2023 Mazda 3 IPM launching in Malaysia soon? Larger screen, wireless AA, ACC with stop & go; from RM149k

The fourth-generation Mazda 3 is set to receive an update in Malaysia, with local dealers already starting to advertise on social media. The C-segment model comes fully imported (CBU) from Japan, and the changes appear to be in line with a product improvement announced by Mazda back in April this year.

According to dealer postings, the Mazda 3 will retain the same variant line-up as before, with the sedan version being offered in Mid, High and High Plus variants. The hatchback (the brand likes to call it the Liftback) body style also gets three options, including the Mid, High Plus and Ignite Edition.

Changes that come with the Mazda 3 IPM (an internal code denoting a refresh or minor year model updates) are as follows:

• USB-C ports replace USB-A (all variants)
  • 10.25-inch infotainment display added (from the High variant onwards)
  • Qi wireless charging pad added (from High Plus onwards)
  • Wireless Apple CarPlay support added (from High Plus onwards)
  • Mazda Radar Cruise Control (MRCC) now comes with stop and go function (from High Plus onwards)
  • 12-speaker Bose sound system added (Ignite Edition only)

At each variant level, the standard equipment should remain identical for both body styles as it currently is. This means that the kit you get with the Mid variant is the same regardless if you go with the sedan or hatchback, and this also applies to other variants shared by both body styles. We’ll get a full spec sheet when the Mazda 3 IPM officially goes on sale here, so stay tuned.

On the matter of pricing, the updated Mazda 3 will see an increase of between RM5,000 and RM6,000 (from what was announced last July), at least based on what dealers are posting. Here are the on-the-road figures (without insurance) that we’ve gathered so far:

• 2023 Mazda 3 1.5L Mid Sedan/Hatchback – RM149,320
  • 2023 Mazda 3 2.0L High Sedan – RM156,059
  • 2023 Mazda 3 2.0L High Plus Sedan/Hatchback – RM166,059
  • 2023 Mazda 3 2.0L Ignite Edition Hatchback – RM175,059

The Mazda 3 will likely retain the same SkyActiv-G engine line-up, with the first being a 1.5 litre unit that makes 118 hp at 6,000 rpm and 153 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. The other option is a 2.0 litre powerplant serving up 162 hp at 6,000 rpm and 213 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. Both engines are paired with a SkyActiv-Drive six-speed automatic transmission, with drive going to the front wheels.

Unsurprisingly, dealers say they are already accepting bookings for the Mazda 3 IPM. Given these updates, are you interested if you’re in the market for a C-segment model? Unlike rivals like the Honda Civic and Toyota Corolla, the Mazda 3 is offered as a hatchback. Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.

GALLERY: 2019 Mazda 3 2.0 High Plus Sedan

GALLERY: 2019 Mazda 3 1.5L Hatchback

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Almost 180k for a 2.0 na, for that kind of money, we should be getting the 2.5lit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
  • Munki on Sep 08, 2023 at 2:11 pm

Still no Skyactiv-X 4 yrs later, not just Matsuda, Jepun keep looking down on South-East Asia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Peppa on Sep 08, 2023 at 7:06 pm

Blame government beloved child BERMAZ not Mazda Japan. Idiot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
      • u2pitt0wat on Sep 09, 2023 at 5:57 pm

Did Bermaz award Mazda the right to supply vehicles or Did Mazda award Bermaz distribution rights? S0h1

• DamnBear on Sep 10, 2023 at 10:06 am

There is really no demand for it. It has been available in Australia since the beginning but they cancel it in this update. It’s too expensive and the benefits don’t justify the price

• Toxic waste from Japan on Sep 08, 2023 at 2:13 pm

It’s a nice car, but for this price better get BYD Atto 3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 34
    • Airgato Tuiniamacaocibai on Sep 09, 2023 at 10:09 am

Yes I totally agree. For this price I’ll rather get a BYD any day latest tech and not worry about gearbox kong la or minyak hitam leaking la or over heating la dan lain lain ICE problems. Jepun is dying

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • I dunno, i don’t feel inspired when i drive the BYD. its got no soul. i would go with the Mazda anyday.

