’t want to buy, let it be. Simple. No one forcing you to buy it.

What do you expect with the price?

P/s : I think you should trade in your CX8 for X90 if you cannot afford it.