Mercedes-Benz GLC300 4Matic CKD RM51k cheaper than CBU; sunroof, Handsfree Access – RM379k

Five months on from the Malaysian launch of the X254-generation Mercedes-Benz GLC, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has now launched the locally assembled (CKD) version of the SUV in the same GLC300 4Matic guise, now priced at RM378,888 on-the-road without insurance, down from the RM429,888 pricing of the fully imported vehicle when the model arrived in April this year.

Its GLC300 designation denotes the same powertrain configuration as on the fully imported version that arrived prior, packing a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine with 48-volt mild-hybrid assistance that produces 258 PS at 6,000 rpm and 400 Nm of torque from 2,000 rpm to 3,200 rpm, with drive sent to all four wheels via a 9G-Tronic nine-speed automatic transmission.

The equipment list for this Pekan-assembled X254 GLC largely mirrors that of the CBU car, notably with the addition of Handsfree Access which is the foot sensor-enabled automatic tailgate, as well as a panoramic sliding sunroof, which were previously absent from the model at its initial Malaysian arrival.

Exterior equipment for the GLC300 continues to include Digital Light with Adaptive Highbeam Assist Plus, 20-inch AMG multi-spoke light alloy wheels of the same design, polished aluminium roof rails, running boards with rubber studs, and the mirror package.

Inside, the AMG Line interior package continues to be included, where the multifunction sports steering wheel in Nappa leather joins interior upholstery in Artico synthetic leather. Added this time to the interior of the CKD version is Handsfree Access for the tailgate.

Also as before are the AMG floor mats, black roof liner fabric, instrument panel and beltines in Nappa-look Artico synthetic leather, metal trim, illuminated door sills, Keyless Go package, Boot Comfort package, automatic climate control, ambient lighting with the interior light package, insulating acoustic glass and a 12-volt socket in the luggage compartment.

Infotainment equipment carries on as before, where MBUX navigation and multimedia kit continue to be included, as do the 12.3-inch driver display and 11.9-inch central display, along with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto. Also retained are the wireless device charging in the front, 15-speaker Burmester 3D surround sound system, sound personalisation and the USB package.

Safety kit and assistance systems are carried over, too, with blind spot assist, active lane keeping assist, active brake assist, parking package with 360=degree camera and active parking assist present in the CKD GLC300. Also on are the Mercedes-Benz emergency call system, Guard 360 vehicle protection, anti-theft alarm, Pre-Safe, tyre pressure monitor, Tirefit and a fingerprint scanner.

From RM 2,936 a month
RM 267,900

GALLERY: X254 Mercedes-Benz GLC300 in Malaysia

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Peppa on Sep 14, 2023 at 12:33 pm

Still overpriced as hell. Just like the sedan siblings.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 5
    • What to do? This is a car for rich soccer moms.

• Isaac on Sep 14, 2023 at 12:57 pm

X3 or Audi Q8 etron are worth to buy than this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
    • It is overpriced if you cannot afford it. For the rich people, they won’t even bat an eyelid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
      • Holder on Sep 14, 2023 at 6:09 pm

Rich people or not, people dare not to buy mercedes after facing tons of issues. People will rather buy BMW X3 or Lexus NX as both cars are better recommended than this overpriced poor quality GLC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
        • Bmw owner on Sep 14, 2023 at 10:09 pm

Bmw is good and reliable? Wait till u buy x5 one day then you can share your bitter experience

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
          • Mango on Sep 15, 2023 at 8:00 am

You can check from any website based on latest durability position, mercedes is losing to bmw. Even don’t even hear much complaining from bmw owners nowadays compare to complaining from mercedes owners

• Didn’t hear any information from poor experience BMW X5 owners/other BMW owners? Already in the past. Anyways, only you yourself thinking that bmw is bad. So if you think mercedes is the best, but there are many reasons on mercedes failures as can see lots of noises coming from unhappiness mercedes owners, even other countries also complaining about poor satisfaction mercedes quality.

• Ghani on Sep 14, 2023 at 12:33 pm

I bought the Audi Q8 e-tron for same kinda $$$,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • They esily make 50k profit with this CKD unit. The proper price tag is no more than 330k!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • It’s called tax & duty excise bcoz imported as CBU and not CKD or SKD. It’s loss tax revenue to customs but hopefully some can be recovered from Sales tax if sold more CKD units based on cheaper list price. Faham ya boss?

• Alamak boss! Extra tax/duty excise for CBU imports lah. CKD / SKD suffer lesser tax.