Sorry internet, not.

• Exploding Sunroof on Sep 08, 2023 at 2:35 pm

Maserati of Asia.
    Your favourite car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • hazri on Sep 08, 2023 at 5:41 pm

i thought its bmw of asia. or no?

• Retired Akio on Sep 08, 2023 at 7:50 pm

That was Waja Impian. bygone history, its disgraceful when another carmaker tried to claim the same phrase again LOL

• Bob Mal on Sep 08, 2023 at 2:42 pm

Guess Malaysia will never get the SkyActive-X engine because of our RON95 fuel non compatibility or is it the engine is a fad.

• DamnBear on Sep 10, 2023 at 10:08 am

It’s just too expensive, you’ll probably looking at over 200k for a mildly supercharged 2.0. They have cancelled the X in Australia because the demand is so low

• anonymous on Sep 08, 2023 at 2:58 pm

if that ad is to be believed the ignite edition will get the Bose speakers. finally! but kind of wished it was also an option on the high plus (or available as an add on for all trims).

ps// bermaz really needs to update the ageing cx-5 i’m so serious. the facelift has been available in other countries for over a year now it’s insane how they are sleeping on this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
    • Shook on Sep 08, 2023 at 8:06 pm

At this point, they should bring in the CX-50 instead and make Malaysia CX50 rhd hub lol

• anonymous on Sep 09, 2023 at 11:09 am

i like this idea but unlike the cx-5, the cx-50 uses a torsion beam rear axle and we just know Malaysians will be up in arms if they bring it in, and price it at 200k+ with this setup.

• Shook on Sep 09, 2023 at 7:23 pm

Yeah the torsion beam is fatal flaw for what it is and not to mention the rear seats goes backward with 60:40 splits compared to CX5’s 40:20:40

• Katheryne Wong on Sep 08, 2023 at 10:44 pm

Existing stock maybe not yet sold, so cannot bring in the facelift yet

• Peppa on Sep 09, 2023 at 9:57 am

Wrong. Bermaz has a great number of backlog orders for CX5 and CX30. It is just their incompetence that don’t want to update the CX5 in Malaysia

• Insane wait times if pre-IPM is any indication, underpowered engine, price hike… no doubt it will still sell, but not for me.

• Ben Yap on Sep 08, 2023 at 3:22 pm

now C-segment cars are beginning to be ridiculously priced. they are now the same price as D-Segment cars 6 to 8 years ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • EV Car Mafia on Sep 09, 2023 at 3:41 am

You are absolutely right. it beats me how the price has insanely shot up //

• Think of the exchange rate back then 1USD equal to RM vs now 4.7

• msia driver on Sep 08, 2023 at 4:56 pm

lelz rm175k for 2.0L , better top up a bit get model 3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • bangsa better buy, or top up on Sep 08, 2023 at 5:19 pm

Hahaha… Malaysia boleh.

• Macam mana ? on Sep 08, 2023 at 6:18 pm

This reminds me of the 70s 80s era, when the Japanse cars are so inovative and agressive when come to design, pricing & technology, making the US & Europe brands almost obselete here…. Now I m seeing the same trend, but the victims are the Japenses… Look at the Korean, they are just too good, even more so the Chinese on the EV. Japan cars really need to wake-up, too complacent.

• anonymous on Sep 08, 2023 at 7:47 pm

you have a point but korean cars are so expensive here. the very much raved about ioniq 5 for example, as amazing of a car that is, i feel like it’s priced too high which is why it’s sort of a rare-ish sight on the roads. about the technology part, yeah i do feel like korean and chinese marques are going all in towards electrification and japan is sort of lagging in this respect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • lulalala on Sep 11, 2023 at 5:30 pm

we really need premium speaker in malaysia trafic jam, hope honda can follow and offer premium sound system also.