Where did u get the 330k from?

• Alamak boss! Extra tax/duty excise for CBU imports lah. CKD / SKD suffer lesser tax.

BTW, where did u get the 330k from?

• hazri on Sep 14, 2023 at 2:31 pm

wahh..the new hyundai. previous gen looks better than this. then i saw new crv yesterday, maybe i should reconsider.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • ROTI CANAI on Sep 14, 2023 at 2:53 pm

pergh harga yahudi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • only if you can’t afford it. rich people won’t even flinch at the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
      • Holder on Sep 14, 2023 at 6:27 pm

Rich people or not, people dare not to buy mercedes after facing tons of issues. People will rather buy BMW X3 or Lexus NX as both cars are better recommended than this overpriced poor quality GLC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • PHBN Korup on Sep 14, 2023 at 6:26 pm

Don’t worry, our corrupt ministers still can afford it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
      • PHBN don’t want Mercedes as PHBN now drive Camry. PN always loves to buy Mercedes much than others. That’s why PN are corrupting this country more than PHBN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • mesedis on Sep 14, 2023 at 3:07 pm

harga nokhare, still no radar cruise control for rm380k car! nuts!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Ivan Terk Sun Tai on Sep 14, 2023 at 5:39 pm

Good price ok la any price also ok for me.
    Obviously people lack class here blaming everything but their mom for bringing them in to this world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • Holder on Sep 14, 2023 at 6:09 pm

Overpriced cheap quality car. Want get better quality and more fun, get BMW X3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
    • BMW sucker here hahaha. The X3 model is not even the new gen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • Mango on Sep 15, 2023 at 7:59 am

Well, at least people have opinions, after seeing this car. Not like you all including mercedes fanboys, who are so jealous after seeing poor reviews but bashing other brands due to afraidness of losing sales to other brands.

• Banana on Sep 22, 2023 at 11:12 pm

Hahahaha. Who is bashing who first ya? Yeah we are so jealous of others cuz we can afford Mercedes ya know ;p

• Overpriced, maybe? Cheap quality, definitely no. I considered the X3 but it’s not for me. Also the rear looks like a Honda. In any case I’m definitely enjoying my new GLC.

• Uzone on Oct 14, 2023 at 4:21 pm

Up to your opinion. People now thinks that mercedes sells overpriced but still sells very cheap specs. But if you drive GLC, beware of quality. So many froends and my cousin drove Mercedes new models including C Class brand new, but lots of issues came out like steering rack, software issues, screen lagging, safety system problems sometimes, part also loses where complaining cheap materials everywhere.

• Why is Mercedes Malaysia still not offering adaptive cruise control with stop and go to malaysia consumers? Is this discrimination or what.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Why is Mercedes Malaysia still not offering adaptive cruise control with stop and go to malaysia
    consumers?

• @NotBruceWayne on Sep 15, 2023 at 8:51 am

For the price they’re asking, Heck; they should be offering flying cars now.

• Mango on Sep 15, 2023 at 8:01 am

Who want to buy this unreliable car when other rivals got some benefits than this car

• I bought it and love it.

• Uzone on Oct 14, 2023 at 4:23 pm

Beware of quality today mercedes, no matter either CKD or CBU. My friends and my cousin drove mercedes new models including C Class brand new where complaining many issues like steering rack, software issues, safety system issues, parts loses where there is cheap material everywhere and others. Headache will be longer term if you drive mercedes brand new. Honest statement and not joking with you.

• Zero ICE by 2030 on Sep 15, 2023 at 8:12 am

Why rear AC looks funny, something missing eh?

• Overpriced AF!!!
    Goodbye GLC, Hello iX

• hazri on Sep 15, 2023 at 4:21 pm

i thought x3 with that pnis rear lamp is ugly. but this glc is more ugly.

• Siapa komplen dia B40

• Mercedes salesmen have been complaining much on other brands after seeing other brands looks better than this brand and yet come there to bash and forcing not to buy other brands and buy benz as mercedes salesmen are scared that mercedes will lose to other brands

• Elon Musk on Oct 12, 2023 at 10:39 am

Better buy Model Y Performance RM288K. Why buy GLC 300 when their sales people so lansi and always look down on people who criticise Merz as poor fag ? Seriously Model Y Performance is much better buy, cheaper, better specs, Tesla brand name also better, more impressive, much lower maintenance cost and don’t have to look at sour faces of Merz sales persons.